Deerbrook, WI 
Jack Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course in the immediate area!

5+    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: BKRanger
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would like to add to some things mentioned in previous reviews that have changed in the recent years.

TEES: There are now four holes that have had the tees upgraded. Hole one has very nice cement tee and holes 6-8 have asphalt tees all only on the short tees. There are plans to add more tees most likely asphalt every year until complete and I believe they are doing the tees that are in the worst shape first.

HOLE 14: As mentioned in superberry's review (and something I have longed for) the basket on hole 14 has been moved up on the hill behind where it used to be and has been for probably 2 years now. This was always an amazing hole and now has a risky green for rollaways and brings more trees into play during putting and has become a signature hole for the course.

Bonus Holes: There are now THREE! bonus holes A, B, and C. Bringing the total number of holes of the course up to 22 counting 15A and 15B. Bonus C the newest is and amazing downhill shot as far downhill as bonus A and B played but then it plays back uphill to probably 15-20' higher than the tee. Fairly open fairway but does have trees that require you to think about your shot. Then the basket is at the top of the hill behind a rock that is about the height of the bottom of the cage and behind the basket is a slight downhill and can be a risky green. I think this is by far the signature hole of the entire course, and also it plays to 15B which I have always thought is the better of the two 15s but most didn't play as it was quite a walk out of your way to the tee.

GROUNDSKEEPING/MOWING: One thing that I feel hasn't been mentioned enough in previous review is the care of the course. There is an amazing amount of maintenance done to this course considering the guy is also responsible for all the other activities the park has to offer. The grass is always cut well and when trees fall down they are always removed in a reasonable amount of time unless it seems to add a nice obstacle then the tree will be left.
Cons: All cons I can think of have been expressed in great detail in previous reviews and the biggest cons would be 1. the tees which is being addressed and the location of the tee signs in relation to the tee and 2. the first 4 holes and 18 being over crowded during peak summer times. Honestly I have rarely had trouble with 4 and 18 if you have patience and wait usually it is just a passerby on those holes that might get in your way.
Other Thoughts: I hate when people mention bugs in the cons of a review. Bugs can't be avoided in a wooded course in WI and should be expected during the summer months.This is an amazing course and by far the best in the area. It has everything from ace runs to a legit par 4. If you are ever in the area don't miss this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very fun northwoods course

2-4    7/13/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set in a very popular multi use park. There are disccatchers on all the holes. These were all in great shape and caught well. There were two sets of tees on all the holes except hole 2 I believe. The blues are the longs and reds are the shorts. There's a decent change in your shot at the pin from the reds to the blues on many of the holes as well. There's a great variation in distances here. The red tees vary from 150 feet on hole 7 up to 510 feet on hole 4. The blue tees vary from 186 feet on hole 2 up to 570 feet on hole 4. There's a large board with any disc golf related info on it and a donation box which they said will be used to install concrete tees in the future. There's also a practice basket located by hole 1which is located just to the east of the basketball court. Hole 2 incorporates a small inlet of Jack lake which you have to throw over. This is a nice way to use the lake as an obstacle. It's not an overly far throw and the lake looked pretty shallow here as well. So even if you threw in the water you'd be able to retrieve it. The navigation here was pretty easy to figure out. There were a number of next tee signs and arrows pointing you to the right trail to the next hole. The course was well mowed and maintained when I was there and also very clean. Every hole has a number of trees to contend with. 18 is pretty much the only real open hole here. There's a good amount of elevation variation on this course. Also a number of the lines to the pin were very challenging, making scoring well here a challenge. There's a few bonus and alternate holes too. These are holes 14 and 15 and are well marked and easy to find. These are a nice bonus as they offer very different looks at the pin. They also had a drinking hose before hole 16's tee I believe it was. The maps for each hole were serviceable as well with the hole #, basic map and distances from each tee.
Cons: The tee pads weren't in the greatest shape. Many were lumpy, rutted and had roots or rocks sticking out. This would be greatly improved if they eventually add concrete tees in the future. The bugs here, as on any northern Wisconsin course, can get pretty nasty in the summer. If you bring bug spray you'll be fine. Since this is such a popular park the first three holes are pretty hazardous. There's a walking path going across hole 1's fairway. Hole 4 also is a bit too long. It starts out with a short 90 degree turn right and then you got to throw about 500 more feet across a large mostly open field. They also didn't have many garbage cans or benches. So be sure if you take it in, take it out.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a very fun course to play. There's a number of other activities to do at this park too. There's not too many other courses nearby but if you are in the area I'd recommend at least one round here. Really solid course in a beautiful park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I was Jacked after Jack Lake

1    10/28/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice property with all sorts of variety. There are some park-like holes early on, including one over the water shot, then you go into the woods for a bunch of holes. Awesome amount of variety across the board.
2) Red/blue posts indicate which tee you are looking for.
3) Signs have Hole #, distance, par, and a map of the holes along with sponsors.
4) Tons of fun on this course for all skill levels. It will be challenging for beginners but short enough that they can make good recovery shots and still make pars. The skilled will appreciate it when they execute a line and get rewarded with a birdie.
5) There are some garbage cans on the course which help to keep this pristine park clean and beautiful.
6) Island green on #4 but it is an island of turf surrounded by pavement. It has the same effect except retrieval is easy. It is a unique feature. I took the risk to try to throw my second shot onto the green, and was rewarded with a nice skip, but unfortunately I missed the putt. That would have been a great 3 for me!
7) Picnic tables and benches are available in a few spots on this course which is always appreciated.
8) Bright directional arrows help guide you through the course. This is always appreciated by a first time travelling disc golfer such as myself.
9) Practice basket is available near the 1st tee.
10) The turf is in good condition even on some of the wooded holes. Turf never does well in the woods, so I have to assume that traffic is not super heavy or they really know how to manage turf in the shade here. Perhaps the sandy soil has also eliminated the chance at compaction, and thus the turf can still thrive.
11) Nice kiosk at the first tee including a donation tube into which I was happy to deposit some money.
12) Nice Innova baskets which help to spot the baskets in the woods. I hate the yellow band except when playing on wooded courses, then I am thankful it is there!
13) Moderate elevation change can be found here which definitely adds to a handful of the holes.
Cons: 1) Long tees are dirt/gravel/grass. These leave a lot to be desired so I hope they can afford them in the future.
2) Dangerous spots with crossing paths. I hate when safety becomes an issue on a disc golf course because I fear losing great courses because someone got hurt needlessly.
3) Distance variation is not that large. Aside from 2 holes most are in that very reachable and repetitive distance between 150-225' from the short tees. The longer tees have a little more variety but as ability gets better so does the need for larger fluctuations in distance.
4) There definitely were some dangerous areas potentially. I played and there was no one around because it was late in the fall, but I can imagine a beautiful park like this being filled with all sorts of park users in summer. I imagine a lot of people sit on the bench by #2 basket all of the time and you will likely never have a clear shot at that basket without fear of hitting someone. It is simply too beautiful of a location. There were also a few spots where walking paths came very much in play as well as the road on a couple holes. The worst area for interaction with non disc golfers would be on holes 1, 2, and 3. The road comes mostly into play on #4.
5) There were some lines that were virtually un-executable. There were sharp bends from the tee which made a legitimate shot at the basket was virtually impossible. This was more the case from the long tees, but even some of the short tees had some ridiculous lines needed.
Other Thoughts: I do see a ton of potential on this property . . . it looks like there is plenty of room for additional holes. This may not be a con, but I sure hope they decide to add more holes down the road. The woods are plentiful and it is all nice clean woods free of most of the invasive species that often take over disc golf properties.

I had a blast on this course despite its simple cons. I see this course as beginner friendly but also challenging to better players too. It is beautiful and a nice walk in the park. Simply put it is a great representative of our sport to a lot of people. I sure hope some of the campers come out to this course and give the game a try because it is a great chance for exposure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Summer 2012

2-4    6/2/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sunnya527
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well laid out . Nice walking course. Has plenty of garbage cans and benches. Fun course for new players .
Cons: First 3 holes you may need to skip if there are a lot of people at park. Little kids running everywhere and when people having parties you will be in the way.
Other Thoughts: worth checking out. Watch if you sit on bench last hole as someone could be behind you trying to throw.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'd play it again

1    7/21/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes with great variety. Besides the usual long/short and left/right and some tight gaps, there were some "short" doglegs (where the bend is very close to the tee) as well as the standard dogleg. There were also several double curves and a few with elevation. Only #18 was wide open. A bad throw on #2 could go in the water. Even the first 4 holes in the general park area weren't too easy, I only birdied #2 and shot a 5 on #4. During the round, I used all my shots and all but 1 of my discs. A nice map and scorecard were provided, but I rarely used the map, since the direction to the next tee was clearly marked with a yellow arrow at every hole. There is a brand new practice basket right where you start.
Cons: Tee areas in the park were ok, but as soon as you get into the woods, things get ugly. They were lumpy with roots and stumps sticking up. Sometimes, I had to use a 2-step delivery or shorten up my steps to fit in the area that was ok.. Even some that were flat were slippery due to recent rain.
Other Thoughts: Just judging this course on the holes and layout, I think this is equal to some other 4 disc courses I have played ; maybe better than 1 or 2. But the tee areas definitely knock it down a half disc. I played early morning on a weekday and I didn't see another person, either in the park or on the course, but midday on a weekend could be another story, causing a potential problem with other park users. I really enjoyed this course and I would go out of my way to play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I like it

2-4    7/22/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -#2 is one of my favorite disc golf holes. It gives you the option to take it careful around the shore or throw it over open water onto the point surrounded by lake. It is not long but at the amateur level that I played at when I first played here, it was great.
-Very good variety of holes. Some very open (mostly the first 4 and last 2). Some very wooded.
-Very detailed maps with distances and pars available in the pro shop and at hole 1.
-Small pro shop which sells innova champion and dx discs.
-Scenic, interesting course. It has a little elevation.
-Nice beach to cool off at if its a hot day.
Cons: -Some holes could be longer, especially some of the wooded ones.
-You may have to deal with non-disc golfers and other major events in the weekends. Especially on the first few holes.
-A few chances to lose discs but not too bad. The underbrush isn't terrible and the water shots have safe routes.
-Would like better tee boxes. They were pretty rutted and could be muddy.
-Many of the wooded holes are hard to play often due to standing water and the bugs that breed there.
Other Thoughts: I liked it enough to play it 4 times in one day. I was there for a family reunion and I would rather disc golf!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/25/2008   9/25/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good course in rural north central Wisconsin. This course was designed and developed on county park property, but only the first four and the 18th hole are on property entertaining other park activities. Good course design, especially when the course goes into the woods at hole 5. A good mix of left- and right- turning fairways, with plenty of obstacles in the woods, but not so much that luck is your only chance. The fourth fairway is 570 ft, giving you the chance to really air one out before you go into the detail work in the woods. Restrooms and trashcans are available, as well as camping at the park. Good signage, and free and informative scorecards (inclusive of a course map) are available at the first tee.
Cons: Some fairways are quite short, and the bugs can be pretty rough during wet periods. Minimal elevation changes. Concrete or gravel tee-pads would be a nice addition to this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course. On the weekends, you have to deal with non-golfers on fairways on some of the early holes, but overall, a nice place to throw 18.

Update: This course has improved since my review. As mentioned in more recent reviews, two bonus holes have been added between the 14th and 15th (the bonus holes share a basket but are separate fairways), as has a second fairway to hole 15 (15B). The course map/scorecard has also improved.

Regular grooming and landscaping has improved the look of this course as well, with some added benches and nice grassy fairways where there used to be dirt and mud. I'm bumping my rating up half a step from Good to Very Good.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.