Glenwood, WA 
Mt. Adams Lodge Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 369ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Basket #5, from mid-fairway



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Primitive Course At Mt. Adams Lodge !

1    6/26/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course was the drive in with it's beautiful views of Mt. Adams and the drive out with it's views of Mt. Hood. A very enjoyable drive here on uncrowded country roads. The lodge is a bed and breakfast situated on 80 acres. Only this didn't seem like a mountain lodge to me, more like a country lodge. Granted, you're fairly close to the mountain but the countryside surrounding the lodge is flatland farming country.
The course plays mostly through an young pine forrest and some meadowland with no elevation about. There are homemade signs stuck in the ground on most of the holes although one was missing and one laying flat on the ground. Most baskets are the portable ones along with a couple of permanent ones which were just stuck in the ground. The teepads are natural and not always very level. The course shows that it doesn't get much play. Seven of the holes were fairly similiar, 200 ft. straight tunnel shots. There were a couple of doglegs. The owners dogs joined me for part of my round.
Cons: This is a long drive for most disc golf players.
Temporary baskets.
Natural, not so wonderful, teepads.
Most holes had a similar feel.
No elevation.
No holes with any length to them.
Most of the course lies in a wet land type area. I think this probably makes this a summer only course.
Other Thoughts: If I lived just down the street in the little town, I'd play this course. But I would try and work with the owners to develop it more, make the fairways more defined, maybe incorporate the little pond, definitly add some distance and variety to the course. It's pretty rustic right now.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Adams Lodge

2-4    5/1/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Mt. Adams Lodge is a beautiful bed & breakfast retreat located at the base of the 12, 276 foot Mt. Adams in the Cascade Range of Washington. This 80-acre ranch is surrounded by ponderosa pines and meadowland of the Glenwood Valley, and less than a two-hour scenic drive from Portland, Oregon. As the previous reviewer stated, the first thing I noticed were the stunning views along I-84 and through Goldendale on my way to the course. There were massive valleys, with running rivers, beautiful wildlife (elk, deer, eagles, etc.), and breathtaking views of the mountains and sky during sunset.

This hidden gem is currently 9 holes with the talk of expanding to eventually 18. The course is a mix of open and tight wooded fairways, which loop around the Mt. Adams Lodge and cabins. Along the way players will see great mountain views, wildflowers, birds, elk, deer, and various kinds of raptors. Navigation throughout the course is easy considering most of the tee pads are within a few yards of the pin. Each hole although technical, can be approached with a simple thumber or tomahawk considering most of the trees are fairly short and can be easily cleared. Fairways have little underbrush and are well maintained, making play more relaxing as locating your disc is fairly easy. Each tee pad is dirt, and for the time being appropriate considering there is usually nobody out there playing as the course is used primarily by a few locals and those who live near Hood River. Eventually, they may want to look in to some rubber mats once they expand the course and it gets more popular.
Cons:
The largest issue I can think of is the fact that Mt. Adams Lodge is located on 80 acres and yet uses very little of the land for the course itself. Eventually, it would be nice to see them expand to 18 or even 27 holes, or at least add alternate tee pads for the current nine to add more distance and difficulty. Hole #2 could really benefit from this since it currently has players teeing off in front of the pond. If they could add another tee behind it, it could eventually be their "signature" hole.

Tee signs are an issue too, as they are currently tiny wooden yellow signs which lay on the ground near each tee pad. Some of the baskets are broken and in desperate need of an upgrade as well. However, Mt. Adams recently had a fund raiser for new signs and baskets during their inaugural tournament so these issues should be taken care of shortly.
Other Thoughts:
When I visited Mt. Adams I was there for their inaugural Mt. Adams Lodge Tournament for the World's Biggest Disc Golf Weekend and I must say I had a blast! They had 9 extra holes which added to the course making, making it longer and more difficult. The Hood River DG Club hosted it along with Julee and Tim, and I must say that they were some of the mellowest and considerate people I have ever had the privilege of being around. They were very organized, efficient, and friendly, and with the addition of Next Adventures "Ring of Fire", made for one hell of a tournament. It was the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of Seattle, and I am glad I made the journey!

NOTE: The Mt. Adams Lodge houses 16-50 guests in 16 units including the four cabins ($95-190/night), and also allows camping at ($5/night). Each morning they also serve a hearty breakfast in the cookhouse where they serve some of the best blueberry and huckleberry pancakes I have ever had!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mt. Adams Lodge is a bed and breakfast with a disc golf course on their beautiful property. The very first thing I noticed was the scenic beauty on the ride up from I-84. The view of the mountain from the course is amazingly stunning that it almost distracts me from putting on hole one! The owners are very friendly and welcoming making you feel right at home. They have rooms to rent and camping on site as well and if you spend the night be sure to be in time for breakfast as they know how to cook up pancakes, eggs and bacon, believe you me! The course is a shorter technical style of play with mandos and tree obstacles but people with thumbers and tomahawks will score very well as most of the tree obstacles are easily able to be cleared. Navigation is simple with most tee pads being close to the last basket. I can guarantee you will be the only person on the course at any time with this being in such remote location. It's nice to come and play a course like this as most places are in town, noisy, full of garbage and other people and this is the anti city style disc golf course. This course is best suited to Novice and Intermediate players looking to improve accuracy.
Cons: The biggest con for me is that there is a ton of land out here and very little is being used. I would like to see two 18 hole courses on site as they have the land for it; whether or not they want to use that land on disc golf or not is up to them but it could attract more players here. There is a nice pond during the short walk from basket one to tee two that could easily have been used to create a fun water hazard hole. It is a long way out of the way from just about anywhere so it's hard to justify going so far for just one course but if you do it's a fun drive. Some baskets are broken down and don't catch well, these need to be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: They need to redesign this course to make it a little more challenging and add another 9 holes as well as add a second course on site and this would be a nice destination to hit. I played it during the World's Biggest Disc Golf Weekend Tournament so we saw a modified layout with 18 holes and it looked pretty good. The owners Julee and Tim are such down to earth and nice people, stop in some time and say hi.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Its got baskets.

5+    4/3/2013   2/6/2010
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you have never been to the Glenwood, Wa area then one of the pro's is you will see some beautiful country. Following the White Salmon is a wonderful drive. The lodge is secluded and has friendly dogs to greet you. There are tee signs and baskets for 13 holes. Not too hard for a beginner, elderly or youths. The dogs were well behaved and left our disc alone.
Cons: The tees are so natural, I call them "super natural", they are placed in a flattened area at least . The mowing is not a priority on the course and that makes looking for a disc tough on occasion. With proper support from a club it could become an amazing course. It is a long drive for a round of disc golf from most Gorge communities, but not for a disc golf or family get-a-way!
Other Thoughts: With some TLC this could become a great course. Tons of land to work with. Hope the best for the Flying L Ranch.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cool place

1    2/7/2008   1/8/2009
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: We stayed at the lodge last winter and threw discs there before they had baskets installed. We were up there on a snowshoe trip and threw some discs. I can imagine that this course would be great in the summer with baskets, I hope to check it out again. The lodge is a cool place to stay in the Mount Adams area. The snowshoeing was epic too.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.