Disc Golf Store
Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 312ft.   4 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for a beginner!!

1    7/22/2011   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn how to play disc golf.
Copious amount of ace runs, although, none for me :(.
Course is not very busy, so the chance for practice on your approach / short game is there without others waiting.
Beside the course is a huge field that I use to practice techniques for distance. Even times where I'll take my disc catcher to practice putting.
Course is in a nice park and is safe.
Slim to none potential of losing a disc.
Plenty of shade around.
Cons: Walkers/joggers can sometimes get in the way. Course is built around a walking path.
Course is by no means for the big arm.
Only 9 holes.
The suggested par could be shortened on some holes.
Didn't notice the amenities other than bathrooms and a few tennis courts that you see at other area parks and courses.
Course could flow a little better.
No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to warm up on for the day. Having said that, North Cabarrus is close and presents more of a challenge for a 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where it began

5+    5/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 209  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its in a really nice park and with several holes shorter than 200' is a perfect course for beginners or kids.

You can play it in a matter of min.

Nice teepads and teesigns

The "Par 4s" are not to bad of holes and can be challenging if you play them as 3s

This was the first course I played YYYYAAAAAYYYY

The course flows pretty well.
Cons: THis is a busy park and the course is in a walking area with paths running all through it. All it takes is a griplock and someone can get hit.

anyone who is an expereinced player will find this course to be a joke with several holes amounting to nothing more than a long putt.

Every basket is so tagged up with "Ace" or "eagle bitches!" its rediculas.

Chuckers paradise
Other Thoughts: Dorton is where it all began for me so it still has a soft place for me but it is what it is. A beginer course with very little challenge. I mean there are very few courses that you walk off disappointed that you didnt get an ace. Unless youre a course played junky this course is not worth going out of your way to play

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh. Solidly Meh.

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to work on your short game or play a quick round while your family is off shopping at Concord Mills (5 miles away).

Decent warm-up course (though North Cabarrus is better -- see my review of that one).
Cons: Short. I don't mind short courses at all -- I do NOT have a big arm, and I don't throw high-speed drivers. That said, I got up to the pad on #4 and looked at the basket and said "Really?!" #3 is the only really long hole on the course, but there's no way it should be a par five (as is listed here). Wide open hole that's barely over 400 feet is reachable (and makeable) in three by anyone who can throw 200 feet semi-accurately. I was embarrassed at taking a 4 on it (missed a VERY easy putt).

Navigation is horrendous. You have to walk across #8's fairway to get to the tee pad for #3.
Other Thoughts: Dorton Park is a VERY nice park. There is a lot to do for everyone in the family. And there is a lot of potential in this course, if they fix the layout/navigation issues and make some of the too short holes a bit longer (there is room, if you tweak the layout).

If there wasn't a good 9 hole course just a few miles away, this would be a great warmup course. With North Cabarrus just 3 miles away, though, this isn't really a destination course. If you're close and you're bored, go for it. But it's Charlotte -- there are plenty of options out there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 simple 9

1    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Benttreedg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice quite park- -everyone was friendly and helpful when needed to be- -bathrooms at the parking lot are nice and clean- -Nice short course to work on midrange and your putting- -Nice clean concrete tee boxes- - most holes are marked with a sign showing the hole-
Cons: Very easy course. At least 2 holes are ace holes Number 4 might not even be 100 feet straight ahead of you. Watch out for snakes along the wood lines.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot the first tee is across the bridge going toward the tennis courts. Continue past the courts and the kiddie play ground and you will run into hole 1 tee box.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Coarse

5+    6/4/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for practice, or a quick game. Great for biginners.
Cons: Very easy. 3 of the baskets should be par 2 when par 3, there's a par 5 that would be a 3 anywhere else. Way too easy to loose a disc of hole 9!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 North Cabarrus Park's neglected stepbrother

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good beginner course or quiet place for family to play.
- Could be a fun place for an ace run.
- Discatchers and concrete tee pads.
- some decent tee signs.
- hole 6 has dual tees (I did not see the other tee while I was there)
Cons: 1 missing sign, but it is a 121 feet ace run., so there is no mystery for where the basket location is.
Odd flow, after 2 holes with >125 ft ace runs you hit hole 3 which is a 401 foot which is marked a par 5, which gets to my next point: Graffiti all over the baskets. People signing "EAGLE" every time they get a 3 on what should be a par 3, but then their friends sign the baskets as "witnesses"
For hole 4 you come back to a 113 foot ace run.
Hole 5 has a vague OB. It throws over a circular trail
Hole 6 has a mando that is a clump of trees, but no one tree is designated, so it could be confusing.
The walk from 6 to 7 is another break in course flow and the course has you walk across several fairways.
Hole 8 is a 185 foot shot with a broken basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is like North Cabarrus's troubled stepbrother . It is lacking the flow, maintanence, and variety of it's counterpart which is only 3 miles away.

Break down: 3 holes under 125, 3 holes between 200-225, a 276, a 276/351, and a 401

One day of course work would improve this course to a 2 disc course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf

2-4    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A good variety of left-hand and right-hand shots, so it's a decen place to practice anhyzers, hyzers and both forehand and backhand shots.
- A few different technical shots and one tight, tree-lined fairway.
- Course is part of a large public park, with plenty of activities for the whole family, but the course is situated in a pretty secluded area at the edge of the park.
- Plenty of opportunities to practice upshots and jump putts.
Cons: - Three holes were reachable from the tee with a long jump putt.
- Hole 9 is a poke and hope through a bunch of small cedars and shrubbery. A deuce is basically all luck, and if you miss your line you could be fetching your disc out of a tree.
- The course flow doesn't make sense - you have to cross over the main area of the park a few times, crossing fairways in the process.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course for a quick workout and has a couple of interesting holes. But the available land probably could have been used to make a better course (maybe 6 longer holes). I played the course at 7 AM in the winter, so there was very little foot traffic, but I can imagine that it could get very difficult to play this course if there are any joggers around (as mentioned by other reviewers).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Was The Designer Trying For A Pitch And Putt Course?

1    7/18/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course kinda confused me. Is it a pitch and putt? Is it a beginner level course? Or was the course designer trying to squeeze a normal (recreational level) course into a very small land area. The course sets on a small area of land with a creek running down the left side. Some of holes are incredibly easy and short like # 1 (121 ft. with nothing in the way), # 2 (114 ft. with just a couple of trees) and # 4 (113 ft. putt with nothing in the way. Then you have a 400 ft. hole # 3 and # 9 is a fairly difficult hole due to trees and thick underbrush on the left. This course has nice oversized concrete tee pads, very informative tee signs and single chain baskets. There are no next tee signs but they're really not needed.
Cons: Some very short holes coupled with a 400 footer. In some ways, it's a perfect place to take a beginner. In other ways there are some chances for lost discs and maybe a little frustration factor for the newbie.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, a 11 year old kid ACED # 4, the short 113 ft. shot. He was thrilled as he should be. So was his father! I'm just not sure who exactly this course designer had in mind when he designed Dorton Park?

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out course. Easy to navigate. Good for a quick round.
- Tee pads are awesome. Larger than most. If every course had tee pads this good, you'd never hear anyone complain about them.
- Great tee signs. Some of the most descriptive I've seen around.
- Great course to introduce newcomers to the game. Course is never crowded, so it's also a good course for practice.
- Beautiful, neighborhood park. I think everyone would want such a great, clean, park nearby. Park has walking trails, soccer field, tennis court, picnic shelters, grills, playground and restrooms. Great for the whole family.
Cons: Most holes aren't difficult. Three holes are really short, barely more than 100 feet. Lack of variety among holes.
- Lack of variety in holes. Longer holes are wide open, shorter holes are managable.
- Trails weave throughout course, so you have to watch out for joggers and walkers.
- Rough is thick to the left of #5, also comes in to play on errant throws on #3 (right side) and #6 (left).
Other Thoughts: Course isn't challenging for skilled players. I only consider several of the holes to be tough enough to be seen on more advanced courses. #3 is the most challenging hole by far. It's the only hole more than 400 feet.
- Course is targeted for casual players, as well as families looking to have fun.
- Worth playing if you live nearby or for a quick stop on your way to some of the tougher, better courses in Charlotte.
- Amenities give course a bump in ratings. The rest of the family can easily be occupied at the park while you play.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.