Bakersfield, CA
Hart Park - Shark Tooth Mtn. Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #7
3 / 650ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7: Approx 650' w/ 120' elevation change



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moving here from flat Florida made this course amazing to play. I haven't ever thrown around elevation like this at all and it is spectacular. Not only are the shots beautiful to watch but the view from the tees on the hillside are amazing. This course has multiple holes that would be "top of the world" holes anywhere else. I can't stress enough how spectacular and fun that is. The course is really well laid out and in pretty good shape. Locals are friendly and helpful and can help you figure out how to play the elevation if that is new to you.
Cons: The tees need a little work, which I am sure is hard to maintain that high up the hill. You just have to watch your step at the end of a few of them as some drop off and some are cracking.

Pedestrians/walkers and bikers can sometimes get in the way and make you wait. The real thing that is lacking here is good signage.

Bring a couple of discs you don't care about because your discs can really get beat up out there on the harsh terrain. Also, your shoes can take a thrashing on the hillside. You may not want to play this course in the middle of the day during the summer as it would be scorching hot and far from water.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, easily a 4 star course with a second course just as good at the bottom of the hill. This is worth the drive if you are anywhere close. I can't wait to get back out there and play!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unique and fun

1    5/17/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course begins and ends in the same park setting as the other course on site, but it's the middle 2/3 of the course that really shines. I normally don't find open courses without many trees all that rewarding and fun, but this one has such cool terrain that it manages to make up for it. Many of the holes play up or down steep hillsides. The shots up the hill are shorter, but you still end up pulling out a faster disc to try to get up the hill. A couple long downhill shots are a great payoff for hiking up the hills.

The elevation is used well around the pins, too. Many of the holes have serious roll away potential if you're not careful how you place your shot. The water tank hole is a bit gimmicky but ends up being a fun shot (with a really cool noise if you hit the tank).

The tees and baskets were in fine shape, and the longer grass rough was all mowed down when I played.
Cons: There are a few holes that cross. The lack of traffic and the elevation difference mitigates that somewhat, but it's still not something I really like seeing in course design. Though the course is really creative, it still feels a bit repetitive at times. A few of the uphill holes felt really similar, I would have liked to see some different ways of using the uphill elevation and some different lengths on those shots.

Navigation is a bit tough, especially with no tee signs. I was able to follow the course with the map, but it wasn't always obvious. Signage would go a long way here, especially in the spots where holes cross or there are multiple baskets in view. The beginning and end of the course are pretty unremarkable, and take away from the adventure style feeling of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a really hard time rating this course. The actual golf shots aren't top notch, but the fun factor is still very high and this is definitely a course I'd play again. I settled on a rating between where I'd rate the shots (3) and where I'd rate the overall experience and uniqueness (4).

Beginners will find the course a bit daunting. It's not technical, but missed shot placement can lead to big walks down the hill to find a disc or nasty rollaways. More experienced players will enjoy a different kind of test than most courses provide.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

big ups and downs like nothing else ive played

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 71  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 fun holes on the side of a mountain. Excellent thoughtful layout. Good concrete tee pads. Not too much traffic and i was there on memorial weekend. Cool locals. Theres another 18 hole course across the street. Good variety of shots including 3 of the coolest uphill shots ive played and 2 HUGE top of the world shots (i parked #7 for one of my all-time favorite birds) theres plenty of parking and its all free.
Cons: Signs leave something to be desired. Theres a blue post and placard at every tee but instead of hole info, theyre covered in bird poop. I dont know if you've ever tried to decipher the length of a hole based solely on the black to white ratio of sparrow shit but i dont recomend it. I was able to find my way around by following the coors light can trail left by a considerate player who came before me. There are tons of foxtails. They were so bad that i would've worn those gay sock protector things if i wasnt so embarassed about buying them. Theres almost no shade and i imagine it gets really hot in the middle of summer. Bathrooms are a hike away and too gross to use anyways. There are at least 2 law enforcement agancies on site that patrol regularly.
Other Thoughts: I played half of suicide flats across the street with some locals i ran into and then had them point me in the direction of the 1st tee of shark tooth. I didnt have ant difficulty navigating the course despite the lack of signs. I had a lot of fun today and ill play here again. The big risk/return uphil shots were a highlight. The park is an oasis in the desert of east bakersfield with a pond a creek and the kern riverin view from most of the course. I never would have guessed b-field had such a well designed unique pair of courses hidden in its hills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tough course, great hike

5+    3/9/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: Endocador
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This is a great course with a lot of elevation change and a lot of variation in hole type.
Cons: The tumbleweeds here can be a pain in the ass. I recommend bringing a glove to pull discs out of the weeds as the can get pretty thorny
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, maybe not the best for beginners.

Challenging Mountain 18

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees on every hole besides 14. Lots of distance and elevation change. Nice views of the park and surrounding hills and mountains. Some nice uphill shorter holes (they don't play short!). The holes that did play flatter were long and/or technical shots. 2 long "top of the world" shots. Nice tunnel shot on hole 15. The entire course is very difficult and physically demanding to play. Very nice, well maintained course and park with facilities on site. Water fountain and trash can near hole 18. Low traffic. Its right next to Suicide Flats.
Cons: All signs are missing or removed, so the course map is essential the 1st time you play. Some of the baskets were also missing numbers. No garbage cans besides near 18's basket. Bathrooms are a long walk. Hole 14 only had a rubber tee and it was half covered with dirt.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course and definitely NOT FOR BEGINNERS!!! There is some rugged mountain hiking involved so where proper foot ware and come with lots of energy. There is thorny brush throughout holes 4-14 so I would recommend wearing pants. There is a gas station and mini-mart just outside the park near the south east entrance should you need to stock up on essentials. Great course with a very good design and fantastic terrain for intense disc golf. With completed signs and a few finishing touches I would rate it a 4. This course is a real gem and I can't wait to play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very good/difficult course

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: mercenarygrip
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 31.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, a very well thought out course, with lots of elevation changes.
Cons: Not always marked well, can be difficult to follow. Definitely take a course map with you. They are available at the first tee box for the Suicide Flats course, which is just across the street from the start of the Shark Tooth Mtn. course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 shark tooth

1    2/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: aothiom
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: different elevations and amazing basket locations.
Cons: none - you'd better be in decent shape!
Other Thoughts: loved it! you get a great mountain, tough terrain workout with great sights and sounds. This is the type of course that will keep you coming back as it is not an easy course to conquer. bring your skills and your luck and go for it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course within 100 miles...

2-4    11/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent variety and use of terrain
-Variation between very long and short but technical holes
-Not repetitive at all
-Fly 18 tees
-Great views of the Sierra Nevada foothills
-TWO 'epic downhill' shots
-Effective use of man made structures incorporated into course design
-Long nature of course prevents back-ups among multiple groups
Cons: -Lost discs can be very difficult to find on some holes
-First time navigation is difficult without a map in your pocket or a group you can keep up with to follow
-No 'park amenities,' ie benches, water fountains, and trash cans. Pack it in, pack it out! Bring water!
-Tee signs are still not installed.
-Random brush and other plants stick to socks, but I did not find pants to be a requirement.
Other Thoughts: Shark Tooth Mountain course is situated at the base of and alongside a hill in rural Kern County, near Bakersfield. While the course begins and ends in a park like setting, it explores the rugged hillside for the majority of the course resulting in a long, varied course among a mostly brush covered route. Some trees exist on the hill, particularly toward the end of the course.

We found a map to be crucial in following the course, most holes are so long that numbers on the pins cannot be read, and the (mostly rubber) tee pads do not have signs on them. I do not see concrete being installed anytime soon due to the remote location of many tees, and even with signs, it is so spread out that I can still imagine a first time visit without a map to be difficult.

Holes 1, 2, 3, and then 17, and 18, all follow pretty direct park course lines essentially identical to all of the holes on the adjoining 'Suicide Flats' course. All similarities between the two courses end here.

Hole four immediately sends you up the brush covered hill on a short, but quite steep attempt for birdie. There are not many birdie attempts to be found on the course, at least in the setup we encountered.

Hole 5 passes underneath the beginning of hole 7's flight path, but errant shots should not kill you because the tee is a good 75 feet higher, and the location of 7's basket should send even the worst of drive attempts somewhere other than where you are.

Hole six is an extremely fun short hole with tons of danger surrounding it...throw too short and you lose mega elevation, throw too far and it sails forever down the other side of the hill.

Hole 11 sends you around a large water tower that makes an amazing zapping noise when you nail it with a disc. We understood that the water tower is mandatory left, which, in the pin position we encountered, required an amazing right fading shot between the tower and a cliff before landing near the basket, which was perched on a small hill behind the tower.

Holes 7 and 12 are the long, open downhill shots on the course. Both are wonderful, but can be tough to find discs on. 7 boasts tons of open space, but it is covered in brush that often exceeds 3 feet tall. 12 has a nice grove of trees on the right that looks pretty terrible to lose plastic in.

Beyond hole 12 lie a few more mountain holes, but in my opinion, the course begins to lose a little steam here. Less elevation involved and more long precise shots. These appeared to me to be more like your typical 'non-ski hill' mountain course shots, and not as unique as the first half of the course. That being said, it was still very enjoyable.

We all like to compare courses to each other, and this one is really on a different level than most So Cal courses. I would compare Shark Tooth Mountain to Lake Casitas and Diamond X, mostly due to terrain, length, and use of land more than trees.

This course does not receive as much attention as it should, and that is probably because it is 15 miles from Bakersfield, which itself is at the bottom of most Californians 'destination cities.' Combined with Suicide Flats, this destination is definitely a worthy visit for any visitor from the south looking for a new challenge. I recommend using your energy playing this course before Suicide Flats, as it will be a workout and it gets windy later in the day, an added challenge that a first time visit could do without. I would recommend playing when passing through, but this monster requires a bit more time than 'swinging by.' Definitely a top tier course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Rain Hazard

1    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: sideArmSal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Looks like a great course. My rating is based on potential, I couldn't play it.
Cons: Could not play past hole 3 because of rain. The hills that make up this course turn into a Slip and Slide. This course is very, very muddy and slippery when wet!
Other Thoughts: Thankfully there is a perfectly good 18 hole course on the flats in the park. A great consolation prize!

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation Dream

1    9/19/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful mountain course, NOT on a ski hill
- awesome, challenging terrain. very few holes do not have extreme terrain
- very tricky, but fun pin locations
- picturesque views from the top of Sharktooth Mountain
- will greatly improve your wind game in the same way that the Flats can improve your rollers
- lots of fun, especially when you get to bomb down a hill (7 & 11)
- good course layout, even though fairways 5 & 7 cross each other, it is at different elevations, so there is no threat of hitting another player or disc
- a few holes are reminiscent of the Flats (1, 2, 17, 18), but this course is a different kind of beast
Cons: - the plant cover is slim because this course is all about elevation challenges, so make sure you bring lots to drink (I recommend a Camelbak) because there is nowhere to get water until the end of the course, and you'll be out in the sun most of the time. I have heard that there are drinking fountains in the barn by hole 8, but I did not check this out myself.
- no signs, but I have heard that they are on the way and should be in VERY soon
- very dusty, and this can cause footing problems on the Fly18 pads sometimes
Other Thoughts: Many of the tees on the Mountain course are Fly18 rubber pads, I think because the KCDGC has not had enough time to cement them all.

This course is not quite as good as the Flats, because it doesn't have permanent pads or multiple basket locations yet, but the wind plays a HUMONGOUS part of your game on this course, because it is always blowing very fast (especially in the afternoon). The elevation challenges are fun and give the course an extra half disc.

Good shoes are a must because of all the hiking you'll be doing. It becomes a challenge of leg strength part of the way through the course. Play this course first if you have a choice, because you'll want your energy for the hills.

Well worth a side trip, or an entire road trip. I see Hart Park continuing to develop and becoming a great disc golf destination in the next few years. Highly recommended.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.