Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice, local course

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a beautiful, clean park. Well manicured lawns and trails. Quality baskets and no water hazards for those who do not like the potential of losing discs : ) You can warm up/practice drives and distance throws in a large open field next to the course if you like.
Cons: Several short holes ~100 feet with little/no obstacles. The walking trail weaves throughout the course which can become an issue on a crowded, warm day. Watch out for the stoners!
Other Thoughts: Holes are a bit hard to find at times, but tee markers are nice once you find them. Overall, not a bad little 9-holer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course.

1    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and clean. Map of the course in the parking lot. Mostly open, short holes, but some are still challenging for beginners. #3 is the longest at 401, lots of chanes for aces and ego boosts for beginners. Nice teepads.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding pin 9, but other than that it's marked and laid out pretty well. Next time I will print out the course map.
Other Thoughts: My gf and i will be back as we continue to play and use this course as a practice and skill development/ disc knowledge course. I think experienced players will not be challenged very much on this course but beginners will probably like at for the reasons mentioned above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    6/20/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple ace opportunities, though I did not make a nice well maintained park. Nice blend of easy and challenging holes.
Great for beginners.
navigation is easy to figure out.
Beautiful surroundings
Great a leisurely round or two.
Cons: I almost lost a disc.
course built around a walkway.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course with good replay potential if want to play 18 holes. Would like to play this one more. .......and as always, play more discgolf!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 simple 9

1    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Benttreedg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice quite park- -everyone was friendly and helpful when needed to be- -bathrooms at the parking lot are nice and clean- -Nice short course to work on midrange and your putting- -Nice clean concrete tee boxes- - most holes are marked with a sign showing the hole-
Cons: Very easy course. At least 2 holes are ace holes Number 4 might not even be 100 feet straight ahead of you. Watch out for snakes along the wood lines.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot the first tee is across the bridge going toward the tennis courts. Continue past the courts and the kiddie play ground and you will run into hole 1 tee box.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Coarse

5+    6/4/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for practice, or a quick game. Great for biginners.
Cons: Very easy. 3 of the baskets should be par 2 when par 3, there's a par 5 that would be a 3 anywhere else. Way too easy to loose a disc of hole 9!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course.

5+    6/4/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Hawk99TA
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for short game practice. Great for beginners. Great for making you feel good...easy to get a low score. It's well kept. People are nice and respectful.
Cons: There are par 5's that would be par 3's anywhere else. Pretty easy course for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Not too crowded. You can have a large group of people without holding people up. Clean bathrooms.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Cabarrus Park's neglected stepbrother

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good beginner course or quiet place for family to play.
- Could be a fun place for an ace run.
- Discatchers and concrete tee pads.
- some decent tee signs.
- hole 6 has dual tees (I did not see the other tee while I was there)
Cons: 1 missing sign, but it is a 121 feet ace run., so there is no mystery for where the basket location is.
Odd flow, after 2 holes with >125 ft ace runs you hit hole 3 which is a 401 foot which is marked a par 5, which gets to my next point: Graffiti all over the baskets. People signing "EAGLE" every time they get a 3 on what should be a par 3, but then their friends sign the baskets as "witnesses"
For hole 4 you come back to a 113 foot ace run.
Hole 5 has a vague OB. It throws over a circular trail
Hole 6 has a mando that is a clump of trees, but no one tree is designated, so it could be confusing.
The walk from 6 to 7 is another break in course flow and the course has you walk across several fairways.
Hole 8 is a 185 foot shot with a broken basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is like North Cabarrus's troubled stepbrother . It is lacking the flow, maintanence, and variety of it's counterpart which is only 3 miles away.

Break down: 3 holes under 125, 3 holes between 200-225, a 276, a 276/351, and a 401

One day of course work would improve this course to a 2 disc course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Diggity

1    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dorton Park is a great course for a pitch and putt practice session. This is also a great course to introduce someone to the game.

Dorton Park DGC is equipped with DisCatchers, with one layer of chains. All baskets are in excellent condition.

Concrete tee pads for each hole, with signage of each hole depicting map, distance and par, except at holes 1 and 8 for my visit. The signs are not truely necessary on most holes, as the big DisCatchers are right in front of you, quite literally.

The area of the park where the disc golf course is located serves its purpose well. Park has restrooms next to the parking, and seems to be a very nice park.
Cons: The difficulty level on this one is waaaaaay easy. Walking up to the first hole I was standing near the basket and I thought I had walked passed the tee pad. Then I came up to it to see the first basket ~100' away. Hole 2 is listed at 114' but really cannot be more than 90'. This was a true pitch and putt by definition. Ace runs on most holes. Bring one driver and a putter for this one.

A walking trail does sort of a figure 8 through the course, and I imagine it could get alot of traffic during a better season. Be cautious of pedestrians. Holes also run close together, so mind other disc golfers also.

I feel a 2 disc raiting is peak for this course. It deserves at least 2 discs because of concrete tees, nice DisCatcher baskets and tee signs. The holes do not overlap.
Other Thoughts: To get to the course, use the parking lot. Walk beyond the restrooms parallel to main road and pass the second playground you will see. First tee just behind playground.

My first visit to Dorton Park DGC might honestly be my last, unless travelling up to play North Cabarrus and using Dorton as a warm up if I'm early for meeting someone. Was worth the drive to knock a course off the list, but if it weren't for playing NoCab for the first time also it would have been a huge disappointment.

This course is strictly for the layed back rec player, bringing the young kids out for a round, or a first timer to get them used to the game in a lax setting. Dorton reminds me of a course you might see at a middle school. It is what it is and you won't get more than you're expecting, thats for sure.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf

2-4    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A good variety of left-hand and right-hand shots, so it's a decen place to practice anhyzers, hyzers and both forehand and backhand shots.
- A few different technical shots and one tight, tree-lined fairway.
- Course is part of a large public park, with plenty of activities for the whole family, but the course is situated in a pretty secluded area at the edge of the park.
- Plenty of opportunities to practice upshots and jump putts.
Cons: - Three holes were reachable from the tee with a long jump putt.
- Hole 9 is a poke and hope through a bunch of small cedars and shrubbery. A deuce is basically all luck, and if you miss your line you could be fetching your disc out of a tree.
- The course flow doesn't make sense - you have to cross over the main area of the park a few times, crossing fairways in the process.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course for a quick workout and has a couple of interesting holes. But the available land probably could have been used to make a better course (maybe 6 longer holes). I played the course at 7 AM in the winter, so there was very little foot traffic, but I can imagine that it could get very difficult to play this course if there are any joggers around (as mentioned by other reviewers).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 quick round

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 3 really short holes of just over 100 ft. and a couple 400 ft. shots. The course is bigger than it seems.
-detailed tee signs
-nearby benches
-beautiful and safe park
-mostly easy to navigate and helpful locals for some confusing spots
-beginer friendly as long as they stay on the fairway for the longer holes
-many shaded spots to stay cool from the NC sun
Cons: -be aware of the walking paths (just look before you throw and it shouldn't be an issue)
-you will sometimes need to cross other hole's fairways to go to the next tee
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot walk over the bridge and go straight past the tennis courts and you will run into the first tee. The short holes are begging you to Ace them. Dorton is a nice quick round and a great practice course for the bigger courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.