Twin Falls, ID 
Rock Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket: Another View



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not for the timid.

2-4    11/11/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: - Many technical and challenging holes that require a multitude of well-placed shots.
- Very cool and unique basket locations on many holes.
- You will get to use many of your specialty discs here that might usually just sit in your bag.
- Beautiful scenery in the Rock Creek canyon.
- #9 Tee shot is the scariest I've ever made. If you clip a tree branch and don't clear the creek, you're out $15-20.
Cons: - Rock Creek is intimidating because you're just one bad throw from losing some plastic.
- #9 Tee shot is the scariest I've ever made. If you clip a tree branch and don't clear the creek, you're out $15-20. (This isn't a mistake; #9 is a "Pro" and a "Con")
- The grass in some area needs some TLC.
- The walking path causes delays while you wait for hikers.
- The narrow canyon causes some overlap, so watch out for other golfers.
- Too many short holes, but the canyon's geography limits the space here.
Other Thoughts: Crazy course! The canyon and the creek make for really cool scenery (see the photos).
Some of the holes are very tough and technical. You will need all your discs and accuracy is at a premium. The creek will eat your discs if your aim is off (my Beast became a victim on #1). It's very hard to post a low score here, but still really fun and challenging. I don't recommend this course for beginners; it might frustrate them quite a bit. #10 is very cool when the basket is up on the rock cliff (check out the photo of #8, which is mislabeled and is really #10).
If you're in Twin Falls, you should definitely play this course along with CSI.

Rock River

2-4    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The location of this course is by far the biggest pro. The scenery is beautiful with the black rocks and the river running through it. I don't think the pictures for the holes do it justice.

As mentioned before hole 1 is it's signature hole. The downhill toss with the river behind it is exceptional.

The course offers several other unique and fun holes as well. I didn't get to play hole 10 while it is up on the cliff, but I can see how that would be an awesome one too.

There is good use of the terrain, elevation and trees to make for some fun technical play. Tunnel shots, big forehand and backhand shots around blind corners. It offers a ton, though the course is lefty or flick heavy.

Tee pads and baskets are in good condition for the most part. I only saw a couple baskets off kilter or damaged.

Signage was pretty good and helped a lot with locating the baskets.

Flow is simple, down and back.
Cons: Tragically there are some major cons that really lower the rating of this course to me pretty significantly.

First of all I am extremely harsh on courses that overlap holes. When you are throwing directly at the tee pads for the next hole, or crossing fairways, it is not only poor design, it's dangerous. Add blind shots all over the place and a walking path to the mix with pretty good traffic and this course is a disaster. I watched a handicap guy get drilled with a disc because an inconsiderate asshole golfer couldn't take the three seconds to make sure it was clear.

That isn't the courses fault you say? Well when there are so many holes that put people in peril it's bound to happen, particularly with lazy or inconsiderate golfers or people who don't understand proper etiquette.

Having the pathway and beyond as OB for virtually every hole is just ridiculous and causes people to lose a ton of plastic. The course is technical enough without having OB on EVERY hole. I can understand when you have conflicting fairways to attempt to protect other players, but not for every hole.

Gnarly weeds make searching for you disc in rougher areas quite unpleasant.

The river is extremely unforgiving. If your disc goes in there it's not likely you will ever get it back.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think the course designers were a bit pretentious with making an already difficult course downright miserable. It's like they want you to lose plastic. Play it safe, take the OB.

It is still worth playing, for sure, particularly for the scenery, but it's not worthy of a high rating.

This is not a course for beginners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good thought, poor execution.

1    7/9/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: theabacus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has several unique holes; hole one probably being the most unique. The course is left fairly wild with some nice waterfalls, rocks, and trees throughout. Definitely a challenging course where conservative, acurate shots are the order of the day.
Cons: The course has good aspects, but unfortunately I feel that the bad aspects outweigh the good. Although there are some unique holes, many of the holes are fairly bland and over grown. There is a river (not a stream) that runs through the course making disc retrieval almost impossible. For the most part the fairways are kept fairly trimmed, but aspects of the course are overgrown making finding discs difficult. Course is a hike. The first and last holes are overgrown by cheat grass with thistles; wear boots and avoid exposed socks.

The worst aspect is confusing layout and lack of direction. I could not found a map online anywhere. There are very few signs and many of those are wrong. Basket numbers are off or marked incorrectly. Finding the tee pad is a guessing game since most of them are simply marked by wear.
Other Thoughts: Overall, nice attempt, poor execution. Worth playing once for the several unique holes, but not a course I would frequent. Needs better signs and better care. If you are passing through Twin Falls, go play the CSI course instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Epic-ness

1    4/30/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beauty: First and foremost, Rock Creek Park is an incredibly beautiful rocky gorge cut out of steep rock walls by Rock Creek. We played in spring before most of the trees filled in which allowed for expansive views of the rock bluffs, many waterfalls, and the powerful springtime Rock Creek. From start to finish, the course captures a lot of the more interesting components of the park including water shots, basket placement on steep rock terrain, and big elevation shots.

Variety: Variety comes in the form of frequent elevation changes, tight turns wrapping around the river or rock walls, and from fairways which are 100 percent air to tightly constricted. You'll need most of the shots in your bag here, with perhaps the exception of long-bombs with high speed drivers.

Challenging OB: OB comes in two forms here: First, from a paved walking path that splits the two sides of the course - on many of the holes, skipping across this path is a very real possibility for any poorly thrown shot. The second is the more natural creek hazard which lines the right side of many of the front nine. While on most holes, it is fairly easily avoidable, in spring time when we played, it was bumping right up within just a few feet of pin placements.
Cons: Challenge: Don't get me wrong, several holes out here are VERY challenging and have awesome risk/reward opportunities, but, on the whole, the course isn't what it could be. I'd absolutely love to see several of these fairways doubled up for much longer par three and even a couple of par four holes. Because of the walking path that splits the front and back nine of this course, it would probably be quite unsafe to design holes where high speed drivers would likely be thrown. But I can dream though :)...

Tweeners:The description on this course lists it as 'very technical' and 'unforgiving' and for a few holes, this is indeed the case. But for the vast majority of holes, the course is pretty straightforward with quite a few birdies. Several of the technical holes in the pin positions we played seemed overly treed (and I don't often say this!) with very small available openings which had real potential to put you in the circle. Most lines on these overly technical holes allowed you to easily reach 50-60' out though, making for 'tweeners' which are easily threed and very rarely four'd or two'd.

Watch out noobs!: with steep drop-offs, several places to lose discs in the creek, and lots of 'no-no' places, this course is not designed for the newest players. Although several holes are straight-forward, I couldn't imagine a loop of holes that would be easily accessed and appropriate for true novices.
Other Thoughts: You probably picked this up already but I highly, highly recommend this course for everyone but very new players. Perhaps locals to the mountain west get to see terrain like this on a more frequent basis, but this course blew my flatlander mind! I've never played through such a fun, rugged, rock strewn park.

Marmot/Squirrels: Another really unique feature of this course is the ABUNDANCE of whistlin' marmots that live on the rock walls lining the course. Walking around the first transition bend to the back section of holes, we saw ~15 of the guys scurry from the grass to their safe rock dens, whistling and chirping warning calls all the way. Why were they so afraid you ask? I'm guessing the live .22 caliber shell we found while playing the course might have something to do with it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Course

1    4/30/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rock Creek has some of the most unique holes I've ever seen and will ever see again. The course plays right along a fast flowing river near some awesome looking vertical rock cliffs that do come into play in some very fun and challenging ways. There is a decent amount of elevation at the course mainly at the beginning and ending of the course. Hole one is a large drop in elevation towards a basket that is protected by the river behind it, I think most advanced players are using putters and can master this hole after a couple times out but this is fun hole and a good start to good course. There are many instances where the rock wall comes into play but I have never seen anything like one of the holes on the course in the back nine (I can't remember which holes and the numbers were a bit fishy but I'll go more into depth on that later) that has you throw shot that has trees guarding the left side and the right side is the rock wall and your best shot is to hit off the rock wall with your disc and ricochet it towards the basket. I can see local players finding the best spot to hit the wall to get a birdie. Hole eight is an interesting pin position located up on one of the bluffs of the rock creek and the tee pad on the ground. This is a fun hole but I think a limb or two of trimming would open up a better route to this very protected basket. It seems there are multiple pins here that mix it up a bit as well. Make sure you bring a camera to this place to take a photograph or two, you won't regret it.
Cons: Since the river is running right next to course some of the tee pads and baskets can be underwater or wet and the pads get turned to mud since they are grass or natural pads, fortunately there seems to be temporary tee pads on some holes to help you out. It seems as if there was a redesign sometime in the last year or so because the tee signs all had bad information on them as far as distance as well as which hole number we were playing. This combined with some of the longer walks between holes could lead to some of the course being hard to navigate. There is also a walking/jogging trail that runs right through most of the course that could get really busy during the Summer months. I feel as though this course could use a couple more longer holes including a par four or five to add challenge and fun to the course.
Other Thoughts: While we were there playing near the rock wall there were Prairie Dogs (I think that's what they were) screeching at us or barking and they were everywhere! When we were playing near the hole with the basket on the bluff near the rock wall (that's where they make their home I believe) they went into the rocks and hid from us but there were still a couple of ones barking or screeching at us, kind of weird. Anyway this is a good course to combo with CSI for a day trip or a stop between Boise and Pocatello. Solid course and some great views with unique holes, I recommend stopping.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Creek over College

2-4    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: Likkwid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Setting is a beautiful tree covered canyon... Hole #1 starts you off elevated over looking a beautiful creek running through the canyon. As you work your way through the canyon, the designers have you climbing up on to rocks and going around the trees. The locals are friendly, and there are some nice alcoves throughout the course...
Cons: Hard to navigate your first time without a guide. Couple of fairway crosses that can slow you down waiting on others.
Other Thoughts: Being one of my local courses I will be there a lot more then others. The nature setting is awesome and it is a great park for family and friends, round up the gang, bring bbq supplies, a cooler full of beer and water and throw to your hearts content.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  sick

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: discjunke
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course is sick. if you loose a disc, that is a lesson, accuracy is key.
Cons: only con is map.course is so tech and blind better direction is key.not newbe
Other Thoughts: outrageous. if you have any skill than than this course is for you!
bonus holes all day!


0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Canyon Course

1    8/28/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - short, fun, beginner friendly course
- some very pretty pin positions
- I counted at least 9 waterfalls that cascade the canyon walls as you play
- decent, descriptive tees signs with pictures
- tees in decent shape
Cons: - some really long walks between holes
- semi-poor layout due to the fact that it is an 'out and back' course
- even with the tee signs, some baskets are hard to locate because the distances are not accurate
- some tees are poorly placed and have bad footing
Other Thoughts: If you play after any sort of rainstorm, or while the creek is in full flow, DO NOT throw a disc anywhere near it. It will get swept away in the raging current, and the water is a milky white, so you'll never see your disc again.

Because this course is set down in a canyon, it provides a unique environment to play in, but doesn't really provide any good options for only playing some of the holes. Once you commit to playing some, you're pretty much committed to playing or walking them all, because hole after hole #8 is where you turn around and start walking back in a straight line to where you started.

Overall this was a very fun course, mostly short holes with a few quality long ones thrown in for good measure. I wouldn't say it's worth going out of your way to play, but if you're passing through Twin Falls with a friend, stop and give it a toss and you'll have fun. A great course to play Ript! on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc eater

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well, the only real pros I can say on the course is that it has some pretty cool shots (7, 10, 11) and it is in a really interesting but beautiful park
Cons: Well, my cons are long because that couse ate three of my disc the only time I played it. It is not very forgiving, and if you are playing without a spotter, beware. The holes tend to weave in and out of each other and some of them, especially 14, just dont have a route to get to the basket. Maybe they moved to teepad recently, but from where we were throwing, it was just a wall of trees.
Other Thoughts: It is very hot down there in the summer. I bet it would be a decent place to play if not for the thorns, water, and well, water

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 rock creek park

1    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow im not even sure i can give any pros here, the best thing about this course is that it is set in a really nice location.
Cons: Lost discs here is a no suprise, a couple holes worth playing like 10 n 11 but the rest of the course is horrible.Talked to the locals and even they dont even play 1,2 or even 18.
Other Thoughts: would be a nice place to play if the holes were more forgiving, too many baskets in a lil area and maps needed to find next holes. didnt even consider playing it twice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.