Marinette, WI 
Marinette City Park Share
Uploaded By: Marinette Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
Missing a true disc golfer design touch, has potential

2-4    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 194  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very nice with decent elevation and awesome woods. I really like the holes here and think they are very solid and fairly well balanced. I'll rundown each because I have comments (pro and con) of each.
#1 is a very sound and tight straight shot among a ton of tall pines. Play the road OB for more challenge.
#2 is a nice uphill hyzer forced by more of the parks huge pines. A pin further to the left would force more of a hyzer and also allow people to challenge themselves with a straight on throw or an anhyzer.
#3 is very short but has the only risky green on the course with a dropoff behind it. I'd suggest moving the tee back some for a 200-225' shot, right from the edge of the woods (moving #2 pin to the left would help with #3 tee further back).
#4 is an awesome wooded tunnel shot. A second tee could add huge distance challenge. The limbs should be cleared up 5-10' from where they are to open the tunnel a bit before it gets overgrown. This would offer a true run at the pin.
#5 probably is the best designed hole on the course with the most potential. It is a tight and hard hyzer with a wide open right fairway, cheater path down the middle, and dense rough on left. Clearing a few low branches would open the hole up well. The basket is nicely tucked near some pines.
#6 is also a great hole, in plays downhill through an open area flanked by a ridge and a playground. But there are large trees that require accuracy to hit the 316' shot to the pin. The pin is tucked over the edge of a small ridge in a great spot. An alternate basket on the edge would add great risk.
#7 is fairly bland 600' hole that is wide open off a slightly elevated tee.
#8 is a hyzer around a baseball field that is very bland and could be a huge interference problem.
#9 finishes up with a nice long anhyzer along the edge of the woods on the right and baseball on the left. It does not flow well though and you must cross #4, walk up #3 fairway and past hole 1 and 2 to get back to hole 1.
Cons: To me, there are obvious signs of inexperience in this design. The tee pads are WAY to short! I would have like to play it before the pads went in. They may be about 5' wide, but are barely 8' long. Plus they were not installed completely flush so there is an edge you can roll an ankle on. A HUGE flaw is that most of the tee signs are at the front right edge of the pad. i.e. handsmacking signs and poles for any RHBH player getting too close to the front right edge (a few were less than a foot from the edge). That tee sign placement is horribly unacceptable! I would redesign holes 7 thru 9. The 600'+ #7 is no challenge because it's wide open, and no thrill because it's flat. #8 has too much opportunity for recreational players to interfere with the softball field. I'd suggest shortening #7 to just a 400' shot or so and place the basket near the trees by the road. Then move the tee for #8 up on top of the small hill and throw a long shot down to a basket near where the #8 tee is currently. I would then lengthen #9 by moving the tee back (or addin that second tee). #9 could be made a bit more challenging, or redesigned altogether to offer flow back to the parking lot. Installing a second set of tee pads here and alternate pins would truly introduce some design elements to make this a REALLY challenging course. There is plenty room for second pads for HUGE distance and additional skill/challenge. Additionally I saw some locations for alternate pins that had me thristing for some risky greens here!

There is no water hazard.
Other Thoughts: I rated a 2.5 because it is only 9 holes and as a traveling player, I want something worth the drive. It is also only as high as a 2.5 because it has the potential to be better. I think it's really only a 2 because of all the cons I mention, but they can be compensated for. Fixing the tee sign location, installing longer pads, redesigning to make it flow a bit better, getting more risky green with alternate pins, and offering more challenge with second tees would all improve the rating. Installing 9 more holes in addition to all this, with more holes in the woods (like by the practice basket and across the park road) and better utilizing the hill/ridge, would probably yield a 3.5-4.
Contact me, I'd be more than happy to help with the design of what could be an AWESOME course! My brother-in-law lives a few blocks away and I'd be more than happy to help get something great installed there.
I continually think about how a redesign of the layout would yield such a great course. If the pines across the street could hold 9 more holes, this would be a NICE 18!!!!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice nine; quite challenging

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 765  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality shots needed most holes. Some elevation. I will second a number of above notes: #4 nice low ceiling tunnel shot....all shots require shot making skills and most some length as well, beautiful park, well maintained. Signs now installed and done well. Tees cement....a little short on the length; but nice otherwise. No signs of over crowding. Must avoid baseball diamond on dog leg #8; may be a con for lefties; but an interesting obstacle all the same. #9 tough anheiser for righties.
Cons: Walk from nine to one. This may be turned into a pro. Local (who happened to ace #2 today), plays a number of holes from basket to basket on the way back to make a 12 hole course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better nine hole courses around.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a nice find.

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: gethi.letitfli
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -a good mix of long and short holes
-the trees and hilly landscape add fun and challenging variation to the course.
-not very crouded at all(i was the only person playing when i went)
-the baskets were new,and the park seemed to be very well kept up in general.
Cons: -the sickest hole of the course(hole 4's tunnel shot)is right by a swampy area making it a perfect breeding ground for make sure you bring some bug sparay!!!
-the par numbers seemed more for beginers.(i was easily under par every hole and im not even that great of a player)
-maybe needs a diferent set of pars for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: concrete tee pads and basket signs are now up!!!
this course was a great course, it has a nice mix of short technical holes,short easy holes,and longer harder shots.this makes it the perfect course for people of all skill levels to play at.i gaurentee everyone who plays here, whether its an experienced discer or a first time player, will have a good time.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/15/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: shugs19_27
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A challenging course that weaves through the forest and utilizes the hills.

Hole 1 is a challenging shot through the trees where you need to hit your line.

Hole 2 is a shot that is on a hill where a water tower used to be. It is a deceiving hole.

Hole 4 is a beautiful and long tunnel shot. This hole will eat beginners up.

Hole 5 is a sharp left dog leg, but has a thumber line over the trees for righties.

Hole 6 is over some small hills and is out of view from the tee box.

Hole 7 is a 615 ft shot down hill and across a field that is maintained. The walk here can become wet as it is a bog-like area.

Hole 8 is a big hyzer for a righty and a perfect thumber for a lefty - easy hole for advanced players but adds a twist for beginners.

Hole 9- from the tee pad there is a solid tree-line to your right and open to the left, interesting hole.
Cons: Tee boxes NEED to be concrete. They were supposed to be crushed limestone but realistically it is big white garden rocks.

Signs need to be put up.

Hole three is a 100 some odd foot shot that could be better if basket is slightly moved.
Other Thoughts: This course was brought to the city council in June and put up in August. The tee pads and signs should be put up next summer, especially since the money is allocated for it.

The course will be kept up in winter and snow shoes will be up for rent from the city if people wanted to use them.

Alternate tee pads could be implemented next summer to make it an 18 hole course.

Course is free and still maintained.

If you play here in the summer, make sure you play hole 4 when the sun sets. The orange "glow" at the end of the beautiful tunnel is breath-taking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  challenging course

2-4    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: Lukerh25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of technical and long holes
Hole 4 is a great 400+ tunnel shot
Make shot selection a big factor
Cons: Maybe a rhbh favored course
Rock teepads could be concrete.
Hard to navigate needs signs.
Other Thoughts: With Tee pads and signs would be one of the best 9 hole courses in the state

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.