Disc Golf Store
Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Shark Tooth Mtn. Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #7
3 / 650ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7: Approx 650' w/ 120' elevation change



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Course Will Test Your Manhood!

1    6/19/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of those rugged, mountainous courses that will really test your resolve. I played it at 1 PM on a 100 degree day and probably the only thing that saved me was 2-3 times I was able to drench myself with water. The sprinklers were on in the park. there is a hose available when you get to # 8 and then back to the sprinklers on the final couple of holes.

Luckily, I was guided by two locals, the course pro/designer/maintenance Scooby Dew and Andy. So I didn't have to worry about navigation.
The course starts and ends in the park down below but then quickly starts up the mountain. The terrain is extreme featuring steeps uphills, tricky throws across ravines and two "top of the world" shots. There are numerous places for rollaways on either your putt or approach.

Awesome views of the surrounding area from up high on the mountainside.

# 7 is a 600' downhill with the basket set on a small hill way down at the bottom. It's wide open all the way here. But then # 12 is another "top of the world" type shot only there is a large grove of nasty, prickly trees to clear and then other tree down surrounding the basket.
# 10 features the worlds largest Mando target. Probably 100' from the tee pad sits this giant 40 foot high water tower. The tee shot requires you to throw a anhyzer shot up high over this extremely steep hillside to get around the tower. if your disc stays up on the hillside, it takes mountain goat type climbing skills to climb up and retrieve it. The basket is set around to the rear of the tower. Very unique hole but scary!
Cons: Rugged course is not for the faint of heart.
Hot, dry, dusty, no shade, wicked rollaways,
possibility of lost discs.
Would be hard to navigate first time.
Other Thoughts: I was really thankful for having local guides on my round here. I was also really thankful for the sprinklers and hose and # 8. It was that hot and the mountain is quite the workout.
Not a course that I would care to play on a regular basis but one that has more than enough unique and challenging holes to keep you coming back for more punishment. Next time, I'll get here EARLY in the morning!

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moving here from flat Florida made this course amazing to play. I haven't ever thrown around elevation like this at all and it is spectacular. Not only are the shots beautiful to watch but the view from the tees on the hillside are amazing. This course has multiple holes that would be "top of the world" holes anywhere else. I can't stress enough how spectacular and fun that is. The course is really well laid out and in pretty good shape. Locals are friendly and helpful and can help you figure out how to play the elevation if that is new to you.
Cons: The tees need a little work, which I am sure is hard to maintain that high up the hill. You just have to watch your step at the end of a few of them as some drop off and some are cracking.

Pedestrians/walkers and bikers can sometimes get in the way and make you wait. The real thing that is lacking here is good signage.

Bring a couple of discs you don't care about because your discs can really get beat up out there on the harsh terrain. Also, your shoes can take a thrashing on the hillside. You may not want to play this course in the middle of the day during the summer as it would be scorching hot and far from water.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, easily a 4 star course with a second course just as good at the bottom of the hill. This is worth the drive if you are anywhere close. I can't wait to get back out there and play!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 shark tooth

1    2/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: LesWhite
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: different elevations and amazing basket locations.
Cons: none - you'd better be in decent shape!
Other Thoughts: loved it! you get a great mountain, tough terrain workout with great sights and sounds. This is the type of course that will keep you coming back as it is not an easy course to conquer. bring your skills and your luck and go for it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rain Hazard

1    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: sideArmSal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Looks like a great course. My rating is based on potential, I couldn't play it.
Cons: Could not play past hole 3 because of rain. The hills that make up this course turn into a Slip and Slide. This course is very, very muddy and slippery when wet!
Other Thoughts: Thankfully there is a perfectly good 18 hole course on the flats in the park. A great consolation prize!

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation Dream

1    9/19/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful mountain course, NOT on a ski hill
- awesome, challenging terrain. very few holes do not have extreme terrain
- very tricky, but fun pin locations
- picturesque views from the top of Sharktooth Mountain
- will greatly improve your wind game in the same way that the Flats can improve your rollers
- lots of fun, especially when you get to bomb down a hill (7 & 11)
- good course layout, even though fairways 5 & 7 cross each other, it is at different elevations, so there is no threat of hitting another player or disc
- a few holes are reminiscent of the Flats (1, 2, 17, 18), but this course is a different kind of beast
Cons: - the plant cover is slim because this course is all about elevation challenges, so make sure you bring lots to drink (I recommend a Camelbak) because there is nowhere to get water until the end of the course, and you'll be out in the sun most of the time. I have heard that there are drinking fountains in the barn by hole 8, but I did not check this out myself.
- no signs, but I have heard that they are on the way and should be in VERY soon
- very dusty, and this can cause footing problems on the Fly18 pads sometimes
Other Thoughts: Many of the tees on the Mountain course are Fly18 rubber pads, I think because the KCDGC has not had enough time to cement them all.

This course is not quite as good as the Flats, because it doesn't have permanent pads or multiple basket locations yet, but the wind plays a HUMONGOUS part of your game on this course, because it is always blowing very fast (especially in the afternoon). The elevation challenges are fun and give the course an extra half disc.

Good shoes are a must because of all the hiking you'll be doing. It becomes a challenge of leg strength part of the way through the course. Play this course first if you have a choice, because you'll want your energy for the hills.

Well worth a side trip, or an entire road trip. I see Hart Park continuing to develop and becoming a great disc golf destination in the next few years. Highly recommended.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme DG

5+    1/17/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of a kind. You'll be hard-pressed to find a course like this anywhere. It will challenge your game, your physical stamina, and your will.

To paraphrase one of the designers "It is one of the only courses where you can go from 1st to 10th with one throw."

Not only incredibly fun to play but the top-of-the-world vistas are outstanding. They'll almost make you forget that 5 you took on the last hole.


Cons: This course is brutal in the Bakersfield summer heat.

While the course itself is complete there are some finishing touches that are still in the works...signage being one of those.

Not really a 'con' but this is not a beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: This course along with the adjacent Shark Tooth Flats course are worth traveling to.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.