Monterey, CA 
Ryan Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tonyofthsee Hole #25 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 309ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oak Grove on steroids

1    10/19/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting: Rolling coastal hills, sweet ocean breeze (some may think this is a con - not me), excellent scenery / views, lots of places nearby to park non-playing family members while you go out and chuck a few. The terrain is typical for the area and features lots of oak trees (there are NO windows in oak trees) and dry (in the summertime) yellow grass (choose your disc color carefully or be prepared to spend some time looking for your plastic).

Layout: Out and back for 18, out and back for another 9. The whole course plays over varied terrain that seems to be on two levels - this means plenty of flat shots and plenty of elevation changes, sometimes both occuring on the same hole. Taking the land as a unit, I'd be hard pressed to find a better place to put a course.

Holes: As others have stated, #3 is the signature hole here. It's a long downhill bomb that just begs you to throw everything in your bag at it. Just freakin gorgeous. Other than that, I was very impressed with the variety of challenges presented. Every hole was a puzzle to be figured out and each one had its separate satisfaction, doled out to you if - and sometimes it was a VERY elusive "if" - you made it go right.

Other "pro"s: I could tell that the local club has put a whole lot of work and love into this course and I'm sure that by the time the 2011 Worlds rolls into town, it'll be a venue that the pros will remember for a long, long time.
Cons: The main "con" in my book was the large flat area where most of the third nine plays, more or less. I don't mind large flat areas, but large flat areas where heavy equipment has left ruts in the ground means a significant risk of twisted ankles, which is an automatic safety ding for me. Run a roller over this area once or twice and it should be fine.

Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course (October) and I had the disadvantage of not having a guide to help with navigation and a bum knee that let me down after 18. Plus, the course was still in the "tourney" layout, which evidently does not match the map here on the site. Again, I'm not familiar enough with the course to speak about its various layouts, pin positions, etc., other than as I found them today.

Oh by the way, the course is directly under the approach pattern for the local airport, so if sounds tend to distract you, be prepared to wait until the occasional Learjet, crop-duster, or ultralight moseys through the local airspace.

All in all I had a tremendous time here and look forward to coming back again and again to play this central coast jewel. I'd recommend it to anyone in the Monterey area.


14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Huckin’ at the Ranch

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Course is relatively easy to find
• Nice location with some interesting scenery in the valley area
• Warm-up areas
• Baskets are in good shape and seem to all have hole number markers
• A nice variety of shot shapes
• Most of the tee pads on the first 18 are in good shape (rubber mat type)
• Most of the holes have tee/distance makers, although some are inaccurate or contradictory where there are two markers.
• Multiple basket positions and pads throughout the course
• I like the Karma Box for lost discs
• Benches
• Dog Friendly
Cons:
• Not the easiest course to navigate. Could use some more "Next Tee" signage.
• Signage is a bit inconsistent overall
• Tee pads on 19-27 are practically non-existent.
• Poison Oak around the back part of the course is thick. (Holes 3-5ish)
• No restrooms/water that I could see.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• A map or course guide/friend is an extremely good idea. We got lucky that we got in behind a friendly group that knew where to go. Thanks guys!
• A spotter is not a bad idea, although not quite required. There are a couple holes where you may wish you had one though.
• Pack out your trash people! Although there's a dump nearby, which incidentally provides a sparkling aroma on #2, so it's hard to say how much garbage is blown in from there versus dropped by naughty discers.
• Bring water and use the restroom before you go out.

Random Thoughts:
Ryan Ranch is an interesting course, in that, almost every basket is dead straight ahead, but yet, on each hole you're presented with new challenges on how exactly to get there. It also seemed quite long to me with many holes over 350 feet (which I like), and the short one's being quite nasty. Speaking of which, this site has every hole listed as a par 3. Ouch! I personally believe in the ~400 foot par 4 and ~500 foot par 5, but that's just me. With those set of rules, I threw +3 for the full 27. Without them, I probably threw +8.
Additional random thoughts on the holes:
• #1 is a great starter hole because it's wide open and long thus allowing you to get a bit warmed up.
• By #2, your warm-up is over because you're presented with a left to right that is unforgivable if you go right and not particularly nice if you go too far left.
• #3 is this course's 'Top of the World' shot. It's a beautiful deceptively long downhill bomb into the valley with planes coming in for a landing overhead. Very cool.
• #4 is an OK slightly uphill shot but #4A is one of the meanest holes I've ever seen. Straight up hill through the trees and hard right with Poison Oak all over the place. Yowza!
• #5-#8 is where you can open 'er up a bit but do pick your landing spot somewhat carefully.
• #9 & #10 will absolutely make you pay for going left. Don't go left. Really.
• #11 almost got me my first ace thanks to a friendly ricochet off a nearby tree. Disc ended up UNDER the basket. Good times.
• #12 is a very difficult hooded forest shot. Stay low or dive bomb it I guess. I don't have that shot in my bag though.
• #13 & #14 I can't recall much about for some reason. Brian freeze apparently.
• #15 & #16 you can open 'er up again. #15 basket is tucked into the hollow on the left.
• #17 is an elevator up and out shot.
• #18 you'll want to steer clear of the reedy area to the right. Nasty in there. Tip: #18 basket is the one on the left.
• #19 is all about the landing spot off the tee.
• #20 is trying hard to take the title of meanest hole from #4A. There is an extremely narrow spot between the fenced parking lot and the tree line that you'll need to hit on your first throw. So yea…I had to climb the fence. If you don't see #20s basket in the open, it's past the tree line and to the left. I mistakenly thought the pole marking one of the baskets positions was an object pin. Figured it out later.
• #21 and #22 are fairly straight forward.
• #23's tee position is tricky. I'm guessing there are two. I found the one in the tree grove thanks to a large arrow dug into the ground. Never found the one on the map.
• #24 LET FLY!!!
• #25 Barely found the tee area. Only found a pole. Perhaps there's a basket somewhere. I also saw another tee pad nearby. Maybe #23's?
• #26 LET FLY AGAIN!!! Just don't go left. Yea…I went left.
• #27 Looking back, I'm pretty sure I used #26A tee area for #27, so I'm not too much help here. I didn't realize 'til later I should've walked way right to find it. But hey, it was a tougher shot and I parred it, so there.

Bottom Line:
I sense a lot of love in this course. The baskets are all in great shape and numbered. There are nice benches around the course, as well as trash cans. You can also see progress being made on the tee pads and signage. Unfortunately, that progress is a bit uneven as you move through the first 18, and 19-27 still feel a bit like a work in progress. With that said, I suspect over the next little while that the love will finish things off nicely and this course will really shine. Overall, this is a very fair and fun course that I would probably slot in the intermediate skill level zone depending on your feelings about par. I also suspect that in the winter months this course gets a lot tougher as water flows and grass grows. But don't let all this stop you from going because we had a good time out there and quite enjoyed the scenery. I look forward to going back and seeing the progress. Good job Jellies!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Compares Favorably To Cali's Best!

1    8/24/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Check out the course rating distribution on Ryan Ranch to see the controversy about rating this course. What other course has as many 5's (2) as 1.5's (2)? The ratings and opinions are over the board. We played it in late August when it was brown and parched and the grass was fairly short. Others write of playing it when the grass is green and two feet tall and finding your disc is impossible.

All I know is that is a wonderful piece of land for a course. The local club seems to working hard putting in the proper signs, teepads, garbage cans, benches and everything else that finishes off a course. It all takes time. This is a large sprawling park. Volunteer labor only works so fast. The baskets are PGA Mach 5's. The teepads that are finished so far are very well done rubber mats, grippy and extremely level. The terrain is rolling hills with plenty of open space, patches of mature trees, plenty of up and down throws, some extremely fast and tricky greens and basket placements. # 3 kind of stands out for me as it's signature "Top of the World" throw. It's not quite the epic throw toss as DeLa's but you'll want to throw more than a few here. This course has some really pretty vistas of the surrounding area and the low flying planes preparing for landing at the nearby Monterey Airport kind of add to the ambivence. The course will easily challenge the advanced to the pro player while bringing us recreational players to tears at times. There is a Kisok at the beginning with a little shaded bench to relax after a grueling 27 hole marathon. Somewhere between 8 and 10 holes play over 400' depending on which tee you're throwing from. There's a little box for returning lost discs at the beginning.
Cons: There's lots of poision oak here. Long pants/gaiters are a good idea. It's a long/hot hike. Bring water and sun protection. A spotter is good idea on many of the holes. Navigation is currently a little dicey. It's not a beginner/family friendly course. I'd like to see the trash/pile of wood cleaned up on the # 1 fairway, it would look a little better.
Other Thoughts: I think this course compares very favorable to Napa's Wilderness Park. Same kind of rugged terrain, same feel to it, same challenge, same frustration level. Also pretty similiar feel to Stafford Lake, although not quite as epic. We're not quite there with DeLavegea. They've had many years to improve their course. Another course I see similarities with is Lake Casitas down in the LA area. The one thing it has over Ryan Ranch is a little more in the scenic beauty department. This is a great piece of dirt for a course. It's only going to get better and better with time. If you played it earlier, I'd suggest coming back and giving it another chance. I hope I get another opportunity for it to kick my behind!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Potential to be great

1    6/27/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Distances varied tremendously which is great, plenty of ace runs, never anybody there (good and bad/sad), lots of open room on most holes to work with. FREE
Cons: Hard to find where to park the first time there and could definitely use a dg sign off the main street if the city allows, overgrown tremendously if you don't have someone else with you don't bother playing, I spent close to two hours of my round looking for two lost discs, definitely leaves a sour taste in your mouth for the course. Lots of holes don't have cleared out set fairways, sign distances aren't entirely accurate, hard finding where the next tee box was, basket #'s weren't entirely accurate, lack of trash containers around which led to trash all over the course especially hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Even though I had a disappointing first round at this course I can see potential. If the club really worked on this course, clearing out, signing the course better and cleaning up it could be one of the top courses in the state, whoever designed the course you could tell knew what they were doing and made the holes a lot of fun with a mixture of tough and easier holes. Good luck guys!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 omg no

5+    6/2/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: there4iluv2thr0w
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: wow i loved this course what happend, so many great shots long throws short throws , no lines or wait times,
Cons: overgrown beyond belief, dont waste your time,i love this course and had some friends in town and was so embarresed that i said this was a good course, tees grown over baskets too , signs to next tee wernt there
Other Thoughts: hopefully the do there spring cleanup soon i really enjoy this course especially if you can see over the 6 ft grass

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 almost there

5+    1/12/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: gianetics
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: its a huge course with a lot of different shots required. huge distances, hole 3, the fact that i rarely have to wait for anyone.
Cons: huge distances. it needs a few more technical short holes. should have more signs with pin position and distances.
Other Thoughts: i think the course could be redesigned to go by the parking lot sooner. the first 18 feel like 27 sometimes. this course is really coming along, its bittersweet i love the fact you never have to wait but having a popular course brings tounaments and other cool stuff.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Slopes and drop-offs add challenge

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: CarlaO
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not crowded, easy to get to from Hwy1, challenging pin locations
Cons: Kinda hot at noon when it's sunny. Bring sunscreen! Some paths to tee locations criss-cross with other holes, so it was good there weren't many golfers out while we played.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the change in elevation. Some really long holes (500+ feet) and trees come in to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 mediocre

1    4/9/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course up to 18. moderate mix of challenges. Great course for a group of friends to spend a day playing quite long and open. Bring some water and if your out of shape what a great way to get back into it!
Cons: After 18 the course just was back and forth in a field, sort of lame. holes not well marked even with map it was quite difficult.
Other Thoughts: The rough was pretty rough so long pants and or gators for those darned wild grass burrs that lined my boots. If your at DeLa and want to sample some other courses add this to your list but skip the last 9.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in the Bay

5+    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: ahayes97470
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Amazing views
+ Good variety of shots and lengths (200 - 600)
+ Benches and trash cans on most holes
+ Local club is improving it every day
+ Good use of the elevation changes
+ Course loops back to parking area half way through and also ends there
+ Never crowded
+ City mows regularly
Cons: - Poison oak in the more distant rough (being taken care of)
- Without a map or guide it's really difficult to navigate
- Tee pads are still absent from some holes
- No signs yet
Other Thoughts: The main reasons I enjoy this course more than DeLaveaga is because the course is almost always empty and there are no crossing fairways. Some people worry about ticks but I've never seen one out there. Most of the previous reviews were written before the local club did a major overhaul on the course to make it what it is today, although there is still much work to be done.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  get your lime disease vaccination!!

5+    4/4/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: steve
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice vistas
Cons: has a lot of un-mowed LONg grass that is impossible to find your disc in(watch it till it hits the ground, i spent as much time looking as i did playing), course has LOTs of ticks, they like to live in long dry grass! check ur dog too!(lime disease is no joke in monterey co.). very little shade on the entire course so bring your sunscreen! this place roasted me to a crisp! teepads are natural/mostly dirt and kind of dangerous to be honest, also many of the tees are dug into the ground leaving little/no room to run up.( difficult to huck one 500' on a tiny, constricting teepad) holes are pretty clear cut, nothing too memorable, little elavation variation. no rollers due to the rough earth the course is situated on. can u throw huge hyzer/ really far all day? also this place gets really really windy and a lot of the holes seem ridiculous w the way the normal wind makes you play the hole. on a windy expect to shoot well over par.
despite some efforts, there is ToNs of poison oak all over the course, so keep an eye out! also lots of stinging nettle!!
Other Thoughts: much of the course is very wild and rough. a lot of the lower dead stuff on many of the trees should be cleared away as there are lots of little "jails" u can get stuck in, many of them in/below dense oak trees w poison oak intertwined w the regular oak. some of these pockets have not been maintained at all, stay on the fairway!!

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.