Brady, TX 
Brady DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 395ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Am. Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty Good 18 Holes

2-4    11/7/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 68  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a well-groomed city park. Predominantly mowed turf with many mature Pecan and Oak trees.

A wet-weather creek/pond is in play on several holes. It looks like it could dry up, but there was plenty of water the day I played.

Good variety of hole lengths from 200' to 430', with a single hole (#7) stretched out to 750' from the long tee.

Not much elevation available here, but good use of the trees either in the fairway or clustered around the baskets. Hole 3 has the basket on a raised area behind a 3' tall retaining wall which adds some interest.

Hole 13 has a hanging basket and Hole 18 requires a short (100') carry across water.

Teepads are natural and are marked with concrete "tombstones". It looks like the tees are moved enough to avoid creating bare or low spots. A few "next hole" arrows help with navigation.
Cons: Holes 4, 5, 7, 9 and 17 were open shots across mowed grass. No trees, shrubs or elevation changes so it was like throwing on a soccer field. Not interesting or challenging.

The tee markers are obviously moved around, so the distance in the markers (and in the DGCR Hole Information) are not accurate. On many holes there is only a single tee, so no short/long option. On a couple of holes the two tee markers were set beside each other, which is confusing when one says 220' and the other says 323' (Hole 13).
Other Thoughts: The park looks like it could get busy on weekends, and that could limit play on a few of the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 13 really good holes, 5 not so good

1    7/17/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 13 good holes that play along a creek and under a beautiful canopy of oaks, pecans, & elms. Good mix of rollers, thumbers, forehands, and backhands. Most holes have multiple lines to the basket. Hanging basket on one hole makes for a nice touch.
Cons: 5 holes are just in a wide open space. Those holes are boring and pointless.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through the area play the course, its worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 prob never play again

1    6/16/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: CarpeTheDiem
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its an 18 hole course in an area that has very few dgc.
Cons: the course set up makes ZERO sense and the tees are pretty hard to find if its your first time there. the grass/weeds are thick and very few spots are mowed. this park is always in use for camping and festivals smack in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts: this may be a decent place to play in the winter when the camping season dies down but other than that i was very disappointed i made the hour drive from home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/12/2011   1/24/2012
Review By: Discstar
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Really like the hanging basket. Larry did a good job mixing things up.
Cons: Lots of walking and probably a little difficult to navigate your first time around.
Other Thoughts: When I was there I had the pleasure of throwing with Larry Mann.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice to have something

2-4    10/18/2011   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with excellent sign markings. A good amount of shot variety for BH or FH. Considering there was never a course within 45 miles of Brady, it's nice to have something here.
Cons: Not a great variety of distance, most holes are around the same length except one extremely long hole and a couple very short holes. Watch out for cowpies.
Other Thoughts: This could be one of those 2 or 3 disc courses, as long as you have handle on playing in the wind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round, Great Hosts

1    12/30/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: JDiscraft
Played: 127  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fills a big gap in Texas where disc golf was formerly absent.
- Makes good use of some of the unique course characteristics, including throwing from under a covered pavillion.
- High quality baskets, good signage.
- Most importantly, fun.
Cons: Like the majority of courses, this is a mixed use park and I could see some conflicts with other park users during heavy use periods... however, most of the course plays around or adjacent to the other park amenities so the design is layed out to limit conflicts.

There is some water on the course that potentially could have been better utilized. However, given the drastic changes in water levels that the creek experiences it may have been tough to place the baskets to close to the water features... making the holes unplayable during higher water conditions (alternate pin placements, potentially?).

Two holes are in an open field and the only consideration a thrower must take into account is an out of bounds fenceline and a ball field. The ball field should not come into play really.
Other Thoughts: I was incredibly pleased to find out that a disc golf course had been installed in Brady. My family owns a ranch near Brady and I have been visiting the area my whole life. Houck's San Saba ranch (with it's 4 courses) was fantastic... but since it was pulled several years ago, disc golf has been absent from the area. I was very pleased with the course and had a great round with Larry Mann and three others who were gracious enough to let me tag along with my 3-year old. Hope to play again soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  What a great set up!

5+    9/24/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: Christy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I love the challenges thru the trees, The wind will give your throw a fit because it changes year round. It's not the same throw on every hole, I like to be able to use more than 3 different discs for a course. Long walk, with lots to look at. The wild life will keep you relaxed, our wild birds are beautiful.
Other Thoughts: Camping is great here, We have new showers and restrooms

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

1    3/19/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1st few holes are well marked with signs pointing to the next hole. (including signs to hole 1)

Nearly every hole has a short (blue) and long (yellow) tee marked with the distance of the hole.

Pretty good variety of holes.

Good baskets.
Cons: Grass tee boxes

There is a long walk between a few of the holes.

Not a long course.

This web site says there are Red tees, but I could not find any.

I can see many times this course is not usable or holes are unplayable because of other park users.
Other Thoughts: Usually when you go to a small town and play a round of disc golf, the course is pitiful. The course designer did a pretty good job with this course in a park that has many uses.

As I pulled into the park, I saw a sign that said "1st tee" and followed the signs to hole one. There were signs for the 1st few holes, but after those it is not that hard to figure out if you pay attention. (hole 18 was the hardest to find)

Holes 5, 6 and 7 were boring, but I liked the rest of the course.

The course is not all that hard, but then it is the only course for miles around and should be made for fun, not challenging.

I shot a 53.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Don't pass up this course

5+    1/10/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
3 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Very nice park that is getting better with age. Has movable tees that have been tweaked since opening. Great variety of driving holes. No putters off the tee unless you are a big arm. Creek is very low due to drought. Us locals play some different tees to make some more 4's. Make sure to contact the locals who are very friendly.
Cons: Brady residents throw trash everywhere. We pick up what we can.
Other Thoughts: If jerks didn't write reviews without coming here I might not be trying to balance bad reviews with a 5.

3 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 strictly beginners

1    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: It has baskets. 18 hole course If your not just passing through and need to stretch your legs or are a local beginner I wouldn't give it more than a glance. If your intermediate or better you could shoot your all time lowest round here, possible -18.
Cons: no tunnels, no challenges. defines pitch and putt. It's not healthy to your game to play courses of this level regularly for the fact that you'll never improve any skill other than wide open drives and putts.

6 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.