Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

2-4    6/4/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Middle Creek winds around a new, clean city park. There are holes that follow wide fairways through light forest and holes that open up onto nice-looking fields. The signs read two sets of tees, though the close tees are marked only by a numbered rock. The close tees are fun, but they won't provide much challenge. For the most part, golfers will be using the standard, far tees that are permanent, and placed by the signs. (The signs by the way, are some of the best around, showing the distance and par(though all are threes I think) and giving an excellent layout of the hole.)

For an easier course, there is a surprising amount of variety. Not only in coming in and out of the woods, but in the types of shots you will be looking to throw.

There's even a pretty awesome signature hole. 15 tees off from the top of a staircase. The green is directly below you, then to the left of the staircase. For many, this will be the furthest they will ever throw their putter. Because of the severe elevation change, it may be hard to judge when to hook left, but once you get it right, a birdie is very possible.
Cons: A few times, holes run near/along roads and parking lots but they aren't busy streets. It also leans to the easy side and doesn't require the precision that a lot of triangle-area courses do.

It also can be crowded with some pretty large groups.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Egg sandwiches.

1    8/20/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.6 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played really horrible,but this course is pretty simple,you don't really have to throw any shots that any rec player couldn't perform,some basic hyzers,some straight shots down hills,and a few annys round out the bunch.

All of the fairways are very well defined,you always knew the route that needed to be taken off the tee.

Discatchers were in good shape,and that's always a plus for me.
Cons: I will reiterate that there is quite a bit of walking,but I didn't find anything overly strenuous.

I feel like my main pro is also a con,this is definitely a rec course,i wouldn't advise going here if you're looking for the ultimate challenge sent by the disc golf gods,but if you're just starting out,or are bringing someone new,this would be a good place.
Other Thoughts: This was a very clean park as far as I can remember,there were restrooms not too far away from the first tee and you have to walk back in front of them at one point,so that's something to keep in mind.

This isn't the best NC has to offer,but it's definitely not the worst either,worth checking out if you're in the area.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Middle Creek DGC

5+    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Atmosphere: The course is built on nice park land next to a high school so it is very well taken care of and stays well trimmed. There are trashcans on some of the holes and a restroom/water fountain on site (9-10 walk)

It's a pleasant course to play when it's not crowded. It has been getting more crowded lately, seeing more families and large groups of teenagers from the school out there, watch what time of day you go. Good place to take your kids to learn.

Equipment: All but two holes have large concrete tee pads and some of the holes have bag holders. Only #8 has 2 concrete pads, the rest use red rocks to mark the shorts which are for new players/kids. Baskets are in great condition.

Layout: The course has an alright mix of hole types. It does have quite a bit of straight on shots on the front 9, the back 9 is much better. It does use a fair share of hyzer/anhyzer holes but most of the fairways are large and open and lined with trees on both sides.
There are a couple of wide open holes where you can let it rip. The course does have it's fair share of elevation change on some holes as well, changes up some of the straight on shots a bit. The course offers a mild challenge with 4 or 5 holes proving somewhat difficult your first couple of times playing it.

Overall it's a fun course to play and is one of the best kept courses in the area.
Cons: The front nine holes is kind of short and consists mainly of straight on shots with some elevation changes.
It can be pretty muddy on the front nine after it rains and the course on that side consists mostly of red clay which gets messy.
Holes 2, 17, 18 have roads beside them which are frequently busy during school hours and during times where other sports are being played on the fields. It's no big deal but you do have to wait sometimes for them to pass.

After playing the course a handful of times some of the holes become somewhat lame because they are simply 200 foot straight on shots with woods on both sides.

Other Thoughts: Hole 6 is fun but really short. Once you get the short flick shot to the right down it becomes a birdie hole every time.
Hole 8 is a nice looking hole that requires a very well placed left to right shot.
Hole 9 has an basket that sits on a 8ft tall hill so the basket is elevated.
Hole 10 has a 50 foot drop right off the tee in to a wooded fairway at the bottom of the drop, easily the hardest hole on the course.
Hole 15 is the funnest hole and consists of a short dog leg to the left off a 70 foot drop. It's an easy birdie once you get it down right but is always fun.
Hole 17 is the best hole on the course. It's about 300' around a mando that requires a really well aimed shot to get it through, or you can throw a huge anny over the road.
Hole 18 is the best looking hole on the course as it is open and the pin sits up on a large hill.

There really isnt many places to lose a disc on the course. Hole 2 has a very small pool to the left in the woods. Hole 3 has a large creek that stays muddy on the right. If your disc goes in there you probably won't be able to see it, you'll have to go in and feel around.
Hole 17 and 18 have the possibility of going on the baseball field to the right and it can be a chore climbing the fence or walking around.
It's my home course being that it is 5 minutes from my house and is a great course to go out and play around on. It doesn't offer much of a challenge for advanced and pro players but is a great looking course.

UPDATE - Now that I've played this course over and over again its lost some of its luster. I'm dropping my rating down to 3 because the overall layout of the course seems forced on some of the holes. 3,4,7,16 are all boring or just bad. I would put 5 in that category but its a good hole that is made less enjoyable because of the previous two similar holes. It still is one of the best kept courses in the area but my interest is starting to lie more in the layout of holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very unique stuff but not enough to inflate the rating

1    11/10/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain available at this school park property offers some very unique terrain that is great for disc golf and fun to play. However, lots of that terrain is unexplored and can be brutal (mainly the dense pine rough on holes 11, 12, 15, 16 which can just be brutally unforgiving due to how thick the young growth trees are).
I saw a lot of 30' circles around pins made up of brick pavers. This is an excellent tough and that little extra that people like about neat courses. I don't recall if they were on all holes.
Memorable holes. Despite skipping a few due to playing near dark, a few holes still made their way into memory. #9 mostly is a fairly straight, nearly 300' long run through a 30-40' wide wooded area. A few larger trees stick around mid fairway, but then you open up out of the woods and approach the pin that is perched up on a steep mound with a road and parking lot behind it. The need to thread a tight drive 300' straight, and then land on or stay on the mound makes this hole really fun. The risky green is an excellent design in my opinion. #10 is then a LONG walk away and may be difficult to find, but you get to stand up on top of a wooded valley, throw down into the valley and backup the other side to the green. Nice picturesque hole, and I love the valley edge to valley edge style holes.
Risk is present all over this course with cruel rough, risky greens, holes entirely along roads and ball fields, and a nasty swamp pit on #3.
The tee signs here are pretty nice, decent depiction of the hole and accurate distances.
Cons: Mix of tees was a con. Some of the holes like 10 and 15 downhill do not have a tee, just an area of clay on the edge of the dropoff. The rest of the holes have concrete tees on the longs and gravel on the shorts.
There was only one pin placement. Having some alternate pins could introduce more risky greens and also increase the challenge level because this course is fairly easy.
Holes 17 and 18 are sandwiched in between ball fields and pretty busy roads. While I enjoy the challenge, they are cramped and could lead to problems due to the busy area.
The entire park is very loud and busy. There are ball fields all over, playgrounds, houses, busy roads, pavilions, stages, etc. This truly takes away from the ability to lose yourself in your round.
Other Thoughts: We were running out of daylight and had to skip a few holes. I regret having to skip them and will be coming back to play them and solidify my review some time. We had to skip 4, 5, 7, and 8. They looked like decent holes that would add fun, challenge, and gimmick to the mix.
While this course isn't extremely challenging at all, it was very fun to play, mad a great mix of terrain, shot selection, and risk that required accuracy and control. I like this kind of course that forces shot execution, maybe outside of that comfort zone of full power drives, instead needing to execute controlled touch shots.
I was torn on this rating similar to Cedar Hills. The design was fun and unique with great terrain, but the location was less than optimal for that peaceful and inspiring round. But, because the design here is less than Cedar Hills, I'm gonna go with a 3.0 rating here. (Although, you could argue that the design is perfect for a White level course). I think that a near perfect transformation here would be to abandon the current long tees and make some even longer for a blue player (or add a third even longer tee). Then throw in a risky green alternate pin placement on most holes to stretch out the length and challenge even more. The short tees would still be straightforward yet challenging, and the long tees may fill the appetite of advanced players.
I'd say this is a White skill level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me much other than a couple bad kicks into tight rough with a need to simply eat a stroke and punch out.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: StarWraith4me
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course for working on approaches and putting.
Really good use of available area including play around ball fields and uphill and downhill shots. The two holes atop the hills are excellently placed with hole 18 being an opportunity to let a shot rip towards the wide open basket. After hole nine, there are water fountains which is a big plus in 90 plus degree heat.
Cons: Short course but not bad for the area provided.
Other Thoughts: I am really looking forward to joining in on the weekly tournaments on saturdays.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2009   5/9/2010
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very fair. If you throw a good shot, you will get a birdie. If you throw a bad shot, you will struggle for par on the tougher holes or will get a par on a hole when others are birdieing. There is not much elevation in the park but this course makes excellent use of what they have.
Cons: It's a little repetitive with the types of shots, the place is almost impossible to play if it has rained during the week, and there are some serious walks you have to make between holes.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent course. It's worth playing if you are in the area but nothing special worth traveling for / making a special trip for.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

5+    2/6/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not one of the Raleigh area's best or more popular courses, but a good place to work with your putters and mids. Also a good place to take that friend of yours that out-throws you by 100'. Accuracy and control rule on this course. Good concrete tee pads on almost every hole. #1 is still dirt, but it is in decent shape. Good use of the available elevation. Easy course to navigate even for a first timer. The only place where getting around gets confusing is going from #9 to #10. You must walk all the way past the bathrooms to the end of the playground. The sidewalk is the tee pad right by the hole sign. The course has clean fairways with a playable line on every hole. but if you let your disc stray into the woods you will pay. Lots of trees at every hole will make you play controlled and accurate, or your score will soar. Town of Cary and local clubs have done a good job of upkeep at this course. It is always clean, and well-kept. The Boy Scouts finished a project last year and installed a bruied brick putting circle at many of the holes. Baskets are all in great shape, and signs at evey hole showing the layout and telling the distances. This course has gradually improved since I started playing it about a year ago. No real gripes about this course at all.
Cons: Most holes are short. Not really any holes where you can really let it rip. This course can also get real muddy in places after a rain. Some drainage has been added after hole#15 to help with this problem. Hole #1 plays over a road and hole #2 has the same road on its right side as an OB. Adds some risk, but it's no fun to watch your disc get ran over by the local soccer moms. I am not a fan of having to throw over roads on courses.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't favor any specific shot. There are several holes that are dead straight, but with brutal woods to each side of the tunnel-like fairway. You must be able to control your shots to score well. #6 is a short blind hole that plays from a sidewalk. I don't normally like playing from a sidewalk, but for some reason this hole works for me. Holes #9 and #18 each play atop small hills. There is a good size landing area on each, but I have seen discs roll down the hill and into an OB parking lot. Good risk rewards layout for approaches and putts. Hole #10 is a fun shot down a hill and into the woods. It is one of the better holes on this course. Hole #15 has the most expensive set of stairs I have seen on a DG course. You throw off a sidewalk and down a large, steep hill to a left hand turn and the basket. Decent size landing area once again, but woods everywhere else. Cool hole.

Like I said earlier this is not the best course in the Raleigh area, but it is a good place to go work with your putters and mids. It has also never been crowded when I have been there. A solid choice if you want to play a fairly quick round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cary's New DGC with Good Potential!

1    3/14/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different types of challenges on every hole; Maintained pathways, fairways, and baskets; Perfect mixture of woodlands, hills, and valleys; Plenty of restrooms at the Park; Multiple Tees on some holes (I didn't see all of them)...
Cons: Quite muddy even after light rain; Weekends can produce heavy traffic on the course; Non-uniform Dirt & Mulch Tees; No signage indicating direction of next tee; No benches like most established courses; Requires quite a bit of travel between holes; Caution: Some baskets are parallel to public roads; No Numbers on all Baskets...
Other Thoughts: Middle Creek DGC (Cary, NC) is part of a well maintained 105 acre park owned and operated by the Town of Cary.

Middle Creek Park is a beautiful town park which boasts (4) lighted baseball/softball fields, (2) lighted multi-purpose fields, (8) lighted tennis courts, (2) Basketball Courts, a Paved Greenway trail around the fields, a Play area with adjacent open lawn area, a Picnic Shelter, Restrooms, and an 18 Hole Disc Golf Course.

The Town of Cary maximized the quality of the Middle Creek DGC, by using elevation and natural scenery to it's advantage. Though not the best course in the area, Middle Creek does contain a good mixture of wide open fairway shots, to elevated tees, to tight woodland fairways, and variety of challenges for players of all abilities, especially for beginner to intermediate players.

Some notable challenges include wide open shots along the main roads, as well as some in the woods. There are shots that require shooting over a valley downhill, as well as uphill. There's even a blind shot that cuts downhill and 90 degrees to the left, which I amazingly made par on.

My main complaint about this course is in regards to signage. The following are navigational tips for navigating the course, at least until they install adequate signage on the course.

1. When I first arrived and parked in the parking lot by Hole #18, I had a hard time figuring out which way to get to Tee #1. You need to walk back across the street to the left, in order to find Tee #1.

2. After Hole #5, head across the street to get to Tee Marker #6.

3. After Hole #6, cross the street to the left of the "Caution Flying Discs" sign to find Tee #7.

4. After Hole #8, walk down the street, and take the sidewalk to the left, and you'll see the dirt path on the left.

5. After Hole #9, follow the sidewalk to the left, headed toward the playground to Tee #10.

6. Hole #15 is a semi-blind shot. The basket is down the steps and to the left about 40 ft.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/16/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new course
-Elevation changes throughout
-Mix of short and long holes
-Good mix of required shots. Anhyzers, hyzers, thumbers, and tomahawks can all be utilized
-Good use of OB's. Course plays near school so parking lots and low traffic streets are OB which adds to the challenge
-Ample parking
-Bathroom and water fountains available
-Good mix of open and wooded fairways
-Some baskets rest atop large hills. If you go for it and miss you will most likely suffer some consequences
Cons: -Can be difficult to navigate until you learn the course
-no signage but white poles mark tee pad locations
-the rough at this course can be extremely rough on some holes. Thick and thorny brush. Some of it is nearly impossible to get into to search for a disc
-All but one tee box is earth. First concrete pad has been installed at hole 8
-course can be very wet/slippery after rain
Other Thoughts: I gave this a rating of Good because it is a pretty good course as is. However, it is still a new course and more work will be done. Eventually there should be concrete pads at all holes and signage. This course has the potential to be Very Good to Excellent.

I would say this course is forehand friendly. A good RHBH anhyzer is very helpful

Not an easy course but not very difficult. You can get in trouble on some holes but a lot of birdies are there for the taking.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course, but don't play after it rains!

1    12/24/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. Very well kept, in a very nice area. I will try to summarize my review with various bullet points.

Landscape is very well kept. This course is in a very 'well to do' area of Cary. This is a nice change from some other courses. It is helped by it's beauty. The park is a shared park, there is a basketball court, open all in one field, baseball field and play area for kids (beside the rest rooms before hole 9ish).

Lots of nice Ace Runs (the first 3 holes, and at least 3 others). Don't be deterred by my "Ace run" comment, these Ace Run's are around 250-300ft, but they can happen.

Nice mix of woods and open shots. When I first arrived at the course I was expecting a very wide open course. I was wrong! The course flows in and out of the woods, the majority of the wooded shots are on the back nine. The shots are not as tight as some other courses (Cornwallis comes to mind) - but they are well carved, and the path or 'flight' to the basket is clear.

Originally I was going to put 'no tee pads' in as a 'con' however they will be poured in the summer. Also the 'mulch' tee pads that are there now have been trampled down very well already! There was only 1 hole where I had to tee outside of the designated area (And that was because it was just to muddy!).
Cons: I put down the con's in no certain order and just put them in bullets.

- Crossing Fairways

- Horribly muddy after the rain (Esp near hole 15, it was a swamp.)

- Some holes tee by the road, or throw over the road.

No Signage (This will be fixed soon I hear). The course map is dead on though - and I found my way around the course with very little trouble.

Hole 17 (Right beside the baseball field) - I would say this, Do not go right with this shot. It runs right beside the back of a baseball field, that is locked. I wanted to try to skirt a nice hyzer shot out and swing into the basket (even though the whole is obviously geared for an anny shot and well, I turned over my disc and had to jump a fence). I also shot the hole with a 'flick' and the wind caught the disc and carried it to the edge of the side walk, which is about 5-8 ft from the fence, so I'd imagine on a windy day ppl will drop some plastic in the ball field.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course. I had a great time playing it and will definitely go play it again. I would not call this a 'championship' caliber course, but it could be modified to become one, there is more than enough space.

My review of this course will go up to a 3.5 with Signs and concrete tee pads. If they can do anything about the irrigation then I would put it at a 3.75 (if possible) - As it was no fun walking around with mud covered shoes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.