Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Brought along some new folks

2-4    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Aceman53nc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great short game shots on front nine, back nine has longer shits to mix it up a bit. Good place to bring wife with woodchipped fairways through woods and lots of concrete walkways. Well marked. Beautiful facility with restroom between 9~10.
Cons: Need rubber mats or concrete pads for secondary tees. Some fairways cross as stated in prior reviews.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too Easy for Intermediate Players

1    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: ncgamedog
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, safe, uncrowded, well maintained, well equipped (benches, pads, baskets, signs), disc golf course. For beginners, this would be an outstanding place to cut your teeth, and I'm sure thats the intent of the layout after playing here.
Cons: Basically a pitch-&-putt if you're an intermediate player. Could have left my bag in the car and played the whole course with a Roc and Ryhno.
The facilities are excellent, so the monotony of each hole was disappointing. But I suppose it could be worse, and if you need a confidence booster, there are about 10 ace runs on this course if not more.
Other Thoughts: I hate to be too hard on this course, because obviously, some folks have put a lot of work into it to have a nice place to play. From a pure amenities standpoint, one of the best I've played!
But at the end of the day, I'd still prefer more of a challenge or some variety of shots.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I Like This Course

1    6/26/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well placed, numerous directional signs are very helpful, especially for first time players of the course. Great John Houck tee signs. Beautifully manicured, fairly wide fairways through the forest with wood chip mulch covering the dirt on many holes. All that mulch does make me wonder how many trees were felled for the course, though.
Cons: My negatives include the one pair of cross over fairways and the couple of holes that tee off on sidewalks. Also, I hope that there are plans to lay pads where only rocks with red numbered tags are now.
Other Thoughts: Though I've always been more of a fan of open courses, this is wooded course with well defined, fairly wide fairways which I will enjoy playing again. And I do wonder why the course description lists three tee positions.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/4/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Middle Creek winds around a new, clean city park. There are holes that follow wide fairways through light forest and holes that open up onto nice-looking fields. The signs read two sets of tees, though the close tees are marked only by a numbered rock. The close tees are fun, but they won't provide much challenge. For the most part, golfers will be using the standard, far tees that are permanent, and placed by the signs. (The signs by the way, are some of the best around, showing the distance and par(though all are threes I think) and giving an excellent layout of the hole.)

For an easier course, there is a surprising amount of variety. Not only in coming in and out of the woods, but in the types of shots you will be looking to throw.

There's even a pretty awesome signature hole. 15 tees off from the top of a staircase. The green is directly below you, then to the left of the staircase. For many, this will be the furthest they will ever throw their putter. Because of the severe elevation change, it may be hard to judge when to hook left, but once you get it right, a birdie is very possible.
Cons: A few times, holes run near/along roads and parking lots but they aren't busy streets. It also leans to the easy side and doesn't require the precision that a lot of triangle-area courses do.

It also can be crowded with some pretty large groups.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good all-around course

5+    4/18/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Bgoulette
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Close to my house :)
* Decent facilities
* Reasonably well-marked
* Multiple tees*
* Free to play
Cons: * Close to roads on some holes
* Poor drainage, often "swampy" after even moderate rain
* Somewhat repetitive hole design
* Alternate tees are painted rocks that may or may not be where they should
* Bottles and cans strewn about
Other Thoughts: This is course is really close by, so sometimes during lunch I'll just pop on over and throw some plastic. I definitely appreciate the convenience!

The cons I've listed are just to provide a better-rounded description, but I think this is a great course, and would be better if jerks would be considerate enough to pack out their wrappers and cans and bottles. I can understand occasionally forgetting your drink on the tee pad or something, but there are crushed cans and overturned bottles all over the place! And there are a handful of garbage cans located throughout the course (hole 14, in particular, stands out). There is now a practice basket just before entering the lane for hole 1, and they've added benches to a few holes (1 and 9 stand out, though I think there are more). As an added bonus, someone was kind enough to trace around their discs and create "disc chargers" on the benches :D

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Community Course

1    5/22/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a widely-used community park and sports (baseball/softball, soccer fields) complex.
- The course varies between wooded holes and some open ones - good variety for such a "groomed" park
- Easy to find, ample parking near hole 1, bulletin board/kiosk with helpful, descriptive course map (which I'm finding is too rare for my tastes)
- Restrooms a short walk from the parking lot (also on your way from hole 9 to 10)
- Clean, no trash
- Scorecards with map available
- Nice, new DisCatchers help visibility on the wooded holes
- Mulch/brick circles around some of the baskets as greens/10m circle
- Multiple tee pads on some (most?) holes for variety and/or beginners
- Tee pads are concrete and in excellent shape - they are flush and wider in the back for a nice easy run-up
- First time I've encountered Innova Platinum tee signs - these things are beautiful with an excellent hole map showing accurate features, next tee direction, par and distances for each tee - course map is of similar quality/design
- Good mix of woods as well as open holes and wide fairways
- OB in play on the right side of hole 12, as well as all park roads - water (small creek) barely in play on #3 and #6
- Good elevation changes for an overall flat area - holes 6 and 10 play across small valleys - holes 5 and 11 are downhill tunnels - holes 9 and 18 have baskets up on hills from the fairways down below - hole 15 is a short dogleg shot down a real steep hill (real concrete staircase with railings get you down to the bottom) - the elevation changes are there, but not grueling
- Baskets 9 and 18 bring you right back to the parking lot
- Overall a pretty low chance for lost discs - the woods aren't too thick on the front 9 nine and some of the back 9 holes (although, hole 10 was tight with many trees and hole 16 was a bit overgrown, I felt)
- Professional install - I'm sure the locals were instrumental with the design and they do a great job of upkeep, but it seems the town really poured some money into a quality, uniform installation (tee pads, tee signs, open fairways, etc.) - I even found on the town website that they had an engineered drawing that went out to bid for contractor installation
- A couple of these holes really stuck with me when I was done - hole #2 (although playing alongside a busy park road) was a nice fairly open shot, but some select trees and lightpoles stand in the way, along with the road itself as OB, hole #6 was a cool, short little hole across a little, vegetated valley, hole #10 was a tight window into a wooded fairway, hole #15 was a very unique layout, straight down a steep hill, then hard dogleg left to a blind ace run basket, hole #18 was a nice, open, welcoming finish across the grass with the pin up on a hill as a finale
Cons: - A few holes run very near and alongside fairly busy park roads (#2, 17, 18 - even #6 could be trouble with an overthrown, errant drive) - had to wait a few times for traffic
- Long tee on hole 5 crosses fairway for hole 6 - have to walk across fairway 11 to get from 13 to 14 (careful of drives coming down 11 if your approach goes long on 13 and while teeing off on 14) - not optimal to have these interferences
- Although navigation is easy with the map, there are a few long walks from hole to hole (8 to 9, 9 to 10, 15 to 16, 16 to 17)
- Holes 16 (basket), 17 and 18 play close to one of the softball fields
- No benches or trash cans out on the course
- Scorecard only shows distances for one set of tees
Other Thoughts: - Tee sign for hole #6 was missing when I played (hopefully it's been replaced) - tee location seemed pretty obvious though
- Came across a couple deer behind #15 basket
- When baseball/softball are going, you have the luxury of a concession stand

I found myself very torn on this rating. I was all prepared to give it a 4, as I had a great experience and feel that this is a great course - as you can see above, there are tons of "pros", in my opinion. The variety, tee signs, unique features (hole 15), etc. stuck with me after my visit. However, as I began to itemize my review, some of the cons were significant (frequent proximity to roads and crossing fairways) and have to be factored in. If this course were simply picked up and moved as is to someplace away from roads (and the 2 crossings tweaked a bit), I think my rating would instantly shoot up. I definitely hope to get back to this course sometime.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Navigation of course
Upkeep of grounds
Solid concrete pads when there are tees
Baskets are in good shape
Variety of holes (kind of)
Cons: No opportunities to let loose
Throwing from sand or the sidewalk on at least 3 holes
The alternate tee pads are designated by rocks
Location next to the road is extremely inconvenient
Other Thoughts: Having just moved from Iowa which have awesome courses, this course is highly disappointing. I did not use a driver once, the longest hole was like 310ft or something. First time on the course I shot a -5. If this is the most challenging course in the area I am highly disappointed.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: David5017
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix: bombs away on 8, 17, and 18. Some short placement shots, some tight fairways.15 is a fun blind downhill dogleg left - wow! Nice variety of up and down hills.
Cons: Some fariways are right next to the road so watch for cars before you toss.
Other Thoughts: Easy parking, good signage, easy to follow course. Bathrooms and drinking fountain between 9 and 10. They mow and mulch reguraly so it's always in pretty good condition.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 cool course

1    6/18/2011   5/6/2012
Review By: xb400
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wonderful course. I brought a first timer there and they had a blast playing. so it is challenging for all skill levels.

The baskets are surrounded in brick and mulch witch makes this course have a bit of flair. very cool
Cons: Not much bad I can say about the course although down in the woods we almost got lost but soon found our way.
Other Thoughts: the complex that the course is on is very cool and very well taken care of.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

pretty nice place

2-4    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful forest.
Well-defined fairways.
Good signs. Easy to find holes.
Challenging distance, but no extremely long holes.
Not much litter.
Friendly people at the park.
Some interesting elevation.
Cons: Too close to the roads on some holes.
Basket 18 was on a hilltop right next to a road! My disc rolled all the way down the hill into the road.
Crowded park, with the baseball and stuff. The DG area was not very crowded, though.
Some blind holes, in the springtime.
Some rocks in the fairway, causing funny bounces and disc wear.
Some tees were just an unmarked spot in the dirt.
Hardly any holes had two tee pads, even though the signs indicated alternate tees and distances.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable round for me today. Some of my putts didn't go in, but it was such a nice environment that it didn't really bother me. A very relaxing place. Except for the holes right next to the roads.There were several of those. There is a long walk between 9 and 10. Go up past the baseball fields and to the edge of the woods, and tee off from the top of the hill. There were a few empty bottles laying around the fairways and I just picked them up. Found a putter belonging to Jason somebody, and the phone # on the disc was a "wrong number".

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.