Monmouth, IL 
Monmouth Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #8
5 / 435ft.   5 / 520ft.   3 / 435ft.   3 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gimme an Ace!

1    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 55  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I drive right by this course frequently in my travels, but had never stopped before. Nice, short city park course, and very convenient location. Not sure I will stop by again unless I'm really itching for a quick 15 minute round.

- Well manicured park with plenty of amenities. New bathrooms, water, playgrounds, etc.
- Good concrete pads, maybe 7' x 4'.
- Course is well maintained, even though it doesn't look like it gets massive amounts of traffic.
- Short course, pretty well all but #8 can be ace holes. Probably fantastic for a round with kids.
- Hole #9 is pretty cool, over a small ravine and framed all around by trees. Not too small of a hole, but enough to make it feel halfway daunting.
- Played right after a decent rain, and really didn't notice any concerning erosion issues.
- Layout is very easy and simple.
Cons: - Shortest hole is listed at 117 ft, most others are low-mid 200 ft.
- Posted pars are 1 to 2 strokes high, but you play this course and it's pretty obvious they're all par 3s.
- I guess unlike a few other posters, I really didn't get (or like) hole #8. (And not just because I threw my first drive straight into a tree.) It looks like there used to be a risk/reward window more inline with the hole, but it is a little overgrown. And as of my playing there was a dead tree that had fallen over diagonally across the window, making it entirely unplayable. Otherwise, the 'dogleg' is pretty well a 90' corner.
- Would be very easy to put bag hangers on the sign posts, but probably not the highest of priorities with the number of players that probably play this course. Really, I only noticed because I played right after a decent rain.
- Did not see any alternate, spray-painted tees as other reviews mention.
- You COULD use every shot/disc in your bag on this course…if you wanted too…but I really could probably play this course with one mid-range driver and a putter.
Other Thoughts: Worth stopping by if you're driving through Monmouth and have 25 minutes. That's all it would take to turn off the highway, find the course, play a round, and take off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Confident Booster

2-4    8/7/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Weyums3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: - Nice concrete teepads
- Nice signs at each hole make it easy to navigate
- A few holes with elevation
- A lot of ace opportunities
- Very well maintained, beautiful park
- Bathrooms, water fountains, and trash cans throughout
- Good for a short game, no wait time

Cons: - The only real knock on the course is that is it very easy, only one hole over 300ft makes for very generous pars
Other Thoughts: The course plays around a playground so you have to share the space and there will be children who run out on the course. There is enough space that 18 holes was possible. Hole #8 is the most challenging and most fun, tee off on a hill to a dog leg right that plays along high prairie grass (don't be afraid to play through the grass). Nice beginners course, and confident booster for new players.



 nice tiny city park niner

1    11/29/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete teepads
-small elevation changes with 2 shots over ravines (1 and 9), and 2 downhill shots (7,8).
-Easy navigation.
-course plays through a city park with mature trees and a woodish type hole.
-hole 8 is a good hole, elevated tee throwing down to a pin lined with tall grass. big rhbh slow anhyzer or a bh roller.
-Bathrooms and ample parking and informative tee signs showing direction of hole and distance.
Cons: -Far too many >200' holes there were at least 2 maybe 3 and they really have very few obstacles.
-The course could be improved with some long pads.
Other Thoughts: The concrete and hole 8 added .5 points for me, otherwise the rest of the course would have dictated a 1.5.
Definitely a rec course, skip it and go to galesburg instead if you want more challenge.
Also no dogs allowed, but I had mine out there and no one said anything.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stroll Down Kid Row

1    6/22/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very short 9-hole course and with the pars having 4's & 5's, it's obvious this course was made for kids. It is a very clean park and well maintained. Bathrooms and trashcans were available. It does have cement tees, poles for tee signs, and navigation is not a problem here. The second hole was like 117 feet, so that is what to expect here. Only one hole is over 300 feet and it's #8 at 435 feet if taking the intended fairway. #8 is a cool hole that looked like it was made with a picture window view to the hole, from the tee, through a wall of trees, but it has since grown over some.
Cons: All the holes should be par 3's and it is not very challenging. Many of the holes play fairly close to where people are and the playground. So you should be very careful.
Other Thoughts: There is no real chance of losing a disc on this course. The fun factor here is about nil unless you are looking for your first ace. I would not take any time to stop here, unless you want a place to bring the kids for their first time out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.