Monterey, CA 
Ryan Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tonyofthsee Hole #12 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Fairway



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  get your lime disease vaccination!!

5+    4/4/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: steve
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice vistas
Cons: has a lot of un-mowed LONg grass that is impossible to find your disc in(watch it till it hits the ground, i spent as much time looking as i did playing), course has LOTs of ticks, they like to live in long dry grass! check ur dog too!(lime disease is no joke in monterey co.). very little shade on the entire course so bring your sunscreen! this place roasted me to a crisp! teepads are natural/mostly dirt and kind of dangerous to be honest, also many of the tees are dug into the ground leaving little/no room to run up.( difficult to huck one 500' on a tiny, constricting teepad) holes are pretty clear cut, nothing too memorable, little elavation variation. no rollers due to the rough earth the course is situated on. can u throw huge hyzer/ really far all day? also this place gets really really windy and a lot of the holes seem ridiculous w the way the normal wind makes you play the hole. on a windy expect to shoot well over par.
despite some efforts, there is ToNs of poison oak all over the course, so keep an eye out! also lots of stinging nettle!!
Other Thoughts: much of the course is very wild and rough. a lot of the lower dead stuff on many of the trees should be cleared away as there are lots of little "jails" u can get stuck in, many of them in/below dense oak trees w poison oak intertwined w the regular oak. some of these pockets have not been maintained at all, stay on the fairway!!

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Jelly Jammin at RR

2-4    4/4/2015   4/6/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 72  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2015
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: (originally written in 2009 and it has only taken me 6 years to get back down here to play the course!)

Every Shot in the book: long, short, medium, up, down, flat, left, right, excellent design, nice setting, gorgeous oak trees, pin settings, and tee locations. It can be windy (i see that as a positive)!

The Monterey Stinging Jellies have done a fantastic job with this premiere piece of property and the course has broken in well. Of course, the mowing is the biggest part of the work detail here, and I was fortunate enough to visit just days after folks had mowed the back 9 making play extremely clean for the dry season.

The live oak trees present a terrific hazard on much of this course, but make no mistake: this is a throwers course and if you have a 400ft drive that is fairly accurate, you should have a huge advantage here.

Elevation comes into play on most holes and combined with the wind are the biggest hazards out here. It is fair however, and one should be able to get a par on most holes. I shot -4 with 4 bogies and those mistakes of course were my own off the tee or a missed putt here and there.

All of the tees are in excellent shape still and most have benches for a quick break between holes. Some have great benches that invite a longer stay...
Cons: The worst thing I saw is the B position on hole 11 ( I think it was 11). This sits perched above hwy 68 and if you were to go too long your disc could easily go into the road or beyond. How that is not considered a safety hazard I have no idea. Nor did I know that even existed there and was lucky to have thrown the hole almost perfectly with a putter, or else my disc would have gone careening towards the road and perhaps hit a car. That could easily cause an accident on the road and I wouldn't want to have to go retrieve my disc in any event. The A position is perfect and really shouldn't be moved...
Other Thoughts: 29 holes of pure bliss for me. I played solo, didn't take any breaks, and finished the course in about an hour and 45 minutes. Bring plenty of water, good hiking shoes, long pants, and layers for the wind. Have fun!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Diamond in the rough....

1    3/26/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: Buzzzsaw
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ryan Ranch has tons of variety as far as length and elevation. It is a great course for accurate long arms. The local club, the Monterey Stinging Jellies, has done a ton of work clearing out fairways (including poison oak). The scenery is awesome and the adjacent airport has landings every few minutes that provides come cool effects.
Cons: Had a tour with the course designer last week... if not, it would be somewhat difficult to navigate. Discs can easily get lost here with some thick grass, bush, etc.
Other Thoughts: It really helps to be able to throw accurately past the 400ft barrier here. However, there are also some easy birds if you can throw precisely inside of 300ft. Make the trip to Ryan Ranch! Once this course is broken in, I can see Monterey hosting Worlds in a few years.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2009   2/27/2009
Review By: progolfer
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2009
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: tuff lay out when the wind pick up spotter or need not the one man go play round disc will be tuff to find by your self and time will fly nice long holes for likeing get your wraiths ready and tame it right
Cons: easy to lose disc and high grass but hey it,s new after about 2,000 people play the course it will be great and it already fine also lots of ticks stay out of the bush
Other Thoughts: had no problems reaching all the hole they had not being cocky but miss alot of birdie putts today

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Give it time and this will be the Mecca

1    2/5/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of variety.Uphill shots, downhill shots ect.
Beautiful setting. LOTS of room. Uphill shots, downhill shots.Technical enough that you have to use different discs to actually see what they and you are made of. You will have a good story after playing the course
Cons: Parking - There pretty much isn't any
Discs- Be prepared to search or lose one or two
Distance between tees- Long
Location - Hard to locate but is worth it once you do
Markers- For this hole there might be one on a rock, on this one maybe on a piece of wood or maybe not at all.
You may have to be Ken Climo to par this course. Oh and poison oak, wear pants.
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate enough to run into people that have played the course before and I joined them. I found out you can park right by the first tee if you have a code to the gate. Other wise you have to fight for parking in a lot filled with workers at some building.
I read a review about the Don Dahvee course and someone described it roughly as; a project for the builders and their friends. I kind of feel that way as well. HOWEVER I do RESPECT all the time and effort these guys have put into the area. But... Don Dahvee like Ryan Ranch is impossible without a guide in my opinion. Both of the official Monterey courses don't seem too "Out of town friendly".
And again I'm not trying to put down the progress that the city and surrounding areas have made but, if we put up more markers,more info etc.....Monterey will explode.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course.

1    1/20/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: DuBose
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course plays through some nice hills. Nice mix of elevated tee pads or elevated baskets. Hole #3 is kind of like a mini 'top of the world' from Santa Cruz. I really like how the easier holes are at the beginning of the course and the longer more difficult holes are towards the end. Nice mix of really short holes to very long. I think the way hole #12 plays 520' around trees and uphill, compares with Novato's 1000' hole. Most tee pads had thick rubber mats nailed down and almost all of the baskets had numbers on them. The map that I printed from the Links/Files was very helpful. The layout from previous hole to the next tee pad is laid out very well except for #4 and #11. Even without signs I was able to navigate pretty easily with the printed map. I was the only player out there. This did not make me lonely, it meant NO WAITING! It was almost like having my own personal course. Very cool.
Cons: No signs showing distance and pin placement. Many holes did have rocks with the distance written on them. Some tee pads were missing the rubber mats. No benches or trash cans but that's not really a big deal. The 3-4 and 10-11 thing is silly. I know that 27 holes are the plans but it seems like you could make a great 18 first and then add 8 later. I would like to see sharper turning right and left holes. Parking is a problem also. I parked in the parking lot ignoring the employee only parking. If I lived in town and was able to play this course more I would not feel comfortable parking there.


Other Thoughts: Seeing that this is a new course, I think that they have done an awesome job. It's a great location for a course and the scenery is awesome. The mix of holes has been put together nicely. I am really looking forward to returning to this course and seeing the progress as it continues to mature. The potential here is unlimited. Having 5 courses in a smaller populated area like Monterey is pretty amazing. I only had time to play this one and one other. If I only had time to play 1 course next time that I was in town, I would play this one before the other one and even trying the other three. I suggest you print the map, take some water and try and give yourself enough time to play 2 rounds. Did I mention no waiting.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Ryan Ranch DGC

5+    1/17/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: DaveJones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape with serious potential. Still in it's first year, this course is evolving. And with alot of work from the local Monterey Stinging Jellies DGC it's really starting to take shape. The land provides an expansive view of the Ryan Ranch area with many elevation changes. Stands of oak trees line the valleys and grassy fairways. This is a BIG course! It will challenge all skill ranges and has long holes at 500'+ and the shortest one is around 180'.There are rubber tee pads with tee #'s and distances posted on most holes. The baskets are DGA Mach V's.
Cons: Being a brand new course (1 year old ) there are still a few kinks being worked out. First time visitors are encouraged to use a map or hook up with a guide. Sign's, trash cans, benches and other amenities are showing up on the course more each day.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Championship Course

5+    2/25/2009   12/19/2008
Review By: Tonyofthsee
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Sweet course!! 27 holes. Average hole distance over 350. Just enough fun short holes to balence all of the really long ones. Rubber pads on most of the important holes. More coming soon. Elevation changes, long drives, beautiful setting, and easy to follow layout. The first 18 bring you back to the parking lot where you can refuel and then take on the tough back nine. There is a driving range set up with 550 feet of flags. Its a great way to warm up. The local club has done a lot in a short amount of time for this course. Expect big tournaments here in the near future.
Cons: The gate is locked most weekday's. You have to park next door. Rain has brought a few water hazards into play this season. Can't wait for the multiple pin posistions. Off roaders on weekends every once in a while. Tell them nicely to leave.
Other Thoughts: If you havnt played this course yet get out there. Its pretty special.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Which way?

1    10/14/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: hagar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Dedicated DG Course
Cons: This course was very reminiscent of my expereince a few days prior at the Don Dahvee course near MPC. The course was easy to find, but once there, it was tough finding even the first hole, even though it's right near the entrance. I HAD a course map and still couldn't find many of the holes. I probably played a few holes in unintended ways, just because I saw a basket and not the tee and just decided to play. After being out in the dust for 3 hours I got tired of looking for holes and gave up after 11 holes.
Other Thoughts: I would guess with a guide, the course could be fun. There seems to be a good diversion of layouts with some extreme elevation changes. The course seemed pretty fair, yet challenging for all skill levels, but wandering around looking for holes all day is not my idea of fun. There were a couple other groups out there on a Tuesday (midday), but none in my immediate flow to follow. Not the most asthetic course I've played, but I would love to try it again with somebody who knows their way around.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dry, dry, dry

2-4    10/17/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This has some real potential. There were some good/challenging holes.
Cons: Needs signage and tee pads. A couple of prison shots.
Other Thoughts: The walkout from 10-11 is rather ridiculous. I never did find the tee for hole #10. You may not get to park at hole #1 (locked gate), but can drive 'around the block' (back down the hill, to the south, back up a hill and back to the north) and park in a business park near hole #15.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.