Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Home Course

5+    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: RyanA4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Maintenance People very nice and courteous. They do good Job Keeping Course up to shape. There are Alot of different types of holes on this course. Fun for players of ALL skill. I have brought some friends out there for their first rounds and it wasn't too intimidating like Cedar Hills might be.
Cons: High Schoolers litter everywhere. Jackass' break beer bottles so I no longer walk my dog out there!
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun. Hoperfully the stupid people won't ruin course. Oh and someone recently broke the basket on hole 15!! Please be VERY CAREFUL with this basket! Hopefully will be fixed by someone soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 typical park style course

1    9/25/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads that are angled wide to narrow from back to front
fairways are plenty wide and fair enough, although they are not overly challenging you can still find the rough and when you do just take your punishment and punch out because many holes you are not able to advance toward the basket from the rough
great bathrooms and water fountains
good signage so if amenities are really important to you this course will be one of your favorite
good use of elevation as many holes play over small ravines or have you throwing downhill, not to many uphillers which is always nice
the layout is decent with a fair amount of left turners, right turners, but the strait downhill shots are a bit repeating
hole 6 is a great thumber hole next to the entrance, and I loved hole 15 a itty-bitty downhill hyzer ace run (aim almost at the corner of the woods on the left side)
Cons: As I previously mentioned there are several holes with the same tunnel shot holes 5, and 11 are downhill tunnel shots and 7 is a flat one
hole ten is by far the most challenging here and I almost dont like it, the tee box is atop a hill and you are looking almost even with the top limbs of the trees lining the fairway (which is really the only unfair one here its not wide at all)
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my experience here overall, and its worth the trip from raleigh
While theyre wasnt any epic holes(and this is the reason Im changing from a 3.5 to a 3), several holes are challenging enough to make it worthwhile

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Egg sandwiches.

1    8/20/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played really horrible,but this course is pretty simple,you don't really have to throw any shots that any rec player couldn't perform,some basic hyzers,some straight shots down hills,and a few annys round out the bunch.

All of the fairways are very well defined,you always knew the route that needed to be taken off the tee.

Discatchers were in good shape,and that's always a plus for me.
Cons: I will reiterate that there is quite a bit of walking,but I didn't find anything overly strenuous.

I feel like my main pro is also a con,this is definitely a rec course,i wouldn't advise going here if you're looking for the ultimate challenge sent by the disc golf gods,but if you're just starting out,or are bringing someone new,this would be a good place.
Other Thoughts: This was a very clean park as far as I can remember,there were restrooms not too far away from the first tee and you have to walk back in front of them at one point,so that's something to keep in mind.

This isn't the best NC has to offer,but it's definitely not the worst either,worth checking out if you're in the area.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST play!

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful area, beautiful park. Clean course and well maintained, not crowded. Hole 1 has a little mail box on the tee sign with a score card which has the course layout on the back of it. Great tee pads (I thought it was neat how some tee pads got narrower, from back to front, almost gave you the illusion that you were gaining speed as you were teeing off), great signage and easy to get around from hole to hole. Just a fun course to play. Great mix of left and right handed holes, elevation change. It is not a long course and each hole seems easy when you get on the tee pad but the lack in distance on most holes is made up by having to be accurate and stay on the fairway, otherwise your second shots will likely be lay ups to give you a chance at a 3rd shot. Great course to hone your accuracy while having fun at the same time.
Cons: Could use benches and I suppose if you're the type of player that can toss a driver a long ways the course could be longer, but aside from that I think it's nearly perfect. The biggest con for me is that it's not a course near my house.
Other Thoughts: A MUST play course in my opinion especially if you're a beginner or intermediate level player. I live in Charlotte NC and played while headed to the Raleigh area. I would make the 3 hour trip to play this course even if I wasn't going up that way for another reason. Loved it!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
This review was updated on 9/25/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The setting is great - a beautiful park.
- They now have a practice basket!
- You get decent amenities on your walk from hole 9 - 10 (toilets, water fountain).
- The signs are good.
- Pretty decent elevation changes for a NC course - where things are relatively flat.
- I have played several times, and it is not crowded (which surprises me because of the beauty of the course, the setting in the park, all of the neighborhoods in close proximity).
Cons: - A few of the holes criss-cross.
- A few of the holes are "boring" - relatively short, straight, unchallenging holes, but I guess every hole cannot be an epic hole. These are challening but makeable ace runs.
- I do wish they would put in "pro" tees. They have it on hole 8, and that's about it. The long tees are good and challenging, but the extra set of tees would add to some good variation and challenge, since the pins do not move.
Other Thoughts: - Maybe more (hole-by-hole breakdown) later, but I consider this a home course, and a great on to play. If you hustle, you can get through it in 45-50 minutes by yourself. The short tees allow my young daughters a chance to play and feel decent about trying to get to a par, and challenge me to get a par from the regulars).
Favorite holes: 2 (don't hit the on-coming traffic), 6 (great blind shot), 8 (thumb from the regular tee), 10 (toughest hole on the course), 11 (hopefully my first ace in the near future), 15 (signature blind ace-run)
Most-challenging holes (for me):
5, 10, 13
Hole 1: wooded hole - make sure you warm up a little walking from the parking lot. There are a few strategically placed trees that make it just challening enough.
Hole 2: open, straight shot, looks more intimidating then it is. You are between the woods and a road, with on-coming traffic, can be busy around school start and finish.
Hole 3: wide, wooded, simple dog-leg right, the only hole with water, not really in play, but the drainage creek is deep (my favorite disc went off a tree, rolled across the fairway and into the ditch). If it goes in, you wade or it's gone
Hole4: wide, wooded, straight, slight uphill.
Hole 5: wooded, straight downhill tunnel.
Hole 6: blind, high thumber shot over a wooded gulley - once you get the shot, should be a simple birdie.
Hole 7: wooded, straight, short ace-run. Ghetto pro tee pad, play from the crosswalk in the median of the street.
Hole 8: open, straight shot, basket with slight tree protection (firebird thumber gives the perfect path)
Hole 9: wooded, straight hole, basket on a hill
Hole 10: Long, straight downhill into a wooded tunnel. Hardest hole on the course IMO. RHBH with a slight hyzer will set you up for a hyzer lay-up shot, and then Par!
Hole 11: Short, downhill, straight ace run.
Hole 12: Slight right-turning shot, (relatively) long.
Hole 13: Uphill, tunnel shot
Hole 14: Right-turning shot, slight uphill (money LHBH shot)
Hole 15: Signature hole, left-turning downhill blind ace-run (I have been experimenting with a thumber directly at the pin - more consistent for me)
Hole 16: Short, sharp right-turning uphill
Hole 17: Wide open (not counting the line of evergreens) You can RHBH hyzer out over the softball fields -watch the mando, but don't do it during a game.....
Hole 18: Wide open, straight, basket on top of the hill

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Middle Creek DGC

5+    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Atmosphere: The course is built on nice park land next to a high school so it is very well taken care of and stays well trimmed. There are trashcans on some of the holes and a restroom/water fountain on site (9-10 walk)

It's a pleasant course to play when it's not crowded. It has been getting more crowded lately, seeing more families and large groups of teenagers from the school out there, watch what time of day you go. Good place to take your kids to learn.

Equipment: All but two holes have large concrete tee pads and some of the holes have bag holders. Only #8 has 2 concrete pads, the rest use red rocks to mark the shorts which are for new players/kids. Baskets are in great condition.

Layout: The course has an alright mix of hole types. It does have quite a bit of straight on shots on the front 9, the back 9 is much better. It does use a fair share of hyzer/anhyzer holes but most of the fairways are large and open and lined with trees on both sides.
There are a couple of wide open holes where you can let it rip. The course does have it's fair share of elevation change on some holes as well, changes up some of the straight on shots a bit. The course offers a mild challenge with 4 or 5 holes proving somewhat difficult your first couple of times playing it.

Overall it's a fun course to play and is one of the best kept courses in the area.
Cons: The front nine holes is kind of short and consists mainly of straight on shots with some elevation changes.
It can be pretty muddy on the front nine after it rains and the course on that side consists mostly of red clay which gets messy.
Holes 2, 17, 18 have roads beside them which are frequently busy during school hours and during times where other sports are being played on the fields. It's no big deal but you do have to wait sometimes for them to pass.

After playing the course a handful of times some of the holes become somewhat lame because they are simply 200 foot straight on shots with woods on both sides.

Other Thoughts: Hole 6 is fun but really short. Once you get the short flick shot to the right down it becomes a birdie hole every time.
Hole 8 is a nice looking hole that requires a very well placed left to right shot.
Hole 9 has an basket that sits on a 8ft tall hill so the basket is elevated.
Hole 10 has a 50 foot drop right off the tee in to a wooded fairway at the bottom of the drop, easily the hardest hole on the course.
Hole 15 is the funnest hole and consists of a short dog leg to the left off a 70 foot drop. It's an easy birdie once you get it down right but is always fun.
Hole 17 is the best hole on the course. It's about 300' around a mando that requires a really well aimed shot to get it through, or you can throw a huge anny over the road.
Hole 18 is the best looking hole on the course as it is open and the pin sits up on a large hill.

There really isnt many places to lose a disc on the course. Hole 2 has a very small pool to the left in the woods. Hole 3 has a large creek that stays muddy on the right. If your disc goes in there you probably won't be able to see it, you'll have to go in and feel around.
Hole 17 and 18 have the possibility of going on the baseball field to the right and it can be a chore climbing the fence or walking around.
It's my home course being that it is 5 minutes from my house and is a great course to go out and play around on. It doesn't offer much of a challenge for advanced and pro players but is a great looking course.

UPDATE - Now that I've played this course over and over again its lost some of its luster. I'm dropping my rating down to 3 because the overall layout of the course seems forced on some of the holes. 3,4,7,16 are all boring or just bad. I would put 5 in that category but its a good hole that is made less enjoyable because of the previous two similar holes. It still is one of the best kept courses in the area but my interest is starting to lie more in the layout of holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good For Beginners

1    3/3/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is on a very nice piece of property and was very quite while I was playing.
- Almost every hole is reachable one way or another so it is very good for beginners and those wanting to work on their putter and midrange game.
- Good mix of dog legs and blind shots that require you to change up driving style on several different holes.
- Has the nice Innova Platinum signs all every hole except for one.
- While I didn't go in it appeared that the park had very nice facilities.
Cons: - A lot of the holes are fairly repetitive where throwing a roc with a little bit of anny would put you in birdie range
- No practice basket though if it isn't busy you can easily use one of the baskets that are near the parking area just watch for people teeing off.
- No trashcans or benches while out on the course. Personally I would have rather seen them make their own custom signs and use the money from the Innova ones on some benches as some of the walks between holes were pretty long.
- Several fairways cross which can make it pretty dangerous if someone isn't paying attention.
- Some of the holes didn't have very well defined teeboxes and you ended up just throwing from a sidewalk (Unless there was something I was missing)
- This course wasn't very challenging which I think would make it a little dull for multiple plays. I shot a 53 my first round there and felt it wasn't a good round.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found MIddle Creek to be very good for beginners but after that maybe just somewhere to work on your midranges. What I do like is the course/park are right near a school so this course will most definitely bring new players to the sport which is always a good thing. If you are in the area give it a try but I wouldn't make any long trips for it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Are You Freakin' Serious!?!?!

1    9/3/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous park! I couldn't believe my eyes when we arrived (but then again, what would I have expected in such an affluent area?). The course offers a little bit of everything, but very little of it is easy. I've never been tested so much in all the years I've been playing.
Cons: The first time you play it can be slightly difficult to find your way. We had a course map, and once someone told us where tee #1 was we were good to go.
Other Thoughts: There were numerous holes where me and my buddy walked up to the tee, surveyed the hole, and looked at each other and said "REALLY?" You haven't played disc golf in the Triangle until you've played this monster.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    12/11/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: All Back Hand
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well kept, Good change in elevation shots, Never really too crowded, Great signage with pictures and distances,
Cons: Favors lefty players if you throw backhand, Does not drain well after it rains, no practice putting area.
Other Thoughts: Almost every hole can be birdied (The exception being hole 10, only seen it birdied once) with a great throw but yet it is difficult to shoot a great score. Much more challenging then Kentwood but not as difficult as Harris Lake. I would say it is about as challenging as Cedar Hills.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very unique stuff but not enough to inflate the rating

1    11/10/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain available at this school park property offers some very unique terrain that is great for disc golf and fun to play. However, lots of that terrain is unexplored and can be brutal (mainly the dense pine rough on holes 11, 12, 15, 16 which can just be brutally unforgiving due to how thick the young growth trees are).
I saw a lot of 30' circles around pins made up of brick pavers. This is an excellent tough and that little extra that people like about neat courses. I don't recall if they were on all holes.
Memorable holes. Despite skipping a few due to playing near dark, a few holes still made their way into memory. #9 mostly is a fairly straight, nearly 300' long run through a 30-40' wide wooded area. A few larger trees stick around mid fairway, but then you open up out of the woods and approach the pin that is perched up on a steep mound with a road and parking lot behind it. The need to thread a tight drive 300' straight, and then land on or stay on the mound makes this hole really fun. The risky green is an excellent design in my opinion. #10 is then a LONG walk away and may be difficult to find, but you get to stand up on top of a wooded valley, throw down into the valley and backup the other side to the green. Nice picturesque hole, and I love the valley edge to valley edge style holes.
Risk is present all over this course with cruel rough, risky greens, holes entirely along roads and ball fields, and a nasty swamp pit on #3.
The tee signs here are pretty nice, decent depiction of the hole and accurate distances.
Cons: Mix of tees was a con. Some of the holes like 10 and 15 downhill do not have a tee, just an area of clay on the edge of the dropoff. The rest of the holes have concrete tees on the longs and gravel on the shorts.
There was only one pin placement. Having some alternate pins could introduce more risky greens and also increase the challenge level because this course is fairly easy.
Holes 17 and 18 are sandwiched in between ball fields and pretty busy roads. While I enjoy the challenge, they are cramped and could lead to problems due to the busy area.
The entire park is very loud and busy. There are ball fields all over, playgrounds, houses, busy roads, pavilions, stages, etc. This truly takes away from the ability to lose yourself in your round.
Other Thoughts: We were running out of daylight and had to skip a few holes. I regret having to skip them and will be coming back to play them and solidify my review some time. We had to skip 4, 5, 7, and 8. They looked like decent holes that would add fun, challenge, and gimmick to the mix.
While this course isn't extremely challenging at all, it was very fun to play, mad a great mix of terrain, shot selection, and risk that required accuracy and control. I like this kind of course that forces shot execution, maybe outside of that comfort zone of full power drives, instead needing to execute controlled touch shots.
I was torn on this rating similar to Cedar Hills. The design was fun and unique with great terrain, but the location was less than optimal for that peaceful and inspiring round. But, because the design here is less than Cedar Hills, I'm gonna go with a 3.0 rating here. (Although, you could argue that the design is perfect for a White level course). I think that a near perfect transformation here would be to abandon the current long tees and make some even longer for a blue player (or add a third even longer tee). Then throw in a risky green alternate pin placement on most holes to stretch out the length and challenge even more. The short tees would still be straightforward yet challenging, and the long tees may fill the appetite of advanced players.
I'd say this is a White skill level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me much other than a couple bad kicks into tight rough with a need to simply eat a stroke and punch out.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.