Olney, IL 
Kiwanis/Rotary Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Good.

1    6/15/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice, long, even concrete tee pads.
+Mach V baskets, very nice.
+Fairly descriptive tee signs.
+Hole 6 was nice. It is a 200' tunnel shot with a lake view to your left.
Cons: -Dangerous design. There are quite a few holes where you throw over another hole.
-Poor concepts. I'm not a fan of the design concept where you throw a 350' wide open shot and then cut a 20' circle in woods to create your green. That's exactly what the first two holes are.
-Pedestrians. There were people ALL OVER this park. Granted it was the weekend and people were recreating, it was absurd. Some less than wholesome individuals parked their car right by 8's basket (which happened to put it directly in front of 9's tee pad).
-Roads in play. I've some great courses with roads in play and I have no problem with well designed road holes. The problem with this course is that the roads have a lot of traffic. This is a very busy park with many activities. I would like to see holes kept farther from the road.
Other Thoughts: This may be the worst review I've ever written, but it is difficult to articulate the amount of discomfort I felt on this course. I've played courses with worse designs and I've played courses in much shadier places.
There was just something this course that really struck a nerve with me. It really felt like whoever designed it really wanted an 18 hole course, so they just put baskets all over the place with complete disregard of logic, reason or safety.
I saw one reviewer say this is a good beginner course. I completely disagree. I think a beginner with a 175 Champion Boss in his hand is going to hurt someone when he tries to throw over their head.

I really believe this course needs to be redesigned into a 9 holer or there needs to be some new land/obstacles found to make this course SAFER. A professional or experienced designer would do this course some good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: nickolaswoods
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course has been redone...and has some longer holes now since recent reviews.

-Concrete Tee's!

-Some signage.

-Some Wooded Areas with some harder shots!

-Island Hole #9

-Hole 6 plays near lake, and this is somewhat scenic.
Cons: -I would say none of the holes are over 350'.

-Not well kept...fairways aren't well mowed.

-Baskets are not very mowed around, and thus create some headache.

-Hole 9 plays over the road, and is not really an Island hole...Seen so much better.

-Last 9 are kinda open, and might be fun to shoot around on, and work on some shots, but it's really only worth playing the first 9. However, last 9 are thus better kept.
Other Thoughts: This is near where I grew up and I'm happy to see a course here. It's really not great, but there are a couple fun holes. The park needs some heavy maintenance to make this course nicer. If you are in the area, I recommend playing it for something to do. However, do not make this the sole purpose of your trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  COURSE UPDATED!

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: joemamma
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is being redesigned with several holes over 300'. Should be finished by the end of March.Holes 1,2,3,8,&9 will be moved to keep them out of the fishing/playground area.
Cons: Not enough room! Too windy Blah Blah!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course.

1    4/1/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Absolutely do not drive out of your way to play this course if you are looking for a challenge. It is super short and easy.*

The course is located near a large popular lake. The drive to the park is scenic. The course is flat with water in play on several holes. There are some scattered trees in a few places but most of the course is fairly open. The parking lot leads to a boat launching area.

Nice cement tee pads, tee signs, and baskets.

Super beginner friendly.
Cons: All holes under 300ft with a total length of 3,672ft.

No memorable holes and mostly open.
Other Thoughts: *Absolutely do not drive out of your way to play this course if you are looking for a challenge. It is super short and easy.*

If you like to fish and camp this might be a good destination.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun shorty

2-4    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front nine plays along nice lake
-Good baskets (Mach 5)
-3'x8' cement tees
-Water hazards on hole 1 if 50' long, hole 3 if 45' left, 6 if 30' left through thick brush
-18 aceable holes make for a fun round
-hole number 6 is excellent, tight 170' ish tunnel shot with lake on left
-good facilities, nice bathroom near back nine, water, nice portajohns at 1st hole with portahandwash station.
-very fun, fast course. played 45 holes in 2 hr 45 min.
-easy to navigate minus the walk from 9 to 10
-great beginner course
Cons: -weird/long walk from front to back nine
-hole one has play ground equipment in play if bad shot
-hole 5 plays over 3 picnic benches, will be dangerous/unplayable if people are there
-fishermen park right in front of 8's teebox
-only 6 holes over 200' none over 300'
-not a big variety of shots the majority holes that are either straight without obstacles, straight with guard in front of basket or hyzer (rhbh), this excludes hole 6, and 11
-fun but too short for anything serious
Other Thoughts: This is a good beginner course, the back nine is wide open mostly and the front nine is a bit more wooded. I would avoid this course on a busy weekend, as it looked like it could be a popular family area and thus dangerous.

It is a fun course however and you can definitely work on your putter tee shots. Every hole is aceable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: anthonyippi
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Its a fun course to go out and have fun on, and to have plenty of ace runs.
Cons: Weird walk from front nine to back, and too easy and short.
Other Thoughts: Well me and three friends went out to play, im a 935 rated player and they are 870's. and we all shot 9 down or more each. So its very easy

 Short and Potentially Windy

2-4    12/15/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too many courses in the area, and the front nine is fun to play. Practice basket right by the parking lot. Bathrooms are a nice touch! Also, there's a park for kids right by the first tee.
Cons: The back nine has multiple holes under 200'. On a windy day, look out; the stiff breezes off the lake are deadly to lighter discs. Also, you may choose to drive your car to the tenth tee in bad weather. It's by the other parking lot.
Other Thoughts: They could have kept this as a nine-holer, and it would have been more challenging overall. The back nine was simply put there to add nine holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Par 3 in Olney

2-4    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: brandiy2021
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Local course not too hard...............................................................
Cons: Some water hazards, front 9 is heavy wooded..........................................................
Other Thoughts: great fun course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  great par 3

5+    10/26/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: dartgarrett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixture of wooded and clear holes. Good starter course.
Cons: Water comes into play on a hole or two. Also all holes are par three.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: nickb_12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: front 9 has a challenge to it with trees and curves
Cons: back 9 is pretty well a straight shot and not alot of obsticles

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.