Johnstown, CO 
River Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great short course. Level changes everywhere.

2-4    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 20  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun and will test your short to midrange game. Great for beginners, as it doesn't have any 400+ holes and few trees. You can easily walk to the 4th tee with a minus 3. The level changes and deceptive hill locations test your putting. The play around the lake is fun as well. The lake water level changes quite frequently from what I've heard, but it was very low, and easy to avoid. It can test your depth as well. You throw over many ditches that look closer than they are. The level changes occur on almost every single hole.
Cons: Pretty short and not many obsticals. The pool was put in after the course and made them pervert the first 3 holes. The first hole is only 60 feet. The local players told me that it can have baskets completely disappear, due to water levels. It was low when I played, but they said that up to 4 of the baskets can be under water at any one time. The hole locations can be a good hike and hard to find. The baskets are comically short.
Other Thoughts: Print a course score card for distances. The tee markers are the best I've seen. Big wooden posts with the hole number on them. They could use a hole map, distance, and directions to the next tee though.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course if you don't play the regular layout.

5+    1/5/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very little traffic, never have to wait. Bathrooms on sight. Full 18 holes.
Cons: Short holes, low baskets, weedy grass everywhere, tons of walking
Other Thoughts: If you play this course from alternate tee positions it can become quite a fun little course, turns into about 27 holes instead of the regular 18, adds length and some challenge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for beginners

5+    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: jugglerbri
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for less advanced players. Being a new player, this course is a perfect challenge for me. Some of the holes are short and depending on basket location, some are very challenging getting around the water and other hazards.

If you don't like crowds, you'll definitely like this place. I rarely see other players while out playing let alone have to wait on anyone. I can usually play the course in about an hour and that includes the walking time from my house to the first hole.

The tees are all very solid concrete pads (yes, some are pointing the wrong direction but so what?) and some of the holes have alternate tee locations to make some of those short holes longer (holes 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9). They were installed spring '11. Look for a series of rocks in the ground that form a "Y" shape, something like >--    --<.

Favorite Hole: 5. Shooting over the reeds and the marsh is satisfying for me. I know often times I don't make it and that's why I wear water proof boots.
Cons: Few vertical hazards.

Since the subdivision is still fairly new, the trees aren't all that big yet (even though I seem to keep hitting them) and the course seems to try and avoid them instead of using them to make it challenging. There does seem to be a bit of extra walking between some of the holes but I think most courses I've played has had at least one hole that you had to walk aways to get to the next tee (Edora between holes 2 & 3 and between holes 11 & 12) although I think this course has the largest gaps I've seen in my limited play experiences (between holes 6 & 7 and between 13 & 14). The course is also lacking in signage. There is a beautiful post marking the tee for each hole but there is nothing showing the hole, the distances, the possible pin placements, etc.

If you go in a wet time of year (this last spring for example) 3 of the holes (5, 6, & 18) can get pretty muddy and if the grass hasn't been mowed, it can be difficult to find your disc in the weeds.

Least Favorite Hole: 1. I've only been playing a short time and I've already aced this hole twice and that just shouldn't happen.
Other Thoughts: I moved into the subdivision in December '10, found the course, and that's what got me into playing. I'm still a beginner and can't reach the basket first shot on most of the holes.

Overall, I really enjoy playing this course, sometimes seeing the sunset in the evening or the sunrise lighting up Twin Peaks is spectacular. There are usually several hawks or falcons flying around and often times I'll see one or more Great Blue Herons (still haven't seen a snake yet even though I've played it more than 30 times).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Next Hole Is Where?

1    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the few eighteen hole courses in the front range area north of Denver. Besides the better Edora Park in Fort Collins, you'd have to travel to mountains or Denver to get a more than 12 holes in one spot. The area is open and rugged although few holes measure over 300 feet. This is one of those - man, that's right of the highway great location for some disc golf type of places.

The main area of the park is well marked, and there are ample signs on the road pointing you in the general direction. Having said that however, follow the signs exactly and you'll be closer to #5 rather than #1. If you want to park near the beginning, park near the pool and red grain silo closest to the highway.

Besides the location, the park has quality concrete pads, granted few are actually pointed in the right direction. Each hole is also marked with a large beam and number marker, which is very easy to spot from the distance. Note that #5, #6, and #13 each have additional placards to assist you in finding the next tee box location.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: River Ranch is a great example of why you always wait until the bitter end before putting in the concrete. With the addition of the pool area, which shrunk #1 and #2 to a laughable length, and what looks like a general redesign - most tees are angled off in different directions making things annoying.

I also wonder why they put in some of the most robust and impressive hole markers I've seen and not indicate the distance as well as number - but at least they waited on something. As mentioned earlier, #1 and #2 are about 80' each making for a nice mid-range ace attempt.

Given all of this, the biggest negative may be the general navigation. Land limitations are always a course's worst enemy, but by the time you finish, you've probably walked enough for 36 holes. Note that the walk between #6 and #7 and then from #13 and #14 are the worst, but if you park by the pool, you'll have a walk from #18, and by the disc golf sign a good walk to #1. Good news is that #13 shows a great layout of #8 through #14, so make the pit stop and check it out after finishing #9.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #2
Other Thoughts: River Ranch is fun for a casual round to shoot low scores. An intermediate player will have no problems shooting par and lower on every hole, based on the short length and limited amount of obstacles. However, if you have the time, and don't mind the crowds, Edora Park is the better way to go. If you hate crowds, and like the open prairie, then stop off the highway and give this place a go.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Construction Zone

1    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice tee pads that were consistent throughout the course. Nice tee markers showing you where tee pads were. Nice baskets in good condition. Good signs telling you where next tee pad is if it is not obvious. Good use of terrain. Good use of water for begginers. Great course to take the whole family to. Not crowded but I did see other players there.
Cons: Holes one and two are MIA as the build a new swimming pool in the park. There are four places where the walk to the next tee is not obvious and a long ways away. Mostly short holes in a very open field where terrain is really the only challenge. A slightly confusing layout with one place where three baskets are right near eachother. Some tee pads seemed to be pointed in random directions not necessarily pointed towards a basket. Only about three holes where a long drive is needed. You will have to walk a couple of holes to make sure you know where you are throwing to, specifically hole 7 and 9 as 7 is hidden and 9 is right near two other baskets.
Other Thoughts: I was really bummed to see that holes 1 and 2 were not there because of pool construction but there is a place after hole 13 where a couple more short holes could be added going back along the road on the way to hole 14 by the lake on the other side of the street. This is one of the courses that would be great to take someone just learning the game too as there is nothing too intimidating while still having the dangers of water at times. You will want to watch out on some of the dry drainage ponds as the ground can be very muddy. When you are driving there you will want to take River Ranch Rd off of the I-25 Frontage Rd and I personally think the best place to park is near the model homes on the North side of River Ranch Rd. I really do hope they redesign the course to be 18 holes after they finish building the pool.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.