Mount Olive, NC 
Mount Olive College Share
Uploaded By: Prothios Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Once is enough

1    8/1/2009   4/8/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located on a well maintained, pretty part of campus.
- A couple of decent holes and fairly well balanced in terms of left/straight/right shots
- Good way of introducing college students to DG, even if its not a good course.
Cons: - I played it on a weekend, but I can imagine this course is pretty much not playable when classes are in session. The first couple of hole are in a courtyard type area right next to building.
- Horrible Lighting DB-5s. UGH I hate this baskets. Single Chained Nightmares with the cage that bend slightly inward toward the chains.
- Shorter holes/slim differences in hole lengths.
- Pretty much no signage. It took me forever to find some of the holes. The only thing marking the tee pads is a small tee marks which not easy to spot at all. Wander around forever trying to find hole 1.
- Natty pads
- Flat as a board. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: There are biblical notes attached atop each basket. For me this is a con, but it might not be for others. I don't like being preached to while I play golf personally. It's about 15-20 minutes off of I-40 and that's too much of a detour for me to ever go back. Not worth stopping to play when I travel to Wilmington from Raleigh

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Words Can't Describe

5+    9/15/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a course in Mt. Olive and that's pretty much it.
Cons: The baskets are terrible for they only have one tier of chains which are not good for catching discs plus some people have destroyed a basket out there
Other Thoughts: If you would like to make it interesting try and play the course backwards and make your own teepads for the backwards route.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Huh?

1    5/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me think.......
Cons: Hard to navigate without a map
(never did find #9 tee)
Short for experienced players
(this could be a "Pro" for beginners)
Other Thoughts: However, I did like this course. Seven was fun with it's throw down a campus street. The landscaping is pretty and the course designer(s) seemed to do the best possible job given the terrain. Thanks to the college for letting us non-students play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Underlying beauty, but flawed

1    9/27/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I want to like this course, mainly because of the beauty of its terrain. There's well manicured grass with scattered, mature trees, and this is one of my favorite kinds of terrain for disc golf. It's also one of the best types of terrain to introduce college students to the joy of the sport. There's even a man made fountain that adds to the beauty. The quality of the terrain is the main reason why I gave this course a higher rating than I would have otherwise.
The hole variety has a pretty good balance of shots (4 St/ 3 Left/ 2 Right).
Cons: There are a number of flaws, but most of these could be fixed.
-Safety: There are many safety issues, so be very careful if there are other players or people around. Several holes have tee pads that are too close to the previous basket or even on the line of flight.
-First tee- it's hard to find the first tee, but once you do there are maps in a mailbox next to it. Make sure to grab one.
-Signs and navigation - the only signs are tiny flat tee markers that are hard to find. You can't see the next tee, so without a map it would be a nightmare to navigate.
-Tees: grass and dirt and they're not framed, so they're hard to find.
-Baskets: Lightning DB-5s that aren't very sturdy and don't catch as well as DGA or Innova baskets.
-There's not much length variety; lengths vary from 235 to 390 ft. (6 < 299/ 3 of 325-390.)
It's totally flat; there's no elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole- 8. It has a nice grass fairway with scattered trees, woods, and bushes. At 325 ft. it's at a challenging length.

The Map & scorecard are basic but functional enough to do the job.

Someone should ask a qualified course designer to fix some of the safety issues. If the other flaws were improved this could really be a nice course.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center