Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Basket is down and then 100 feet left.



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Too Easy for Intermediate Players

1    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: ncgamedog
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, safe, uncrowded, well maintained, well equipped (benches, pads, baskets, signs), disc golf course. For beginners, this would be an outstanding place to cut your teeth, and I'm sure thats the intent of the layout after playing here.
Cons: Basically a pitch-&-putt if you're an intermediate player. Could have left my bag in the car and played the whole course with a Roc and Ryhno.
The facilities are excellent, so the monotony of each hole was disappointing. But I suppose it could be worse, and if you need a confidence booster, there are about 10 ace runs on this course if not more.
Other Thoughts: I hate to be too hard on this course, because obviously, some folks have put a lot of work into it to have a nice place to play. From a pure amenities standpoint, one of the best I've played!
But at the end of the day, I'd still prefer more of a challenge or some variety of shots.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I Like This Course

1    6/26/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well placed, numerous directional signs are very helpful, especially for first time players of the course. Great John Houck tee signs. Beautifully manicured, fairly wide fairways through the forest with wood chip mulch covering the dirt on many holes. All that mulch does make me wonder how many trees were felled for the course, though.
Cons: My negatives include the one pair of cross over fairways and the couple of holes that tee off on sidewalks. Also, I hope that there are plans to lay pads where only rocks with red numbered tags are now.
Other Thoughts: Though I've always been more of a fan of open courses, this is wooded course with well defined, fairly wide fairways which I will enjoy playing again. And I do wonder why the course description lists three tee positions.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Navigation of course
Upkeep of grounds
Solid concrete pads when there are tees
Baskets are in good shape
Variety of holes (kind of)
Cons: No opportunities to let loose
Throwing from sand or the sidewalk on at least 3 holes
The alternate tee pads are designated by rocks
Location next to the road is extremely inconvenient
Other Thoughts: Having just moved from Iowa which have awesome courses, this course is highly disappointing. I did not use a driver once, the longest hole was like 310ft or something. First time on the course I shot a -5. If this is the most challenging course in the area I am highly disappointed.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good For Beginners

1    3/3/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is on a very nice piece of property and was very quite while I was playing.
- Almost every hole is reachable one way or another so it is very good for beginners and those wanting to work on their putter and midrange game.
- Good mix of dog legs and blind shots that require you to change up driving style on several different holes.
- Has the nice Innova Platinum signs all every hole except for one.
- While I didn't go in it appeared that the park had very nice facilities.
Cons: - A lot of the holes are fairly repetitive where throwing a roc with a little bit of anny would put you in birdie range
- No practice basket though if it isn't busy you can easily use one of the baskets that are near the parking area just watch for people teeing off.
- No trashcans or benches while out on the course. Personally I would have rather seen them make their own custom signs and use the money from the Innova ones on some benches as some of the walks between holes were pretty long.
- Several fairways cross which can make it pretty dangerous if someone isn't paying attention.
- Some of the holes didn't have very well defined teeboxes and you ended up just throwing from a sidewalk (Unless there was something I was missing)
- This course wasn't very challenging which I think would make it a little dull for multiple plays. I shot a 53 my first round there and felt it wasn't a good round.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found MIddle Creek to be very good for beginners but after that maybe just somewhere to work on your midranges. What I do like is the course/park are right near a school so this course will most definitely bring new players to the sport which is always a good thing. If you are in the area give it a try but I wouldn't make any long trips for it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Starter Course

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is full of great holes that will help an experienced player work on their mid-range and putts. On the same token, it is a good course that will help a beginner get a good score due to only one hole exceeding 300ft.

The fairways are very well defined and unlike many courses I have played, the brush on either side of the fairway is fairly thin, allowing for the quick retrieval of that errant throw. Not much in the way of poison ivy, which is a huge plus for disc golfers!

The course was mostly empty allowing for quick play and no waiting. The few that were playing today were very friendly and pointed us in the right direction once.

The signs that were available were great, although there weren't many signs to be seen (more in cons). They were very professional and helpful for a first time course visitor.

Good use of land available. I've played many courses that are in city parks and are around ball fields that did not maximize their space like Middle Creek has.

The sign in the parking lot has an excellent map on it outlining the course! Also, the "Caution: Flying Discs" sign as you enter the park made my day!
Cons: There were signs missing on over half of the holes which made it difficult to navigate. I like to have the hole distance displayed when throwing on a new hole. The signs that were present were great, but I think somebody has vandalized the course and stolen MANY signs.

Most of the tee pads were in great shape but several holes did not have tee pads. Hole 10, for example, throws off the top of a steep hill into the woods with only a 2 foot dirt tee pad to throw from before the drop off. It's not only difficult to throw from, but also dangerous with an overstep.

I found the maps and scorecards (which were excellent!) after I played hole 17. They are located at the old tee sign for hole 1 so I didn't have the opportunity to use them throughout the course due to their location. They should be moved to the excellent course sign in the parking lot or the new hole 1 tee box.

Some of the holes play along side the road. Not necessarily a con if you have a good throw, more of an observation though.

There is a long walk between several holes (5&6 and 9&10). If I had the maps or there were better signage, this wouldn't really be a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fairly fun course. It was 102 degrees when we started the course and then a storm rolled in on the back 9 bringing 30mph winds.

Favorite hole: Hole number 15. It's a signature hole I think with a straight downhill, dogleg right 230ft hole. You can't see the basket from the tee box (again, no tee pad), so you lay it up and listen for chains!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    10/5/2009   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some ace runs on the open holes. Course will test your straight throws due to heavily wooded rough and tight fairways. Lot of elevation changes add some variety to this course.
Cons: If you miss the fairway, you probably will end up with poison ivy/oak waiting for you around your disc. Tough to navigate holes the first time through. Some throws are right next to baseball fields/roads. Teepads are "natural".
Other Thoughts: Try not to hit anyone on the walking paths in the face with your drive on the last few holes.

Trees!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DiscCatcher baskets and a decent variety of shots. The course is starting to wear in now.
Cons: Too many lefty shots. The course gets muddy even with a little rain. Alot of walking between holes.
Other Thoughts: I felt like this course was just crammed into this Park. Maybe a little more acreage to work with and this course could be nice.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 All Along the Watch Tower

1    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Do you like long walks between holes? Do you enjoy open holes, even though they're supposedly wooded? If so, then this course is for you! Located in a sweet, vast sports complex and school, this course sports Discatcher baskets, clean maintained fairways, ample elevation variety with a few holes raised on mounds, and two separate tees. Hole 15 has the best stairs in the fairway I've ever seen, solid concrete with metal handrails. You'll feel like you are leaving the Buddhist Temple going down them to collect your drive. Quite open, even the wooded holes will have the sun beating down on you if you play when the sun is high overhead, so fellow Scots-Irish people bring sunblock. Most holes hover around 250-300ish, and a few are quite fun to play, lots of nice down hill shots as well.
Cons: "There is too much confusion, I can't get no relief."

This course flows like a rookie MC on crack. And Down Syndrome. It feels very forced onto this sports complex park. Lots of roads and fences in play. Dirt tees are in good shape and easy enough to locate via white posts but give the impression that they'd be muddy disasters in the slightest moist conditions. 5 to 6 is an awkward transition, hang a left and walk along Optimist Farm Rd towards the entrance. Then you have the option of throwing too far and hitting traffic leaving the park or throwing to soft and risk your disc landing in fairly thick rough, all while having traffic buzz behind you. 8 to 9 is a nice rhythm destroying trek. 9 to 10 is like going on the Oregon Trail, an awkwardly long walk to say the least. Going from 13 to 14 you have to cross the fairway for 11, which could be risky if the course is crowded. 14 to 15 is yet another rhythm hampering walk. 15 to 16 is also a nice power walk. 16 to 17 is yet another long confusing stroll, keep walking along the ball field to your right. Thankfully the confusion ends here, although it isn't real clear where you actually tee from on 17. There is virtually no signage except for the white tee posts. The "wooded" holes aren't really, they're just tree lined open holes mostly, the fairways are pretty wide for the most part.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 is much better than the front. Hole 10 is a nice (shaded!) bomb straight down a good steep hill. Sweet hole. Hole 15 is a cool little hole also as you gingerly throw a little downhill hyzer over stairs. Seriously scale down the power on that one and use a putter. Quite a few ace runs abound and the course would be a blast if there weren't such long walks b/w some holes and the wind was blowing. Hole 6 for all its faults is challenging this time of year with the foliage giving you about a 10 yd diameter hole to gap. This course has potential but for 1st time players it's a chore. I'll probably bump up the rating the more I play it (unless I get a lot of "unhelpful" votes). The locals seemed pretty cool and hardcore. It's a good addition to the Raleigh area, especially when some kinks get ironed out.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.