Concord, NC
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 312ft.   4 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Not much to see here

1    12/18/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 104  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete pads and baskets.

It is a good place to work on your ace totals, particularly on hole 4, which is listed at 113 feet and is probably not even that.
Cons:
If you ace #4 (I did!), you start to wonder how short a hole has to be for you to not even count it in your ace totals. I paced the hole off, and it was 28 paces, so 113 feet probably isn't right. I was putting from the tee.

Design is not good. The course plays around and over a walking path that gets a lot of use. Hole 9 has a narrow alley with a dogleg, a shot that even a skilled player will have trouble with. Another hole (7?) plays along a murky, wide creek, where a beginner LHBH or RHFH shot could easily end up.

Flow is a little weird in some spots. Most of the shots are pretty open and uninteresting.
Other Thoughts: I played here because I had an hour of daylight left on the way back from Bradford. If you are introducing someone to the game, this works fine, but otherwise there just isn't much here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad course

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i got my first hole in one here its on the first basket. It is updated trash is picked up. The walkers are actually very nice but it doesnt have the distances so i have to print it out. It is a very easy nice going course. bring a putter its good for practicing 110 ft approach shots and 275 run at it par 4's which should easly be a par 3.
Cons: It is a little short and it is only 9 holes. The baskets have names of people who wrote if they got a ''ace'' , ''double eagle'',''eagle'' so it is not to good and some of the baskets are short. need double chains so many in and out hole in ones but still easy. Cant ace hole number 2 i always go through both sets of chains. not a fan
Other Thoughts: It is the first place i started playing disc golf and that was the start of me now playing at other courses. I would not go out of my way to get here but if your here its a good warm up course. The field is perfect for testing out new discs.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great for a beginner!!

1    7/22/2011   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn how to play disc golf.
Copious amount of ace runs, although, none for me :(.
Course is not very busy, so the chance for practice on your approach / short game is there without others waiting.
Beside the course is a huge field that I use to practice techniques for distance. Even times where I'll take my disc catcher to practice putting.
Course is in a nice park and is safe.
Slim to none potential of losing a disc.
Plenty of shade around.
Cons: Walkers/joggers can sometimes get in the way. Course is built around a walking path.
Course is by no means for the big arm.
Only 9 holes.
The suggested par could be shortened on some holes.
Didn't notice the amenities other than bathrooms and a few tennis courts that you see at other area parks and courses.
Course could flow a little better.
No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to warm up on for the day. Having said that, North Cabarrus is close and presents more of a challenge for a 9 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course.

5+    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Commish
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Makes you practice a variety of shots. From wide open, to some wooded holes. From 400ft to 112ft. You usually can throw several discs and dont have a line of people waiting behind you. And, I played 54 holes in about 2 and a half hours!
Cons: You have to wait on joggers way too much!! The jogging path is directly in your way on most of the holes. And distance. A rather short course, but like I said, good for beginner practice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simple but convenient

2-4    8/2/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're like me in the Concord area it's close to home. Very open for the most part. Nice for practicing shot shaping etc... Usually not busy so you can take your time throw a few on each hole to maximize practice time.
Cons: It is extremely short! It's a par three nine holer but a few of these holes border ridiculous short!
Other Thoughts: If you live close it's a great warm up or practice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where it began

5+    5/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its in a really nice park and with several holes shorter than 200' is a perfect course for beginners or kids.

You can play it in a matter of min.

Nice teepads and teesigns

The "Par 4s" are not to bad of holes and can be challenging if you play them as 3s

This was the first course I played YYYYAAAAAYYYY

The course flows pretty well.
Cons: THis is a busy park and the course is in a walking area with paths running all through it. All it takes is a griplock and someone can get hit.

anyone who is an expereinced player will find this course to be a joke with several holes amounting to nothing more than a long putt.

Every basket is so tagged up with "Ace" or "eagle bitches!" its rediculas.

Chuckers paradise
Other Thoughts: Dorton is where it all began for me so it still has a soft place for me but it is what it is. A beginer course with very little challenge. I mean there are very few courses that you walk off disappointed that you didnt get an ace. Unless youre a course played junky this course is not worth going out of your way to play

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh. Solidly Meh.

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to work on your short game or play a quick round while your family is off shopping at Concord Mills (5 miles away).

Decent warm-up course (though North Cabarrus is better -- see my review of that one).
Cons: Short. I don't mind short courses at all -- I do NOT have a big arm, and I don't throw high-speed drivers. That said, I got up to the pad on #4 and looked at the basket and said "Really?!" #3 is the only really long hole on the course, but there's no way it should be a par five (as is listed here). Wide open hole that's barely over 400 feet is reachable (and makeable) in three by anyone who can throw 200 feet semi-accurately. I was embarrassed at taking a 4 on it (missed a VERY easy putt).

Navigation is horrendous. You have to walk across #8's fairway to get to the tee pad for #3.
Other Thoughts: Dorton Park is a VERY nice park. There is a lot to do for everyone in the family. And there is a lot of potential in this course, if they fix the layout/navigation issues and make some of the too short holes a bit longer (there is room, if you tweak the layout).

If there wasn't a good 9 hole course just a few miles away, this would be a great warmup course. With North Cabarrus just 3 miles away, though, this isn't really a destination course. If you're close and you're bored, go for it. But it's Charlotte -- there are plenty of options out there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, local course

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: ENSAFEKNOXVILLE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a beautiful, clean park. Well manicured lawns and trails. Quality baskets and no water hazards for those who do not like the potential of losing discs : ) You can warm up/practice drives and distance throws in a large open field next to the course if you like.
Cons: Several short holes ~100 feet with little/no obstacles. The walking trail weaves throughout the course which can become an issue on a crowded, warm day. Watch out for the stoners!
Other Thoughts: Holes are a bit hard to find at times, but tee markers are nice once you find them. Overall, not a bad little 9-holer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course.

1    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and clean. Map of the course in the parking lot. Mostly open, short holes, but some are still challenging for beginners. #3 is the longest at 401, lots of chanes for aces and ego boosts for beginners. Nice teepads.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding pin 9, but other than that it's marked and laid out pretty well. Next time I will print out the course map.
Other Thoughts: My gf and i will be back as we continue to play and use this course as a practice and skill development/ disc knowledge course. I think experienced players will not be challenged very much on this course but beginners will probably like at for the reasons mentioned above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    6/20/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple ace opportunities, though I did not make one....in a nice well maintained park. Nice blend of easy and challenging holes.
Great for beginners.
navigation is easy to figure out.
Beautiful surroundings
Great a leisurely round or two.
Cons: I almost lost a disc.
course built around a walkway.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course with good replay potential if want to play 18 holes. Would like to play this one more. .......and as always, play more discgolf!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.