Cary, NC
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  course upgrades

5+    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Taekwondodo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is not going to be a full review. others have done that already. just wanted to say that this course has recently been upgraded with very professional signs on every hole,which have distance to basket, par, OB, mandos, arrow to next hole, and basic hole layout. in addition there are now concrete tee pads on every hole except 1,6,10,15,17,and 18. 18 plays off a paved side walk and 6,10,and 15 all play from concrete side walks. so really only 1 and 17 are missing tee pads.
Other Thoughts: just thought i would give an update on this course's progression into a great course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Starter course

5+    7/9/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good distance (assuming par 3 courses are your thing)
Challenging for RHBH throwers (LOTS of right turns)
Tee areas are well maintained and (surprisingly) rarely muddy.
Good mix of open, semi open and wooded holes.
There's a lack of "random trees" holes (IMO a good thing) where you feel like you have to throw a pancake or get lucky.
Cons: Thick underbrush in parts. There are a couple of holes that feel like you'd have no chance of losing your disk but because of the ridiculously thick underbrush it is very possible.
The road runs right beside you on several holes.
Two or three confusing parts for a new player (some basic signage would fix this).
Much easier for a LHBH or RHFH thrower. The front tees are a joke. They make several of the holes into long puts even for a relative novice.
No alternate pin placements and there's a couple of holes that would be really interesting with them.
Other Thoughts: This has quickly become my home town course. Much less crowded then Kentwood and less brutal then Cedar Hills. You can play this course in about an hour.

Hole 1: Long straight hole. No tricks. Nice opening hole.
Hole 2: Long and straight with some younger trees and light poles on the right that will cause problems for RHBH and a wooded area on the left if you're not careful.
Hole 3: Relatively wide, tree lined fairyway with the pin tucked back to the right. Easy to overthrow.
Hole 4: Uphill with a slight turn. Essentially open.
Hole 5: Downhill through a narrow fairway.
Hole 6: Short, sharp right. A small gap in two trees can be thrown through or you can go over them.
Hole 7: Short, somewhat narrow fairway. Slightly uphill.
Hole 8: Open hole (although some trees have been planted that will eventually change that). The hole is also tucked by to the right in a little clearing.
Hole 9: Relatively narrow fairway. Pin is up on a hill. Difficult to drive the entire way and if you do, you're likely to overshoot the pin.
Hole 10: Downhill then sharply uphill with the pin tucked into the trees. The canopy is effectively very low given how far downhill you have to go. A tricky drive.
Hole 11: Easy downhill toss. Can be overshot into some nasty brush.
Hole 12: Gentle curve to the right. Throwing too far right gets you into some punishing underbrush.
Hole 13: Probably the second hardest hole. Wooded throw forces you to throw right and uphill and then come back left to the pin.
Hole 14: Weird hole in which you throw over a big mound in front of you and then take a sharp right.
Hole 15: Signature stairway hole. It's a 90 degree left turn at the bottom. Easy to overthrow in every direction.
Hole 16: Kind of a double right turn. A too straight, too strong drive will get you into the brush.
Hole 17: Long straight throw slightly downhill.
Hole 18: Long straight throw with the pin up a tall hill. Easy too over or under throw.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All Along the Watch Tower

1    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Do you like long walks between holes? Do you enjoy open holes, even though they're supposedly wooded? If so, then this course is for you! Located in a sweet, vast sports complex and school, this course sports Discatcher baskets, clean maintained fairways, ample elevation variety with a few holes raised on mounds, and two separate tees. Hole 15 has the best stairs in the fairway I've ever seen, solid concrete with metal handrails. You'll feel like you are leaving the Buddhist Temple going down them to collect your drive. Quite open, even the wooded holes will have the sun beating down on you if you play when the sun is high overhead, so fellow Scots-Irish people bring sunblock. Most holes hover around 250-300ish, and a few are quite fun to play, lots of nice down hill shots as well.
Cons: "There is too much confusion, I can't get no relief."

This course flows like a rookie MC on crack. And Down Syndrome. It feels very forced onto this sports complex park. Lots of roads and fences in play. Dirt tees are in good shape and easy enough to locate via white posts but give the impression that they'd be muddy disasters in the slightest moist conditions. 5 to 6 is an awkward transition, hang a left and walk along Optimist Farm Rd towards the entrance. Then you have the option of throwing too far and hitting traffic leaving the park or throwing to soft and risk your disc landing in fairly thick rough, all while having traffic buzz behind you. 8 to 9 is a nice rhythm destroying trek. 9 to 10 is like going on the Oregon Trail, an awkwardly long walk to say the least. Going from 13 to 14 you have to cross the fairway for 11, which could be risky if the course is crowded. 14 to 15 is yet another rhythm hampering walk. 15 to 16 is also a nice power walk. 16 to 17 is yet another long confusing stroll, keep walking along the ball field to your right. Thankfully the confusion ends here, although it isn't real clear where you actually tee from on 17. There is virtually no signage except for the white tee posts. The "wooded" holes aren't really, they're just tree lined open holes mostly, the fairways are pretty wide for the most part.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 is much better than the front. Hole 10 is a nice (shaded!) bomb straight down a good steep hill. Sweet hole. Hole 15 is a cool little hole also as you gingerly throw a little downhill hyzer over stairs. Seriously scale down the power on that one and use a putter. Quite a few ace runs abound and the course would be a blast if there weren't such long walks b/w some holes and the wind was blowing. Hole 6 for all its faults is challenging this time of year with the foliage giving you about a 10 yd diameter hole to gap. This course has potential but for 1st time players it's a chore. I'll probably bump up the rating the more I play it (unless I get a lot of "unhelpful" votes). The locals seemed pretty cool and hardcore. It's a good addition to the Raleigh area, especially when some kinks get ironed out.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Happy Cary got a good course

5+    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets, elevation variety, wooded and open holes. Good variety in hole layout, including long, short, straight, dog leg lefts, and to the right. The course also varies between the front and back nine, in which the front is very open and the back nine is extremely wooded.
Cons: Dirt Tee Boxes, lots of walking in between holes with limited signs pointing you where to go. Holes fourteen, fifteen, and sixteen all have at least 100ft walks in between.
Other Thoughts: Recently added a sign in between 14 and 15 to point you in the correct direction. Pretty challenging course, with the opportunity to birdie majority of non wooded holes.

Big puddle or water, and stagnant creek to the right of hole three, around 30-50 feet before hole. The hole requires a right curving shot so make sure you have the distance on it to get past the water.

Overall I would say the course is challenging but not so much on the front nine. I would say it is a great course for any skill level, being open and easy enough on the front nine for beginners to enjoy and challenging enough on the back nine to offset for more skilled players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must play around Raleigh

5+    4/3/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A new course that is starting to get worked in fairly well. Plenty of open/wooded and elevation variety as well as shot choices that give a pretty good challenge. 15 is a fun hole that is a steep downward throw followed by a sharp dogleg left (90 degrees). Be careful not to hit the handrail on the stairs! Two baskets (9 and 18) are on top of fairly high mounds, which make for interesting approach & putt shots.

There are red and white tees to accommodate varying skill levels. Standards are all in good shape and course maintenance is top notch. The course has not been crowded in any of the times I've been there, seems to be a bit of an unknown gem right now. The first tee has a box on the marker post that is usually stocked with a course map/scorecard, but bring your own pencil (which are also available here on the Files tab).
Cons: This is not a huge negative, but the standards (as yet) do not change position, so this limits the course variety a bit for frequent replays.

Some holes have an undergrowth or dense tree problem where it can be hard to find and/or get to your disc. Also, the baseball fields can come into play on 17 and 18, though only for extremely errant left-to-right shots. These are *really* bad to throw onto because often they are locked so you would have to climb a high fence to get your disc back.

As others have mentioned, it gets swampy in the middle of the back nine due to the holes being on a downward slope. The walk between 15 and 16 is particularly bad. *****Very recently they have put down seed and straw and dug out an irrigation ditch part of the way to block the runoff down the hill, but it does not go all the way to 16 tee so there are still problems.

Signs at each tee for the hole layout and next tee direction would be helpful, but this is somewhat negated by the fact that they have maps with scorecard available at the start tee.
Other Thoughts: Because the tees are almost all dirt/grass/mulch (which doesn't bother me), the tee areas are marked by a white stake and the tees themselves are simply marked by rocks on the ground. They also are not painted whether they are the red or the white tees, though one should be able to reason this out because they are usually not far apart. A couple holes may also be lacking a red tee, I'll check this next play and update my review.

One nitpick that I won't include as a con is this course favors straight to left-to-right shots--as it seems a couple of the courses in this area do--in other words the opposite of a normal disc flight. If you plan to make long throws to attack the baskets make sure you have a nice control disc and one that will work for sidearms or as a gentle turnover disc.

Many people complain about holes being along roads, so let me explain. 1 throws over and alongside the main road through this park; 2 & 17 throw along it; 18 is also along but not as much in play as 2 &17; and it is behind the 6 standard (though it'd be a much-too-hard-for-the-hole throw to get it onto the road). This is not a heavily trafficked road, the speed limit is 15 and it has minor speed bumps, and some drivers are even considerate of the disc golfers and discs on the roads (miracle of miracles). The only time the road has been an issue in my play is when the high school lets out because this road is their main exit.

NauticalUrge covered most of the "how to find the next tee" issues in his review so see that for help. The one he did not mention is that after 15, you must backtrack a bit on the hole. As if you were coming down the steps, the way to 16 is to your right at the bottom, whereas the standard is to your left. One correction on his notes: to get to 6 from 5 you do not cross any road. As if looking from the tee to 5 standard, take a left from the standard walking towards the road and take a right onto the sidewalk and you will see the marker post.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cary's New DGC with Good Potential!

1    3/14/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different types of challenges on every hole; Maintained pathways, fairways, and baskets; Perfect mixture of woodlands, hills, and valleys; Plenty of restrooms at the Park; Multiple Tees on some holes (I didn't see all of them)...
Cons: Quite muddy even after light rain; Weekends can produce heavy traffic on the course; Non-uniform Dirt & Mulch Tees; No signage indicating direction of next tee; No benches like most established courses; Requires quite a bit of travel between holes; Caution: Some baskets are parallel to public roads; No Numbers on all Baskets...
Other Thoughts: Middle Creek DGC (Cary, NC) is part of a well maintained 105 acre park owned and operated by the Town of Cary.

Middle Creek Park is a beautiful town park which boasts (4) lighted baseball/softball fields, (2) lighted multi-purpose fields, (8) lighted tennis courts, (2) Basketball Courts, a Paved Greenway trail around the fields, a Play area with adjacent open lawn area, a Picnic Shelter, Restrooms, and an 18 Hole Disc Golf Course.

The Town of Cary maximized the quality of the Middle Creek DGC, by using elevation and natural scenery to it's advantage. Though not the best course in the area, Middle Creek does contain a good mixture of wide open fairway shots, to elevated tees, to tight woodland fairways, and variety of challenges for players of all abilities, especially for beginner to intermediate players.

Some notable challenges include wide open shots along the main roads, as well as some in the woods. There are shots that require shooting over a valley downhill, as well as uphill. There's even a blind shot that cuts downhill and 90 degrees to the left, which I amazingly made par on.

My main complaint about this course is in regards to signage. The following are navigational tips for navigating the course, at least until they install adequate signage on the course.

1. When I first arrived and parked in the parking lot by Hole #18, I had a hard time figuring out which way to get to Tee #1. You need to walk back across the street to the left, in order to find Tee #1.

2. After Hole #5, head across the street to get to Tee Marker #6.

3. After Hole #6, cross the street to the left of the "Caution Flying Discs" sign to find Tee #7.

4. After Hole #8, walk down the street, and take the sidewalk to the left, and you'll see the dirt path on the left.

5. After Hole #9, follow the sidewalk to the left, headed toward the playground to Tee #10.

6. Hole #15 is a semi-blind shot. The basket is down the steps and to the left about 40 ft.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/16/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new course
-Elevation changes throughout
-Mix of short and long holes
-Good mix of required shots. Anhyzers, hyzers, thumbers, and tomahawks can all be utilized
-Good use of OB's. Course plays near school so parking lots and low traffic streets are OB which adds to the challenge
-Ample parking
-Bathroom and water fountains available
-Good mix of open and wooded fairways
-Some baskets rest atop large hills. If you go for it and miss you will most likely suffer some consequences
Cons: -Can be difficult to navigate until you learn the course
-no signage but white poles mark tee pad locations
-the rough at this course can be extremely rough on some holes. Thick and thorny brush. Some of it is nearly impossible to get into to search for a disc
-All but one tee box is earth. First concrete pad has been installed at hole 8
-course can be very wet/slippery after rain
Other Thoughts: I gave this a rating of Good because it is a pretty good course as is. However, it is still a new course and more work will be done. Eventually there should be concrete pads at all holes and signage. This course has the potential to be Very Good to Excellent.

I would say this course is forehand friendly. A good RHBH anhyzer is very helpful

Not an easy course but not very difficult. You can get in trouble on some holes but a lot of birdies are there for the taking.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

1    1/19/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 221  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very beautiful, well maintained, multi use park with nice bathrooms, snack bar and plenty of parking.

There are 2 tee pads on every hole. The tee sign is located at the longer position, marked by two large rocks. The shorter tee pad is also located with two large rocks, usually further down in the fairway. New bright yellow Discathers are easily spotted from the tees for most holes.

Though this course is not particularly long, even from the long tees, it makes you use all different types of shots. Good use of elevation changes with uphill and downhill shots. All but a few holes are in the open.
Cons: Can get muddy after rain, and with dirt/mulch tees, can potentially be a little slippery. Though, the mulch teepads weren't as bad as I expected when I played the day after all day rain.

The long tee of 5 crosses over 4 basket, which could be dangerous and/or create backups. Going from 13 basket to 14 tee, you have to cross over 11 fairway. Path from15 basket to 16 was a muddy swamp.

3 holes play parallel to the road. Erratic throws here can lead to cars getting hit.
Other Thoughts: I can see a lot of potential here. Come spring and summer when more people, baseball and softball players come visit the park, they will all be exposed to all the baskets and flying discs. There are baskets all over the park, so they can't help but run into one of them and get curious watching others playing and having fun.

The visibility of disc golf in this incredible park could potentially explode in this area and create a demand for more courses, that alone improves the rating of this course for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The most underrated course I have played.

2-4    1/13/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: b pheazye
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee-offs are mulch which I realize are a turn off to some people but personally I prefer it over concrete. It is packed in very nicely and allows you to grip well. The holes vary from being in the wide open to throwing through tight forest so you really get a different look on each hole. Possibly my favorite hole would be one where you throw on a major downhill and have to play the curve wondefully to get it near the hole.
Cons: One of the holes is near a road, you dont throw towards it but the starting point is near a road. It can be a tad wet if you go after a rain but only in a very small portion between two holes. There are a couple of baseball fields so if you are inexperienced make sure you can jump a fence! Also the first hole you have to throw over a road but it is just a small one leading to the parking lot with very little traffic.
Other Thoughts: I liked it, it helped improve my game and the holes looked very nice. It wasnt to difficult but it wasnt a walk in the park either. It had some long holes but for the most part it was not overwhelming to attempt par. A place I will play many more times in my life.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course, but don't play after it rains!

1    12/24/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. Very well kept, in a very nice area. I will try to summarize my review with various bullet points.

Landscape is very well kept. This course is in a very 'well to do' area of Cary. This is a nice change from some other courses. It is helped by it's beauty. The park is a shared park, there is a basketball court, open all in one field, baseball field and play area for kids (beside the rest rooms before hole 9ish).

Lots of nice Ace Runs (the first 3 holes, and at least 3 others). Don't be deterred by my "Ace run" comment, these Ace Run's are around 250-300ft, but they can happen.

Nice mix of woods and open shots. When I first arrived at the course I was expecting a very wide open course. I was wrong! The course flows in and out of the woods, the majority of the wooded shots are on the back nine. The shots are not as tight as some other courses (Cornwallis comes to mind) - but they are well carved, and the path or 'flight' to the basket is clear.

Originally I was going to put 'no tee pads' in as a 'con' however they will be poured in the summer. Also the 'mulch' tee pads that are there now have been trampled down very well already! There was only 1 hole where I had to tee outside of the designated area (And that was because it was just to muddy!).
Cons: I put down the con's in no certain order and just put them in bullets.

- Crossing Fairways

- Horribly muddy after the rain (Esp near hole 15, it was a swamp.)

- Some holes tee by the road, or throw over the road.

No Signage (This will be fixed soon I hear). The course map is dead on though - and I found my way around the course with very little trouble.

Hole 17 (Right beside the baseball field) - I would say this, Do not go right with this shot. It runs right beside the back of a baseball field, that is locked. I wanted to try to skirt a nice hyzer shot out and swing into the basket (even though the whole is obviously geared for an anny shot and well, I turned over my disc and had to jump a fence). I also shot the hole with a 'flick' and the wind caught the disc and carried it to the edge of the side walk, which is about 5-8 ft from the fence, so I'd imagine on a windy day ppl will drop some plastic in the ball field.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course. I had a great time playing it and will definitely go play it again. I would not call this a 'championship' caliber course, but it could be modified to become one, there is more than enough space.

My review of this course will go up to a 3.5 with Signs and concrete tee pads. If they can do anything about the irrigation then I would put it at a 3.75 (if possible) - As it was no fun walking around with mud covered shoes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.