Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park - Northwest Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    3/16/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole lengths and obstacles,
Up to 6 different basket locations on some holes
Well-maintained park setting.
Good alternate set up for the winter months.
Not as crowded as the summer course.
Cons: Grass tees on most holes make for slick footing.
Water hazards will swallow discs (bring your floaters and/or retriever).
Lots of duck/goose poop.
Other Thoughts: This winter course overlaps with holes 9-17 of the summer course. I like to pair this course with Julia Davis Park to make a nice day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Changes starting Winter 2012

1    11/23/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: NAustin
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See everyone else's comments
Cons: See everyone else's comments
Other Thoughts: As it was told to me, someone over-threw on holes 1-4 and hit a passerby in the head on the OTHER side of the greenbelt. As a result, they have removed most of the first holes and instead increased the number of overlapping holes from the summer course.
Hole #1 starts near the parking area on the map, but further from the Boise River. Hole 2 is basically where #4 and #5 used to be. Fyi.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Annie Mo'

1    4/29/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Northwest course is the one that is only open during the Winter time. I'm not going to go into billions of details on this course because it shares many holes with the Southeast course and I don't want to write two reviews that are exactly the same so I'm going to tell you the difference between the two. Unlike the Southeast the Northwest has more trees involved on its own unique, non sharing holes and some excellent basket locations that really mix it up and add some quality holes.There is another water hazard on this side that is a small creek but the locations of where the baskets were chosen bring this creek into play in a brilliant fashion.
Cons: Again like the SE course I would like to see some longer par four and par five holes that would challenge the more skilled golfers. The biggest con is that this course doesn't get as much play as the SE because it is only open during a time of year when most people aren't disc golfing. It's sad because I think this side is much more interesting and fun.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself at Ann Morrison's NW and SE courses and if I am ever in Boise again I plan on stopping by and playing. I really like what they have done here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ann Morrison - Northwest

1    6/19/2004   5/7/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ann Morrison Park NW, similar to the SE course, was established in 1996. Created as a seasonal course, this 20 hole layout although shorter, played very similar to the SE course. Both courses were designed in a mostly flat and moderately wooded park setting, with the Boise River which meanders through both the courses and park. Although the course offers little elevation, it does incorporate water in multiple areas, along with the wind that can have a large impact on a players score.

The course primarily plays on grass and at times dirt, with large beautiful pine and other native trees and bushes that help to protect pins. Most fairways are wide open with large obstacles along the sides of the fairway or in clumps in the middle. However, there were a few holes that were much shorter on the NW course which allowed for more advanced players to quickly improve their score. Some of the tee pads that overlap the SE (summer) course are concrete, although the rest of the tees are dirt. Baskets on the course are all Mach III's , durable, and in good shape. The NW course has multiple tee pads and pin positions, which offers variety for locals and tournaments. Flow works well and even intertwines with the other course making a 27 hole layout.

Both the NW and SE courses have access to several amenities including soccer and baseball fields, picnic shelters and bbq pits, bathrooms, restrooms, playground, tennis courts, and plenty of parking. Ann Morrison Park is also near downtown Boise.
Cons:
The largest difference between the NW and SE besides course length was the tee pads. The majority of the tees were dirt, (with the exception of the cement tees which were used from the SE course), making footing slippery and often times very difficult when trying to drive. In order to avoid large divots the locals use alternate tee pads (and pins) to soften the overall wear on the course. Hopefully, they will eventually install cement or even rubber pads to match what the other course has to offer.

Homeless people sleeping and lurking in the general vicinity can be an issue as well. Although the majority of them seemed harmless and even friendly, I still wouldn't want to have my kid wandering in the bushes for a lost disc. Just beware.

Lost discs could be an issue as well. Although the course is wide open for the most part, it is very possible to lose your disc in the Boise River, some of the tall grass in the wetlands, or over a fence so accuracy can be a big factor at times.
Other Thoughts:
Boise is such a beautiful town, with great disc golf, friendly locals, and great college football! I had the chance to visit this wonderful city to play both the NW and SE courses during a tournament, and although similar, I felt they complemented one another quite nicely. This area is the perfect place to work on form, along with putting and approaching. The local scene seems to have a vision and a focus when it comes to the DG scene, and I wish them much success in their future endeavors.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a great change to the summer course to break up the "monotony" of playing the same holes over and over. I like how the tee positions move, varying the approach to the holes. Its less crowded in the winter too, which can be nice.
Cons: My personal gripes with this course are minimal. Natural "teepads" get pretty muddy and slick sometimes, causing "whoops!" drives. No practice target. Lots of bums too.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course. I was very excited when the pins were moved for the winter. The summer course was getting kind of boring and monotonous and I was getting burnt out on it. The holes are good and challenging, with a nice variety of short and long ones.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    3/6/2008   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: generally not too bad. all the holes are within plain sight and the distances are not unreasonable. the north half is much more fun than the south half.
Cons: there can be a long wait sometimes. also you can loose your disc over a fence in a certain spot.
Other Thoughts: i lived in the Quads for some time and it was really fun to just walk over and play (even alone)!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good winter fun

5+    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is nice for shorter arms, and rusty one's too. Challenges are still in variety though, as there are copious amounts of gnarly trees to avoid. Natural tee's that change position often make it more challenging for the first eight holes. One day a hole may seem easy, and another day it seems difficult. Hole #10 is where you can really air it out without much worry of water or woods, unless you're disc control is off, or it's considerably windy.
Cons: I'd say the biggest con is the natural tees. The tee positions move, mostly due to high traffic creating slippery drives. The slippery drives are what make for some "off" drives, and can send your disk into the Boise River, onto Americana Blvd, or some ditches that parallel that street. Holes 6-8 are where you find most transient traffic, which makes for lot's of "heads up!" shouts. Of course, there's an immeasurable amount of geese droppings throughout the course. The course is void of undulations and any real elevation changes, save for the elevated basket on #15, which is hidden in pines.
Other Thoughts: Holes 9-16 are part of the Southeast course that is opened during the Spring-Summer months, which can drastically help your score for the NW course if you play the SE course normally. Most people are pretty friendly to beginners and novices alike, and it's never hard to join or get invited to play in a group of casual players. You can drink out of non-glass containers also, which makes for some hazy decisions later in the course =)
All in all, this is a good course to shake the rust off, before the SE course opens in late March or early April.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.