Boiling Springs, NC 
Gardner-Webb University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Upshawt1979 Hole #17 (Taken 9/2014)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Campus Course is Cool

1    9/15/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2014
Pros: There are now good signs on all 18 holes at Gardner-Webb University DGC. Hole 1 tee and a course map are behind Nanney Hall. The closest parking is accessible from West College Ave., on Cantrell St. in front of Campus House, or on Quad Dr. in front of O. Max Gardner Memorial Hall. I don't know if either of these will require a parking pass of any sort. Take a snapshot of the course map, it may come in handy. Watch for the left turn across the bridge on hole 5 fairway, it is easy to play straight to hole 7 basket, and miss 6 altogether. There is another tricky transition between hole 15 and 16. After 15 walk past the traffic circle in front of the Student Center. The course has paved tees, many using paths or sidewalks around campus. The baskets are good DISCatchers. Signs are pretty good, though holes are usually visible from the tee. This course plays around a pond and the Tucker Student Center, you could smell the garlic bread they were serving for dinner across the middle of the course. The holes are mostly short, but use elevation changes, the pond and streams, and the moderate amount of scattered trees to mix up the shape of each hole. 3 is a nice downhill anhyzer for a RHBH thrower. 7 is across the pond, downhill but minimal risk. 8 is a fun uphill shot with a couple of options to get to the basket. 12 is a fun blind hole, crossing a path and at the bottom of a good hill. 14 is also cool, teeing from the patio behind the student center, past the parking lot, playing to the top of the hill across the valley where the stream runs. 17 is another really fun, downhill drive. There are a few really fun holes, and many that give birdie chances. Grounds were in good condition, even with some recent heavy rains.
Cons: The parking is tough to find, and I wound up parking next to the soccer field, by the basket for hole 15. Many pedestrians as students were moving around the campus, and the course is never far from paths, roads, dorms, and near a lot of other buildings. 4 and 18 play across a road, and 11 is right in front of a busy dorm. Grass on hole 15 was kind of spongy, but course was free of mud and in good condition, despite recent heavy rains. Dogs should probably be on a leash.
Other Thoughts: A recent redesign has drastically improved this course, judging from the older reviews. Gardner- Webb University DGC is fun, but still beginner friendly. The kind of course you can play in flip flops, if you're the casual type. The clock tower next to hole 6 is awesome, so are the fountain in Lake Hollifield, and springs area near the basket for 17. There is also a beautiful statue near the basket on 16. Really a nice little course, but crowded with students while school is in session.


5+    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: mheredia65
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent course layout with some technical shots required. The new layout requires a little more arm, and a little more disc golf "know-how." As a student here, it's a great place to go and focus on practicing different shots. Most holes are birdie-able, but they will certainly challenge you with the some of the lengthened holes.
Cons: The course is not marked well. For someone who claims this as my current home course, it is easy to navigate, but for first timers, there will be great difficulty finding the next hole and tee pad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It will grow on you.

1    9/8/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course on the backside of campus where the pond is baby! This is a campus where you want a disc golf course and the course utilizes great variety. Some of the holes are VERY well place and this place has some really good elevation. It's a shorter course with no hole being longer than maybe 360' but its got its defense.
-Very nice disCatchers. They catch well and I shot 3 down here with some strokes left behind. Any intermediate player will definitely find this course up their alley. If you were to put River St. in Mt. Holly and Winthrop Lakefront in Rock Hill together, you would get this course.
-This course is not in the way. If you have played Brevard College, you have seen that the course is awfully close to other recreational sports and ball fields. The pond is near or in play on 5 holes but that's what a lot of players want on a course.
-Many holes were very well placed! #7 was my favorite hole! It's nearly straight downhill, over the pond at right about 250 ft. #13 is a 300 footer with the pond in play the whole way to the left, forcing you to anhyzer, #14 (I never found the tee) is a fun hole with the water in play to the right and goes steep uphill after your teeshot and #17 was a straight downhill ace run, being the most scenic on the course. Those were the holes that really stood out to me.
-Next tee arrows on the basket posts, giving you a HINT where the next tee is.
-Great chance for an ace. I was a foot from #15. It's an easy, open, and short par 3. #1 is also very easy, also the shortest on the course at maybe 150'.
-Great elevation! Hole 6 has the most on the course being up probably 35 ft and you go back down on #7. #14 is also steep uphill and #17 is straight down.
-I saw a good number of college girls. College girls are ALWAYS a +. A few of them saw some of my throws :).
-Every hole is fair and has some sort of challenge, no real gimmies but birdies will come if you have good enough accuracy.
Cons: -Navigation is an extreme problem. Just white markers are stuck in the ground. I didn't find #12's tee, not #14's or #17's. I hear #17's tee isn't marked yet. The designer did a poor job with the tees as they are not seen unless you are maybe five feet from them. I think you clearly know they are natural and a couple are nonexistant. Luckily there were some guys in front of us which I believe one of them was hodgesja. They were very helpful and told me where to go when I struggled finding tees until I got to #12. They were on #14 when I tried to find #12.
-#6 and #7 are too close to each other. Heads up!
-No benches, no trash cans, no water fountain. The nearest gas station is five miles from here. That means get a root beer before you get here.
-Goose crap is a serious problem on the holes near the pond. It's a problem for your shoes and I'd feel bad for yours if you are not careful.
-Course has some overhead branches that prevent you from making a birdie on some holes.
-People can get in your way. Children were on #17's green and their parents and guardians were too busy filming them run around with their cameras. They finally moved and I got to throw my vibram putter. There was NO WAY AT ALL I was going to skip that hole.
-No teesigns but just give it time. I really want to know the distances here.
Other Thoughts: -This course was redesigned and needs quite a bit of improvement but this course has a lot of potential! I'd easily give it a 4 but just not now. Some of the natural tees are invisible or nonexistant. Looks like Dave242 got what he wanted and I think he should give this course another try. It's in good shape now, just needs to be worked on with the tees and overhead branches and this course will be a blast to play.
-Signature hole would easily be #7, super fun downhill ace run. Also my favorite on the course. That's a hole you will like for sure. As much as I enjoyed the course, I wouldn't play it yet, I hope this is a work in progress. Give it a month or two.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New Layout

1    8/1/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: hodgesja
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Course Layout! 18 Holes!

Fun to play. Full course. Natural tee pads.
Cons: The pond water is so murky and nasty, if a disc goes in, there is only a tiny chance of it coming back out. Goose poop everywhere. Super hard to find tee pads. Natural tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Course Layout-
Parking lot for the course is below the H.A.P.Y. dorms.
#1 Par 3. Tee box is located at the corner of the dorm located across from the parking lot(away from the quad). This hole is pretty straight forward throwing towards the road. The hole a few trees guarding the basket but no other obstacles.
#2 Par 3. Tee box is located at the corner of the parking lot. This hole is lightly wooded.
#3 Par 3. Tee box is located at 1oclock from the basket when facing the pond. This is a longer hole at the course, but again, pretty straight forward.
#4 Par 4. Tee box is located next to a stump at 2-3oclock from the basket when facing the pond. Throwing across the road for an easy par.
#5 Par 3. Tee box is located just off of the sidewalk be the drainage pipe going under the road. Hole is on the hill across the creek.
#6 Par 3. Tee box is hard to find on this one. The tee box is located about 5-10 feet away from the edge of the pond. from #5 basket, walk to the pond edge and go left. This is a major uphill drive, but is not too difficult.
#7 Par 3. Personal favorite hole. Teebox is located on the walking track around the pond. Walk towards the lamp post close to #5 basket. Basket is across the pond to the left of the bridge. Possible ace, easy birdie.
#8 Par 3. Tee box is located on the walking track. Hole is to the right of the club house of the apartments up the small hill. Option of driving through a hole in the trees or going around the trees.
#9 Par 3. Tee box is located near the lamp post om the road. Hole is parallel with the road.
#10 Par 3. Tee box is located within 10 feet of #8's tee box. Hole is located behind the trees near the blue emergency pole.
#11 Par 3. Tee box is in the middle of nowhere by the apartments, locals play from the grass island in the parking lot. Short and easy hole.
#12 Par 3. Close personal favorite Go down the stairs towards the pond. To your right is a huge hill . At the bottom is the hole, Turn left and the tee box is about 30 feet up the walking track.
#13 Par 3. Big water hazard here. Tee box is located up the hill by the bench. Throwing across the rocky area for pond overflow. Many have lost a disc here.
#14 Par 4. Tee box is located on the bank of the pond where the land juts out a bit. Hole is on top of the hill across the creek towards the football field.
#15 Par 3. Tee box is located near the road a little way from the basket. Easy birdie.
#16 Par 3. Tee box is nowhere near hole #15. From the #15 basket, walk up the stairs towards the student union. Hole is located on the other side of the student union on the sidewalk. Long drive on this one.
#17 Par 3. No tee box markers on this one. Tee box is unofficially where the sidewalk from the bell tower and student union meet. Throwing down hill towards the 'Boiling Spring'.
#18 Par 4. Tee box is just before you get to the side walk that follows the road. Basket is located directly towards the parking lot your car is in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice college course

1    5/18/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice nine-hole layout on the campus of Gardner-Webb. Based on old reviews, the new layout is a big improvement. The course winds throw the back part of campus, behind the lake.
- A good array of hole layouts - doglegs, wooded & open holes, water in play and a little elevation throughout the nine. There is only one 'easy' birdie hole (#8), the other holes require a little shot making to earn your birdies.
- Good use of the land adds to the quality of holes. The water holes are all different from each other: #3 - water is behind basket on downhill shot, so don't throw long; #4 is an uphill shot over the lake & #5 is a downhill, dogleg back over the water. Other holes have good use of trees - #9 is shot around the trees to a protected basket.
- Easy course to navigate. Tee pads are close to previous hole's basket, so minimal wasted walking. Tees are marked by red minis in the ground. This all adds up to a quick round.
- Nice scenery and clean landscape, very pleasant experience playing. I played when no classes were taking play (between spring and summer classes), so campus/course area was deserted. There might be more issues & crowding while school is in session.
Cons: A buddy and I couldn't find the first tee. We walked around for 5 minutes and didn't see anything indicating the tee (mini discs, signs, marking on pavement or sidewalk, etc). No problems for the other eight holes.
- The water holes all have some lost disc factor. The water is brown and murky, so any disc in it will be impossible to spot. You also have to be careful not to hit the trees along the water on #5 (it's a creek at this point), or you might end up wet.
- Course is in a greenway area near a lot of buildings, so it might not be playable during school days. There might also be issues parking on campus during those times, so use common sense when playing.
- There is construction going on across the water. It might have an effect on #4 (basket is in the construction area) & #5 tee.
Other Thoughts: Course is pretty simple and straightforward. You won't be amazed playing here, but you're not going to be disappointed. Along those lines, no single hole is great, but it's a solid variety of 9 decent to above-average holes.
- This course is better (and cleaner) than another nearby nine-holer (Palmer in Shelby).
- Based on the reviews for the old layout, this is a major improvement. I never had a desire to play the old layout, so I was cautiously optimistic when I played. Easy to say, I was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of this layout. Good job to whoever decided to redo the course. It was a wise choice.

- I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, but if you're driving along 74, it's worth a stop. Based on the conditions when I played here (empty campus, no crowding issues), I'd say this is slightly better than the average 9-holer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/17/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: OrangeRocks
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is challenging but won't hurt your feelings if you're a beginner/intermediate. Water in play on holes 1,3,4, and 5. Fair amount of trees and some decent elevation changes. A fun course to play.
Cons: Tees are marked with 2 red Innova markers in the ground. No signage. Often have to wait on students walking to and from class before throwing on a couple of holes but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Course is in good shape. Plans are for the course to expand after completion of some construction projects going on on campus.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  New Course at Gardner Webb

2-4    8/2/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: BradfordTClark
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has been moved out of the woods and now sits in a wooded grassy area near the lake and fountain.

All holes are par 3's and offer up a good mix of technical drives, needed to get around all the trees, and rolling hills on most holes, requiring you to work on your throw elevation as well.

The tee boxes are visible from the catcher of the previous hole.
Cons: I couldn't find the tee for the first hole, I ended up just using the edge of the sidewalk as my tee box.

There is a lake that comes into play on holes 3-5, and there is no going into this lake to get your disc unless you want to fight with a goose or eighty.
Other Thoughts: I was happily surprised by the course as a whole. It is not overly difficult for beginners or intermediate players and offers some challenges for more advanced players as well.

I have yet to see anyone else playing on the course, but school hasn't been in session since I started to play here. I am hoping that when students come back I could find some other people to play with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be geat

1    1/12/2009   1/7/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is on a college campus. It is in the woods.
Cons: It is hard to find and navigate. totally overgrown. limbs and debris everywhere.
Other Thoughts: could be great, it expanded and had people who cared and wanted to ulitize it often. the intramural staff said they planned to relocate the course to a more suitable area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Updated

5+    3/1/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Mcswainmj
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great town and good practice course. good area and great location. Mostly short holes, so ideal for practicing your par 3 game!
Cons: Winds through the college so sometime students are laying out or in hammocks. Not fun to try and avoid hitting them.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D = Dis Course Needs Help (clear the underbrush maybe?)

1    8/20/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The land this course is on makes for perfect DG course.
- Looks like several of the holes are really interesting/good.
- The baskets are in perfect shape - brand new Innova Discatchers.
Cons: - The course is totally overgrown and unplayable! See the pictures. Several of the fairways could not even be clearly viewed to see what was intended.
- Impossible to navigate. It took forever to find several of the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Please clean this course up and promote it. I am sure it could get a ton of play from the students. It looks like it could easily be expanded to 18 great holes - many in the open/semi-open area ....and that would make it more visible and help promote it even more.

This remote college campus seems like it could use as many activities as possible for the student body to enjoy.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.