Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Great shadey course

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very good course to play during those hot sunny days in Texas. It is a very well shaded course. Only a few holes require you to play in the open sun. The majority of the course is played under a nice canopy of trees. Most holes require you to thread the needle to get good shots. The entire course is well maintained, mowed and no major thick brush to walk through or hide discs. I did not see any poison ivy.
A practice basket is provided by the #1 tee box near a picnic table.
An elevated/platform basket is on hole #11.
Cons: Really not too much to complain about here. I have only played this course twice and that is my major complaint thus far. If I lived closer I would definity play this more often. If you like to really unleash strong power throws, you wont get a lot of open shots like that. More trash cans should probably be provide towards the end of the course. A large collection of trash by the #16 tee box sign was unsightly.
Other Thoughts: While playing this last time, I was informed of a couple of mandatory's. These areas are spray painted on trees with orange paint. I will upload a picture.
This course is good for beginners and advanced players.

Thanks for reading and please rate my comment.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    12/28/2011   7/19/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2014
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of holes that require different kinds of throws. The low hanging trees require low, accurate, hard throws. There are few long holes in the open that you can rip. Another nice feature are the subtle elevation changes on some of the holes. This course is nice and shady for hot summer days and there are lots of trees to block the wind on windy days. There aren't usually too many throwers at once on the course, so traffic is not bad. No water hazards...at least not that you can't get your disc back from pretty easily. Hole 17 has the only water hazard during the dry summer behind the basket. This is a course that you do not have to worry about losing discs on. This is more of a technical course with a few holes that require tight throws through the trees and low shots. There are a lot of intricacies to this course to discover. It seems like I discover something new about a hole each time I go out. A few of the more challenging holes are holes 1, 3, 9 in the B position, 10 long, 12 and 17. Hole 15, originally titled "The Fortress", is my favorite at this course. It is a down hill, long drive, to a basket that is guarded by a wall of trees...and the new circular tee box is a nice addition.
A few OBs and mandos make the course extra challenging. There are benches and trash cans by some of the holes. All 18 holes now have concrete tee boxes. Several of the holes have multiple tee boxes and 2 pin positions. There are restrooms by the ballfields by hole one's tee box. There is a practice basket by the teebox for hole 1 and also by the long tee for hole 10. Pretty well secluded park where you will not be bothered by non-disc golfers much.
Cons: This course is difficult to navigate your first time out! Print a map drom DGCR before you go or find someone out there that can tell you how the course plays out. A course map is posted by hole 1 and hole 9 so you can always take a picture on your phone and have that with you when you play. Most players that you find out there will be eager to help out if you have trouble finding your way around. Some of the fairways run a little close to each other for comfort, but as stated before, the course is rarely very crowded, making it a non-issue. Also, the mandatories help with this issue as well. When the grass is high, the course is not nearly as enjoyable as when it is cut. The course is in need of a few more trash cans by the tee boxes. The course sits in a low-lying area and when it is windy, it tends to swirl a lot rather than just blowing in one direction.
The worst part of this course is the baskets! They are the kind that have only 6 chains on the inner ring and can produce bad spits pretty easily...especially when wet or cold. The baskets are the one thing that bother me the most about this course...they are pretty bad.
There are posts by the tee boxes to indicate the hole number as well as number plates on the baskets but the course is in need of better signage, both by the tee boxes for par, distance, etc, but also to show the OBs and the mandos. Signs are also much needed to help with navigation.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, where I play the vast majority of my rounds. This is a pretty unique course...different than all the other courses around Ft. Worth at least. It will teach you to execute accurate low flying shots. Hole 1 is the toughest hole out there. You're doing really well to grab a 3 on hole 1. Be careful not to overshoot hole 17. This is the one main hazard hole on the course where you don't want to end up in the nasty water in the drainage ditch. There are some OBs and Mandatorys on this course to be aware of that aren't really posted on any signs at the course. Beyond the creek bed and in water in the creek is OB on holes 8, 11, 17, and 18. There is a mando tree on hole 3 way out on the left side of the fairway that you have to stay to the right of. There is a double mando between the telephone poles on hole 4. There is a double mando to play on hole 8. There is a mando tree on hole 9 on the right side of the fairway shortly in front of the tee box that you have to stay to the left of. On hole 17, there is an OB line around the basket for the B pin position just past the bridge to indicate the area that is in bounds on the left side of the creek. All of these mandos (except for the double mando on hole 8) are intended for safety to keep drives off of fairways that run close to one another.
The course used to be a 9 hole and had great signage on each hole, but vandals have taken their toll and the layout changed with the change to 18 holes. Better signs showing par, distance, and obs and mandos would probably make this course a 4.0 for me. Navigation is still an issue here.
Draw doubles on Friday nights at 6:30pm draws a lot of people enjoying a laid back time of playing disc golf and hanging out. Bring lights because it finishes in the dark even in the summer time. Saturday morning singles at 9:30am alternates between North Park and Arcadia. Wednesday night singles during the summer starts at 6:30 and costs $8.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

6/10/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes, good technical course w/ lots of shade.
Cons: Alot of trees close to tee boxes and dirt tees. Can be hard to follow for first time play.
Other Thoughts: Needs much better signs for holes, baskets have one bar painted showing direction of next tee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 north park

5/24/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of avaiable space, holes do offer a variety of challenges from trees, to an annoying stream (not much water just enough to get your disc wet), and an elevated basket, Most of the course is shaded due to the trees so playes nicely on a hot day. Not many throwers either time i went which is a positive
Cons: hard to follow if you havent played it before, each basket has the bottom part painted to show you to your next tee area, a single stripe, which is somewhat helpful unless somebody is being funny and turns the bottom which had happened on one of the holes (check out the pdga disc directory as it has a course map for it....very helpful) some of the fairways are very close together, and without the map may make it confusing on which basket you are suppose to throw to
Other Thoughts: has a hole called the fortress, be prepared to waste a stroke trying to get around to the basket

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Neat Course

6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: DiscGolfJunkie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this course was neat because of some of the tougher shots in the forest and the elevated shot where the hole is like 10 feet off the ground. Kind of an easier course to make ace runs at. Easy to birdie too....
Cons: A little too easy even for the semi-serious players. A little hard to navigate at times..... Sometimes it was too easy throw an errant throw and still get an easy 3.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play but the metroplex offers better options.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 George, George, Look Out For That Tree

5+    3/3/2010   5/19/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really tough shots to maneuver your disc around this somewhat dense forest of trees. There are a few holes that you can release the big throw on, but most of your shots need to be calculated. Many of the targets were hidden behind trees and were fun to figure out a way to get your disc in a position to even get a shot a birdie or par. Take note on which discs you take, because I can't imagine a round here without a good chop at a tree at some point. ;o) There are some good holes where some tough aces are possible. This was fun. I noticed that the neighboring ballpark does have restrooms open most of the time, so add this to the positives. There are 2 really cool holes to mention. #11 is a shot off a small cliff into the woods to a basket built up on a large wooden box with some large trees growing up around it. #15 is called the Fortress. IT is another shot off a high point long to a wall of trees. The basket is behind those trees. A huge hyzer can get there if your distance and heigth is on.
Cons: As mentioned in other reviews, you will need the map or pair up with someone who has played this course before. Finding hole and target is about as tough as playing it. Many of the signs and tee lines have been torn up. However, after 1 or 2 times through, it should obviously get easier. Beware the bordering homes and their fences. If your disc goes over a fence, just be careful going after them, there are some big dogs that will take ownership of your disc BIG TIME! Originally, I could not find the multiple tees, I did eventually find that these are marked by a blue post further behind the regular ones. Also, as mentioned before dirt tees can be a problem after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: The person managing the course takes pride in making this course challenging and I agree that he has done that. Everything was mowed and cleaned up well. Once you understand the course layout and the specific mandos,"Out of Bounds" in the middle of the course, I think you will agree. This is lots of fun, because you will need just about all your bag of tricks to manage even one round out here. This is a fun technical adventure. **This is also one of my home courses.

Update: Cement Tee Pads & benches are being installed and it is really helping with the days that follow a rain.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Dirty

5/19/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: bcross822
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of Challenging Shots. Anhyzer and Hyzer shots are required in a number of holes.
Cons: Dirt Tee pads that can be muddy. They really hurt this course.
Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course. Might be in my top two if it had concrete tee pads.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: abrooks
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this course was very cool. Plenty of trees that make you plan your drives differently. Good mix of long and short holes. The course is, for the most part, separated from the rest of the park. The other park goers will rarely be in your way.
Cons: Tee signs are somewhat lacking (some are on the gound and some do not show the correct hole number), Dirt/grass tee pads are not preferred.
Other Thoughts: The pros outweigh the cons, in my opinion. This is one of my favorite courses. Bring the linked map, til you get used to the layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 odd course

4/24/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course has some pretty neat challenges. hole 11 is treat.
Cons: course has a weird out of bounds in the middle of the course. the grass was at least knee high.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.