Bakersfield, CA
Hart Park - Shark Tooth Mtn. Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #3
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 The Central Valley Mountain Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation and lots of it. How many course can you name that have 2 shots with 100' of change in elevation?
-Holes with shots that I have never seen anywhere else.
-Nice concrete or rubber tee pads.
-Mach III baskets
-Challenging, fair holes with a flair for the dramatic.
-Great views of the surrounding park, hills and the Kern River.
-One the the best things about this course is the difficulty of the course without being "tricked up". There aren't alot of mandos (only 2), OBs (just the roads that generally aren't in play) or other artificial means to cause difficulty. The holes are right there in front of you, it's obvious what you need to do, the question is, Can you do it?
Cons: -Until we get the tee signs installed, navigation can be tricky in a couple spots. Print a map before you come if you plan on playing by yourself.
-If you are out of shape or lack motivation, this course isn't for you. This is a draw back because everyone can't enjoy this jewel, but that's just the way it is I guess.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be a challenging course both mentally and physically. We tried to design the course to provide what I consider to be the essence of golf. A balance of risk and reward. Good shots can yield birdies, and poor shots are penalized. This is not a course that you can miss your line by 30' and still get a 40' birdie putt in most cases. Course management, shot execution, and patience are key to play well on the mountain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A good day of golf!

1    6/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- It's always a pro when there are two good disc golf courses in one park. I love tagging two new courses in one day. Plus, it makes for a great day of golf!
- Elevation. This is mountain golf... although I've played on bigger mountains, the risk reward on this course is unbelievable. The basket always seems to be on the edge of some precipice making those iffy putts and layups extremely dangerous. If you go for it... you might have to go for it... "it" being your disc... all the way to the bottom.
- Considering the lack of trees - and vegetation for that matter - in the middle of the course, it's not boring. The holes are very well designed.
- This course was fairly easy to navigate with the map. It came in handy a few times, especially considering there are no tee-signs.
Cons:
- This course could easily be a 4 or better if it had tee-signs and tee-pads. The rubber mat tee-pads were fine... and the holes were findable with the map... but these improvements would easily make this park hard to contend with.
Other Thoughts:
- If you've never been hiking and are unsure of your footing on steep hills, have heart problems, or are not in shape... this might not be the course for you. Somewhere I read that you could die on this course. Although, I think your more likely to die from heat exhaustion or a rattle snake bite than falling off a cliff.
- This is definitely a great disc golf destination.
- My Score: -3

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great day after the rain

1    2/6/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elavation, elavation, elavation. The fact that this course is in the SJV with elavation is a plus. Only other I know is Hensely lake (9) hole north of Fresno. Great course to play. #1 needs a tee box but the rest are there trust me, I think. I have played plenty of courses and always the 1st time navigating through figuring out where is where is difficult. Not to bad to figure out. Rain just cleared before I got there beautiful weather, beautiful views.

I am gald I am only an hour away from this course. I took a wrong turn at #13 all the way up to the tip top (stopped three times to breathe), figure while I was up there might as well take a fantastic drive down to #14 all the way down below. Never found the disc but the drive was beautiful. I guess I found the alternate #14. Still played #14 at the bottom of the hill as well. #17 and #18 are off in the flat lands with the other course don't get confused.
Cons: Get a sharpie and point towards the next tee. Especially on #13 I guess I assumed wrong. Had a great time I will be back.
Other Thoughts: Diffinently print the map from this site before you go. I didn't do that would have be easy to find tees if I did.

For those heading from the North take 178 East from the 99 instead of the 58, Save you some time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme DG

5+    1/17/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of a kind. You'll be hard-pressed to find a course like this anywhere. It will challenge your game, your physical stamina, and your will.

To paraphrase one of the designers "It is one of the only courses where you can go from 1st to 10th with one throw."

Not only incredibly fun to play but the top-of-the-world vistas are outstanding. They'll almost make you forget that 5 you took on the last hole.


Cons: This course is brutal in the Bakersfield summer heat.

While the course itself is complete there are some finishing touches that are still in the works...signage being one of those.

Not really a 'con' but this is not a beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: This course along with the adjacent Shark Tooth Flats course are worth traveling to.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 El Loco Course

5+    1/4/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big degree of difficulty and shots you will see no where else. You will feel the excitement level rise when you stand atop of Shark Tooth Mountain and look down 120' of elevation across the beautiful valley to the Mach 3 basket 650' away. After releasing your disc and watching it soar you can always hear the oohs and ahhs.
Cons: Elevation not suited for the casual disc golfer. This course and the grass course and Hart Park were not designed for the newbies in the sport. The passionate,obsessed,disc golf crazies will love this course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of two brand new 18 hole courses @ Hart Park
This course along with "Suicide Flats" makes Hart Park a must see destination for disc golfers.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    12/4/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 93  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on the foothills of a mountain. 7 holes play thru tall trees in a park setting and 11 holes play on the side of the mountain. very challenging pin locations that punish poor upshots and drastic elevation changes which make you think on each throw. Wind also adds challenge on the elevated holes. The views are amazing. The course plays long with most holes well over 300 ft. and the shorter holes have drastic elevation changes which make birdies hard to come by.
Cons: First off the course was not very easy to find. when you get into the park veer to the left and park on the road. The first tee is at the corner of hill rd and plays to the maintenance building. The course is pretty difficult to navigate as well. Some signage would be very beneficial. The course has natural tees and I think it would be very hard to install concrete pads due to erosion on the mountain side.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. Some of the coolest shots I have played..... But this has to be the most physically challenging course I have ever played hands down. Not suggested for those who are out of shape or those who are scared of heights. This course plays up and down and up and down which really drains you. Like I said the shots are amazing which is the only reason I would play it again. The mountain side is pretty bare but the pins are placed well to make you negotiate what is there.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.