Henderson, KY 
Atkinson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #18
4 / 387ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun To Play

2-4    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park location. Well maintained. Front 9 good for beginners. Back 9 a little more difficult. Good balance of holes. Easy to follow course. Benches. Trash cans. Really nice. My wife and I drive from Evansville to play here as it is more "fun" for the both of us together than the more difficult Mesker course and the easier USI course. Enjoyable play.

Variety of holes - grip and rip as well as more technical. Variety of terrain and putting areas. But not too long for those of us with shorter throws.
Cons: A couple of holes have roadways, walks, and parking areas. Must watch for cars, walkers, and runners on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoy playing this course and the surrounding park is great for a picnic or family get-together.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Taylor Made For Big Arms

5+    8/29/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has long shots that require a little bit of touch to them. The mound holes add a unique touch and make putting on them very scary. This course has a lot of good holes that will work your game.
Cons: This course needs more trees for two reasons. The first reason being that alot of the holes are wide open so you can any line you want. The second reason is this course is wide open so it gets hot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a great Parks Department behind it, who really cares about it. It has a water fountain and a restroom. This course could be outstanding if more OB was put into place..or more trees were added.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 Beginner,Back 9 Intermediate

1    8/8/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course map by Practice tee. Plenty of Trash Cans and Benches. Very nice Tee signs,Concrete tees,Innova Discatchers. Grassy fairways,Front 9 flows and uses rolling terrain well. Mature trees with very little underbrush (#2?). #7? has "Ridge to ridge" shot....not extreme. The Back 9 has man-made hills for roll-a-way greens,on #11,#12. interesting that a city park would o.k. this feature,they are usually worried about liability.It gets more interesting on holes #14,15,16,17. Using the rolling terrain well. To me #17 is the signature hole. Usually the basket is on top of the second hill not on the back side for a roll-a -way green, also having a low canopy shot just before the second hill is a little different.
Cons: No Alt. Tees or pin placements,water holes. A few wooded technical holes would be a plus. The paved trail COULD be problem for beginners or if you ricochet one off a tree. I did have a few walkers & joggers. But I threw anyway with no problems. The flow from #14 to #15 could be a problem,just cross the road,or you'll tee off on #17. Just look for the tee sign.
Other Thoughts: It was hard to find the park entrance. Take the street between Wendy's & Grandy's restaurants,(no street sign). One way road thru park. I played on a Sunday eve,about 6:00. It was still 90 degrees and being next to the Ohio river the humidity made it feel like 105. Bathrooms are at the end of the parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Anthills of fun

1    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole course near my hometown of Evansville. A couple views of the Ohio river make it uniquely scenic. Distance throwers will like this course as you have a chance on several holes to air it out. Decent beginner course, but just challenging enough to trick the amateur player as well. Amenities are well placed throughout the course, i.e., bathrooms, shops and trash cans. The holes on top of man made mounds are very unique, and I made an amazing putt on the first one that I will probably never do again, first time course playing luck I must say haha.
Cons: Not that much variety of holes. A couple are through the woods, but most are wide open shots with little obstacles to deal with. Park can also be very busy with the skatepark close to it, and the ball fields as well. My biggest peeve was the walk from the basket of #14 to the teepad of #15. We weren't paying attention and teed off from the teepad of #17 since that was right where you would think the next hole should be as it was only 25 feet or so from the basket of 14. However, the teepad was actually across the road. We had to pick up our first shots and backtrack. Not a con now as I know this and will never forget it, but can be troublesome for a new navigator as we were.
Other Thoughts: Decent course for the land available, and if you are in the area, stop in for a quick round. However, this is not a destination course. It's just an average course. I'm glad to have it near home though. Makes for a good round for locals.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice addition to the area

1    8/1/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout definately attempts to maximize the available land. There are a good number of 325-450 holes that let the average player stretch their arms a little. Several holes offer a moderate technical challenge that reward skillful line shaping. Several of the longer holes utilize what trees are avaible to spice things up a little. The patches of mature woods that offer some shade are very welcome, especially in the heat of summer. Generally a nice flow to the course without having to search around too much to find the next tee. Tees and baskets are in great shape as the course is not quite 2 years old. Risk of losing discs is nominal with only a couple of holes skirting the river presenting any level of real risk. Bathrooms available near first tee, practice basket, discs available at golf proshop and scorecards are all nice "extras" that not every course offers. The baskets that sit atop a couple of mounds are unique.
Cons: Too many wide open holes for my liking. Not the most challenging course for intermediate level and above. There is both a road and bike/jogging path that run annoyingly close to a number of holes. We had to either wait or alter our shot selection a few times rather than risk hitting someone or a vehichle. As mentioned several times already, there are no special holes that stand out in your mind after playing a round. The closest thing to memeorable for me was # 17. While the hole is only 325', it plays up and down a couple of undulating hills. There are a couple of guardian trees approx 40' before you get to the basket--it was fun.
Other Thoughts: Definately worth a trip over the bridge if you are in the Evansville area to play Mesker. We met a group of locals who were as cool as any you'll find. We also talked to several groups of folks on the walking trail who were interested in what we were doing. The park is pretty and the few glimpses you get of the Ohio are nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Home Course

5+    7/11/2012   7/19/2010
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Long, even tee pads provide great tee off area.
+Disccatchers are in mostly great shape (some of the chains have rusted).
+A mix of holes, from long open bombers (Up to 440') to short ace runs (as short as 206').
+Holes utilize the available land very well. The flat open holes are mostly longer, air-it-out shots while the shorter holes are wooded and utilize the natural elevation.
+Holes 10 & 11 utilize man-made hills which can cause problems for even the best putters.
+In the autumn and winter, you can catch spectacular views of the Ohio River, which runs alongside the course. (When the water is up, a few holes are ON the river).
Cons: -Holes 4-7 were redesigned in June, 2012 and really took some of the character from the front 9. Hole 6 can be especially hazardous if you go into the ravine left. Locals play the ravine as OB.
-No shade on the open holes. Can be particularly taxing during a slow tourney round on a hot summer day.
-Course was built on an old landfill and after it rains, the old spoil holds water.
-If you are playing between October - May, you probably want to bring extra shoes/socks.
-There is a walking trail that runs through the course, so there can be some conflicts.
Other Thoughts: I really think Henderson is a great course. For a player of my skill level, it provides enough challenge that I can come away feeling rewarded or feeling a little beat up. It won't provide as wide of a scoring range as Mesker Park in Evansville, nor will it play as quickly as Woodmere, but it is definitely a very fun course. If you have a big arm then you will love the open holes. If you play a more technical game then there are some holes for you. Also, there is a pro shop located at the Municipla golf course just up the hill. They sell discs, bags and minis (cash only, no credit cards)!

UPDATE: While the new holes aren't as strong as the holes that were previously there, I couldn't justify changing my rating based on those 4 holes. If you want to add some variety, you can still play hole 4 from the former tee pad. It's about 500' to the new location. You can also play hole 5 from old 6's tee pad for a different variety. The old sleeves are still in the ground if you want to see how the old course played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/2/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Newer 18 hole course so there are great baskets, excellent tee signs, and solid concrete tees. Easy to navigate and little danger of losing discs will make this course appeal to recreation players, beginners, and families, although some of the holes will be long for beginners. There are several really good holes #2-7 were nice, as well as a couple on the back 9. The baskets on earth mounds are unique. There are some nice views of the Ohio River but water does not come into play. The course comes back to the parking lot after holes #9 and #18. There is a nice kiosk with course map and scorecards as well as a practice basket.
Cons: For my tastes, there are too many holes that are not real exciting, challenging, memorable, or unique. These holes are relatively long and wide open and seem to be fillers in order to get to and from the parking lot to the better parts of the park. #1, #9, #10, #18 come to mind as being rather boring.

Be aware of other park users as a walking trail goes in and out of the course several times. Also, a popular playground could see an errant throw head its way on hole 15. Speaking of 15 (and 16), these holes had buttercup flower filled fairways, which were pretty, but made finding discs extremely difficult as these things are thick and tall. I had trouble finding my putter after a missed putt!!! Also on these two holes you have to look out for golf balls as a golf course runs along these holes as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is your typical city parks course- nice, playable, great for all skill levels, but advanced and experienced players will see that this course is pretty average.

Recommendation- if you live here you have a decent 18 hole course, if you are passing through and have time it is worth a stop to play once, if you are driving a long ways you can find better courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park on the River

1    4/2/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atkison Park now has 18 holes. The tee pads and baskets are all in excellent condition. The views of the Ohio River are nice. There is a solid mix of holes requiring a variety of shots. Basket placements on the "mounds" which begin the back 9 were interesting. They provide a distinct chalenge in uphill approaching which is difficult with the swirling winds. The course is extremely windy, probably due to its location just off the river. There was a hole on the back 9 where the buttercups were in bloom covering 90% of the fairway. It was a really pretty hole that day.
Cons: While I enjoyed the course overall, there wasn't a hole that just made my mouth drop. My only major complaint is the same complaint I had about Madisonville City Park...Holes #1 and #18 are weak. At Atkison Park, Hole #1 is wide open and 280 feet. Not much of a challenge outside of wind. Hole #18 is wide open, flat, and 387 feet. Again, in my opinion, distance does not create difficulty. Especially when the Par listed for this hole is 4. It is an easy 3 for any reasonably experienced disc golfer. Walking trails come into play on a few throws, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Atkison Park is a nice course. By my estimation, it is slightly above average, but just slightly. There are some interesting holes but don't expect to be blown away. If you live in the area and need to practice playing in the wind, this is definitely the place to do it. This is a great place to stop by if you happen to be in the area, but its not a course I would drive 50 miles out of the way to play. We played it as we drove through, after playing Madisonville and before playing Mesker Park. It was a sensible stop and a relaxing round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course, Different types of Holes

2-4    12/11/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a great course, it moves from long holes to shorter holes. some are more technical while others just let you huk the disc at your own free will. 10 and 11 have the baskets on mounds...makes for some interesting putts (leaves you satisfied with a par but feeling like an ace when you hit a birdie). Wooded holes are shorter but require good shots for a birdie attempt. lots of risk reward areas and OB that makes you play smart instead of throwing a big shot everywhere.
Cons: hole 1 is very plain, about 300ft and pretty much a wide open field. there are some drainage issues because of the proximity to the river. 18 was shortened after the expansion...they should offer long and short tees on that one and a few others to help close some of the gap between "A" and "B" players.
Other Thoughts: didnt get to play it before the new 9 but the additions have made the park a lot bettwe from what seems to have been the original 9. there is plenty of room to add some more wooded holes and maybe make it a 27 hole course (9 - beginner; 9 - intermediate; 9 - pro). it is a great park and close to Evansville, can make a great day playing there and Mesker and enjoy some good food in both towns.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid 18 Hole Course

1    10/31/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging & Fun
Good Flow
Picturesque Park
Variety of Shots
Some distance shots (bring your driver)
Well kept fairways
Cons: Soggy around holes 1 and 9
4 completely open holes
Steep slope to the right of #3 fairway (watch out!)
Other Thoughts: With the addition of 9 new holes, Atkison Park DGC is a solid course that can be enjoyed by both new and experienced players. There are open shots, some tree lined fairways, baskets on the side of inclines, baskets on top of knolls, and a couple of moderately wooded fairways. The baskets on top of the knolls provide a good putting challenge and some risk versus reward.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.