Layout Extinct

Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #5
3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket is up the left side under the big tree



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 quick play

1    1/25/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice park that is not too far off the hihgway. great warmup course if you are the way to stumpy creek,coming from charlotte. concrete tees, and decent baskets.
Cons: a little too open for my taste, hole 1 is a putt. along with a couple other holes#7 comes to mind. wind could be a factor due to the openess.
Other Thoughts: this is a great warmup course. ace runs are to br had here. 2 holes were pretty long #3 and #9. hole #8 was my favorite. good place to introduce someone to the game

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey Road

2-4    11/16/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: asu225
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big tee pads
easy to follow, good flow
good signage
nice baskets
nice mix of short and long holes
clean park with playground a ballparks
not crowded at all
Cons: I'm not a very good player and even I found it to be a little too easy. briars and thorns throughout though this is probably a bigger issue in the spring and summer. wasn't too bad in late fall.
Other Thoughts: Not much to say that hasn't already been said. A good course for beginners with plenty of birdie chances. A few holes could be frustrating for newbies. Be aware that the basket on 6 is not visible from the tee but rather around the corner to the right. The basket visible from tee is the basket for 8. Probably not a course you'll be planning a trip to but fun if you're in the area. I'd love to see them add another nine holes here. Seemed like they had the room for some nice wooded holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

1    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An odd variety of extremely easy and somewhat challenging holes.
- Baskets - Nice discatchers in decent shape.
- Tee Pads - The tee pads are concrete and kind of small. Lots of orange dirt when I played in September.
- Tee Signs/Maps/Markers - Tee signs had limited information (hole # & par). Several pads have been spray painted to inform that the visible baskets are not for the current hole where the basket is blind to the tee. Course flow is easily followed.
- General Course Design - In general, the course seemed a little disorganized. I felt that the first two holes were after thoughts, designed after the entire course was planned. I really liked the small elevation changes on holes 4, 7 & 8.
Cons: As stated earlier, holes 1 & 2 seemed somewhat useless -- maybe useful to try to boost your ace count as hole 1 is especially "aceable" at only 110 ft.
I would have to agree with other reviewers that the course would have been much more interesting (challenging) with the addition of an obstacle (or two) added to the first 2 or 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: Even though it was a little odd, I liked the tower obstacle on hole 4. I hit it the day I played, which took a nice gash out of my favorite disc, but it was welcomed after the first 3 holes which had zero obstacles.
- All in all a passable course but I would have liked to see a few more challenges.
- No course map is needed to navigate, so don't worry about bringing a map.
- It was nice to park near the first hole, with hole 9 finishing back at the parking lot near hole 1.
- Nice park with plenty of parking and other activities.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'm Confused As To Who This Course Was Built For?

1    7/18/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another one of those courses whereas I'm not really sure who the designers were building it for. I played # 1. It's 110 ft. with no obstacles. Okay, so I'm thinking this is going to be one of those incredibly easy beginner courses. But then I get to # 3 and it's 427 ft. with a narrow fairway. # 4 is a downhill look with a nasty pond on the right and deep rough on the left. It does have small concrete teepads, Discatcher baskets and signs listing the hole #, distance and par. Next tee signs really aren't needed. ACE opportunities abound here. So basically, I'm left confused once again. If you want to make an easy little beginner course, don't put in long disc eating holes surrounded by rough. If you want to make a recreational type course, don't put in 110 ft. holes with no obstacles.
Cons: Too short to be considered a real recreational course and a little too nasty and long in places for me to call it a pitch and putt. For a course this short, there is a better than average chance of losing discs. Oh well, the people in the surrounding neighborhood seemed happy to be playing it.
Other Thoughts: There were quite a few people playing the course this afternoon. The kind of crowd you would expect to see at your local putt-putt course. Groups of junior high kids and a father with a young son. It's certainly not a destination course but if I lived close I'd always be here trying for a record score and hopefully, racking up those ACES.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for practice. Great place for beginners or to take kids as there is a huge playground located at hole #3. All but three holes play over 200'. Nice tee pads and baskets.
Cons: Short course and only nine holes. Possibly could have used more of the unused land at the park to increase challenge.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  It is what it is...

2-4    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: _DA_
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is located in a nice little park off of Hwy 115. Restrooms are available, as are soccer fields in case you want to get a little field practice in. Most of the holes are open, with nicely groomed fairways. There are a few holes in the woods, and while most of the holes are flat, there are a few with some elevation change. I think this is a great course for introducing new players to the game, or even for recreational players to have a little fun on.
Cons: If your an advanced player, you will not find this course challenging. Unless you just want to toss some discs around, you should drive on to one of Charlotte's many professional level courses. There are a lot of thorns along the edge of several holes, so be careful to stay on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: If I'm taking the family with me to play, this is where I usually go. It's short enough that the kids don't get tired or bored and not crowed so I don't have to worry about holding other players up. Overall, a fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come for 9 holers

2-4    9/19/2006   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just a quickie!

5+    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park that hosts this course is quite nice and not over crowded. The course is playable after a heavy rain as there is very little mud to contend with if you need to get your disc golf fix! The course is usually not crowded and you will often find yourselves the sole players playing.
Cons: The course is very easy! Hole #1 is a joke and there are allot of briar patches to contend with if your disc gets away from you. There is graffiti to contend with that can confuse you to the location of the holes. The course plays way to quickly.
Other Thoughts: A decent course to get a real quick game in and a good course to introduce people to the sport. I would not drive any distance to play this course because it is not worth any form of long drive.This course is also good to let little one's play as the course is probably geared towards families.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey Park

2-4    7/13/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice park and if bringing the kids along for discgolf the park has a very nice play area. Its not busy so you have the course to yourself most times. Several "Ace Race" type holes and would be a decent course to introduce someone to the sport.
Cons: Several holes have extreme overgrowth including thorns. Several of the holes are too short, and take away from the whole course, which is a shame cause there is a few holes that are intriguing.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course your going to want to go out of your way to play. However, if looking to take your kids for a day in the park and throw some discs while your there then this isn't a bad place to consider going.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Must be accurate.

8/5/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short 9 hole course that could be fun. There are lots of chances for aces on this course. It had small concrete tees and Innova Discatcher baskets. There was signage, but it was just the number, length, and par. For the most part, that was all that was needed. The first hole was 110 ft and straight in front of the tee. Hole #2 was a little longer at 155 ft. Hole # 4 was a downhill throw underneath a power line tower. There was a large creek that feed into a pond behind the basket, but should not come into play. The 7th basket is 127ft and slightly to the left, but you must have an accurate shot. Hole #8 is an uphill tunnel to an open green 254ft away. The last hole is a 370ft open shot.
Cons: This course is not challenging enough for an advanced player. Only three holes were over 250ft and the rest were under 200ft. Amateurs or novice players can find a lot of trouble if they are not careful. The penalty for errant shots is painful and may not be worth retrieval of plastic.Hole #3 was the longest hole on the course at 427ft. At a distance where your drive should land there was a large waste area to the left with very tall grass that could easily swallow your disc. If you manage to make it clear of the area, then you'll need to navigate the green which is located in the middle of another horseshoe shaped area of tall grass.The basket directly in front of the tee for Hole #6 is for #8. The basket for #6 is tucked into the tree line and needs a small anhyzer shot to approach.Hole #7 has thick, prickly brush to the right and a large drop off behind the basket. Lots of trouble for inaccurate shots.
Other Thoughts: I can see how the local players can have a blast at this course, but travelling players can find more challenges just around the corner.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.