Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: kuhlbeans Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Very tight, straight, downhill shot. Crosses the fairway of the last hole (you can see its basket on the left edge of the photo).



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: StarWraith4me
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course for working on approaches and putting.
Really good use of available area including play around ball fields and uphill and downhill shots. The two holes atop the hills are excellently placed with hole 18 being an opportunity to let a shot rip towards the wide open basket. After hole nine, there are water fountains which is a big plus in 90 plus degree heat.
Cons: Short course but not bad for the area provided.
Other Thoughts: I am really looking forward to joining in on the weekly tournaments on saturdays.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Starter Course

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is full of great holes that will help an experienced player work on their mid-range and putts. On the same token, it is a good course that will help a beginner get a good score due to only one hole exceeding 300ft.

The fairways are very well defined and unlike many courses I have played, the brush on either side of the fairway is fairly thin, allowing for the quick retrieval of that errant throw. Not much in the way of poison ivy, which is a huge plus for disc golfers!

The course was mostly empty allowing for quick play and no waiting. The few that were playing today were very friendly and pointed us in the right direction once.

The signs that were available were great, although there weren't many signs to be seen (more in cons). They were very professional and helpful for a first time course visitor.

Good use of land available. I've played many courses that are in city parks and are around ball fields that did not maximize their space like Middle Creek has.

The sign in the parking lot has an excellent map on it outlining the course! Also, the "Caution: Flying Discs" sign as you enter the park made my day!
Cons: There were signs missing on over half of the holes which made it difficult to navigate. I like to have the hole distance displayed when throwing on a new hole. The signs that were present were great, but I think somebody has vandalized the course and stolen MANY signs.

Most of the tee pads were in great shape but several holes did not have tee pads. Hole 10, for example, throws off the top of a steep hill into the woods with only a 2 foot dirt tee pad to throw from before the drop off. It's not only difficult to throw from, but also dangerous with an overstep.

I found the maps and scorecards (which were excellent!) after I played hole 17. They are located at the old tee sign for hole 1 so I didn't have the opportunity to use them throughout the course due to their location. They should be moved to the excellent course sign in the parking lot or the new hole 1 tee box.

Some of the holes play along side the road. Not necessarily a con if you have a good throw, more of an observation though.

There is a long walk between several holes (5&6 and 9&10). If I had the maps or there were better signage, this wouldn't really be a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fairly fun course. It was 102 degrees when we started the course and then a storm rolled in on the back 9 bringing 30mph winds.

Favorite hole: Hole number 15. It's a signature hole I think with a straight downhill, dogleg right 230ft hole. You can't see the basket from the tee box (again, no tee pad), so you lay it up and listen for chains!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2009   5/9/2010
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very fair. If you throw a good shot, you will get a birdie. If you throw a bad shot, you will struggle for par on the tougher holes or will get a par on a hole when others are birdieing. There is not much elevation in the park but this course makes excellent use of what they have.
Cons: It's a little repetitive with the types of shots, the place is almost impossible to play if it has rained during the week, and there are some serious walks you have to make between holes.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent course. It's worth playing if you are in the area but nothing special worth traveling for / making a special trip for.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    10/5/2009   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some ace runs on the open holes. Course will test your straight throws due to heavily wooded rough and tight fairways. Lot of elevation changes add some variety to this course.
Cons: If you miss the fairway, you probably will end up with poison ivy/oak waiting for you around your disc. Tough to navigate holes the first time through. Some throws are right next to baseball fields/roads. Teepads are "natural".
Other Thoughts: Try not to hit anyone on the walking paths in the face with your drive on the last few holes.

Trees!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

5+    2/6/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not one of the Raleigh area's best or more popular courses, but a good place to work with your putters and mids. Also a good place to take that friend of yours that out-throws you by 100'. Accuracy and control rule on this course. Good concrete tee pads on almost every hole. #1 is still dirt, but it is in decent shape. Good use of the available elevation. Easy course to navigate even for a first timer. The only place where getting around gets confusing is going from #9 to #10. You must walk all the way past the bathrooms to the end of the playground. The sidewalk is the tee pad right by the hole sign. The course has clean fairways with a playable line on every hole. but if you let your disc stray into the woods you will pay. Lots of trees at every hole will make you play controlled and accurate, or your score will soar. Town of Cary and local clubs have done a good job of upkeep at this course. It is always clean, and well-kept. The Boy Scouts finished a project last year and installed a bruied brick putting circle at many of the holes. Baskets are all in great shape, and signs at evey hole showing the layout and telling the distances. This course has gradually improved since I started playing it about a year ago. No real gripes about this course at all.
Cons: Most holes are short. Not really any holes where you can really let it rip. This course can also get real muddy in places after a rain. Some drainage has been added after hole#15 to help with this problem. Hole #1 plays over a road and hole #2 has the same road on its right side as an OB. Adds some risk, but it's no fun to watch your disc get ran over by the local soccer moms. I am not a fan of having to throw over roads on courses.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't favor any specific shot. There are several holes that are dead straight, but with brutal woods to each side of the tunnel-like fairway. You must be able to control your shots to score well. #6 is a short blind hole that plays from a sidewalk. I don't normally like playing from a sidewalk, but for some reason this hole works for me. Holes #9 and #18 each play atop small hills. There is a good size landing area on each, but I have seen discs roll down the hill and into an OB parking lot. Good risk rewards layout for approaches and putts. Hole #10 is a fun shot down a hill and into the woods. It is one of the better holes on this course. Hole #15 has the most expensive set of stairs I have seen on a DG course. You throw off a sidewalk and down a large, steep hill to a left hand turn and the basket. Decent size landing area once again, but woods everywhere else. Cool hole.

Like I said earlier this is not the best course in the Raleigh area, but it is a good place to go work with your putters and mids. It has also never been crowded when I have been there. A solid choice if you want to play a fairly quick round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DiscCatcher baskets and a decent variety of shots. The course is starting to wear in now.
Cons: Too many lefty shots. The course gets muddy even with a little rain. Alot of walking between holes.
Other Thoughts: I felt like this course was just crammed into this Park. Maybe a little more acreage to work with and this course could be nice.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 middle creek disc golf review by austin

1    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very weel kept, had alot of nice ace runs. It is a good course for begginners and this course favors everyone it has a mix of a lot of different hole types. the disccatcher baskets are nice and not vandalized and the disc golfers of Cary are nice. I had to play this course when i could only throw 150ft or so, so i loved this course now i can bomb them farther it looks like a would now use a roc for most shots.Concrete tees are nice
Cons: alot of people play on this course at one time. Its right on a middle school so you have people running playing baseball cars going by. Way too many distractions especially when you have a 20 ft putt for a birdie and a car goes bye. The ground was muddy but not to big of a nuicance
Other Thoughts: Great for begginers but if you can throw 300+ definitly bring your rocs and buzzsz. :)

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wrapping around the high school

5+    6/15/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has several holes that require big, but accurate throws. A few narrow shots through the woods adds a nice risk, reward nature. A few creative shots including one straight down a set of stairs and two holes that are long with the basket on the top of a 10' anthill. Miss the putt long and have the same putt again from the opposite side! Also appreciate the holes that are relatively open, long, but are guarded by OB roads.
Cons: A really long walk from 9th basket to 10th tee. Go along parking lot, past the football fields and playground. Tee is from top of hill and shot goes deep into the woods. Seems to favor the RHFH players with lots of left to right shots. As of last time I played, the course can be a bit confusing to navigate. The path from #5 to #6 is on the sidewalk parallel to road, for example.
Other Thoughts: Wraps around the outskirts of a public high school. I really like this course and wish I lived closer to the area so that I could play more regularly. Tough to score real low here because birdies are tough to come by.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    11/10/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of open and wooded shots. Elevation comes into play on quite a few of the holes (I love 9 and 18 where the basket is at the very top of a hill). The discatcher baskets are in great condition, and last time I played here the Boy Scouts were laying bricks around the baskets to denote the putting zone. All of the wooded fairways are wide enough to throw down without much problem, even if you aren't the most accurate player (though if you shank it completely you will be very sorry). One hole has you throw down a massive staircase. I thought it was really unique and added something to the course. The course is, overall, very well kept and the other park amenities are great.
Cons: The fifth basket was missing when I was there (this may have been temporary though). I played after it rained so many fairways were covered in slippery red-clay mud that was at least a couple of inches thick in some places. If you are going to play after it rains, bring some old shoes. It is very easy to throw into the street on the second hole, and the first hole makes you throw across the street.
Other Thoughts: I don't know if this is a pro or a con, but the woods that line many of the fairways are insanely dense. It is very easy to lose a disc if you throw it into the woods. I have played quite a few courses across NC, and this has been one of my favorites.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New updated concrete pads. This course offers a little bit of everything. Open holes, wooded holes, up and down hill, rocks, grass, and mud. Rolling hills and tight tree lined fairways.
Cons: Crossing fairways, fairways along entrance to the park(car traffic). The distance between some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is quickly becoming my home course. The addition of the concrete pads makes it even better. The new pads are over sized as well. The course is maintained by the city which is a plus and a minus. I am left handed so all the right hand dog legs benefit me but it is still a very challenging course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.