Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Shark Tooth Mtn. Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #8
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 basket overlooking the Kern River



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Best course within 100 miles...

2-4    11/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent variety and use of terrain
-Variation between very long and short but technical holes
-Not repetitive at all
-Fly 18 tees
-Great views of the Sierra Nevada foothills
-TWO 'epic downhill' shots
-Effective use of man made structures incorporated into course design
-Long nature of course prevents back-ups among multiple groups
Cons: -Lost discs can be very difficult to find on some holes
-First time navigation is difficult without a map in your pocket or a group you can keep up with to follow
-No 'park amenities,' ie benches, water fountains, and trash cans. Pack it in, pack it out! Bring water!
-Tee signs are still not installed.
-Random brush and other plants stick to socks, but I did not find pants to be a requirement.
Other Thoughts: Shark Tooth Mountain course is situated at the base of and alongside a hill in rural Kern County, near Bakersfield. While the course begins and ends in a park like setting, it explores the rugged hillside for the majority of the course resulting in a long, varied course among a mostly brush covered route. Some trees exist on the hill, particularly toward the end of the course.

We found a map to be crucial in following the course, most holes are so long that numbers on the pins cannot be read, and the (mostly rubber) tee pads do not have signs on them. I do not see concrete being installed anytime soon due to the remote location of many tees, and even with signs, it is so spread out that I can still imagine a first time visit without a map to be difficult.

Holes 1, 2, 3, and then 17, and 18, all follow pretty direct park course lines essentially identical to all of the holes on the adjoining 'Suicide Flats' course. All similarities between the two courses end here.

Hole four immediately sends you up the brush covered hill on a short, but quite steep attempt for birdie. There are not many birdie attempts to be found on the course, at least in the setup we encountered.

Hole 5 passes underneath the beginning of hole 7's flight path, but errant shots should not kill you because the tee is a good 75 feet higher, and the location of 7's basket should send even the worst of drive attempts somewhere other than where you are.

Hole six is an extremely fun short hole with tons of danger surrounding it...throw too short and you lose mega elevation, throw too far and it sails forever down the other side of the hill.

Hole 11 sends you around a large water tower that makes an amazing zapping noise when you nail it with a disc. We understood that the water tower is mandatory left, which, in the pin position we encountered, required an amazing right fading shot between the tower and a cliff before landing near the basket, which was perched on a small hill behind the tower.

Holes 7 and 12 are the long, open downhill shots on the course. Both are wonderful, but can be tough to find discs on. 7 boasts tons of open space, but it is covered in brush that often exceeds 3 feet tall. 12 has a nice grove of trees on the right that looks pretty terrible to lose plastic in.

Beyond hole 12 lie a few more mountain holes, but in my opinion, the course begins to lose a little steam here. Less elevation involved and more long precise shots. These appeared to me to be more like your typical 'non-ski hill' mountain course shots, and not as unique as the first half of the course. That being said, it was still very enjoyable.

We all like to compare courses to each other, and this one is really on a different level than most So Cal courses. I would compare Shark Tooth Mountain to Lake Casitas and Diamond X, mostly due to terrain, length, and use of land more than trees.

This course does not receive as much attention as it should, and that is probably because it is 15 miles from Bakersfield, which itself is at the bottom of most Californians 'destination cities.' Combined with Suicide Flats, this destination is definitely a worthy visit for any visitor from the south looking for a new challenge. I recommend using your energy playing this course before Suicide Flats, as it will be a workout and it gets windy later in the day, an added challenge that a first time visit could do without. I would recommend playing when passing through, but this monster requires a bit more time than 'swinging by.' Definitely a top tier course.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Rain Hazard

1    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: sideArmSal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Looks like a great course. My rating is based on potential, I couldn't play it.
Cons: Could not play past hole 3 because of rain. The hills that make up this course turn into a Slip and Slide. This course is very, very muddy and slippery when wet!
Other Thoughts: Thankfully there is a perfectly good 18 hole course on the flats in the park. A great consolation prize!

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation Dream

1    9/19/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 475  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 15.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful mountain course, NOT on a ski hill
- awesome, challenging terrain. very few holes do not have extreme terrain
- very tricky, but fun pin locations
- picturesque views from the top of Sharktooth Mountain
- will greatly improve your wind game in the same way that the Flats can improve your rollers
- lots of fun, especially when you get to bomb down a hill (7 & 11)
- good course layout, even though fairways 5 & 7 cross each other, it is at different elevations, so there is no threat of hitting another player or disc
- a few holes are reminiscent of the Flats (1, 2, 17, 18), but this course is a different kind of beast
Cons: - the plant cover is slim because this course is all about elevation challenges, so make sure you bring lots to drink (I recommend a Camelbak) because there is nowhere to get water until the end of the course, and you'll be out in the sun most of the time. I have heard that there are drinking fountains in the barn by hole 8, but I did not check this out myself.
- no signs, but I have heard that they are on the way and should be in VERY soon
- very dusty, and this can cause footing problems on the Fly18 pads sometimes
Other Thoughts: Many of the tees on the Mountain course are Fly18 rubber pads, I think because the KCDGC has not had enough time to cement them all.

This course is not quite as good as the Flats, because it doesn't have permanent pads or multiple basket locations yet, but the wind plays a HUMONGOUS part of your game on this course, because it is always blowing very fast (especially in the afternoon). The elevation challenges are fun and give the course an extra half disc.

Good shoes are a must because of all the hiking you'll be doing. It becomes a challenge of leg strength part of the way through the course. Play this course first if you have a choice, because you'll want your energy for the hills.

Well worth a side trip, or an entire road trip. I see Hart Park continuing to develop and becoming a great disc golf destination in the next few years. Highly recommended.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Central Valley Mountain Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation and lots of it. How many course can you name that have 2 shots with 100' of change in elevation?
-Holes with shots that I have never seen anywhere else.
-Nice concrete or rubber tee pads.
-Mach III baskets
-Challenging, fair holes with a flair for the dramatic.
-Great views of the surrounding park, hills and the Kern River.
-One the the best things about this course is the difficulty of the course without being "tricked up". There aren't alot of mandos (only 2), OBs (just the roads that generally aren't in play) or other artificial means to cause difficulty. The holes are right there in front of you, it's obvious what you need to do, the question is, Can you do it?
Cons: -Until we get the tee signs installed, navigation can be tricky in a couple spots. Print a map before you come if you plan on playing by yourself.
-If you are out of shape or lack motivation, this course isn't for you. This is a draw back because everyone can't enjoy this jewel, but that's just the way it is I guess.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be a challenging course both mentally and physically. We tried to design the course to provide what I consider to be the essence of golf. A balance of risk and reward. Good shots can yield birdies, and poor shots are penalized. This is not a course that you can miss your line by 30' and still get a 40' birdie putt in most cases. Course management, shot execution, and patience are key to play well on the mountain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A good day of golf!

1    6/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 410  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- It's always a pro when there are two good disc golf courses in one park. I love tagging two new courses in one day. Plus, it makes for a great day of golf!
- Elevation. This is mountain golf... although I've played on bigger mountains, the risk reward on this course is unbelievable. The basket always seems to be on the edge of some precipice making those iffy putts and layups extremely dangerous. If you go for it... you might have to go for it... "it" being your disc... all the way to the bottom.
- Considering the lack of trees - and vegetation for that matter - in the middle of the course, it's not boring. The holes are very well designed.
- This course was fairly easy to navigate with the map. It came in handy a few times, especially considering there are no tee-signs.
Cons:
- This course could easily be a 4 or better if it had tee-signs and tee-pads. The rubber mat tee-pads were fine... and the holes were findable with the map... but these improvements would easily make this park hard to contend with.
Other Thoughts:
- If you've never been hiking and are unsure of your footing on steep hills, have heart problems, or are not in shape... this might not be the course for you. Somewhere I read that you could die on this course. Although, I think your more likely to die from heat exhaustion or a rattle snake bite than falling off a cliff.
- This is definitely a great disc golf destination.
- My Score: -3

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great day after the rain

1    2/6/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elavation, elavation, elavation. The fact that this course is in the SJV with elavation is a plus. Only other I know is Hensely lake (9) hole north of Fresno. Great course to play. #1 needs a tee box but the rest are there trust me, I think. I have played plenty of courses and always the 1st time navigating through figuring out where is where is difficult. Not to bad to figure out. Rain just cleared before I got there beautiful weather, beautiful views.

I am gald I am only an hour away from this course. I took a wrong turn at #13 all the way up to the tip top (stopped three times to breathe), figure while I was up there might as well take a fantastic drive down to #14 all the way down below. Never found the disc but the drive was beautiful. I guess I found the alternate #14. Still played #14 at the bottom of the hill as well. #17 and #18 are off in the flat lands with the other course don't get confused.
Cons: Get a sharpie and point towards the next tee. Especially on #13 I guess I assumed wrong. Had a great time I will be back.
Other Thoughts: Diffinently print the map from this site before you go. I didn't do that would have be easy to find tees if I did.

For those heading from the North take 178 East from the 99 instead of the 58, Save you some time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme DG

5+    1/17/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of a kind. You'll be hard-pressed to find a course like this anywhere. It will challenge your game, your physical stamina, and your will.

To paraphrase one of the designers "It is one of the only courses where you can go from 1st to 10th with one throw."

Not only incredibly fun to play but the top-of-the-world vistas are outstanding. They'll almost make you forget that 5 you took on the last hole.


Cons: This course is brutal in the Bakersfield summer heat.

While the course itself is complete there are some finishing touches that are still in the works...signage being one of those.

Not really a 'con' but this is not a beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: This course along with the adjacent Shark Tooth Flats course are worth traveling to.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 El Loco Course

5+    1/4/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big degree of difficulty and shots you will see no where else. You will feel the excitement level rise when you stand atop of Shark Tooth Mountain and look down 120' of elevation across the beautiful valley to the Mach 3 basket 650' away. After releasing your disc and watching it soar you can always hear the oohs and ahhs.
Cons: Elevation not suited for the casual disc golfer. This course and the grass course and Hart Park were not designed for the newbies in the sport. The passionate,obsessed,disc golf crazies will love this course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of two brand new 18 hole courses @ Hart Park
This course along with "Suicide Flats" makes Hart Park a must see destination for disc golfers.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    12/4/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on the foothills of a mountain. 7 holes play thru tall trees in a park setting and 11 holes play on the side of the mountain. very challenging pin locations that punish poor upshots and drastic elevation changes which make you think on each throw. Wind also adds challenge on the elevated holes. The views are amazing. The course plays long with most holes well over 300 ft. and the shorter holes have drastic elevation changes which make birdies hard to come by.
Cons: First off the course was not very easy to find. when you get into the park veer to the left and park on the road. The first tee is at the corner of hill rd and plays to the maintenance building. The course is pretty difficult to navigate as well. Some signage would be very beneficial. The course has natural tees and I think it would be very hard to install concrete pads due to erosion on the mountain side.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. Some of the coolest shots I have played..... But this has to be the most physically challenging course I have ever played hands down. Not suggested for those who are out of shape or those who are scared of heights. This course plays up and down and up and down which really drains you. Like I said the shots are amazing which is the only reason I would play it again. The mountain side is pretty bare but the pins are placed well to make you negotiate what is there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.