Disc Golf Store
Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 276ft.   4 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice beginner course.

1    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and clean. Map of the course in the parking lot. Mostly open, short holes, but some are still challenging for beginners. #3 is the longest at 401, lots of chanes for aces and ego boosts for beginners. Nice teepads.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding pin 9, but other than that it's marked and laid out pretty well. Next time I will print out the course map.
Other Thoughts: My gf and i will be back as we continue to play and use this course as a practice and skill development/ disc knowledge course. I think experienced players will not be challenged very much on this course but beginners will probably like at for the reasons mentioned above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    6/20/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple ace opportunities, though I did not make one....in a nice well maintained park. Nice blend of easy and challenging holes.
Great for beginners.
navigation is easy to figure out.
Beautiful surroundings
Great a leisurely round or two.
Cons: I almost lost a disc.
course built around a walkway.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course with good replay potential if want to play 18 holes. Would like to play this one more. .......and as always, play more discgolf!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bring the big arms.

5+    5/12/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: cvlngnir
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape and tee pads are plenty big.

Some variety on the types of shots required. There are mostly straight fairways but #3 bends right, #5 bends left. Holes #6 and 7 give you practice with a canopy. Hole #9 give newbies experience with blind shots.

Always seems to be plenty of helpful players around so if are alone you can probably play a round with one and make a new friend.
Cons: This is a VERY short course. Holes 1 and 4 should be par 2's seriously.

As previously stated there are a lot of walkers/runners to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course. I take the family there about once a week. The ladies don't mind playing here and the flat terrain allows us to push our baby in the stroller.

A friend and I have played this course as speed golf once. We basically ran the entire course. We both had like 3 over for the round. A neat way to play these easy courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 straddle putt from the tee

1    2/1/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The big field at this park before you get to the disc golf course is huge.So, you practice drives there and work on your short game in the course.Very easy walk to play 9 holes.You could play 36 holes here in the time it takes you to play a round at Renny.
Cons: Multi-use park means YELLING FOOOUR a lot. Someone has been hit with a disc here before I am sure of it.Be safe and courteous to the walkers by yelling loud.The famous "113" foot hole is hilarious.
I am not going to measure it, but, it is actually about fifty feet or less.I straddle put from the tee without moving my feet.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Concord play the north cabaruss park and this one.Every course is worth playing once.I would have scored this lower if it wasn't for the huge flat field.In fields like that is where your driving game takes off.Hard to learn a disc when you are in the woods trying to hit the pin.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a warm up!

1    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To many this course would be a joke. You get to the first hole and it is pretty much like throwing at a basket in your backyard, 100 feet in front of you. Then the second hole is still only 100 feet but there is two trees that you have to throw in between. 3rd hole is a par 5 however it would be a par 3 anywhere else. It turns left however the woods aren't that thick so you can opt to go straight over or through if you like. Hole 4 is basically a putt. The sign says 113 feet however it looks like about 60 to me. Hole 5 you can finally let a drive rip as it is a 300-350 foot hyzer shot, a creek and ob come into play so it could be tricky but still an easy hole. Hole 6 is a straight 350-400 foot shot with woods on the left side and a mando on the right. Hole 7 is probably 225-250 hyzer shot (RHBH). Hole 8 is a little 225 mid range shot. Then Hole 8 is for the Forehand as it is a 90 degree right turn with a tight alleyway and some trees to go over if you dont get all the way around.

Does this sound like fun to you? Maybe not but I actually had a great time there this morning on my way to the Renny. It was a good confidence builder before the Renny smashed it back down!

The distances are just a guess from what I remember of the course.
Cons: It is what it is, a short 9 hole course. The longest hole is 433 I think.
Other Thoughts: A great place to start playing. A variety of shots and they give you plenty of strokes so it easy for a beginner to shoot a good score. If you are passing through there is a great italian place to eat at just past the park on your right in the first shopping center. You can grab a bite to eat, play a twenty minute round, and head on to the bigger courses. Also this park is only a five or ten minute drive to another 9 hole course, North Cabarrus park. North Cabarrus is a little harder!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.