Russellville, AR 
Pleasant View DGC Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #16
3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome Course

5+    1/22/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: acesinthehole
Played: 114  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is great. Lot's of challenging holes. There's a good mix of short and long shots. This course is a true disc golf course. That is the only use of the area so no need to worry about playgrounds, joggers, ect. Tons of wildlife and great signs, baskets, tee pads.
Cons: The city won't put in bathrooms, water, ect. Hole 10's sign says it's a par 4 but is only 300 feet and straight ahead. Any "cons" are really just nitpicking at a great course.
Other Thoughts: The most legitimate, best course in the state in my opinion. Everyone worries about the water so bring discs that are easily replaced.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Russvegas

5+    8/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course. Lots of different shots. Plenty of birdie opportunities. Nice mix of long and short holes.
Cons: Water. I've personally throw 6 or more discs in the drink out there.
Other Thoughts: Stop by CJ's Burgers on your way to or from the course. GREAT BURGERS!!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: KRiggs02
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Play probably 4-5 times a week. Has made me a better player with learning different types of shots and throws. Love playing it even with the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: Water, mainly on hole one and three. Have hit a tree before and it shoots out the wrong way and is just gone on 3rd hole. Wish there were a couple more benches out there to sit and rest on.
Other Thoughts: Never really have to worry about getting in anybodies way except on the first hole (18th coming back at you) and on the 10th (11th tee to the left if you have a bad first throw). Love going out and playing the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

1    6/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow I was so surprised when I got here. easy to find course. The holes are laid out so well. Nice mix of open shot with and wooded holes that are very technical. The grass is moed so nice just like something out of a magazine. Find your way around will be no problem there is a course map as soon as you start hole one. Plus the sign are placed so that you will be able to find the next hole.
Cons: It can be really hot in the summer time. Not access to water or a bathroom. If you lose a disc in the main channel it is most likely gone for good it is deep. If you lose it next to a brushy part of the waters edge be mindful of snakes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have ever played. I would love to be closer to this park. If you have any question feel free to send me a message.
BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!

1    2/13/2010   2/16/2010
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great usage of the land..lots of shots in the water around the water, through the trees around the trees, half in the woods, half out, great variety of par 3's and 4's...someone knew what they where doing when the designed this course.
Cons: no facilities even close...what's a ninja suppose to do?
Other Thoughts: we were just passing through on vacation..whatever the case, it's a must play for everyone near there...

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Wonderful!

1    2/2/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has so much to offer and in a wonderful setting. It is set up for any kind of player and very well laid out. From start to finish there are no confusing "where is the basket" holes or thick thick trees and brush to battle. Some one took their time and took great used of the land!

Tee pads are very nice, the signs are great and the pins are clear and easy to find, no blind throws!

Getting to the course is easy as well, A nice sign points the way from the road.
Cons: Some of the holes are by the water and could easily go in. Deep water makes getting your disc back next to imposable, but if you play it safe, I would not worry about it!, No bathrooms as of yet, and in the summer there could be some boats running though at the ski park, but its better than a Highway!
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, after driving 2 hours from Hot Springs, I was pleasantly surprised and loved every second on the course. There was 2 inches of snow at the time but my girl and I loved it. The setting could not be any better, nice over looks on the water, the woods were nice and clear, so you could see the little critters running and flying around. A great Sunday afternoon course.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 43.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A tough and challenging course. Technical shots are required on most every hole. (You have to pick your flight path and landing place for most every shot.)

Excellent signs.
Cons: The only real con is the lack of amenities. (Bag hangers, benches and trash cans.)
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a newb who had only played once. He learned the meaning of real disc golf on this course. We both had a blast even though my favorite driver is now at the bottom of the lake. I highly recommend this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course to cut your teeth on

5+    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: fortius54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Variety of hole types should keep a match even with players using different styles.

*Good mixture of short wooded holes and booming open holes.

* Beautiful layout. You can tell a lot of thought was put into course design.
Cons: * Water, water, everywhere...

* Some of the wooded holes just do not have a very good line of sight to basket.

* 522' Par 3 with line of trees on one side andwater on the other

* Eats discs for breakfast.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and it is a rough place to learn to play. The course plays with your head. You feel like you have to be conservative on a lot of hole for fear of losing a disc. It does make me a better player though. Despite all of this I really do love this course for the challenge, and I invite all to come see it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 125  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation was not a problem at all on this course. Hole 1 is easy to find with a large course map. There are good tee signs, baskets, and concrete tee pads on every hole.

Nice looking course, with a good mix of open bombs and tight wooded shots that test your accuracy. The water gives the open holes a little added difficulty, but experienced players should not have too much problem avoiding the water.
Cons: The water is the obvious con for most players. It puts a premium on accuracy, but wayward shots can kiss that disc good bye. There are no facilities and the grass needed cutting the one time I have played the course. If you are playing the course for the first time, the black pond on hole 11 is hidden and easy to lose a disc in before you even realize that it is there.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to review. There were not a lot of cons or things I did not like about the course, but there also was not a lot about this course that "wowed" me. I enjoyed playing the course and played really well, shooting a 9 down.

There were just not enough trees or obstacles on the open holes to make them interesting and the water was not close enough to actually become an obstacle for an experienced player. The wooded holes were mostly straight putter or roc shots, with 2 of them offering a wide open left to right gap to sneak into the back door to the basket. Overall, I enjoyed my round there and would be willing to give this course another chance if I am ever in the area again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great, a little uneven

5+    2/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Back 9 is mostly wide open and long and requires lots of power. Very well marked, all concrete tees.
Cons: Holes 1-2 are open and fairly long. The nature of the course shifts abruptly and 3-10 are wooded, fairly short, and tight. Some of these holes don't really offer any good shot options from the tee. Nuclear plant cooling tower looms ominously several miles away.
Other Thoughts: Drawbacks mentioned aside, this is a beautiful, well maintained course that is worth a road trip from Little Rock (1 hr 15 mins away) to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.