Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
5 / 401ft.   5 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bad course

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i got my first hole in one here its on the first basket. It is updated trash is picked up. The walkers are actually very nice but it doesnt have the distances so i have to print it out. It is a very easy nice going course. bring a putter its good for practicing 110 ft approach shots and 275 run at it par 4's which should easly be a par 3.
Cons: It is a little short and it is only 9 holes. The baskets have names of people who wrote if they got a ''ace'' , ''double eagle'',''eagle'' so it is not to good and some of the baskets are short. need double chains so many in and out hole in ones but still easy. Cant ace hole number 2 i always go through both sets of chains. not a fan
Other Thoughts: It is the first place i started playing disc golf and that was the start of me now playing at other courses. I would not go out of my way to get here but if your here its a good warm up course. The field is perfect for testing out new discs.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice...

5+    7/31/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great spot to bring one of your newbie friends. Big field adjacent to the course to practice your long drives on when it isnt filled with soccer players. EASY ace opportunity here. Nice, big concrete tee-pads.

Clean park/great atmosphere.
Cons: It can become pretty crowded in the afternoon. Walkers/joggers can get in your way when trying to throw a long drive on this course. Caveat: BE WARY OF THE PATH WALKERS ON THIS COURSE! I have heard of several people being hit here.

Water hazard possibility on hole #7, if you let loose with an errant throw.

Stepping in dog crap on this course is a possibility as well: be warned!

No elevation change: its pretty flat.

Every now and then, this course STINKS!...literally! It is right next to a creek that floods quite often and sometimes it holds a faint smell of raw sewage/animal death.

UPDATE: Basket on hole #2 is gone. I have no idea if it was stolen or if the park is trying to replace it.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to the sport of DG and/or you have other folks wanting to play/learn, then Dorton Park is everywhere you want to be. Its just a good, short walk in the park where you get to "people watch" as well. Its a good place to meet fellow disc-throwers.

I changed up my play on this one, meaning on the hole #1 tee-pad I ignore basket #1 and shoot for basket #2 as long as no-one is playing that hole at the moment. Other folks saw me doing that and they picked up on it as well. Even though its relatively short and easy, I like this little course!

This is a straight-up 3-disc-course for sure. You only need a fairway driver, a mid-range and a putter and you will do just fine.

UPDATE: This park has all but been taken over by illegal 3rd world aliens that play soccer and drink cervezas all day. I would advise just skipping this park all together unless you want a peep into the future of what America is going to become once she opens up her borders to the hordes of those that drain the welfare system, as well as putting a burden on the courts system as well. I saw plenty of "anchor babies" out there as well.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 reedy creek

1    6/8/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Avenger4ThaAce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if your looking for an easy ace this your course.(basicly glorified putting) great course for practicing putting and midrange shots.
Cons: LEAVE YOUR DRIVER IN THE CAR!!! very short holes,way to high pars.the first time i played i went 5 under and ive been playing 2 months so yeah...not braging in any way just pointing out the easyness of the course.
Other Thoughts: not a terrible course but very very entry level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.