Disc Golf Center
Marinette, WI 
Marinette City Park Share
Uploaded By: Marinette   (Taken 8/2009)

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The best around by far

2-4    9/22/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 203  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: The course is now 18 holes set in a pretty much disc golf exclusive park right in town. The baskets are Discatcher's that were all in very good shape and caught well. The Tees are all nice, level concrete that gripped nicely. There's a good amount of elevation changes throughout the course. Hole 2 is a fun uphill shot. Hole 8 is an awesome downhill bomber that let's you just rip it.Hole 12 is a narrow, downhill tunnel shot that requires a solid shot. The flow of the course is very intuitive except a couple spots. The walk from 7 to 8 can be confusing at first. Just look south up the sled hill and that's where the tee is. Most notably though is after hole 13 you have to walk down the hill past hole 1's tee and across the road to find 14. The tee signs are pretty basic but serve their purpose. They are present at EVERY hole and all have hole #, par, distance and a basic hole diagram. The designers did a fantastic job utilizing the park space here to make a well rounded, fun yet not just pitch and putt course. There are many types of shots here that will test all skill levels to some extent. The park was well maintained and very clean. The course is permanent and is free to play which are both bonuses. It wouldn't seem to be too crowded ever so you can toss a few rounds relatively quickly here.
Cons: The tee pads are on the smallish side but are by far better than nothing and do work just fine though, just worth mentioning. The few longer walks from hole to hole can be a bit confusing for first timers. Nothing too major, and I pretty much covered those above anyway. Only one set of tees and pins for each hole. A few of the holes seem kind of like filler (Holes 3, 7 & 9) but they set up some really great holes (4 & 8) so it really balances out. Again, like almost every WI course the bugs can get nasty but just bring bug spray and it's a non issue. My biggest con by far though is the location of the tee signs. they are located right by the front right corner of the tee pad which for RHBH throwers like me is a real pain. I have too line up on the far left edge of the pad and ended up having a few bad releases worrying about cracking my hand on the signs. Either have them a few feet away from the tee or better yet a few feet from the back corner of the tee. This is a serious irritant for me, and it doesn't feel good actually hitting the sign (I've done it before) on your follow through.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course within about an hour (I haven't played Pioneer trails in Escanaba yet), that I have played at least. This is a very well designed course. I was surprised how much fun it was after playing Coleman and Peshtigo right before this one. I feel this more a 3.75 than a 3.5 but that's not an option so I opted on the lower end due to single tee and pin set ups and the couple "connector" type holes. Very fun course though.

18 Holes Now

5+    8/10/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: dk87
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: - This is now an 18 hole course. Cement tee pads and tee signs for every hole.

-The first 5 holes are moderately wooded. The next 5 are fairly open and the 8 remaining holes are again fairly wooded.

- Holes #4 and #8 are the 2 standout holes for me. # 4 is a challenging 353' straight tunnel shot the whole way with thick rough on the right. The ceiling is fairly low so you have to keep it low. #8 is a 403' downhill par 3. You're throwing from the top of a sledding hill so it's a good 20'-30' at least above the basket. It is very open but on windy days can be tough.

-Overall a fun course with some challenging shots at least for a relatively inexperienced played like me.
Cons: -First off the course can be kind of tricky to navigate if you haven't played it before. The first time I played it I missed a couple holes because there are no "Next Tee" signs. However it appears like this soon will be fixed because there are some 4x4 posts in the ground that look to be for this purpose just no signs on them yet.

-Some of the sign posts for the holes are a little to close to the tee pad which presents a potential for injury on your follow through.

-#6 plays along a fairly busy city street which means an errant RHBH can easily end up in the street.

-Holes #12 and #16 and to less of extent #14, the tee pad is placed ~2-3ft too far left. This leaves the only the right 1/3 usable because the rest of it means you're throwing right into trees 10ft out.

- The rough on some holes can be brutal. If you go in good luck getting back out
Other Thoughts: - Some garbage cans and benches on some holes would be nice since there are none.

- Every time I've went here I've pretty much had the course to myself. That could be do to going on weekday mornings on my days off of work though.

-Only one Tee pad and basket per hole


1    3/29/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Marinette City Park is a good 9 hole course that has something for everyone. First off it's got concrete tees, good tee signs and a course map by hole 1. There are elevation changes on about half the holes, there are some open holes, some wooded holes, and it (debateably) has two par 4's (one long open and one tight wooded). The first half of the course is more wooded and forces you to hit you line to be rewarded with a birdie.

Hole 2 is a big uphill shot. Hole 3 is a short dinker but with a big drop off behind the basket. Hole 4, possibly a par 4, is a 350 foot wooded tunnel shot than makes you decide if you're going to go for it or play it safe with a midrange shot off the tee. The last three holes are open and hole 7 is a 600 foot long bomb.

Cons: The course starts off great with first 6 holes, hole 7 is a long wide open hole and the last two holes are also open so the course kind of lets you down at the end. Once you finish the course there's a very long walk from hole 9 back to the car. On the way I saw the practice basket which doesn't seem very close to the parking area or hole 1.

The shot selection isn't very good here. The last hole forces a turnover shot for a RHBH player, but the rest of the holes are straight or hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good 9 hole course and is worth checking out if you're in the area. With the exception of hole 4, it's a good course for less experienced players. More experienced players will enjoy the various challenges the course present.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    6/23/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded park with a mix of grassy fairways through scattered trees and denser woods. The more open shots include some distance, including a 600' hole with an elevated tee. A couple other shots have some moderate elevation changes to add some fun and challenge.

The wooded shots have some nice tight tunnels with enough rough to keep things tough if you miss your line. One hole offers a short ace run, but there's a drop off behind the basket making it risky to run at it. There are decent concrete pads and the signage has hole number, distance and layout. The park seemed well kept, and there isn't too much interference with other park uses.
Cons: The course ends in a bit of a disappointing way. The last few holes are pretty open and flat, and don't offer as much fun or challenge as the first 2/3 of the course. It's odd that the 9th hole ends so far from the beginning of the course, and the most direct route crosses a few other holes. The tees are a little short, especially for the couple longer holes, I wish they were at least flush with the ground to allow for a runup from the grass.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a good time here, most of the holes are reachable, and there's a nice mix of park style holes and a few tighter ones to make things a little tougher. More experienced players won't find this course terribly challenging, but there are enough fun shots and tricky elevation to make this worth a stop. You can play some fun safari holes on the way back to the car after 9 if the course isn't too crowded.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northeasternmost course in WI

1    5/28/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent property for disc golf. The course is out on its own and has no other park users in the way. This is always a positive in avoiding injuries and infringement on the course or other activity areas.
2) Nice wide concrete tees. Not sure how long they are because I forgot to measure, but they have to be 5' wide at least.
3) Decent signs that have Hole #, distance, par, and a map . . . along with sponsors of the hole.
4) Rules sign and a course map available at the first tee.
5) Practice basket is available although it is removed from the course to where most people won't even see it. I am guessing 200' to the right of #1 tee and up the hill behind some trees. Not sure how much use it gets, but at least it is there.
6) Garbage cans in a few spots around the course help to keep the course clean.
7) #'d discatchers . . . nice baskets for visibility, especially in the woods.
8) They even involved some water on the course here . . . although it is only beyond the #9 basket by about 30-40'. It is there in case someone throws long!
9) Good distance variation ranging from the 100's, 200's, 300's and even a 600' thrown in there. I like variety like this because it makes you thrown all your shots and use all your discs. Strategy is key rather than just trying to park every single hole.
Cons: 1) Holy mosquitoes . . . they were so bad on the long tunnel I had to run to my throws and I rushed my putt from 35' and it accidentally went in to save my bogey.
2) There is a long walk from #9 all the way back to #1 or where you parked. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning.
3) There is quite a bit of compaction and erosion here in the woods where it is shady and around some of the baskets like 1, 2, 3, and 4. I always hate to see this because it could be minimized with well thought out installations of courses. It might need two sleeves to be able to move it to avoid it, but it is something that does detract from the beauty of a course (and environmental impacts).
4) Some of the chains are rusty on these old Discatchers. They must have been bought used from somewhere for this course.
5) The course description may be accurate, but if #7 is a sledding hill, there must be a different standard for sledding in Marinette, because vertically it is not that high, and I was expecting some epic throw from here. While I did get myself a par (thrilled with that on a 600' hole), it wasn't as fun as it would have been off a really high or steep slope.
6) Some kids on bikes went through the concrete on #5 tee before it was set . . . stupid vandalism. Was it really fun to ride through concrete only to mess up every single person playing disc golf for as long as that concrete is in! I have no tolerance for that.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course and was happy I made the trip up to the north-easternmost course in WI on this road trip. It has a nice variety, elevation change, distance variation, good balance of shot shaping is required, and has some really fun shots. I am surprised a small town like this would take up so much space with disc golf, but of course I can appreciate it. I suppose it did look like a fairly large park so to give up some acres for disc golf wasn't too much to ask. They did a great job of keeping the disc golf away from other activities (except the throw over the corner of the baseball field on #8. You don't have to throw over the fence you can launch a big hyzer to the right of it, but there still would be a risk of errant throws going onto the baseball field.

I would have to agree with some others, there is even more potential here than was used. They did a decent job on the course, but the woods across the street from #1 also look enticing as well as the woods between the practice basket, and #3 and #4. You could easily create a better loop back to the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yup, OK.

1    10/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets. Concrete tees about 5x8. Fair variety - Some elevation change on 5 holes, mostly manicured grass under large trees, but 3 holes through moderately heavy schule. Few if any apparent conflicts with other park useage.
Cons: Not many really! Mosty I found the course to be OK but unexciting.
The prospect of landing in the #4 fairway from #3 is a very real but minor con. The tee pads are minimal size, and #8 is especially crowded.
There are no gold level holes, but there is enough length to challenge advanced players. The assigned course pars are appropriate to a green level course although it is marked as a red level course.
Other Thoughts: Mostly typical of city park courses, this park is large with many other apparent uses including ball fields and playgrounds.
The long walk back bothered me, and I wonder why there are not three more holes through the unused woods between #9 and the beginning. Re-doing hole #4, and adding three more through those woods will boost my rating!
If you are spending the night in Marinette as I did, you should definitey play this course. This was my second of three courses played in this
area. I was please at how much better this course is than the one in Peshtigo. Next I headed for Oconto.

#1 Almost straight RHBH slight hyzer, fairly tight lane through big trees. Overthrow right threatens #2 tee.
#2 RBH hyzer with 25' of uphill elevation. Fairly open w/ big trees at sides. Needs "next tee" sign from here
#3 Short tight downhill through thick schule. Overthrow could land on #4 fairway.
#4 Tunnel shot about 15' wide through medium heavy schule.
#5 RHBH Hyzer. Heavy schule left and medium with some slope away right. +10' of elevation.
#6 Open straight tee shot to goal lightly guarded by big trees. -10' elevation change.
#7 Wide open crush hole. -10' elevation.
#8 Strange transition from #7, walks up fairway for half of hole. Tee is crowded back against the fence, restricting run-up to about 10'.
#9 RHBH anhyzer. Open left, heavy schule right. Distance solidly in grey zone.
Long walk back to Hole #1!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: simm
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers some great variety in obstacles, distance and shot types. I live about 25 miles south of here and it is by far the best course in the area.
Cons: Some wet-ish spots, especially on #7. bugs can be bad in some of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoy playing this course. If it was closer to home I would be playing it all the time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: 2feathers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: only course in area for atleast 40 miles,try to play everyday,easy to navigate aruond easy to 2 9's for 18 every hole but #7 easily duecable several hole in one senerios
Cons: bring your bug spray #3,4,5,6 serious mosquitoes #7 stays soggy in the middle
Other Thoughts: average score for me is 54 with several 50's 51's &52"s tons of windy days that can lead to high scoring round in a heart beat shoot wisely

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good 9

1    6/26/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: mzuleger
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course makes good use of what the park has to offer as far as elevation and woods. There were no bad holes on the course (#3 and #8 are the weakest but still not boring)
Cons: The tee pads are a little small, i had to start my run-up on the mud for most holes. There are no holes on the course that are really great. The bugs were bad and there is a bunch of burning meadow throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: #1 - fun hole with limited lines due to many trees
#2 - Interesting up-hill hyzer line that you don't see too often in other courses.
#3 - Very short anhyzer. Almost uncomfortably short
#4 - Straight alley shot with low ceiling. Tough hole but based on the reviews i expected more out of this hole.
#5 - Blind hyzer. Nothing special, but not overly easy either.
#6 - Straight and slightly down hill. Fun hole that is blinded by a hill.
#7 - Long and open, slight down hill. The Meadow was pretty wet. Fun hole to give it all you have.
#8 - Short hyzer over/around the corner or right field. Not a hard or overly interesting hole but at least the baseball field forces you to throw on a line.
#9 - Relativley long slight anhyzer. Stay left and you'll be ok, play too much anny and you're hating life.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course, Janky Lay-out

5+    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 751  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is fairly challanging...... i love this course. u can camp right in marinette city park......
#1 284' heavily wooded straight shot......
#2 243' uphill left fade with tall pines bordering the fairway.
# 3 148' tight fairway, pin placed on top of 30' hillside.(got my first ace and 6th here)
#4 353' tunnel shot.. this is an amazing hole....
#5 205' hard left dogleg. heavy woods on the left
#6 316' blind-straight shot.. few trees by pin.....
#7 609' wide open field with elevated tee
#8 261' hard left fade around the baseball diamond...
#9 370' straight shot with wood on the right an wide open feild to left.....
Cons: Course lay out... the walk from nine to one is quite long.. needs more trash cans on the course.... Alternate pin placement on a few holes would be nice....
Other Thoughts: Living 19 miles away. it great coming here... not many discers, course is very challenging check out my scores. U can play the "ten hole" on the walk back, i use to begining of the road by #2 pin as the tee and thow at the practice pin down thru the trees its about 180' - 200'

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.