Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 nice beginers course

1    10/18/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: badmofo27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: for new disc golfers this course will give you confidence, very nice park clean and pleasant.
Cons: to easy for anyone who has shot for more than a few times, quite a few people walking throught the park so u have to watch u dont hit a walker
Other Thoughts: nice place to play if u only have a half hour

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice...

5+    7/31/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great spot to bring one of your newbie friends. Big field adjacent to the course to practice your long drives on when it isnt filled with soccer players. EASY ace opportunity here. Nice, big concrete tee-pads.

Clean park/great atmosphere.
Cons: It can become pretty crowded in the afternoon. Walkers/joggers can get in your way when trying to throw a long drive on this course. Caveat: BE WARY OF THE PATH WALKERS ON THIS COURSE! I have heard of several people being hit here.

Water hazard possibility on hole #7, if you let loose with an errant throw.

Stepping in dog crap on this course is a possibility as well: be warned!

No elevation change: its pretty flat.

Every now and then, this course STINKS!...literally! It is right next to a creek that floods quite often and sometimes it holds a faint smell of raw sewage/animal death.

UPDATE: Basket on hole #2 is gone. I have no idea if it was stolen or if the park is trying to replace it.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to the sport of DG and/or you have other folks wanting to play/learn, then Dorton Park is everywhere you want to be. Its just a good, short walk in the park where you get to "people watch" as well. Its a good place to meet fellow disc-throwers.

I changed up my play on this one, meaning on the hole #1 tee-pad I ignore basket #1 and shoot for basket #2 as long as no-one is playing that hole at the moment. Other folks saw me doing that and they picked up on it as well. Even though its relatively short and easy, I like this little course!

This is a straight-up 3-disc-course for sure. You only need a fairway driver, a mid-range and a putter and you will do just fine.

UPDATE: This park has all but been taken over by illegal 3rd world aliens that play soccer and drink cervezas all day. I would advise just skipping this park all together unless you want a peep into the future of what America is going to become once she opens up her borders to the hordes of those that drain the welfare system, as well as putting a burden on the courts system as well. I saw plenty of "anchor babies" out there as well.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Was The Designer Trying For A Pitch And Putt Course?

1    7/18/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course kinda confused me. Is it a pitch and putt? Is it a beginner level course? Or was the course designer trying to squeeze a normal (recreational level) course into a very small land area. The course sets on a small area of land with a creek running down the left side. Some of holes are incredibly easy and short like # 1 (121 ft. with nothing in the way), # 2 (114 ft. with just a couple of trees) and # 4 (113 ft. putt with nothing in the way. Then you have a 400 ft. hole # 3 and # 9 is a fairly difficult hole due to trees and thick underbrush on the left. This course has nice oversized concrete tee pads, very informative tee signs and single chain baskets. There are no next tee signs but they're really not needed.
Cons: Some very short holes coupled with a 400 footer. In some ways, it's a perfect place to take a beginner. In other ways there are some chances for lost discs and maybe a little frustration factor for the newbie.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, a 11 year old kid ACED # 4, the short 113 ft. shot. He was thrilled as he should be. So was his father! I'm just not sure who exactly this course designer had in mind when he designed Dorton Park?

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 reedy creek

1    6/8/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Avenger4ThaAce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if your looking for an easy ace this your course.(basicly glorified putting) great course for practicing putting and midrange shots.
Cons: LEAVE YOUR DRIVER IN THE CAR!!! very short holes,way to high pars.the first time i played i went 5 under and ive been playing 2 months so yeah...not braging in any way just pointing out the easyness of the course.
Other Thoughts: not a terrible course but very very entry level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course

2-4    5/12/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 78  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great course for beginners. I've played this twice with my girlfriend, who isn't a big disc golfer, and it's short enough to not frustrate her.

- Perfect for a quick round or for some midrange/putting practice. As mentioned before, the early holes provide ace opportunities.

- There's a soccer field that you pass on the way to the first tee that is perfect to practice some drives, when empty of course.

- I feel like the course does about as good a job as any of fitting nine fairly distinctive holes into a small amount of space. It's a tiny park compared to many in the area, but the course plays longer than its size.
Cons: - That said, the course is short. They could only do so much with the park size restraints, and that is obvious on holes like #1 and #4 that are woefully short.

- As others have mentioned, many holes cross over walking trails, and you almost always have to wait for walkers to pass by on those holes. Even if the course is fairly empty of players, it will still play slower if there are a lot of walkers.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this a 1.5, but I felt like the course designers really did a great job of squeezing a playable course into the tight space. They could have easily just passed on putting a course here, and that would have been a shame.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 D = Dis Course Needs Help!

5+    10/27/2006   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a warm up!

1    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To many this course would be a joke. You get to the first hole and it is pretty much like throwing at a basket in your backyard, 100 feet in front of you. Then the second hole is still only 100 feet but there is two trees that you have to throw in between. 3rd hole is a par 5 however it would be a par 3 anywhere else. It turns left however the woods aren't that thick so you can opt to go straight over or through if you like. Hole 4 is basically a putt. The sign says 113 feet however it looks like about 60 to me. Hole 5 you can finally let a drive rip as it is a 300-350 foot hyzer shot, a creek and ob come into play so it could be tricky but still an easy hole. Hole 6 is a straight 350-400 foot shot with woods on the left side and a mando on the right. Hole 7 is probably 225-250 hyzer shot (RHBH). Hole 8 is a little 225 mid range shot. Then Hole 8 is for the Forehand as it is a 90 degree right turn with a tight alleyway and some trees to go over if you dont get all the way around.

Does this sound like fun to you? Maybe not but I actually had a great time there this morning on my way to the Renny. It was a good confidence builder before the Renny smashed it back down!

The distances are just a guess from what I remember of the course.
Cons: It is what it is, a short 9 hole course. The longest hole is 433 I think.
Other Thoughts: A great place to start playing. A variety of shots and they give you plenty of strokes so it easy for a beginner to shoot a good score. If you are passing through there is a great italian place to eat at just past the park on your right in the first shopping center. You can grab a bite to eat, play a twenty minute round, and head on to the bigger courses. Also this park is only a five or ten minute drive to another 9 hole course, North Cabarrus park. North Cabarrus is a little harder!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was fun to play. The baskets were Innova Discatchers that are in excellent shape. The tees are made of concrete and are large enough to accommodate follow through. Each sign gave a good representation of the hole. There were a few interesting holes that provide players with some choices. Hole #4 was a 401ft anhyzer shot from the tee. Approach shots could also be anhyzer if the drive falls far enough to the right. Hole #5 give the golfer a long hyzer shot from the tee that can be ob if landing on or right of the path. The basket is protected by a creek behind it ready to collect overzealous approaches. The 9th hole is a real interesting hole. The tee is aimed straight towards a maintainance road with lots of brush and trees to the right. The best shot is over the road and working back to the right behind where the baskets front side is completely protected by those trees and brush.


Cons: The course was hard to find from the parking lot. It is behind the tennis courts. Find the courts, find the course. The course is intertwined with walking trails that are OB. You have to look out for park patrons, but they are easily seen from all holes. There were some extremely short holes that while fun for everyone to make an ace run, could have been longer and more challenging. The 6th hole was fun but confusing. The sign shows a mandatory that I could not determine on the course. After finishing the hole, I had to search for the tee for #7. I found it, but I can see how others might have a problem. Hole #9's tee was too close to the basket for #8, but I don't know that it gets busy enough to be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to play the course again, but had to get to the next course. I wanted to give this course a higher rating, but 6 of the 9 were under 250 ft and the length of those holes was the reason.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dorton Park DGC

5+    7/10/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is an ideal place to practice your short game.
- Every time I have played this course I am the only person playing, making for a very quick 9 holes.
- Holes 1 and 4 are easy to ace.
- Hole #2 has a mandatory throw through a set of closely situated trees which is a nice challenge.
Cons: There is absolutely no elevation change.
- Tee Signs/Maps/Markers - The tee signs are ok, at best. There is no direction as to where the next tee is, making it very difficult for the first-time player.
- There was plenty of potential to make this course challenging but it was never realized. Pretty much every hole is a straight shot and out in the open. The course is lined with woods yet no effort was made to utilize the environment.
- Walking trails snake throughout the course, so beware of people and their pets.
- The course is a bit of a walk from the parking lot, making it difficult to find for the first-time player.
Other Thoughts: In general, the course is more fun than challenging. The park is clean and easy to find.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out course. Easy to navigate. Good for a quick round.
- Tee pads are awesome. Larger than most. If every course had tee pads this good, you'd never hear anyone complain about them.
- Great tee signs. Some of the most descriptive I've seen around.
- Great course to introduce newcomers to the game. Course is never crowded, so it's also a good course for practice.
- Beautiful, neighborhood park. I think everyone would want such a great, clean, park nearby. Park has walking trails, soccer field, tennis court, picnic shelters, grills, playground and restrooms. Great for the whole family.
Cons: Most holes aren't difficult. Three holes are really short, barely more than 100 feet. Lack of variety among holes.
- Lack of variety in holes. Longer holes are wide open, shorter holes are managable.
- Trails weave throughout course, so you have to watch out for joggers and walkers.
- Rough is thick to the left of #5, also comes in to play on errant throws on #3 (right side) and #6 (left).
Other Thoughts: Course isn't challenging for skilled players. I only consider several of the holes to be tough enough to be seen on more advanced courses. #3 is the most challenging hole by far. It's the only hole more than 400 feet.
- Course is targeted for casual players, as well as families looking to have fun.
- Worth playing if you live nearby or for a quick stop on your way to some of the tougher, better courses in Charlotte.
- Amenities give course a bump in ratings. The rest of the family can easily be occupied at the park while you play.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center