Disc Golf Store
Fremont, CA 
California School for the Deaf DGC Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great place to practice every aspect of your game.

5+    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: JonnyBusiness
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open area. There are 2 tee pads in the back behind the baseball field (mostly safari).
Cons: Only 8 basekts (1 was stolen a while back). 2 in front of the school along Stevenson blvd and 6 in the back (along the baseball field).
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent place to practice every aspect of your game. Unlike an acutal course, there is a huge open field to PRACTICE long drives with baskets all around. I play here pretty often (becuase I live across the street).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not worth the trip

1    2/9/2013   2/15/2013
Review By: davedjembe
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: there was nobody there on a saturday afternoon.
mostly open with a couple trees depending on your approach
Cons: there are only 2 baskets, not 7 as advertised, and they're about 50-60 feet away from each other.
Other Thoughts: good place to practice your ace shot if you're local, but not worth going out of your way for.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets are in the gound

5+    3/1/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are newer mach III and you will always find nice people around. Although there are no water fountains on the course there are several in the school. When you are there you will most likely be the only person playing unless you brought someone. Lush manicured grass and large mature trees help dress up the course.
Cons: No teepads to speak of and no real layout kinda make this more of a practice area with nice baskets than a dg course. One or more of the baskets has been stolen in the past year and has not been replaced. No tee signs and no direction will leave you looking for the baskets like a where's waldo book. I personally don't drink on the course but for all that do that's not allowed here because you are on a school campus.
Other Thoughts: If you and whoever you are playing with establish tee areas for each hole and play your own course this can be fun but some of the basket locations leave you thinking where can I possibly set a tee area at and make this fun. I would take a long lunch form work and really just come out and work on hitting 200' and in shots which the basket located by the front parking lot is great for. Since there is no practice basket we just used the first basket to warm up on.

I don't really feel like this is a real course but you can make one up and get in some good shots if you want to. just add some tee signs and we can do the rest, but thank you to the school for putting baskets in the ground.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Give this course a break!

2-4    1/28/2011   1/28/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I can't imagine this course ever getting busy with other disc golfers. In fact, you're almost guaranteed to by playing by yourself, especially on a weekday. One can't help but admire that the school is for the deaf and blind. You can't knock this course for that fact alone!
Cons: Basket #2 on the small hill isn't there anymore, or else I'm just an idiot and couldn't find it.
Other Thoughts: Have you ever been at a park, school grounds, or open area, and thought to yourself, "they could easily put a disc golf course here!" Well, someone affiliated with the California School for the Deaf and Blind did! It's pretty obvious the they built a course around the school and not vice-versa. That being said, c'mon people, this is the only course in the immediate Fremont area, and each hole on it's own is a legitimate disc golf hole. And for those complaining about the "long walk", isn't this one of the reasons we play...to get excercise? Btw, thanks to Swatso for helping me navigate this course for the first time!
=================
Uniqueness: B (school grounds course; it happens, but not too often)
Difficulty: C+ (flat; some holes are very short)
Fun factor: C (I only play here if I'm nearby & jonesing)
Aesthetics: C (could be cleaner; mowed grass)
----------------------
Overall: C

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe For Safari!

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, there are nine baskets. The area back where #'s 4-9 actually is fairly nice for a course or a safari layout. We got to watch their football team workout which is interesting, because they use a big drum for the snap count.
Cons: The baskets are split between the first three and the last six with a long walk in between. There isn't really a course here which is too bad because it wouldn't take much to throw in some teepads. There was a big soccer tourney across the street making the first three baskets almost unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Probably not worth stopping for unless you are a "Died in the Wool Course Bagger." Hey, I resemble that previous remark!

If you're not a serious bagger of courses or hearing impaired, Skip CSFD and continue south and play Hellyer and Del La Raza, two nice little nine holers in San Jose.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not realy a course

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Billym
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 9 baskets.
Cons: No actual tee pads and mostly open athletic fields.
No clear beginning or end. Baskets too close at times.
Other Thoughts: Other than 9 baskets I would not call this a DG course just a school that has 9 baskets strewn around their grounds.
Unless you live in the general area skip it and go somewhere else.
The previous reviewer did a nice job of trying to create an actual flow to the course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Freestyle

1    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Water fountains scattered about.
Cons:
No tees, no signs. Baskets 4-9 far from 1-3. Many baskets near other recreation areas, and are difficult to see. Very flat.
Other Thoughts:
Since there are no designated tee locations, the goal of this review is to help you find the baskets, and suggest possible tee locations (of course, you may tee from wherever you wish!)

Park in the parking lot, to the right near the corner of Stevenson and Gallaudet. Walk to the sidewalk on Gallaudet, near the entry sign, then look back to the right of where you parked - you should see a basket about 250' away, between some trees. This is basket #1 - tee off from the sidewalk. The next basket, just over 100' away, is marked #3. I suggest you walk past it to the right and play it last on the way back to you car. You'll soon see a basket on a small hill, with the football field/track fence behind it - I played this unmarked basket as #2. I threw from the discus circle, again making this about a 250' hole.

Now, go for a walk, keeping the fence to your right. As you reach the end of it, look to the far right corner of the basketball courts - in the trees behind them is basket #4. For the tee, I took a hard right, past the horseshoe pits, up the slope, then back down to another fence and left a bit. If you tee from here, you'll have about a 300' shot that has a bit of a tunnel at the start, then a left turn at the end. Basket #5 is just around the corner of the near tennis courts. If you tee off from the edge of the basketball/four-square courts, you'll have about a 300' hole.

Take a moment now to look at the line of trees forming the left/centerfield "wall" of the baseball field. Basket #6 is to the right, near the back of the tennis courts, unmarked basket #8 is to the left, and hidden basket #7 is between, in the middle of the treeline. Unmarked basket #9 is to the left of the batting cage.

To tee for #6, I simply went a little bit to the left of basket #5. This will make the hole about 350', and right-turning. To tee for #7, I went to the road near the corner of the near building, making it a short 125' left-turner with many trees guarding the approach. To tee for #8, I went to the tree on the opposite side of #7's basket, leaving about 150' to #8, surrounded by trees. For #9, just move a bit past #8's basket, and you'll have a 200' left-turn to the basket just on the other side of the batting cage.

Walk back to basket #2, and tee for #3 just before and below #2's basket, with some wooden logs in front of you. This will make a challenging 275' shot with a road and fenced-off buildings to your right, and the discus area to your left.

This course provides you with some basic raw materials - do with it what you can, and don't plan on playing when baseball is happening on the far field.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center