Johnstown, CO 
River Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Red Silo Ranch

1    8/23/2008   3/5/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It might be the closest course to I-25. If you were afraid of getting lost trying to find a course, this is your course. Just look for the red silo east of the interstate just past the hwy 34 exit, and that is your first tee. This course has cement tee pads and numbered posts on all the holes. The baskets are in great shape. There is a park at the beginning of the course with a restroom and picnic shelter. If you want to make ace runs, this is your course. I thought of it as practice with teepads, especially since you will most likely have the whole thing to yourself. My recommendation is for ace runs, beginners, and for rounds when you want to be alone. I've thought about stopping here every time I pass by because I know it would be a sweet quickie.
Cons: There are lots of stickers in the weeds it may not be a good place to take your dog or play in sandals. This course lacks shade, if you find yourself here in August as I did, it would be wise to take water. One of the water hazards is a kiss-it-goodbye raging irrigation switch you may need to be aware of. For the most part this course lacks any type of obstacle to speak of. There is a bike path and a few drainage ditches and a few saplings. Sometimes there is confusion as to what basket you are aiming for and some of the baskets feel about four inches too deep. 6, 14, and 18 are hard to find if you don't take the directions with you from the course information page. I keep holding out hope that someone from one of the northern Colorado clubs will make a map.
Other Thoughts: I had always seen the silo from the interstate and every time I pass it I cannot resist telling whomever will listen there is a course right there. I assume that this course is one of the selling points for buying a home in this subdivision which is pretty cool. If my time comes and I move to a new home development in the suburbs I hope that it has a disc golf course in and around it like this one has. The course has the tee-pads, posts and baskets of a good course, just not the land. I would say the character of this course is short flat and a full of baby trees.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

2-4    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 77  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept up with nice tee boxes and baskets. There are numbers on all of the tees and the baskets are numbered as well. On some of the holes where it is hard to see the next tee box, there is a map to point you in the right direction. There is a walking path for some of the holes and some holes play around a pond which makes it a little more challenging. Would drive the 30 miles to play again.
Cons: The baskets are set low to the ground, don't think that it is regulation, but not really a big deal. A lot of the holes are pretty short and straight, difficulty rating is a 4 out of 10. On holes #9, #12, #13, the baskets are within 50 feet of each other which makes it hard to know which one to shoot at.
Other Thoughts: This course is located is a nice housing subdivision and all of the houses are not done being built yet. Running water is restrooms but #1 tee, and nice trash cans placed but #1 and #13. I played this course twice back to back and I was the only one out there, not busy at all!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Complete waste

1    11/23/2008   2/27/2009
Review By: Big Weekend
Played: 120  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Baskets...No one around...Quiet
Cons: What a waste of money to put 18 baskets in such a boring random place. Picture a small meadow with 3 baskets within 30 ft. of each other with no idea of what basket you are supposed to play to.....
Other Thoughts: Only worth a stop if you a looking to be frustrated at why some places are chosen for courses, and the innane planning that goes into some courses....I wouldn't even consider this a course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    9/10/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: CBass
Played: 108  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a new course in a new subdivision, houses not yet in play. Only will be for poor shots anyway. Wide open layout as trees are not matured yet. Good course to work on fundamentals. Short holes make for lots of birdie/ace attempts. This course only shares a walking path within it, making throws less obstructed. Once all trees and bushes have grown in, the challenge factor should increase dramatically. Good one to keep coming back to now and then. The water hazards are way manageable with an irrigation ditch running alongside 1-10 and 18; as well as a pond in play on holes 14-16. Concrete tees make driving a cinch, multiple pins keep it fresh. Huge cattail patch in play on 5 and 18.
Cons: Short!!! the challenge factor is low to begin, but should increase with time. There are lots of weeds/stickers; definitely not for children/dogs/people wearing sandals.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and never seems to be busy, making the flow of play easy. Not too many hazards, but the ones that exist can chew up the clock should you find yourself in them. When the course has been mowed, the stickers issue is reduced to almost none. If it hasn't been mowed, be prepared... Good course overall with fun play and great future potential, enjoy! Holes 1 & 2 are back in but reconfigurations have left them shorter than before. Ask 3Rivers Disc Golf Club members about alternate layouts. 970-310-3555.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.