Henderson, KY 
Atkinson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #17
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Air it Out

5+    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: This is a nice park course. The course has some very flat holes, but there are also a few holes that have some elevation changes. One of the unique things about this course was that I found a bunch of the baskets placed on the side of slopes. The park itself was well kept. The course had a nice course layout sign, while each hole had an accurate sign of the trouble on the hole. There is a little something for everyone on this course. There are 5-6 holes where you can just let it go without much thought to line. There are also some holes that will really make you think. Hole 3 is the first thinking hole. It is a long turn par 3 with a kind of low ceiling. It requires and turn off the tee and 3 very large trees guard the basket. Hole 6 is a troublesome hole. It begs you to throw for the basket, but big trouble lurks to the left in the form of a huge drainage ravine. A layup and a decent midrange can secure a par, but birdies will require an awesome shot. Putting on holes 10 and 11 are unique in the fact that the baskets sit on the grassy knoll. Aggressive putts that are missed will require quite an effort on the comeback putt. Holes 14-17 are the best stretch of holes on the course. 14 is a short but really tight hole while 15-17 are long holes with tight lines to throw through. I really enjoyed the nice long tee pads on this course. They were in great shape and offered a good platform on the holes where launching was needed. The course has several benches on it which was nice. I have played this course a couple of times and it is always windy on the course. The course is literally less than 100 yards from the Ohio River, and the wind seems to blow off the river all the time. I see this as a pro since quite a few holes have few to NO trees on them. The course did have a practice basket and parking very close to the first tee. I did like the out and back layout of the course. The 9th hole and the 18th hole both end very close to the first tee and parking lot.
Cons: The main drawback to this course was drainage. The area had quite a bit of rain recently and the flat areas were holding quite a bit of water.
Other Thoughts: This course does favor the big arm players . (IMO) My group does have one big arm player in it and he seemed to have more of an advantage on us than he normally does. The course played in 3 different segments for me. Hole 1-6 where one segment, holes 7-13 where totally different segment, and holes 14-18 were the closing segment. I would have liked a couple of trees on the totally open holes but that is just a preference. I like the layout and would play here anytime I have time in the area.

Hendo

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very unique. It has baskets on mounds, huge uphill shots, long par 3s, a lot of wind from the river, and finally a huge creekbed with a very steep drop where you're lucky (as I was) to find a disc if you throw it in there. The main thing this course has going for it is elevation. Not every hole is hilly, in fact a lot of them are dead flat. But the ones that are hilly, are big hills and make a huge difference to the shots. Also this course requires all the shots. I threw backhands, forehands, and a thumber off the tee. It also has a good mix of open holes and wooded holes, and short holes and long holes. It is difficult, but the par 4s and some of the shorter holes allow for birdies to be made. A lot of times placement on the drive is more important than being as close to the basket as possible and that's a rare quality. The tee signs, pads, and baskets are in pretty good shape.
Cons: The grass was long on the 2 holes on the golf courses property. (I'm guessing that's what it was) No tightly wooded holes and I would like to have seen a couple.
Other Thoughts: I've never played a course like this before, and I probably never will. They did a pretty good job with the area to work with. It had rained a lot when I played and there was no standing water, so it drains well. It's a nice course for a quick round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/28/2013 Designer Response by: HB553
The two holes not mowed in the spring are due to 100 year old flowers that come up for a couple of months . . . . the mowing will resume my June.

Atkinson Henderson

1    10/9/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: sean24seven
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Very well maintained.
Good Concrete teepads
Good parking and convenient location
A few very attractive holes.
Pretty park in general with views of Ohio river.
Good signage.
Cons: Not too many memorable holes.
Hole number 6 has a ridiculously hazardous rough area.
Other Thoughts: The last third of the course is more interesting to play than the first 12 holes. Stay to the right on your drive on #6, you don't wanna wind up in that deep ravine filled with riff raff.

The parks department keep this place well maintained. Even though it doesn't stack up to Mesker, Madisonville, or Yellow Creek, it's still a nice little course to play for something different or if you are in the Henderson area.

Fun little course

1    8/6/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Surprisingly long. It "feels" like a short little par 3 course, but it's nearly 6000 feet. The longer holes, while open, are still fun. Many courses have no 'grip and rip' holes. I appreciate the courses that do.

- Large concrete teepads were in good shape.

- High quality DISCatcher baskets.

- Good signs which include topographical map of hole.

- Flow from hole to hole was good, no trouble navigating as first timers.

- Practice putting basket.

- Course loops back around to the parking lot after the front 9.

- Park looked to be well maintained.

- Some holes had benches and/or trashcans
Cons:
- The open holes that play nearest the ball field lack any real character.

- On several holes, the street and/or walking path can come into play.

- The proximity of ball fields, walking paths, playgrounds, etc make you keenly aware that you are in the middle of a shared park that has many uses. You don't have the sense of privacy or "escape" that many courses offer.

- Lack of any real signature holes that "wow" you. Although having said that, several holes (2, 3, 17, etc) were quite attractive.
Other Thoughts:
- This course was better and more fun than I expected. I'd really like to give it a higher rating than 3.0, but my conscience won't allow me to do so.

- We played it as a double with Mesker and it was a good day of golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hendo...

5+    8/11/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking and good teepad and signs. Well kept course and grass is cut frequently.

Mound holes keep things honest for open field throws and the front nine redesign kept the courses integrity without decreasing difficulty.
Cons: Windy next to the river.

After a rain the course is nearly unplayable because 80% is flat and holds water.

OB on the new hole 6 is so dangerous that if I can find my disc I am tempted to leave it.

If its softball season look out for random people walking in your fairways or parking next to or on the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Limited Challenges Yet Surprisingly Fun

1    8/23/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very well manicured park
- Big, clear Teepads
- Excellent Teesigns showing the details of the course
- Practice Basket
- Map/Board of Information near Practice Basket
- Discs available for sale at Golf Course Pro Shop nearby
- Places to sit on most holes
- Some trashcans throughout the course
- Man made hills on several holes producing elevated Teepads & Baskets
- Lots of OB because of several walkways and roads going throughout the course

Cons:
- Mostly Flat course (a couple of natural and man made hills though)
- Limited obstacles (trees, bushes)
- Walkways & roadways can present a problem with cars and pedestrians
Other Thoughts:
Overall this is a fun course despite it being mostly flat and open.The holes that are open and flat are generally longer to make up for the lack of obstacles (>300). However, there are a 6-8 holes that have mature trees and require a more technical shot. Those holes are generally shorter in length (<300). The OB presents some challenges to holes making them more interesting.

Some Memorable Holes:
#10 403 foot shot onto a basket upon a mound
#11 327 foot shot onto a basket upon a mound
#12 360 foot shot from an elevated teepad

Final Verdict:
This course is fun even though it may appear boring. The use of length and OB makes the open holes more interesting and the wood holes provide a moderate challenge. While this course is not as good as Mesker Park, it is definitely a must play for locals. If you are in the area, play Mesker Park first and if you have time, play Atkinson Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are completly open but 4 or 5 have some tree obsticals in the fairway. Good course to let you open up your throw without having to worry about hiting anything. Even though alot of the course is pretty open it still offers some challenge. like holes 10 and 11 they are both on pretty steep mounds so if you try and run at and miss your gonna be shooting uphill at least one more time.
Very well marked, easy to navigate.
Cons: you get alot of cars parked on the edge of the course on the front 9, especially during the summer months when baseball season is in. Also if the couse has several low spots so if it's rained rececently your probably going to be geting your feet wet.
Other Thoughts: Scorecards are available at the start on the course map board.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course on the banks of the Ohio River

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atkison sits in a nice multi-use park between a road bordering the park and the Ohio River. Each hole has nicely sized tee pads that are grippy and each have good signs that are quite helpful. The flow of the course is very easy to follow and the baskets are Innova Discatchers that catch well and are in great shape. The layout goes from completely open to semi-wooded and back again several times. The open holes are seemingly completely open with no obstacles while the wooded holes force either only one route or possibly two if you are creative off the tee. Atkison has hardly any underbrush to lose a disc in unless you go way off the beaten path. There's a good variety of length with several longer holes to let 'em rip and others that force a more technical shot. Most of the course is on a flat plot of land with a few exceptions. One plays across a large drainage basin, a couple on some man-made mounds, and the last few on some nice rolling slopes.
Cons: The completely open holes don't really do anything for me. Four or five of them are quite redundant in that you throw 350-400' in a wide open field to the basket. There's no real challenge there. Several of the walking paths and roads come right next to several tees and baskets which can be hazardous to foot and four wheel traffic. With as flat as the course is in spots, lots of standing water can accumulate after rain. Also with the Ohio River less than a putter throw away from the park, the course is in a prime spot for flooding.
Other Thoughts: Atkison is a fun course that plays quickly and can be gotten for low scores. When the wind isn't blowing off the river, this is a straight-foward course without any surprises. More skilled players won't really be challenged here except to hit their putts. Less skilled players can enjoy the openness and lack of difficulty here. The setting is enjoyable with the river adjacent to the park and most of the locals I talked to there were very friendly and happy to hear about how my round went.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun To Play

2-4    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park location. Well maintained. Front 9 good for beginners. Back 9 a little more difficult. Good balance of holes. Easy to follow course. Benches. Trash cans. Really nice. My wife and I drive from Evansville to play here as it is more "fun" for the both of us together than the more difficult Mesker course and the easier USI course. Enjoyable play.

Variety of holes - grip and rip as well as more technical. Variety of terrain and putting areas. But not too long for those of us with shorter throws.
Cons: A couple of holes have roadways, walks, and parking areas. Must watch for cars, walkers, and runners on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoy playing this course and the surrounding park is great for a picnic or family get-together.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Taylor Made For Big Arms

5+    8/29/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has long shots that require a little bit of touch to them. The mound holes add a unique touch and make putting on them very scary. This course has a lot of good holes that will work your game.
Cons: This course needs more trees for two reasons. The first reason being that alot of the holes are wide open so you can any line you want. The second reason is this course is wide open so it gets hot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a great Parks Department behind it, who really cares about it. It has a water fountain and a restroom. This course could be outstanding if more OB was put into place..or more trees were added.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.