Disc Golf Store
Johnstown, CO
River Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 88ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Colorado is better in the Mtns

2-4    8/19/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: -Concrete tees and nice baskets
-Poles with numbers on them marking the hole
-A few of the tee poles had directions to the next tee. Get your bearings and read these, they will save you some wandering.
-A few 'water hazards' to liven up this otherwise fairly dull course
-A bit of elevation, mostly created by drainage ditches and built up roadways.
-Many ace opportunities for players of all levels.
-A few fast-ish sloped greens that add neccesary challenge to this otherwise easy course.
-Parking lot at the start.
-Easy to find course off i-25 and complex has signs that point you to start of course.
Cons: -Hardly any trees at all which results in no shade and very little challenge.
-Could lose a disc in the 'water hazards'
-Not long at all and very little variation in hole distance.
-The course is dirty and dusty on most holes. Grass doesn't do well here unless irrigated.
-Navigation is pretty average. They have added signs at some of the harder junctions but it still isnt the best. Longer walks than normal compound this problem.
-A lot of the tees are at strange angles to the basket. There are also multiple baskets in sight of the same tee so it can be confusing.
-Nitpicking here: lack of trash cans and benches may hurt in some people's eyes.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a good course for beginners due to the distance and relative lack of challenge but it might not be much fun for them. I enjoy a good pitch and putt with fun and unique shots but this course didn't have a lot of fun factor.

I do like that the housing development had the foresight to put this course in and provide some recreation for their residents. It makes use of otherwise useless strips of land.

I probably won't come back and play this course. I am a course bagger and had to play it at least once but would be surprised to find myself there again.

ehhhh......

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy birds on first three , with strong potential for aces........ Gave all three birds back in middle of course and took a penalty stroke on one of the lake holes. finished +3 ( I am the newb in my group, the rest were under par for intermediate rec players.
Cons: stupid short on some of the holes, lots of water in play with ditch and small lake. baskets were really low for some reason?
Other Thoughts: only reason i ventured up this way was to meet with some fellow disc golfers from the north side of town.......Not worth a special trip for this course. (imo)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great short course. Level changes everywhere.

2-4    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun and will test your short to midrange game. Great for beginners, as it doesn't have any 400+ holes and few trees. You can easily walk to the 4th tee with a minus 3. The level changes and deceptive hill locations test your putting. The play around the lake is fun as well. The lake water level changes quite frequently from what I've heard, but it was very low, and easy to avoid. It can test your depth as well. You throw over many ditches that look closer than they are. The level changes occur on almost every single hole.
Cons: Pretty short and not many obsticals. The pool was put in after the course and made them pervert the first 3 holes. The first hole is only 60 feet. The local players told me that it can have baskets completely disappear, due to water levels. It was low when I played, but they said that up to 4 of the baskets can be under water at any one time. The hole locations can be a good hike and hard to find. The baskets are comically short.
Other Thoughts: Print a course score card for distances. The tee markers are the best I've seen. Big wooden posts with the hole number on them. They could use a hole map, distance, and directions to the next tee though.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

5+    8/18/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: ottofueler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/1/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to Loveland, with easy access. Open course. No overcrowding. It's a nice course for an hour of exercise.
Cons: As of 10/1/2012, baskets 14 and 15 near the lake are no longer under water. Baskets 7 and 8 have been replaced after evaporating.
Ditch and lake attract discs. Wear long pants for comfort. Cattail section on hole 5 is a place to find other discs, if you wish to wade in the swamp. Wear mosquito repellent.
Other Thoughts: With a bit more of TLC this course would score higher. Mowing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

How About opening The Pool To The Disc Golfers?

1    7/17/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: River Ranch DGC is set up in the mostly high desert scrub bordering two new housing projects. Being visible from I-25, makes it easy to hop off the freeway for a quick 18. The course starts right near the red siloh, a kids playground and the newly constructed swimming pool. This course has these great solid posts with the hole number on them. There are nice concrete pads and DGA baskets with the numbers on top. The numbers aren't always facing back toward the teepad and some of the baskets are sunk a little too low.
The course starts out with three extremely short holes and I'm thinking this this will be one of those quick easy 20 minute rounds. Then # 4 and # 5 are like more normal recreational course length. # 5 is a neat little hole where you throw over a retention pond, it's probably empty much of the year, to a basket on the other side. It's not far but it's just kind of natural bowl effect and a fun little throw for some of us. # 6 is probably 300' and then you have a long walk to the mostly scrub, open area.

Holes 14, 15 and 16 all play around a rather large pond. # 14 was sitting near the edge and was partially in the water. # 15 basket was 20 feet out in the water while # 16 involved throwing over the pond to a basket just 20 feet past the ponds edge. This was in mid-July. Granted there had been a heavy rainstorm the previous night, but is it always this soggy?
Cons: This course starts with an 75' easy ACE run and followed by two more 100' holes. Then later has these three Risk/Reward holes that the average SMART recreational player will choose to pass over. That might just be an oxymoron insinuating that the average disc golfers is smart. My point is, Who is this course designed for? The first three holes are pitch and putt all the way. The middle holes are more or less mundane, hot and dusty recreational level and then you have a couple of disc eating Risk/Reward throws.
Other Thoughts: Maybe the pond water problems aren't always there. I might have just played this course as an inopportune time. I realize the shortness of the first three was made neccessary by the construction of the pool.

And that pool looked awfully inviting after stumbling around through the dry scrubland on this warm day. A couple of those young yuppie mothers were looking fine. I really would have liked a chance to cool off. After all, it's construction did negatively effect my disc golf course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short course and desert conditions

1    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: zowynn12
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: short holes for kids or new players. not to bad of a walk to each hole
Cons: holes are to short and the grasses are really bad same with the catails on hole 5 and 18
Other Thoughts: in other words if you a very skilled player use this course for a break day or a warm up game other than that have new player or friends play with you here

 Great course if you don't play the regular layout.

5+    1/5/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very little traffic, never have to wait. Bathrooms on sight. Full 18 holes.
Cons: Short holes, low baskets, weedy grass everywhere, tons of walking
Other Thoughts: If you play this course from alternate tee positions it can become quite a fun little course, turns into about 27 holes instead of the regular 18, adds length and some challenge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/29/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: mikespike
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for beginners and the family. Nice playground near first tee. Nice concrete pads.
Cons: Baskets are very low to the ground. Holes are incredibly short. Advanced players will shoot well under par. I wont go there again due to too short of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 18 Hole Course in a 9 Hole Courses Space

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a good beginners course in that it is very short and every hole is a birdie opportunity with a good shot. 16 and 17 are fair passable holes with a nice play to them. The tees all have very well made number markers which make them a little easier to find.
Cons: Its way to short. Holes 1 through 4 are less than 100 ft to hole and for the most part there are no holes that need a driver. For the most part I shot my buzz to every hole and the one time I didn't the unkept grass and weeds which are everywhere between holes 5 and 16 ate my driver. There are 3 areas of the course which have multiple holes within 15 foot of each other. This makes the course very confusing to play. Even with the map on the tee of hole 5 hole 6 was difficult to fine.
Other Thoughts: Even as a local I don't see myself playing this course much. I spent to much time looking for discs in fairway areas due to safari style conditions on must of the holes and the actual gameplay was not very fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  short and sweet

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: Leremy
Played: 65  Reviewed: 1
Pros: you can use your putter on most holes and get lots of birdies. Possibly a good course for beginners if they can stay our of the swamp and water hazards. Great play park for kids to play with lots of shade and grass next to the disc golf course.
Cons: a little hard to navigate the first time. If you mess up you could be looking for while in swampy areas. Might be hard for beginners on these holes. Most holes are really short. Not easy to find some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: I would probably not play there again unless in the area, not really worth traveling to.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.