Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: FrankieG Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Community Course

1    5/22/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a widely-used community park and sports (baseball/softball, soccer fields) complex.
- The course varies between wooded holes and some open ones - good variety for such a "groomed" park
- Easy to find, ample parking near hole 1, bulletin board/kiosk with helpful, descriptive course map (which I'm finding is too rare for my tastes)
- Restrooms a short walk from the parking lot (also on your way from hole 9 to 10)
- Clean, no trash
- Scorecards with map available
- Nice, new DisCatchers help visibility on the wooded holes
- Mulch/brick circles around some of the baskets as greens/10m circle
- Multiple tee pads on some (most?) holes for variety and/or beginners
- Tee pads are concrete and in excellent shape - they are flush and wider in the back for a nice easy run-up
- First time I've encountered Innova Platinum tee signs - these things are beautiful with an excellent hole map showing accurate features, next tee direction, par and distances for each tee - course map is of similar quality/design
- Good mix of woods as well as open holes and wide fairways
- OB in play on the right side of hole 12, as well as all park roads - water (small creek) barely in play on #3 and #6
- Good elevation changes for an overall flat area - holes 6 and 10 play across small valleys - holes 5 and 11 are downhill tunnels - holes 9 and 18 have baskets up on hills from the fairways down below - hole 15 is a short dogleg shot down a real steep hill (real concrete staircase with railings get you down to the bottom) - the elevation changes are there, but not grueling
- Baskets 9 and 18 bring you right back to the parking lot
- Overall a pretty low chance for lost discs - the woods aren't too thick on the front 9 nine and some of the back 9 holes (although, hole 10 was tight with many trees and hole 16 was a bit overgrown, I felt)
- Professional install - I'm sure the locals were instrumental with the design and they do a great job of upkeep, but it seems the town really poured some money into a quality, uniform installation (tee pads, tee signs, open fairways, etc.) - I even found on the town website that they had an engineered drawing that went out to bid for contractor installation
- A couple of these holes really stuck with me when I was done - hole #2 (although playing alongside a busy park road) was a nice fairly open shot, but some select trees and lightpoles stand in the way, along with the road itself as OB, hole #6 was a cool, short little hole across a little, vegetated valley, hole #10 was a tight window into a wooded fairway, hole #15 was a very unique layout, straight down a steep hill, then hard dogleg left to a blind ace run basket, hole #18 was a nice, open, welcoming finish across the grass with the pin up on a hill as a finale
Cons: - A few holes run very near and alongside fairly busy park roads (#2, 17, 18 - even #6 could be trouble with an overthrown, errant drive) - had to wait a few times for traffic
- Long tee on hole 5 crosses fairway for hole 6 - have to walk across fairway 11 to get from 13 to 14 (careful of drives coming down 11 if your approach goes long on 13 and while teeing off on 14) - not optimal to have these interferences
- Although navigation is easy with the map, there are a few long walks from hole to hole (8 to 9, 9 to 10, 15 to 16, 16 to 17)
- Holes 16 (basket), 17 and 18 play close to one of the softball fields
- No benches or trash cans out on the course
- Scorecard only shows distances for one set of tees
Other Thoughts: - Tee sign for hole #6 was missing when I played (hopefully it's been replaced) - tee location seemed pretty obvious though
- Came across a couple deer behind #15 basket
- When baseball/softball are going, you have the luxury of a concession stand

I found myself very torn on this rating. I was all prepared to give it a 4, as I had a great experience and feel that this is a great course - as you can see above, there are tons of "pros", in my opinion. The variety, tee signs, unique features (hole 15), etc. stuck with me after my visit. However, as I began to itemize my review, some of the cons were significant (frequent proximity to roads and crossing fairways) and have to be factored in. If this course were simply picked up and moved as is to someplace away from roads (and the 2 crossings tweaked a bit), I think my rating would instantly shoot up. I definitely hope to get back to this course sometime.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: David5017
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix: bombs away on 8, 17, and 18. Some short placement shots, some tight fairways.15 is a fun blind downhill dogleg left - wow! Nice variety of up and down hills.
Cons: Some fariways are right next to the road so watch for cars before you toss.
Other Thoughts: Easy parking, good signage, easy to follow course. Bathrooms and drinking fountain between 9 and 10. They mow and mulch reguraly so it's always in pretty good condition.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 cool course

1    6/18/2011   5/6/2012
Review By: xb400
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wonderful course. I brought a first timer there and they had a blast playing. so it is challenging for all skill levels.

The baskets are surrounded in brick and mulch witch makes this course have a bit of flair. very cool
Cons: Not much bad I can say about the course although down in the woods we almost got lost but soon found our way.
Other Thoughts: the complex that the course is on is very cool and very well taken care of.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

pretty nice place

2-4    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful forest.
Well-defined fairways.
Good signs. Easy to find holes.
Challenging distance, but no extremely long holes.
Not much litter.
Friendly people at the park.
Some interesting elevation.
Cons: Too close to the roads on some holes.
Basket 18 was on a hilltop right next to a road! My disc rolled all the way down the hill into the road.
Crowded park, with the baseball and stuff. The DG area was not very crowded, though.
Some blind holes, in the springtime.
Some rocks in the fairway, causing funny bounces and disc wear.
Some tees were just an unmarked spot in the dirt.
Hardly any holes had two tee pads, even though the signs indicated alternate tees and distances.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable round for me today. Some of my putts didn't go in, but it was such a nice environment that it didn't really bother me. A very relaxing place. Except for the holes right next to the roads.There were several of those. There is a long walk between 9 and 10. Go up past the baseball fields and to the edge of the woods, and tee off from the top of the hill. There were a few empty bottles laying around the fairways and I just picked them up. Found a putter belonging to Jason somebody, and the phone # on the disc was a "wrong number".

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: RyanA4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Maintenance People very nice and courteous. They do good Job Keeping Course up to shape. There are Alot of different types of holes on this course. Fun for players of ALL skill. I have brought some friends out there for their first rounds and it wasn't too intimidating like Cedar Hills might be.
Cons: High Schoolers litter everywhere. Jackass' break beer bottles so I no longer walk my dog out there!
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun. Hoperfully the stupid people won't ruin course. Oh and someone recently broke the basket on hole 15!! Please be VERY CAREFUL with this basket! Hopefully will be fixed by someone soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 typical park style course

1    9/25/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads that are angled wide to narrow from back to front
fairways are plenty wide and fair enough, although they are not overly challenging you can still find the rough and when you do just take your punishment and punch out because many holes you are not able to advance toward the basket from the rough
great bathrooms and water fountains
good signage so if amenities are really important to you this course will be one of your favorite
good use of elevation as many holes play over small ravines or have you throwing downhill, not to many uphillers which is always nice
the layout is decent with a fair amount of left turners, right turners, but the strait downhill shots are a bit repeating
hole 6 is a great thumber hole next to the entrance, and I loved hole 15 a itty-bitty downhill hyzer ace run (aim almost at the corner of the woods on the left side)
Cons: As I previously mentioned there are several holes with the same tunnel shot holes 5, and 11 are downhill tunnel shots and 7 is a flat one
hole ten is by far the most challenging here and I almost dont like it, the tee box is atop a hill and you are looking almost even with the top limbs of the trees lining the fairway (which is really the only unfair one here its not wide at all)
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my experience here overall, and its worth the trip from raleigh
While theyre wasnt any epic holes(and this is the reason Im changing from a 3.5 to a 3), several holes are challenging enough to make it worthwhile

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    12/11/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: All Back Hand
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well kept, Good change in elevation shots, Never really too crowded, Great signage with pictures and distances,
Cons: Favors lefty players if you throw backhand, Does not drain well after it rains, no practice putting area.
Other Thoughts: Almost every hole can be birdied (The exception being hole 10, only seen it birdied once) with a great throw but yet it is difficult to shoot a great score. Much more challenging then Kentwood but not as difficult as Harris Lake. I would say it is about as challenging as Cedar Hills.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wrapping around the high school

5+    6/15/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has several holes that require big, but accurate throws. A few narrow shots through the woods adds a nice risk, reward nature. A few creative shots including one straight down a set of stairs and two holes that are long with the basket on the top of a 10' anthill. Miss the putt long and have the same putt again from the opposite side! Also appreciate the holes that are relatively open, long, but are guarded by OB roads.
Cons: A really long walk from 9th basket to 10th tee. Go along parking lot, past the football fields and playground. Tee is from top of hill and shot goes deep into the woods. Seems to favor the RHFH players with lots of left to right shots. As of last time I played, the course can be a bit confusing to navigate. The path from #5 to #6 is on the sidewalk parallel to road, for example.
Other Thoughts: Wraps around the outskirts of a public high school. I really like this course and wish I lived closer to the area so that I could play more regularly. Tough to score real low here because birdies are tough to come by.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Happy Cary got a good course

5+    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets, elevation variety, wooded and open holes. Good variety in hole layout, including long, short, straight, dog leg lefts, and to the right. The course also varies between the front and back nine, in which the front is very open and the back nine is extremely wooded.
Cons: Dirt Tee Boxes, lots of walking in between holes with limited signs pointing you where to go. Holes fourteen, fifteen, and sixteen all have at least 100ft walks in between.
Other Thoughts: Recently added a sign in between 14 and 15 to point you in the correct direction. Pretty challenging course, with the opportunity to birdie majority of non wooded holes.

Big puddle or water, and stagnant creek to the right of hole three, around 30-50 feet before hole. The hole requires a right curving shot so make sure you have the distance on it to get past the water.

Overall I would say the course is challenging but not so much on the front nine. I would say it is a great course for any skill level, being open and easy enough on the front nine for beginners to enjoy and challenging enough on the back nine to offset for more skilled players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

1    1/19/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very beautiful, well maintained, multi use park with nice bathrooms, snack bar and plenty of parking.

There are 2 tee pads on every hole. The tee sign is located at the longer position, marked by two large rocks. The shorter tee pad is also located with two large rocks, usually further down in the fairway. New bright yellow Discathers are easily spotted from the tees for most holes.

Though this course is not particularly long, even from the long tees, it makes you use all different types of shots. Good use of elevation changes with uphill and downhill shots. All but a few holes are in the open.
Cons: Can get muddy after rain, and with dirt/mulch tees, can potentially be a little slippery. Though, the mulch teepads weren't as bad as I expected when I played the day after all day rain.

The long tee of 5 crosses over 4 basket, which could be dangerous and/or create backups. Going from 13 basket to 14 tee, you have to cross over 11 fairway. Path from15 basket to 16 was a muddy swamp.

3 holes play parallel to the road. Erratic throws here can lead to cars getting hit.
Other Thoughts: I can see a lot of potential here. Come spring and summer when more people, baseball and softball players come visit the park, they will all be exposed to all the baskets and flying discs. There are baskets all over the park, so they can't help but run into one of them and get curious watching others playing and having fun.

The visibility of disc golf in this incredible park could potentially explode in this area and create a demand for more courses, that alone improves the rating of this course for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.