Disc Golf Store
Russellville, AR
Pleasant View DGC Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #11
4 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 11 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A great course

1    6/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow I was so surprised when I got here. easy to find course. The holes are laid out so well. Nice mix of open shot with and wooded holes that are very technical. The grass is moed so nice just like something out of a magazine. Find your way around will be no problem there is a course map as soon as you start hole one. Plus the sign are placed so that you will be able to find the next hole.
Cons: It can be really hot in the summer time. Not access to water or a bathroom. If you lose a disc in the main channel it is most likely gone for good it is deep. If you lose it next to a brushy part of the waters edge be mindful of snakes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played. I would love to be closer to this park. If you have any question feel free to send me a message.
BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!

1    2/13/2010   2/16/2010
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great usage of the land..lots of shots in the water around the water, through the trees around the trees, half in the woods, half out, great variety of par 3's and 4's...someone knew what they where doing when the designed this course.
Cons: no facilities even close...what's a ninja suppose to do?
Other Thoughts: we were just passing through on vacation..whatever the case, it's a must play for everyone near there...

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Wonderful!

1    2/2/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has so much to offer and in a wonderful setting. It is set up for any kind of player and very well laid out. From start to finish there are no confusing "where is the basket" holes or thick thick trees and brush to battle. Some one took their time and took great used of the land!

Tee pads are very nice, the signs are great and the pins are clear and easy to find, no blind throws!

Getting to the course is easy as well, A nice sign points the way from the road.
Cons: Some of the holes are by the water and could easily go in. Deep water makes getting your disc back next to imposable, but if you play it safe, I would not worry about it!, No bathrooms as of yet, and in the summer there could be some boats running though at the ski park, but its better than a Highway!
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, after driving 2 hours from Hot Springs, I was pleasantly surprised and loved every second on the course. There was 2 inches of snow at the time but my girl and I loved it. The setting could not be any better, nice over looks on the water, the woods were nice and clear, so you could see the little critters running and flying around. A great Sunday afternoon course.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 40.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A tough and challenging course. Technical shots are required on most every hole. (You have to pick your flight path and landing place for most every shot.)

Excellent signs.
Cons: The only real con is the lack of amenities. (Bag hangers, benches and trash cans.)
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a newb who had only played once. He learned the meaning of real disc golf on this course. We both had a blast even though my favorite driver is now at the bottom of the lake. I highly recommend this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course to cut your teeth on

5+    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: fortius54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Variety of hole types should keep a match even with players using different styles.

*Good mixture of short wooded holes and booming open holes.

* Beautiful layout. You can tell a lot of thought was put into course design.
Cons: * Water, water, everywhere...

* Some of the wooded holes just do not have a very good line of sight to basket.

* 522' Par 3 with line of trees on one side andwater on the other

* Eats discs for breakfast.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and it is a rough place to learn to play. The course plays with your head. You feel like you have to be conservative on a lot of hole for fear of losing a disc. It does make me a better player though. Despite all of this I really do love this course for the challenge, and I invite all to come see it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation was not a problem at all on this course. Hole 1 is easy to find with a large course map. There are good tee signs, baskets, and concrete tee pads on every hole.

Nice looking course, with a good mix of open bombs and tight wooded shots that test your accuracy. The water gives the open holes a little added difficulty, but experienced players should not have too much problem avoiding the water.
Cons: The water is the obvious con for most players. It puts a premium on accuracy, but wayward shots can kiss that disc good bye. There are no facilities and the grass needed cutting the one time I have played the course. If you are playing the course for the first time, the black pond on hole 11 is hidden and easy to lose a disc in before you even realize that it is there.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to review. There were not a lot of cons or things I did not like about the course, but there also was not a lot about this course that "wowed" me. I enjoyed playing the course and played really well, shooting a 9 down.

There were just not enough trees or obstacles on the open holes to make them interesting and the water was not close enough to actually become an obstacle for an experienced player. The wooded holes were mostly straight putter or roc shots, with 2 of them offering a wide open left to right gap to sneak into the back door to the basket. Overall, I enjoyed my round there and would be willing to give this course another chance if I am ever in the area again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great, a little uneven

5+    2/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Back 9 is mostly wide open and long and requires lots of power. Very well marked, all concrete tees.
Cons: Holes 1-2 are open and fairly long. The nature of the course shifts abruptly and 3-10 are wooded, fairly short, and tight. Some of these holes don't really offer any good shot options from the tee. Nuclear plant cooling tower looms ominously several miles away.
Other Thoughts: Drawbacks mentioned aside, this is a beautiful, well maintained course that is worth a road trip from Little Rock (1 hr 15 mins away) to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but wet

5+    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Euphtech
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with a nice mix of length and woods. This course is my favorite so far! I love that there are 6 real ace opportunities yet very few have been thrown.
Cons: No facilities. This could use a pavilion and bathrooms. Many discs get lost to the water which comes into play on 8 holes.
Other Thoughts: With secondary tees and/or hole locations and bathrooms, this place will be hard to beat!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging course.

1    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: crd 81
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Challenging course that will test you're shot selection, accuracy and power.

2. Variety of holes keep the course from feeling mundane.

3. Water hazards can be found on multiple tees causing increased difficulty.

4. Good tee signs. The signs tell the par for each hole, the location of the basket, and the path to the next tee.

5. Concrete tees.


Cons: 1. A good chance of losing a disc or two.

2. It may be cooler and windier due to the course being surrounded by a lake.

3. The tee signs don't list out-of-bounds. I landed in the rough on hole 16 and didn't know if I was out of bounds or if my shot was legal.

4. Too much water could be a bad thing.

5. It's not a beginner friendly course. There are too many obstacles (water and trees) to help a beginner to get into the "feel" of the game.
Other Thoughts: 1.Be prepared to lose a disc if you shank a throw on some tees (especially true on the latter part). I threw a buzz on hole 17 and it went into the water.

2. The course can be a buzz (no pun intended) kill if you are having a bad day. That is, if everything about you're game is off.

3. The course isn't too far off from places to eat. I went down to burger king after I got done. The distance from the course to a local restaurant is roughly five miles.

4. One thing that you'll be wishing is that the water was more shallow around the banks so that you could have a better chance at retrieving your disc. If, that is, you throw a bad shot that goes in the water.

6. Overall, I enjoyed myself on the course. I had to fight the wind, cold, and paranoia of losing a disc, but overall I had a good time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I designed this course,Loved the land and oppurtunity BTW.
State Award for 2007(Facility of the year under $500,000)"WAY UNDER $500,000"
That's the beauty of Disc Golf,Low investment high output on the return.
Cons: It's Due for alternate pins and restrooms.This is the only thing keeping this from being a 5 on the scale.
Other Thoughts: Mack Hollis was amazing on his dedication to making this one a winner(My hats off to you Mack)Lots of clearing and manicuring was needed to make this area what it is today.(It ain't over yet BTW)For course design info and any thoughts or ideas for this course in the future contact me at tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com
Let's put another one in the ground!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.