Mattoon, IL 
Lake Land College DGC Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Over the Line! Mark it 2.0!

1    8/28/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located next to a small community college in Matoon, IL, the 9-hole course plays through a park-style piece of land to one side of the main campus buildings. The course mostly avoids heavy-traffic areas and shouldn't have too much interference from other activities. A small, algae-choked pond sits to one side of the property and the course plays around it. Trees dot the more open areas, with a few holes abutting schule-filled woodland that contains a very tiny creek.
- Amenities are reasonable. Concrete tees, decent enough baskets, signage (more on that later). The grass was cut and the park looked clean and well-maintained in general. Some rust on the baskets didn't really affect my round.
- The course is actually kinda pretty for a small park-style 9-er. The pond is a bit scummy and smelly, but looks cool despite not really coming into play. #7's green is protected by trees with a low clearance on the approach due to low branches. It was a nice, peaceful, serene, nature-y green. Likewise, #'s 8 and 9 are beautiful holes.
- Great use of the little elevation change available. Not much in the way of ups and downs, but the little dips and rises were incorporated very well into the design in order to provide something more than flat golf. (#'s 2-6 all are slightly up or downhill).
- Lots of trees used well here. #'s 2, 7, 8 and 9 all excel at making the most of forcing line-shaping to get around either solitary trees, or in the case of #9, slightly wooded areas. #9's pin is guarded by two large choke cherry trees, which make the approach and putting interesting. A great way to end the course!
- A decent mix of hole lengths keeps this from being purely shorter beginner-style holes. #6 and 7 both had reasonable lengths requiring a slightly bigger arm, with #7's tricky green an added bonus.
Cons: - The signage is plain annoying. The signs don't face in any particular direction so it's not always immediately clear which basket (sometimes multiple baskets are visible) to throw towards. Routing/navigation aren't difficult, but could be better.The sign locations manage to conflict with the teepads. They are way too close, and present a safety hazard (I wonder how many hands have smashed knuckles on a sign with a follow-through).
- Wow does the pond stink!
- The two most dreaded words in disc golf (at least for me): goose poop. It was EVERYWHERE on #8.
- Probably only ever an issue on #2 behind the pin, #8 behind the pin, and #9 (if you shank hard right)...but there is a ton of poison ivy on the edges of the wooded area.
Other Thoughts: - A cemetery bounds the course on one side (#'s 8 and 9 play past it on the left). A white line was spray-painted onto the ground to demark the two properties, and a lady in a golf cart was patrolling the other side. She buzzed by me no less than three times in two holes, giving me the stink eye each time. Pretty certain it wasn't college security, but might want to exercise caution and stay to the right of the line in case. I always enjoy being scoped by security like a petty criminal...not.
- The local directions on the course page says the first tee starts by a pine...I don't know if that's outdated or just plain wrong. The info re: parking lot was correct though, just park in the southern most corner and #1 is slightly to the right.
- After #6, follow the path around the pond to #7.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

1    9/1/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 27.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: it suited the need for me
9 holes, all easy to find
well labeled signs..
in comparison to what my town's college course, its a great introduction, and use of space.
Cons: it didn't use the lake, like at all....
Other Thoughts: just like any review I give, make overs and expansions..... but I was in a hurray, and I think it suits the needs to its locality

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Land

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 127  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first course I've ever encountered that has distances of the holes down to a hundredth of a foot. I thought it was funny, but it shows the immaculate precision of the course.

The baskets are in great condition, tee signs are more than one can ask for, and the tees are cement and pointed the right way. You can't really ask for much more than that in terms of equipment.

In terms of design, I would have liked to see the lake utilized a little bit for a risk/reward shot, but otherwise it's alright. There are definitely ace runs as well as a bomber hole you can open up on.

I love that this piece of land got a disc golf course on it. It's directly next to the college and allows for great exposure to the sport. It's basically exclusively for disc golf which is awesome.
Cons: In terms of cons, I think the only big issue I have with this is that it gets a bit repetitive. There aren't any super signature holes that make this course memorable. The terrain (outside of the lake), is pretty monotonous. I think this is a fairly typical course. I rate my courses on a normal distribution and this basically falls slightly under average and for a 9-holer, it's very average.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because it's directly in the middle of my girlfriends house and her sisters house and it was a great 40ish minute round to just take my mind off of driving. It's not a destination course but it's worthwhile to just chill out here for a while and increase the course count. Have fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome beginner course!

5+    3/18/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: stach23
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent, short course for beginners, or for a leisure round.
Cons: Experienced players will find it too easy and be bored.
Other Thoughts: I'm judging this course for what it is. It's not meant to be an Open World's-type course. It's a small, fun little course to help get people into the game, which I believe is the most important aspect! Sometimes you don't want to throw bombs all day, you just want to play a round with a mid and a putter, and this is perfect for that. Great use of the land, and great holes. Very well maintained. Again, think logically, and don't expect it to be an epic 18-holer. If you want a great, fun, small course for a leisure round, or introduce people to the game, this course is it. If there was a rating scale just for beginner/leisure courses, this would be a 5 star!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little college course

1    12/20/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a grassy area around a small pond. There are some minor elevation changes that are used well to make the course a little more interesting. Most holes have several trees in play so they're not just straightforward shots, and hole 9 uses some thicker woods to make a bit of a tunnel shot from the tee. There is a nice mix of hole lengths from short ace runs to a 400' hole where you can throw a long drive.

The property is nicely maintained, with mowed grass and well cleared paths and fairway where the course goes into the small area of woods. There are nice concrete tees, and great signs that show the hole map and distance (down to hundredths of feet?). There is a course map at the first tee, take a look at it to see the one place where the flow of the course isn't immediately obvious and you have to walk past the pond to get to the next tee.
Cons: The space available is pretty wide open, even with the trees used well most holes still offer easy hyzer routes so you aren't forced to throw many different shots. Despite one or two longer holes, the rest of the course is all ace runs for more experienced players, and doesn't offer much challenge. The tee signs are placed right on the tees, which makes for some awkward tee shots and some places where you have to be careful not to smack the sign while driving. The water could be used better, it doesn't really come into play and could have been a cool course feature.
Other Thoughts: This is a great college course. It's designed at a great level for students to try the sport without getting frustrated, and I love to see courses like this exposing new players. For beginners, this is a great course, with limited punishment for errant shots, reasonable lengths, and enough trees that newer players will have to try some different shots. More experienced players won't find any challenge or variety here to keep them coming back. There is potential for long tees or safari layouts that make challenging and interesting holes, especially bringing the pond into play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

1    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 25.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the peaceful look of this course. I didn't see another soul while playing, and the landscaping is kept up rather nicely. The pond, although not an obstacle, is at least pretty.

There are a few elevation changes that are nice. Some of the trees are really in the way. There aren't many low branches, but the trees are tall enough that it is really hard to go over. I ended up kneeling for two of my approaches.

There are sign with maps at each hole. They do tend to get in the way of the running path when driving, but they weren't much of a problem for me.
Cons: -Very few long holes. Almost everything is par 3.
-Tree placement is rather uninteresting. Adding the course was clearly an afterthought.
-Giant burn pile near hole 9 can eat discs. My friend lost one.
-No alternate tees.
Other Thoughts: The course doesn't take long, so I imagine that a lot of students will run it right after class. The only person I saw at the course, though, was another traveler from Champaign.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/25/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 391  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really well maintained Community college green space, nicely mowed
-Tee signs were informative
-Lots of mature and recently added deciduous trees, almost all holes had a few with the exception of hole 6 which only had 2 right off the pad
-Nice decent sized concrete pads
-A little bit of elevation changes
-good hole length range for a par 3 course, anywhere from 220' to 400'
Cons: -No facilities (no bathrooms, water fountains, shelters, or garbage cans)
-Tee signs were placed oddly, looks like the placed them really near the pad for mowing ease
-This area was huge, it could have supported more holes and more interesting shots, there is a pond that doesn't come into play at all.
-Some of the trees need to be trimmed up some, for instance on hole 9 there is a tight (15-20 ft) tunnel right off the tee, the basket is 280 or so and protected, but the tunnel ceiling is so low that you either have to poke and hope or throw a roller, trimming it up even to a 6-8 ft ceiling would make the hole more enjoyable.
-Although there are alot of trees, on almost every hole (except nine and maybe two more)you can avoid them by throwing a hyzer out and around, so the shot diversity leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: -Fun little par 3, 9 hole course that is a pretty quick play

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/2/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: panther550
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has some different looking holes, semi-challenging.
Cons: Someone decided to add signs and put them around the tee pad blocking your approach angles which is super annoying. People around this area dont understand that people may tart off the pad, lol.
Other Thoughts: I wish they would of brought the pond into play, could of been some sick holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.