Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good warmup or newbie course

2-4    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course great for introducing new people to the sport with ease
Clean and pretty easy to navigate
Good warm up/putter round course
Can be played through very fast
Cons: If you've played more than a week you may find this too easy
Parking was non existent unless I missed a sign
Other Thoughts: I played this when I was visiting Charlotte and ended up playing it twice more.. I was looking for something easy to zip through since I'm an early riser and people I traveled with weren't..

I took my dad here so that he could try playing disc golf for the first time and it worked out really well.. yes it's a super, super simple course.. but that makes for a great intro to beginners.. it's not like there aren't more full sized courses around that this is detracting from.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course With an Identity Crisis

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 46  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, as mentioned by some earlier reviewers, would be a great warmup course for some of the other local offerings. It is also a pretty nice area to work on the short game. The course plays much like a put-putt.

Holes 3,5,and 6 actually have decent length. 6 is actually a very nice hole that plays as a slight dogleg right into the trees. It looks like it was cut and pasted here from a much nicer course.

Nice kiosk and map at the parking lot directs golfers easily to the start of the course. Without that map, finding the start would be a bit difficult. Hole signs also appear new and well kept. Concrete tee pads are more than ample.
Cons: Too many of the holes are in the 100-150 ft range. With the first 2 holes ~125 ft and without much trouble, I found it hard to get really interested in this course.

The raised manholes that are in play on hole 5 were letting out a really foul smell.

There is a ton of opportunity for interference on this course. A nice walkway/jogging path makes its way through the whole course, and everyone seemed pretty oblivious to the disc golf. It is really up to the player to make sure he is throwing in a safe direction.

Navigation in the course could be a bit better. The hole signs post length, but not direction. Having a map on the signs, especially on holes 3 and 5, would have saved me a little bit of wandering.

There was evidently a second set of tees for one or 2 of the holes at some point in time, but I could not find them when I played.
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole loop is the tale of 2 courses. The first is a set of ridiculously easy putt/approach shots. The second is holes 3,5,and 6 which are perfectly serviecable. The boring nature of the short holes, however, far overcomes the excitement of the few good ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Warm Up

5+    3/10/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads

Good baskets

Great beginner course.

I would only go to this course as a new player or with a player that is just getting in the game. This is a good course though as a warm up before playing Rotary or other courses in the area. Its a good time to try and add some aces to your total. (if you even want to count them). One hole is marked as 114 feet but realistically I think it is more along the lines of 90 to 100 feet.

Still a fun course overall.
Cons: Short.

Not challenging.

A lot of foot traffic

A lot of people are using walking trail that many of the hole cross over...which forces you to wait for a number of people to pass before you get to shoot.

Other Thoughts: Not much else they could do to upgrade.

Very limited space.

They have done the best with the space available though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but convenient

2-4    8/2/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're like me in the Concord area it's close to home. Very open for the most part. Nice for practicing shot shaping etc... Usually not busy so you can take your time throw a few on each hole to maximize practice time.
Cons: It is extremely short! It's a par three nine holer but a few of these holes border ridiculous short!
Other Thoughts: If you live close it's a great warm up or practice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, local course

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a beautiful, clean park. Well manicured lawns and trails. Quality baskets and no water hazards for those who do not like the potential of losing discs : ) You can warm up/practice drives and distance throws in a large open field next to the course if you like.
Cons: Several short holes ~100 feet with little/no obstacles. The walking trail weaves throughout the course which can become an issue on a crowded, warm day. Watch out for the stoners!
Other Thoughts: Holes are a bit hard to find at times, but tee markers are nice once you find them. Overall, not a bad little 9-holer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Diggity

1    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorton Park is a great course for a pitch and putt practice session. This is also a great course to introduce someone to the game.

Dorton Park DGC is equipped with DisCatchers, with one layer of chains. All baskets are in excellent condition.

Concrete tee pads for each hole, with signage of each hole depicting map, distance and par, except at holes 1 and 8 for my visit. The signs are not truely necessary on most holes, as the big DisCatchers are right in front of you, quite literally.

The area of the park where the disc golf course is located serves its purpose well. Park has restrooms next to the parking, and seems to be a very nice park.
Cons: The difficulty level on this one is waaaaaay easy. Walking up to the first hole I was standing near the basket and I thought I had walked passed the tee pad. Then I came up to it to see the first basket ~100' away. Hole 2 is listed at 114' but really cannot be more than 90'. This was a true pitch and putt by definition. Ace runs on most holes. Bring one driver and a putter for this one.

A walking trail does sort of a figure 8 through the course, and I imagine it could get alot of traffic during a better season. Be cautious of pedestrians. Holes also run close together, so mind other disc golfers also.

I feel a 2 disc raiting is peak for this course. It deserves at least 2 discs because of concrete tees, nice DisCatcher baskets and tee signs. The holes do not overlap.
Other Thoughts: To get to the course, use the parking lot. Walk beyond the restrooms parallel to main road and pass the second playground you will see. First tee just behind playground.

My first visit to Dorton Park DGC might honestly be my last, unless travelling up to play North Cabarrus and using Dorton as a warm up if I'm early for meeting someone. Was worth the drive to knock a course off the list, but if it weren't for playing NoCab for the first time also it would have been a huge disappointment.

This course is strictly for the layed back rec player, bringing the young kids out for a round, or a first timer to get them used to the game in a lax setting. Dorton reminds me of a course you might see at a middle school. It is what it is and you won't get more than you're expecting, thats for sure.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 quick round

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 3 really short holes of just over 100 ft. and a couple 400 ft. shots. The course is bigger than it seems.
-detailed tee signs
-nearby benches
-beautiful and safe park
-mostly easy to navigate and helpful locals for some confusing spots
-beginer friendly as long as they stay on the fairway for the longer holes
-many shaded spots to stay cool from the NC sun
Cons: -be aware of the walking paths (just look before you throw and it shouldn't be an issue)
-you will sometimes need to cross other hole's fairways to go to the next tee
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot walk over the bridge and go straight past the tennis courts and you will run into the first tee. The short holes are begging you to Ace them. Dorton is a nice quick round and a great practice course for the bigger courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Quick and Easy

5+    5/25/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: SirWalter
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick Hole by Hole layout
Hole 1: Wide Open watch for trail users. Short Ace opportunity.
Hole 2: Short shot between two trees. Ace Opp.
Hole 3: Longest hole. Should be no more then a par 4. Watch for trail users.
Hole 4: Shortest Hole. Hanging limbs block easy ace but still way to easy of a hole. Ace Opp.
Hole 5: Big RHBH Hyzer drive sets up for a eagle chance or an easy birdie at the very least. Watch for trail users.
Hole 6: Favorite hole on the course. Tight fairway needing a very slight left to right shot to set up for an eagle 2.
Hole 7: Sharp (RHBH) Hyzer shot or take the unconventional rh flick shot through the small opening by the trail and skip up towards the basket. Watch for trail users if taking the flick approach.
Hole 8: Nice slight hyzer shot into a tightly guarded basket. Watch for trail users. Ace Opp.
Hole 9: I use a flick shot here to set it up high and fall off to the right over cedar trees towards the pin. Tight fairway. Basket has been broke and is now a little shorter then all the others. Can mess up putts to end the round if not aware. Discs will get stuck in cedar trees or lost in the mess on the left. Watch your disc carefully.
Nice and easy, beginner friendly course. Concrete tee pads and signs. Great course to fine tune skills and a wide open soccer field to practice drives if the field is open. Great course to go out with a group of friends to play a few rounds no matter the experience level. Ace opportunities.
Cons: Very short and crowded due to walkers and joggers. All the holes should be par 3s with maybe hole 3 being a par 4. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Park has playgrounds, and tennis courts for non-disc players and kids.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course

2-4    5/12/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 88  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great course for beginners. I've played this twice with my girlfriend, who isn't a big disc golfer, and it's short enough to not frustrate her.

- Perfect for a quick round or for some midrange/putting practice. As mentioned before, the early holes provide ace opportunities.

- There's a soccer field that you pass on the way to the first tee that is perfect to practice some drives, when empty of course.

- I feel like the course does about as good a job as any of fitting nine fairly distinctive holes into a small amount of space. It's a tiny park compared to many in the area, but the course plays longer than its size.
Cons: - That said, the course is short. They could only do so much with the park size restraints, and that is obvious on holes like #1 and #4 that are woefully short.

- As others have mentioned, many holes cross over walking trails, and you almost always have to wait for walkers to pass by on those holes. Even if the course is fairly empty of players, it will still play slower if there are a lot of walkers.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this a 1.5, but I felt like the course designers really did a great job of squeezing a playable course into the tight space. They could have easily just passed on putting a course here, and that would have been a shame.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was fun to play. The baskets were Innova Discatchers that are in excellent shape. The tees are made of concrete and are large enough to accommodate follow through. Each sign gave a good representation of the hole. There were a few interesting holes that provide players with some choices. Hole #4 was a 401ft anhyzer shot from the tee. Approach shots could also be anhyzer if the drive falls far enough to the right. Hole #5 give the golfer a long hyzer shot from the tee that can be ob if landing on or right of the path. The basket is protected by a creek behind it ready to collect overzealous approaches. The 9th hole is a real interesting hole. The tee is aimed straight towards a maintainance road with lots of brush and trees to the right. The best shot is over the road and working back to the right behind where the baskets front side is completely protected by those trees and brush.

Cons: The course was hard to find from the parking lot. It is behind the tennis courts. Find the courts, find the course. The course is intertwined with walking trails that are OB. You have to look out for park patrons, but they are easily seen from all holes. There were some extremely short holes that while fun for everyone to make an ace run, could have been longer and more challenging. The 6th hole was fun but confusing. The sign shows a mandatory that I could not determine on the course. After finishing the hole, I had to search for the tee for #7. I found it, but I can see how others might have a problem. Hole #9's tee was too close to the basket for #8, but I don't know that it gets busy enough to be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to play the course again, but had to get to the next course. I wanted to give this course a higher rating, but 6 of the 9 were under 250 ft and the length of those holes was the reason.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.