Henderson, KY 
Atkinson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #5
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hendo

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very unique. It has baskets on mounds, huge uphill shots, long par 3s, a lot of wind from the river, and finally a huge creekbed with a very steep drop where you're lucky (as I was) to find a disc if you throw it in there. The main thing this course has going for it is elevation. Not every hole is hilly, in fact a lot of them are dead flat. But the ones that are hilly, are big hills and make a huge difference to the shots. Also this course requires all the shots. I threw backhands, forehands, and a thumber off the tee. It also has a good mix of open holes and wooded holes, and short holes and long holes. It is difficult, but the par 4s and some of the shorter holes allow for birdies to be made. A lot of times placement on the drive is more important than being as close to the basket as possible and that's a rare quality. The tee signs, pads, and baskets are in pretty good shape.
Cons: The grass was long on the 2 holes on the golf courses property. (I'm guessing that's what it was) No tightly wooded holes and I would like to have seen a couple.
Other Thoughts: I've never played a course like this before, and I probably never will. They did a pretty good job with the area to work with. It had rained a lot when I played and there was no standing water, so it drains well. It's a nice course for a quick round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/28/2013 Designer Response by: HB553
The two holes not mowed in the spring are due to 100 year old flowers that come up for a couple of months . . . . the mowing will resume my June.

 Hendo...

5+    8/11/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking and good teepad and signs. Well kept course and grass is cut frequently.

Mound holes keep things honest for open field throws and the front nine redesign kept the courses integrity without decreasing difficulty.
Cons: Windy next to the river.

After a rain the course is nearly unplayable because 80% is flat and holds water.

OB on the new hole 6 is so dangerous that if I can find my disc I am tempted to leave it.

If its softball season look out for random people walking in your fairways or parking next to or on the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun To Play

2-4    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park location. Well maintained. Front 9 good for beginners. Back 9 a little more difficult. Good balance of holes. Easy to follow course. Benches. Trash cans. Really nice. My wife and I drive from Evansville to play here as it is more "fun" for the both of us together than the more difficult Mesker course and the easier USI course. Enjoyable play.

Variety of holes - grip and rip as well as more technical. Variety of terrain and putting areas. But not too long for those of us with shorter throws.
Cons: A couple of holes have roadways, walks, and parking areas. Must watch for cars, walkers, and runners on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoy playing this course and the surrounding park is great for a picnic or family get-together.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Taylor Made For Big Arms

5+    8/29/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has long shots that require a little bit of touch to them. The mound holes add a unique touch and make putting on them very scary. This course has a lot of good holes that will work your game.
Cons: This course needs more trees for two reasons. The first reason being that alot of the holes are wide open so you can any line you want. The second reason is this course is wide open so it gets hot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a great Parks Department behind it, who really cares about it. It has a water fountain and a restroom. This course could be outstanding if more OB was put into place..or more trees were added.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Home Course

5+    7/11/2012   7/19/2010
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Long, even tee pads provide great tee off area.
+Disccatchers are in mostly great shape (some of the chains have rusted).
+A mix of holes, from long open bombers (Up to 440') to short ace runs (as short as 206').
+Holes utilize the available land very well. The flat open holes are mostly longer, air-it-out shots while the shorter holes are wooded and utilize the natural elevation.
+Holes 10 & 11 utilize man-made hills which can cause problems for even the best putters.
+In the autumn and winter, you can catch spectacular views of the Ohio River, which runs alongside the course. (When the water is up, a few holes are ON the river).
Cons: -Holes 4-7 were redesigned in June, 2012 and really took some of the character from the front 9. Hole 6 can be especially hazardous if you go into the ravine left. Locals play the ravine as OB.
-No shade on the open holes. Can be particularly taxing during a slow tourney round on a hot summer day.
-Course was built on an old landfill and after it rains, the old spoil holds water.
-If you are playing between October - May, you probably want to bring extra shoes/socks.
-There is a walking trail that runs through the course, so there can be some conflicts.
Other Thoughts: I really think Henderson is a great course. For a player of my skill level, it provides enough challenge that I can come away feeling rewarded or feeling a little beat up. It won't provide as wide of a scoring range as Mesker Park in Evansville, nor will it play as quickly as Woodmere, but it is definitely a very fun course. If you have a big arm then you will love the open holes. If you play a more technical game then there are some holes for you. Also, there is a pro shop located at the Municipla golf course just up the hill. They sell discs, bags and minis (cash only, no credit cards)!

UPDATE: While the new holes aren't as strong as the holes that were previously there, I couldn't justify changing my rating based on those 4 holes. If you want to add some variety, you can still play hole 4 from the former tee pad. It's about 500' to the new location. You can also play hole 5 from old 6's tee pad for a different variety. The old sleeves are still in the ground if you want to see how the old course played.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid 18 Hole Course

1    10/31/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging & Fun
Good Flow
Picturesque Park
Variety of Shots
Some distance shots (bring your driver)
Well kept fairways
Cons: Soggy around holes 1 and 9
4 completely open holes
Steep slope to the right of #3 fairway (watch out!)
Other Thoughts: With the addition of 9 new holes, Atkison Park DGC is a solid course that can be enjoyed by both new and experienced players. There are open shots, some tree lined fairways, baskets on the side of inclines, baskets on top of knolls, and a couple of moderately wooded fairways. The baskets on top of the knolls provide a good putting challenge and some risk versus reward.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lil 9 hole!

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: johnogorrell
Played: 67  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a very nice park. Personally I really like the hole lengths, almost all are over 350 and fairly wide open. The basket placements on 7 and 8 are a lot of fun, since they are placed on top of mounds that are about 10 feet high. There are couple holes 450ish so you do have to bring your driver. Good course for new and experienced players alike!
Cons: Only 9 holes. There are also some random utility poles on hole 7 and 9, but I think they are coming down soon. Also there are some utility wires that hang down into a couple fairways.
Other Thoughts: There is a pro shop at the ball course pro shop and the prices seem fairly reasonable. I wouldn't drive up just to play a 9 hole, but if you are on your way to Mesker Park in Evansville, or Madisonville, KY courses then it is definately worth a stop.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.