Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good warmup or newbie course

2-4    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course great for introducing new people to the sport with ease
Clean and pretty easy to navigate
Good warm up/putter round course
Can be played through very fast
Cons: If you've played more than a week you may find this too easy
Parking was non existent unless I missed a sign
Other Thoughts: I played this when I was visiting Charlotte and ended up playing it twice more.. I was looking for something easy to zip through since I'm an early riser and people I traveled with weren't..

I took my dad here so that he could try playing disc golf for the first time and it worked out really well.. yes it's a super, super simple course.. but that makes for a great intro to beginners.. it's not like there aren't more full sized courses around that this is detracting from.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course With an Identity Crisis

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 46  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, as mentioned by some earlier reviewers, would be a great warmup course for some of the other local offerings. It is also a pretty nice area to work on the short game. The course plays much like a put-putt.

Holes 3,5,and 6 actually have decent length. 6 is actually a very nice hole that plays as a slight dogleg right into the trees. It looks like it was cut and pasted here from a much nicer course.

Nice kiosk and map at the parking lot directs golfers easily to the start of the course. Without that map, finding the start would be a bit difficult. Hole signs also appear new and well kept. Concrete tee pads are more than ample.
Cons: Too many of the holes are in the 100-150 ft range. With the first 2 holes ~125 ft and without much trouble, I found it hard to get really interested in this course.

The raised manholes that are in play on hole 5 were letting out a really foul smell.

There is a ton of opportunity for interference on this course. A nice walkway/jogging path makes its way through the whole course, and everyone seemed pretty oblivious to the disc golf. It is really up to the player to make sure he is throwing in a safe direction.

Navigation in the course could be a bit better. The hole signs post length, but not direction. Having a map on the signs, especially on holes 3 and 5, would have saved me a little bit of wandering.

There was evidently a second set of tees for one or 2 of the holes at some point in time, but I could not find them when I played.
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole loop is the tale of 2 courses. The first is a set of ridiculously easy putt/approach shots. The second is holes 3,5,and 6 which are perfectly serviecable. The boring nature of the short holes, however, far overcomes the excitement of the few good ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Warm Up

5+    3/10/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads

Good baskets

Great beginner course.

I would only go to this course as a new player or with a player that is just getting in the game. This is a good course though as a warm up before playing Rotary or other courses in the area. Its a good time to try and add some aces to your total. (if you even want to count them). One hole is marked as 114 feet but realistically I think it is more along the lines of 90 to 100 feet.

Still a fun course overall.
Cons: Short.

Not challenging.

A lot of foot traffic

A lot of people are using walking trail that many of the hole cross over...which forces you to wait for a number of people to pass before you get to shoot.

Other Thoughts: Not much else they could do to upgrade.

Very limited space.

They have done the best with the space available though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not much to see here

1    12/18/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete pads and baskets.

It is a good place to work on your ace totals, particularly on hole 4, which is listed at 113 feet and is probably not even that.
If you ace #4 (I did!), you start to wonder how short a hole has to be for you to not even count it in your ace totals. I paced the hole off, and it was 28 paces, so 113 feet probably isn't right. I was putting from the tee.

Design is not good. The course plays around and over a walking path that gets a lot of use. Hole 9 has a narrow alley with a dogleg, a shot that even a skilled player will have trouble with. Another hole (7?) plays along a murky, wide creek, where a beginner LHBH or RHFH shot could easily end up.

Flow is a little weird in some spots. Most of the shots are pretty open and uninteresting.
Other Thoughts: I played here because I had an hour of daylight left on the way back from Bradford. If you are introducing someone to the game, this works fine, but otherwise there just isn't much here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad course

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i got my first hole in one here its on the first basket. It is updated trash is picked up. The walkers are actually very nice but it doesnt have the distances so i have to print it out. It is a very easy nice going course. bring a putter its good for practicing 110 ft approach shots and 275 run at it par 4's which should easly be a par 3.
Cons: It is a little short and it is only 9 holes. The baskets have names of people who wrote if they got a ''ace'' , ''double eagle'',''eagle'' so it is not to good and some of the baskets are short. need double chains so many in and out hole in ones but still easy. Cant ace hole number 2 i always go through both sets of chains. not a fan
Other Thoughts: It is the first place i started playing disc golf and that was the start of me now playing at other courses. I would not go out of my way to get here but if your here its a good warm up course. The field is perfect for testing out new discs.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a beginner!!

1    7/22/2011   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn how to play disc golf.
Copious amount of ace runs, although, none for me :(.
Course is not very busy, so the chance for practice on your approach / short game is there without others waiting.
Beside the course is a huge field that I use to practice techniques for distance. Even times where I'll take my disc catcher to practice putting.
Course is in a nice park and is safe.
Slim to none potential of losing a disc.
Plenty of shade around.
Cons: Walkers/joggers can sometimes get in the way. Course is built around a walking path.
Course is by no means for the big arm.
Only 9 holes.
The suggested par could be shortened on some holes.
Didn't notice the amenities other than bathrooms and a few tennis courts that you see at other area parks and courses.
Course could flow a little better.
No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to warm up on for the day. Having said that, North Cabarrus is close and presents more of a challenge for a 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course.

5+    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Commish
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Makes you practice a variety of shots. From wide open, to some wooded holes. From 400ft to 112ft. You usually can throw several discs and dont have a line of people waiting behind you. And, I played 54 holes in about 2 and a half hours!
Cons: You have to wait on joggers way too much!! The jogging path is directly in your way on most of the holes. And distance. A rather short course, but like I said, good for beginner practice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but convenient

2-4    8/2/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're like me in the Concord area it's close to home. Very open for the most part. Nice for practicing shot shaping etc... Usually not busy so you can take your time throw a few on each hole to maximize practice time.
Cons: It is extremely short! It's a par three nine holer but a few of these holes border ridiculous short!
Other Thoughts: If you live close it's a great warm up or practice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where it began

5+    5/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 304  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its in a really nice park and with several holes shorter than 200' is a perfect course for beginners or kids.

You can play it in a matter of min.

Nice teepads and teesigns

The "Par 4s" are not to bad of holes and can be challenging if you play them as 3s

This was the first course I played YYYYAAAAAYYYY

The course flows pretty well.
Cons: THis is a busy park and the course is in a walking area with paths running all through it. All it takes is a griplock and someone can get hit.

anyone who is an expereinced player will find this course to be a joke with several holes amounting to nothing more than a long putt.

Every basket is so tagged up with "Ace" or "eagle bitches!" its rediculas.

Chuckers paradise
Other Thoughts: Dorton is where it all began for me so it still has a soft place for me but it is what it is. A beginer course with very little challenge. I mean there are very few courses that you walk off disappointed that you didnt get an ace. Unless youre a course played junky this course is not worth going out of your way to play

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh. Solidly Meh.

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 24  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to work on your short game or play a quick round while your family is off shopping at Concord Mills (5 miles away).

Decent warm-up course (though North Cabarrus is better -- see my review of that one).
Cons: Short. I don't mind short courses at all -- I do NOT have a big arm, and I don't throw high-speed drivers. That said, I got up to the pad on #4 and looked at the basket and said "Really?!" #3 is the only really long hole on the course, but there's no way it should be a par five (as is listed here). Wide open hole that's barely over 400 feet is reachable (and makeable) in three by anyone who can throw 200 feet semi-accurately. I was embarrassed at taking a 4 on it (missed a VERY easy putt).

Navigation is horrendous. You have to walk across #8's fairway to get to the tee pad for #3.
Other Thoughts: Dorton Park is a VERY nice park. There is a lot to do for everyone in the family. And there is a lot of potential in this course, if they fix the layout/navigation issues and make some of the too short holes a bit longer (there is room, if you tweak the layout).

If there wasn't a good 9 hole course just a few miles away, this would be a great warmup course. With North Cabarrus just 3 miles away, though, this isn't really a destination course. If you're close and you're bored, go for it. But it's Charlotte -- there are plenty of options out there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.