Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: kuhlbeans Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Slight uphill that curves gently to the right as it goes. Very dense evergreen trees along right side that are best avoided.



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Solid Course

1    12/11/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: All Back Hand
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well kept, Good change in elevation shots, Never really too crowded, Great signage with pictures and distances,
Cons: Favors lefty players if you throw backhand, Does not drain well after it rains, no practice putting area.
Other Thoughts: Almost every hole can be birdied (The exception being hole 10, only seen it birdied once) with a great throw but yet it is difficult to shoot a great score. Much more challenging then Kentwood but not as difficult as Harris Lake. I would say it is about as challenging as Cedar Hills.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very unique stuff but not enough to inflate the rating

1    11/10/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 190  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain available at this school park property offers some very unique terrain that is great for disc golf and fun to play. However, lots of that terrain is unexplored and can be brutal (mainly the dense pine rough on holes 11, 12, 15, 16 which can just be brutally unforgiving due to how thick the young growth trees are).
I saw a lot of 30' circles around pins made up of brick pavers. This is an excellent tough and that little extra that people like about neat courses. I don't recall if they were on all holes.
Memorable holes. Despite skipping a few due to playing near dark, a few holes still made their way into memory. #9 mostly is a fairly straight, nearly 300' long run through a 30-40' wide wooded area. A few larger trees stick around mid fairway, but then you open up out of the woods and approach the pin that is perched up on a steep mound with a road and parking lot behind it. The need to thread a tight drive 300' straight, and then land on or stay on the mound makes this hole really fun. The risky green is an excellent design in my opinion. #10 is then a LONG walk away and may be difficult to find, but you get to stand up on top of a wooded valley, throw down into the valley and backup the other side to the green. Nice picturesque hole, and I love the valley edge to valley edge style holes.
Risk is present all over this course with cruel rough, risky greens, holes entirely along roads and ball fields, and a nasty swamp pit on #3.
The tee signs here are pretty nice, decent depiction of the hole and accurate distances.
Cons: Mix of tees was a con. Some of the holes like 10 and 15 downhill do not have a tee, just an area of clay on the edge of the dropoff. The rest of the holes have concrete tees on the longs and gravel on the shorts.
There was only one pin placement. Having some alternate pins could introduce more risky greens and also increase the challenge level because this course is fairly easy.
Holes 17 and 18 are sandwiched in between ball fields and pretty busy roads. While I enjoy the challenge, they are cramped and could lead to problems due to the busy area.
The entire park is very loud and busy. There are ball fields all over, playgrounds, houses, busy roads, pavilions, stages, etc. This truly takes away from the ability to lose yourself in your round.
Other Thoughts: We were running out of daylight and had to skip a few holes. I regret having to skip them and will be coming back to play them and solidify my review some time. We had to skip 4, 5, 7, and 8. They looked like decent holes that would add fun, challenge, and gimmick to the mix.
While this course isn't extremely challenging at all, it was very fun to play, mad a great mix of terrain, shot selection, and risk that required accuracy and control. I like this kind of course that forces shot execution, maybe outside of that comfort zone of full power drives, instead needing to execute controlled touch shots.
I was torn on this rating similar to Cedar Hills. The design was fun and unique with great terrain, but the location was less than optimal for that peaceful and inspiring round. But, because the design here is less than Cedar Hills, I'm gonna go with a 3.0 rating here. (Although, you could argue that the design is perfect for a White level course). I think that a near perfect transformation here would be to abandon the current long tees and make some even longer for a blue player (or add a third even longer tee). Then throw in a risky green alternate pin placement on most holes to stretch out the length and challenge even more. The short tees would still be straightforward yet challenging, and the long tees may fill the appetite of advanced players.
I'd say this is a White skill level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me much other than a couple bad kicks into tight rough with a need to simply eat a stroke and punch out.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: StarWraith4me
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great course for working on approaches and putting.
Really good use of available area including play around ball fields and uphill and downhill shots. The two holes atop the hills are excellently placed with hole 18 being an opportunity to let a shot rip towards the wide open basket. After hole nine, there are water fountains which is a big plus in 90 plus degree heat.
Cons: Short course but not bad for the area provided.
Other Thoughts: I am really looking forward to joining in on the weekly tournaments on saturdays.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Starter Course

1    6/23/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is full of great holes that will help an experienced player work on their mid-range and putts. On the same token, it is a good course that will help a beginner get a good score due to only one hole exceeding 300ft.

The fairways are very well defined and unlike many courses I have played, the brush on either side of the fairway is fairly thin, allowing for the quick retrieval of that errant throw. Not much in the way of poison ivy, which is a huge plus for disc golfers!

The course was mostly empty allowing for quick play and no waiting. The few that were playing today were very friendly and pointed us in the right direction once.

The signs that were available were great, although there weren't many signs to be seen (more in cons). They were very professional and helpful for a first time course visitor.

Good use of land available. I've played many courses that are in city parks and are around ball fields that did not maximize their space like Middle Creek has.

The sign in the parking lot has an excellent map on it outlining the course! Also, the "Caution: Flying Discs" sign as you enter the park made my day!
Cons: There were signs missing on over half of the holes which made it difficult to navigate. I like to have the hole distance displayed when throwing on a new hole. The signs that were present were great, but I think somebody has vandalized the course and stolen MANY signs.

Most of the tee pads were in great shape but several holes did not have tee pads. Hole 10, for example, throws off the top of a steep hill into the woods with only a 2 foot dirt tee pad to throw from before the drop off. It's not only difficult to throw from, but also dangerous with an overstep.

I found the maps and scorecards (which were excellent!) after I played hole 17. They are located at the old tee sign for hole 1 so I didn't have the opportunity to use them throughout the course due to their location. They should be moved to the excellent course sign in the parking lot or the new hole 1 tee box.

Some of the holes play along side the road. Not necessarily a con if you have a good throw, more of an observation though.

There is a long walk between several holes (5&6 and 9&10). If I had the maps or there were better signage, this wouldn't really be a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fairly fun course. It was 102 degrees when we started the course and then a storm rolled in on the back 9 bringing 30mph winds.

Favorite hole: Hole number 15. It's a signature hole I think with a straight downhill, dogleg right 230ft hole. You can't see the basket from the tee box (again, no tee pad), so you lay it up and listen for chains!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2009   5/9/2010
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 110  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very fair. If you throw a good shot, you will get a birdie. If you throw a bad shot, you will struggle for par on the tougher holes or will get a par on a hole when others are birdieing. There is not much elevation in the park but this course makes excellent use of what they have.
Cons: It's a little repetitive with the types of shots, the place is almost impossible to play if it has rained during the week, and there are some serious walks you have to make between holes.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent course. It's worth playing if you are in the area but nothing special worth traveling for / making a special trip for.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than it looks

1    10/5/2009   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some ace runs on the open holes. Course will test your straight throws due to heavily wooded rough and tight fairways. Lot of elevation changes add some variety to this course.
Cons: If you miss the fairway, you probably will end up with poison ivy/oak waiting for you around your disc. Tough to navigate holes the first time through. Some throws are right next to baseball fields/roads. Teepads are "natural".
Other Thoughts: Try not to hit anyone on the walking paths in the face with your drive on the last few holes.

Trees!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

5+    2/6/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not one of the Raleigh area's best or more popular courses, but a good place to work with your putters and mids. Also a good place to take that friend of yours that out-throws you by 100'. Accuracy and control rule on this course. Good concrete tee pads on almost every hole. #1 is still dirt, but it is in decent shape. Good use of the available elevation. Easy course to navigate even for a first timer. The only place where getting around gets confusing is going from #9 to #10. You must walk all the way past the bathrooms to the end of the playground. The sidewalk is the tee pad right by the hole sign. The course has clean fairways with a playable line on every hole. but if you let your disc stray into the woods you will pay. Lots of trees at every hole will make you play controlled and accurate, or your score will soar. Town of Cary and local clubs have done a good job of upkeep at this course. It is always clean, and well-kept. The Boy Scouts finished a project last year and installed a bruied brick putting circle at many of the holes. Baskets are all in great shape, and signs at evey hole showing the layout and telling the distances. This course has gradually improved since I started playing it about a year ago. No real gripes about this course at all.
Cons: Most holes are short. Not really any holes where you can really let it rip. This course can also get real muddy in places after a rain. Some drainage has been added after hole#15 to help with this problem. Hole #1 plays over a road and hole #2 has the same road on its right side as an OB. Adds some risk, but it's no fun to watch your disc get ran over by the local soccer moms. I am not a fan of having to throw over roads on courses.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't favor any specific shot. There are several holes that are dead straight, but with brutal woods to each side of the tunnel-like fairway. You must be able to control your shots to score well. #6 is a short blind hole that plays from a sidewalk. I don't normally like playing from a sidewalk, but for some reason this hole works for me. Holes #9 and #18 each play atop small hills. There is a good size landing area on each, but I have seen discs roll down the hill and into an OB parking lot. Good risk rewards layout for approaches and putts. Hole #10 is a fun shot down a hill and into the woods. It is one of the better holes on this course. Hole #15 has the most expensive set of stairs I have seen on a DG course. You throw off a sidewalk and down a large, steep hill to a left hand turn and the basket. Decent size landing area once again, but woods everywhere else. Cool hole.

Like I said earlier this is not the best course in the Raleigh area, but it is a good place to go work with your putters and mids. It has also never been crowded when I have been there. A solid choice if you want to play a fairly quick round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DiscCatcher baskets and a decent variety of shots. The course is starting to wear in now.
Cons: Too many lefty shots. The course gets muddy even with a little rain. Alot of walking between holes.
Other Thoughts: I felt like this course was just crammed into this Park. Maybe a little more acreage to work with and this course could be nice.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 middle creek disc golf review by austin

1    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very weel kept, had alot of nice ace runs. It is a good course for begginners and this course favors everyone it has a mix of a lot of different hole types. the disccatcher baskets are nice and not vandalized and the disc golfers of Cary are nice. I had to play this course when i could only throw 150ft or so, so i loved this course now i can bomb them farther it looks like a would now use a roc for most shots.Concrete tees are nice
Cons: alot of people play on this course at one time. Its right on a middle school so you have people running playing baseball cars going by. Way too many distractions especially when you have a 20 ft putt for a birdie and a car goes bye. The ground was muddy but not to big of a nuicance
Other Thoughts: Great for begginers but if you can throw 300+ definitly bring your rocs and buzzsz. :)

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wrapping around the high school

5+    6/15/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has several holes that require big, but accurate throws. A few narrow shots through the woods adds a nice risk, reward nature. A few creative shots including one straight down a set of stairs and two holes that are long with the basket on the top of a 10' anthill. Miss the putt long and have the same putt again from the opposite side! Also appreciate the holes that are relatively open, long, but are guarded by OB roads.
Cons: A really long walk from 9th basket to 10th tee. Go along parking lot, past the football fields and playground. Tee is from top of hill and shot goes deep into the woods. Seems to favor the RHFH players with lots of left to right shots. As of last time I played, the course can be a bit confusing to navigate. The path from #5 to #6 is on the sidewalk parallel to road, for example.
Other Thoughts: Wraps around the outskirts of a public high school. I really like this course and wish I lived closer to the area so that I could play more regularly. Tough to score real low here because birdies are tough to come by.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.