Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: kuhlbeans Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Slight uphill that curves gently to the right as it goes. Very dense evergreen trees along right side that are best avoided.



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Brought along some new folks

2-4    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Aceman53nc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great short game shots on front nine, back nine has longer shits to mix it up a bit. Good place to bring wife with woodchipped fairways through woods and lots of concrete walkways. Well marked. Beautiful facility with restroom between 9~10.
Cons: Need rubber mats or concrete pads for secondary tees. Some fairways cross as stated in prior reviews.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good all-around course

5+    4/18/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Bgoulette
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Close to my house :)
* Decent facilities
* Reasonably well-marked
* Multiple tees*
* Free to play
Cons: * Close to roads on some holes
* Poor drainage, often "swampy" after even moderate rain
* Somewhat repetitive hole design
* Alternate tees are painted rocks that may or may not be where they should
* Bottles and cans strewn about
Other Thoughts: This is course is really close by, so sometimes during lunch I'll just pop on over and throw some plastic. I definitely appreciate the convenience!

The cons I've listed are just to provide a better-rounded description, but I think this is a great course, and would be better if jerks would be considerate enough to pack out their wrappers and cans and bottles. I can understand occasionally forgetting your drink on the tee pad or something, but there are crushed cans and overturned bottles all over the place! And there are a handful of garbage cans located throughout the course (hole 14, in particular, stands out). There is now a practice basket just before entering the lane for hole 1, and they've added benches to a few holes (1 and 9 stand out, though I think there are more). As an added bonus, someone was kind enough to trace around their discs and create "disc chargers" on the benches :D

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST play!

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful area, beautiful park. Clean course and well maintained, not crowded. Hole 1 has a little mail box on the tee sign with a score card which has the course layout on the back of it. Great tee pads (I thought it was neat how some tee pads got narrower, from back to front, almost gave you the illusion that you were gaining speed as you were teeing off), great signage and easy to get around from hole to hole. Just a fun course to play. Great mix of left and right handed holes, elevation change. It is not a long course and each hole seems easy when you get on the tee pad but the lack in distance on most holes is made up by having to be accurate and stay on the fairway, otherwise your second shots will likely be lay ups to give you a chance at a 3rd shot. Great course to hone your accuracy while having fun at the same time.
Cons: Could use benches and I suppose if you're the type of player that can toss a driver a long ways the course could be longer, but aside from that I think it's nearly perfect. The biggest con for me is that it's not a course near my house.
Other Thoughts: A MUST play course in my opinion especially if you're a beginner or intermediate level player. I live in Charlotte NC and played while headed to the Raleigh area. I would make the 3 hour trip to play this course even if I wasn't going up that way for another reason. Loved it!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 10/16/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The setting is great - a beautiful park.
- They now have a practice basket!
- You get decent amenities on your walk from hole 9 - 10 (toilets, water fountain).
- The signs are good.
- Pretty decent elevation changes for a NC course - where things are relatively flat.
- I have played several times, and it is not crowded (which surprises me because of the beauty of the course, the setting in the park, all of the neighborhoods in close proximity) during the week. Weekends can be crowded.
Cons: - A few of the holes criss-cross.
- A few of the holes are "boring" - relatively short, straight, unchallenging holes, but I guess every hole cannot be an epic hole. These are challening but makeable ace runs.
- I do wish they would put in "pro" tees. They have it on hole 8, and that's about it. The long tees are good and challenging, but the extra set of tees would add to some good variation and challenge, since the pins do not move.
Other Thoughts: - Maybe more (hole-by-hole breakdown) later, but I consider this a home course, and a great on to play. If you hustle, you can get through it in 45-50 minutes by yourself. The short tees allow my young daughters a chance to play and feel decent about trying to get to a par, and challenge me to get a par from the regulars).
Favorite holes: 2 (don't hit the on-coming traffic), 6 (great blind shot), 8 (thumb from the regular tee), 10 (toughest hole on the course), 11 (hopefully my first ace in the near future), 15 (signature blind ace-run)
Most-challenging holes (for me):
5, 10, 13
Hole 1: wooded hole - make sure you warm up a little walking from the parking lot. There are a few strategically placed trees that make it just challening enough. (edit on this, one of the trees, guarding the left side of the fairway has been taken down, so mentally, it's a little easier to throw now).
Hole 2: open, straight shot, looks more intimidating then it is. You are between the woods and a road, with on-coming traffic, can be busy around school start and finish.
Hole 3: wide, wooded, simple dog-leg right, the only hole with water, not really in play, but the drainage creek is deep (my favorite disc went off a tree, rolled across the fairway and into the ditch). If it goes in, you wade or it's gone
Hole4: wide, wooded, straight, slight uphill.
Hole 5: wooded, straight downhill tunnel.
Hole 6: blind, high thumber shot over a wooded gulley - once you get the shot, should be a simple birdie. (during summer months, the trees have grown, making this up and over a tougher line)
Hole 7: wooded, straight, short ace-run. Ghetto pro tee pad, play from the crosswalk in the median of the street.
Hole 8: open, straight shot, basket with slight tree protection (firebird thumber gives the perfect path)
Hole 9: wooded, straight hole, basket on a hill
Hole 10: Long, straight downhill into a wooded tunnel. Hardest hole on the course IMO. RHBH with a slight hyzer will set you up for a hyzer lay-up shot, and then Par!
Hole 11: Short, downhill, straight ace run.
Hole 12: Slight right-turning shot, (relatively) long.
Hole 13: Uphill, tunnel shot
Hole 14: Right-turning shot, slight uphill (money LHBH shot)
Hole 15: Signature hole, left-turning downhill blind ace-run (I have been experimenting with a thumber directly at the pin - more consistent for me)
Hole 16: Short, sharp right-turning uphill
Hole 17: Wide open (not counting the line of evergreens) You can RHBH hyzer out over the softball fields -watch the mando, but don't do it during a game.....
Hole 18: Wide open, straight, basket on top of the hill

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 middle creek disc golf review by austin

1    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very weel kept, had alot of nice ace runs. It is a good course for begginners and this course favors everyone it has a mix of a lot of different hole types. the disccatcher baskets are nice and not vandalized and the disc golfers of Cary are nice. I had to play this course when i could only throw 150ft or so, so i loved this course now i can bomb them farther it looks like a would now use a roc for most shots.Concrete tees are nice
Cons: alot of people play on this course at one time. Its right on a middle school so you have people running playing baseball cars going by. Way too many distractions especially when you have a 20 ft putt for a birdie and a car goes bye. The ground was muddy but not to big of a nuicance
Other Thoughts: Great for begginers but if you can throw 300+ definitly bring your rocs and buzzsz. :)

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    11/10/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of open and wooded shots. Elevation comes into play on quite a few of the holes (I love 9 and 18 where the basket is at the very top of a hill). The discatcher baskets are in great condition, and last time I played here the Boy Scouts were laying bricks around the baskets to denote the putting zone. All of the wooded fairways are wide enough to throw down without much problem, even if you aren't the most accurate player (though if you shank it completely you will be very sorry). One hole has you throw down a massive staircase. I thought it was really unique and added something to the course. The course is, overall, very well kept and the other park amenities are great.
Cons: The fifth basket was missing when I was there (this may have been temporary though). I played after it rained so many fairways were covered in slippery red-clay mud that was at least a couple of inches thick in some places. If you are going to play after it rains, bring some old shoes. It is very easy to throw into the street on the second hole, and the first hole makes you throw across the street.
Other Thoughts: I don't know if this is a pro or a con, but the woods that line many of the fairways are insanely dense. It is very easy to lose a disc if you throw it into the woods. I have played quite a few courses across NC, and this has been one of my favorites.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New updated concrete pads. This course offers a little bit of everything. Open holes, wooded holes, up and down hill, rocks, grass, and mud. Rolling hills and tight tree lined fairways.
Cons: Crossing fairways, fairways along entrance to the park(car traffic). The distance between some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is quickly becoming my home course. The addition of the concrete pads makes it even better. The new pads are over sized as well. The course is maintained by the city which is a plus and a minus. I am left handed so all the right hand dog legs benefit me but it is still a very challenging course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  course upgrades

5+    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Taekwondodo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is not going to be a full review. others have done that already. just wanted to say that this course has recently been upgraded with very professional signs on every hole,which have distance to basket, par, OB, mandos, arrow to next hole, and basic hole layout. in addition there are now concrete tee pads on every hole except 1,6,10,15,17,and 18. 18 plays off a paved side walk and 6,10,and 15 all play from concrete side walks. so really only 1 and 17 are missing tee pads.
Other Thoughts: just thought i would give an update on this course's progression into a great course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Starter course

5+    7/9/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good distance (assuming par 3 courses are your thing)
Challenging for RHBH throwers (LOTS of right turns)
Tee areas are well maintained and (surprisingly) rarely muddy.
Good mix of open, semi open and wooded holes.
There's a lack of "random trees" holes (IMO a good thing) where you feel like you have to throw a pancake or get lucky.
Cons: Thick underbrush in parts. There are a couple of holes that feel like you'd have no chance of losing your disk but because of the ridiculously thick underbrush it is very possible.
The road runs right beside you on several holes.
Two or three confusing parts for a new player (some basic signage would fix this).
Much easier for a LHBH or RHFH thrower. The front tees are a joke. They make several of the holes into long puts even for a relative novice.
No alternate pin placements and there's a couple of holes that would be really interesting with them.
Other Thoughts: This has quickly become my home town course. Much less crowded then Kentwood and less brutal then Cedar Hills. You can play this course in about an hour.

Hole 1: Long straight hole. No tricks. Nice opening hole.
Hole 2: Long and straight with some younger trees and light poles on the right that will cause problems for RHBH and a wooded area on the left if you're not careful.
Hole 3: Relatively wide, tree lined fairyway with the pin tucked back to the right. Easy to overthrow.
Hole 4: Uphill with a slight turn. Essentially open.
Hole 5: Downhill through a narrow fairway.
Hole 6: Short, sharp right. A small gap in two trees can be thrown through or you can go over them.
Hole 7: Short, somewhat narrow fairway. Slightly uphill.
Hole 8: Open hole (although some trees have been planted that will eventually change that). The hole is also tucked by to the right in a little clearing.
Hole 9: Relatively narrow fairway. Pin is up on a hill. Difficult to drive the entire way and if you do, you're likely to overshoot the pin.
Hole 10: Downhill then sharply uphill with the pin tucked into the trees. The canopy is effectively very low given how far downhill you have to go. A tricky drive.
Hole 11: Easy downhill toss. Can be overshot into some nasty brush.
Hole 12: Gentle curve to the right. Throwing too far right gets you into some punishing underbrush.
Hole 13: Probably the second hardest hole. Wooded throw forces you to throw right and uphill and then come back left to the pin.
Hole 14: Weird hole in which you throw over a big mound in front of you and then take a sharp right.
Hole 15: Signature stairway hole. It's a 90 degree left turn at the bottom. Easy to overthrow in every direction.
Hole 16: Kind of a double right turn. A too straight, too strong drive will get you into the brush.
Hole 17: Long straight throw slightly downhill.
Hole 18: Long straight throw with the pin up a tall hill. Easy too over or under throw.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play around Raleigh

5+    4/3/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A new course that is starting to get worked in fairly well. Plenty of open/wooded and elevation variety as well as shot choices that give a pretty good challenge. 15 is a fun hole that is a steep downward throw followed by a sharp dogleg left (90 degrees). Be careful not to hit the handrail on the stairs! Two baskets (9 and 18) are on top of fairly high mounds, which make for interesting approach & putt shots.

There are red and white tees to accommodate varying skill levels. Standards are all in good shape and course maintenance is top notch. The course has not been crowded in any of the times I've been there, seems to be a bit of an unknown gem right now. The first tee has a box on the marker post that is usually stocked with a course map/scorecard, but bring your own pencil (which are also available here on the Files tab).
Cons: This is not a huge negative, but the standards (as yet) do not change position, so this limits the course variety a bit for frequent replays.

Some holes have an undergrowth or dense tree problem where it can be hard to find and/or get to your disc. Also, the baseball fields can come into play on 17 and 18, though only for extremely errant left-to-right shots. These are *really* bad to throw onto because often they are locked so you would have to climb a high fence to get your disc back.

As others have mentioned, it gets swampy in the middle of the back nine due to the holes being on a downward slope. The walk between 15 and 16 is particularly bad. *****Very recently they have put down seed and straw and dug out an irrigation ditch part of the way to block the runoff down the hill, but it does not go all the way to 16 tee so there are still problems.

Signs at each tee for the hole layout and next tee direction would be helpful, but this is somewhat negated by the fact that they have maps with scorecard available at the start tee.
Other Thoughts: Because the tees are almost all dirt/grass/mulch (which doesn't bother me), the tee areas are marked by a white stake and the tees themselves are simply marked by rocks on the ground. They also are not painted whether they are the red or the white tees, though one should be able to reason this out because they are usually not far apart. A couple holes may also be lacking a red tee, I'll check this next play and update my review.

One nitpick that I won't include as a con is this course favors straight to left-to-right shots--as it seems a couple of the courses in this area do--in other words the opposite of a normal disc flight. If you plan to make long throws to attack the baskets make sure you have a nice control disc and one that will work for sidearms or as a gentle turnover disc.

Many people complain about holes being along roads, so let me explain. 1 throws over and alongside the main road through this park; 2 & 17 throw along it; 18 is also along but not as much in play as 2 &17; and it is behind the 6 standard (though it'd be a much-too-hard-for-the-hole throw to get it onto the road). This is not a heavily trafficked road, the speed limit is 15 and it has minor speed bumps, and some drivers are even considerate of the disc golfers and discs on the roads (miracle of miracles). The only time the road has been an issue in my play is when the high school lets out because this road is their main exit.

NauticalUrge covered most of the "how to find the next tee" issues in his review so see that for help. The one he did not mention is that after 15, you must backtrack a bit on the hole. As if you were coming down the steps, the way to 16 is to your right at the bottom, whereas the standard is to your left. One correction on his notes: to get to 6 from 5 you do not cross any road. As if looking from the tee to 5 standard, take a left from the standard walking towards the road and take a right onto the sidewalk and you will see the marker post.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.