Disc Golf Store
Johnstown, CO 
River Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 144ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Walking with the Grasshoppers

1    8/12/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee pads
-Quite a few ace chances as many of the holes are quite short
-The baskets are in great shape
-A water hazard that three of the holes play around including one hole that throws over it and those are probably the best holes on the course.
-The course doesn't get very crowded so you don't have to worry about waiting on other people.
-Right off of I-25 so it is a quick stop if you need a break on a long road trip.
Cons: -The hole design on this course is really boring. Many of the holes are straight ahead with very few obstacles and very few of the holes are over three hundred feet. It starts to feel like you are playing the same holes over and over again.
-Many of the tee pads are pointed away from the basket and with many baskets in one area it can be difficult to know which hole you are playing to.
-Many of the holes are missing tee signs, there are posts marking the holes but very few of the holes have tee signs on them. The tee signs that are there don't even tell you the distance.
-Holes 1 and 2 are so short and boring that they are almost not worth playing unless you want a really easy chance at an ace.
-The course flow can be very hard to follow as there are usually a long walk between many of the holes and it is not always clear as to which direction to go next and several of the tees could easily be missed when looking for them. We were playing with someone who had played before and with out them I doubt we would have found a couple of tee pads or we would have at least spent a lot more time wandering around looking for tee pads.
-Lots of tall grass and cattails on the most of the holes so keep a good eye on your disc or you might lose several discs while playing.
-No benches or trashcans and very little shade throughout the course.
-When we were there the pond had overflowed and baskets 14 and 15 were surrounded by water
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course could be better with some redesign and a little work but as it currently it is not worth going out of your way to play. If you are in Loveland or Johnstown looking for a quick play then or traveling through and need a quick stop, then it is a decent stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for beginners

5+    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: jugglerbri
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for less advanced players. Being a new player, this course is a perfect challenge for me. Some of the holes are short and depending on basket location, some are very challenging getting around the water and other hazards.

If you don't like crowds, you'll definitely like this place. I rarely see other players while out playing let alone have to wait on anyone. I can usually play the course in about an hour and that includes the walking time from my house to the first hole.

The tees are all very solid concrete pads (yes, some are pointing the wrong direction but so what?) and some of the holes have alternate tee locations to make some of those short holes longer (holes 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9). They were installed spring '11. Look for a series of rocks in the ground that form a "Y" shape, something like >--    --<.

Favorite Hole: 5. Shooting over the reeds and the marsh is satisfying for me. I know often times I don't make it and that's why I wear water proof boots.
Cons: Few vertical hazards.

Since the subdivision is still fairly new, the trees aren't all that big yet (even though I seem to keep hitting them) and the course seems to try and avoid them instead of using them to make it challenging. There does seem to be a bit of extra walking between some of the holes but I think most courses I've played has had at least one hole that you had to walk aways to get to the next tee (Edora between holes 2 & 3 and between holes 11 & 12) although I think this course has the largest gaps I've seen in my limited play experiences (between holes 6 & 7 and between 13 & 14). The course is also lacking in signage. There is a beautiful post marking the tee for each hole but there is nothing showing the hole, the distances, the possible pin placements, etc.

If you go in a wet time of year (this last spring for example) 3 of the holes (5, 6, & 18) can get pretty muddy and if the grass hasn't been mowed, it can be difficult to find your disc in the weeds.

Least Favorite Hole: 1. I've only been playing a short time and I've already aced this hole twice and that just shouldn't happen.
Other Thoughts: I moved into the subdivision in December '10, found the course, and that's what got me into playing. I'm still a beginner and can't reach the basket first shot on most of the holes.

Overall, I really enjoy playing this course, sometimes seeing the sunset in the evening or the sunrise lighting up Twin Peaks is spectacular. There are usually several hawks or falcons flying around and often times I'll see one or more Great Blue Herons (still haven't seen a snake yet even though I've played it more than 30 times).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A Joke

1    8/24/2010   5/24/2011
Review By: Moore
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Cons:
Other Thoughts: This Course is a Joke, several holes are over swamp reeds and what i guess is flood run off ponds. I spent more time trying to get my disc then i did enjoying the course. Not to mention the course is all over the place.
To me it feels like someone put the course in and had grand ideas, but then left and now no one cares about it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Next Hole Is Where?

1    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the few eighteen hole courses in the front range area north of Denver. Besides the better Edora Park in Fort Collins, you'd have to travel to mountains or Denver to get a more than 12 holes in one spot. The area is open and rugged although few holes measure over 300 feet. This is one of those - man, that's right of the highway great location for some disc golf type of places.

The main area of the park is well marked, and there are ample signs on the road pointing you in the general direction. Having said that however, follow the signs exactly and you'll be closer to #5 rather than #1. If you want to park near the beginning, park near the pool and red grain silo closest to the highway.

Besides the location, the park has quality concrete pads, granted few are actually pointed in the right direction. Each hole is also marked with a large beam and number marker, which is very easy to spot from the distance. Note that #5, #6, and #13 each have additional placards to assist you in finding the next tee box location.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: River Ranch is a great example of why you always wait until the bitter end before putting in the concrete. With the addition of the pool area, which shrunk #1 and #2 to a laughable length, and what looks like a general redesign - most tees are angled off in different directions making things annoying.

I also wonder why they put in some of the most robust and impressive hole markers I've seen and not indicate the distance as well as number - but at least they waited on something. As mentioned earlier, #1 and #2 are about 80' each making for a nice mid-range ace attempt.

Given all of this, the biggest negative may be the general navigation. Land limitations are always a course's worst enemy, but by the time you finish, you've probably walked enough for 36 holes. Note that the walk between #6 and #7 and then from #13 and #14 are the worst, but if you park by the pool, you'll have a walk from #18, and by the disc golf sign a good walk to #1. Good news is that #13 shows a great layout of #8 through #14, so make the pit stop and check it out after finishing #9.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #2
Other Thoughts: River Ranch is fun for a casual round to shoot low scores. An intermediate player will have no problems shooting par and lower on every hole, based on the short length and limited amount of obstacles. However, if you have the time, and don't mind the crowds, Edora Park is the better way to go. If you hate crowds, and like the open prairie, then stop off the highway and give this place a go.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Long Walk, Extremely Short Course

1    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: ColoradoDiscGolfer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Your playing disc golf and not at work...
Cons: Extremely short holes that are WAY TOO short for any skill level, other than toddler. Hole one is pointless, being about 70 feet long it seemed. Then hole two and three are around 120 feet. After putting holes 1-5 it's not the easiest to find 6 with 7 being completely out of sight and with no sign, oh yeah it about three blocks down the road around a bend. From there it is just short holes with a ton of walking in between.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend skipping holes 1-3 and just start at 4 if your going to venture this course, the free birdies/ace attempts are not even worth playing 1-3. Parts are very grassy and over grown making a stroller harder but not impossible, kids might get the most enjoyment from this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Construction Zone

1    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice tee pads that were consistent throughout the course. Nice tee markers showing you where tee pads were. Nice baskets in good condition. Good signs telling you where next tee pad is if it is not obvious. Good use of terrain. Good use of water for begginers. Great course to take the whole family to. Not crowded but I did see other players there.
Cons: Holes one and two are MIA as the build a new swimming pool in the park. There are four places where the walk to the next tee is not obvious and a long ways away. Mostly short holes in a very open field where terrain is really the only challenge. A slightly confusing layout with one place where three baskets are right near eachother. Some tee pads seemed to be pointed in random directions not necessarily pointed towards a basket. Only about three holes where a long drive is needed. You will have to walk a couple of holes to make sure you know where you are throwing to, specifically hole 7 and 9 as 7 is hidden and 9 is right near two other baskets.
Other Thoughts: I was really bummed to see that holes 1 and 2 were not there because of pool construction but there is a place after hole 13 where a couple more short holes could be added going back along the road on the way to hole 14 by the lake on the other side of the street. This is one of the courses that would be great to take someone just learning the game too as there is nothing too intimidating while still having the dangers of water at times. You will want to watch out on some of the dry drainage ponds as the ground can be very muddy. When you are driving there you will want to take River Ranch Rd off of the I-25 Frontage Rd and I personally think the best place to park is near the model homes on the North side of River Ranch Rd. I really do hope they redesign the course to be 18 holes after they finish building the pool.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Average short and open course

2-4    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course for beginners and families to play. The holes are mostly very short and open requiring only a putter and a short driver. Elevation changes can also make the course more interesting. The course does not see many players on a daily basis so you can go out and practice mid-range and safari shots on an empty course. I should also mention that the tee pads and numbered posts are very nice. Young planted trees may create a challenge when fully grown.
Cons: Some holes are just plain and boring, being too short and open. Only the few medium range holes on the course provide a challenge. Prepare to do some walking between holes because the course plays on a long strip of open space. It can still be hard to find the target for newcomers even though the baskets have numbers(Too many baskets close together). Many of the baskets sit much lower than regulation height.
Other Thoughts: Call the paths as out of bounds where they play, to make the round more challenging, or just play safari.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun weekend course because it gets barely any traffic. It is a great course to get out and practice your mid-range shots. You can play this hole course with a putter and a short fairway driver or long mid-range. A couple shots play over or near water and Hole 18 is a straight fairway shot with water to the right and Out of Bounds over a path to the left that plays downhill. A very quick 18 so can play multiple rounds quickly
Cons: Holes 1-3 are extremly short and bunched together. Some holes could be longer shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a young course that down the road will be excellent when the trees grow up. It's a nice course with good scenery and wide open shots. A bit of diversity after the first 4 holes. If you are considering going to this course make sure to start by large red siloh and follow directions on posts at Hole 5, 6 and 13 to figure out where to go for the next hole. When the wind picks up this course goes from easy to somewhat hard because it is so wide open. I play this course regularly and the wind is a pretty consitent factor. A birdie hole can easily become a bogey hole. All paths that you do no shoot over should be out of bounds. There are limited water holes but Hole 16 can be very tough. You have to shoot over water but not go to far because there is a path 30 feet behind the basket so if you don't want to play up short you better have a good shot or you'll be wet or OB long!! GREAT Safari course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Red Silo Ranch

1    8/23/2008   3/5/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It might be the closest course to I-25. If you were afraid of getting lost trying to find a course, this is your course. Just look for the red silo east of the interstate just past the hwy 34 exit, and that is your first tee. This course has cement tee pads and numbered posts on all the holes. The baskets are in great shape. There is a park at the beginning of the course with a restroom and picnic shelter. If you want to make ace runs, this is your course. I thought of it as practice with teepads, especially since you will most likely have the whole thing to yourself. My recommendation is for ace runs, beginners, and for rounds when you want to be alone. I've thought about stopping here every time I pass by because I know it would be a sweet quickie.
Cons: There are lots of stickers in the weeds it may not be a good place to take your dog or play in sandals. This course lacks shade, if you find yourself here in August as I did, it would be wise to take water. One of the water hazards is a kiss-it-goodbye raging irrigation switch you may need to be aware of. For the most part this course lacks any type of obstacle to speak of. There is a bike path and a few drainage ditches and a few saplings. Sometimes there is confusion as to what basket you are aiming for and some of the baskets feel about four inches too deep. 6, 14, and 18 are hard to find if you don't take the directions with you from the course information page. I keep holding out hope that someone from one of the northern Colorado clubs will make a map.
Other Thoughts: I had always seen the silo from the interstate and every time I pass it I cannot resist telling whomever will listen there is a course right there. I assume that this course is one of the selling points for buying a home in this subdivision which is pretty cool. If my time comes and I move to a new home development in the suburbs I hope that it has a disc golf course in and around it like this one has. The course has the tee-pads, posts and baskets of a good course, just not the land. I would say the character of this course is short flat and a full of baby trees.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

2-4    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept up with nice tee boxes and baskets. There are numbers on all of the tees and the baskets are numbered as well. On some of the holes where it is hard to see the next tee box, there is a map to point you in the right direction. There is a walking path for some of the holes and some holes play around a pond which makes it a little more challenging. Would drive the 30 miles to play again.
Cons: The baskets are set low to the ground, don't think that it is regulation, but not really a big deal. A lot of the holes are pretty short and straight, difficulty rating is a 4 out of 10. On holes #9, #12, #13, the baskets are within 50 feet of each other which makes it hard to know which one to shoot at.
Other Thoughts: This course is located is a nice housing subdivision and all of the houses are not done being built yet. Running water is restrooms but #1 tee, and nice trash cans placed but #1 and #13. I played this course twice back to back and I was the only one out there, not busy at all!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center