Mount Airy, NC 
Westwood Park Share
Uploaded By: DSCJNKY Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A Beginner's Level Course That is Not Suitable for Beginners

1    11/8/2015   11/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 nice Innova discatchers are a scattered in a nice piece of pretty wooded terrain. The Westwood Park is a very nice multi-purpose park and disc golf is set aside in an area that offers little interference with the other park activities. The course is easily findable at the end of the parking lot and a solid, informative kiosk ushers players to the first tee. The kiosk even goes so far as to explain that the "2 meter rule" is in effect at all times on this course (though I'm not a huge fan of that rule, at least it is clearly there on the kiosk for clarification).

There is a decent attempt at tee pads, though see below, they are far from perfect. There are also hole signs, again see below. I give the park credit for these attempts, but they are both misguided as I will go into later.

Holes 5, 6, and 7 are perfectly serviceable holes. 5 is a pretty throw from a slight tunnel drive that curls back into the woods on the right. It is a fairly nice design. 6 is a straightforward throw down the hill into the woods, and 7 is actually a good RHBH hyzer throw up a hill. Good shots on these holes felt rewarding.
Cons: There are a lot of design elements in this course that are a bit concerning. The first 4 holes feel like they are all crammed together into a space the size of a dinner plate.

Hole 1 is a straight 130ish foot throw to an unguarded basket, and the tee is sitting on the edge of the 9th green. It is hard to get excited when the first hole is so bland.

Hole 2 really fooled me. I thought I threw a beautiful drive to the basket on the left, but oops, that was hole 4's basket. The basket for 2 is off to the right and is not visible from the tee. That was a bit unusual to see a basket clearly on the teebox and not have it be the intended target.

Hole 3 is an oddball, basically a semicircle hole. No disc flies that path. It is just a bad hole. There is at least a mando taped to the tree to try to keep players from chopping through the trees. Designs like this just aren't good holes, and I don't think having impossible lines is a good way to get people interested in the sport. Hole 3's tee is also on 2 green which isn't safe.

Hole 4 is an ok throw, a short RHBH hyzer. The green is in play from 2 tee, and unfortunately the basket is a bit mangled.

Hole 5 plays directly over the back of 1 green, and hole 6 teebox is located on 5 green. The shot to that green can be blind so that is not really safe.

Hole 6's green has hole 7's tee on it to the left.

Hole 8 tee is somehow on the green of both hole 5 and 7.

I was also a bit confused on hole 9. There is a teebox clearly there, but off to the left in the clearing is a set of neon flags and a matted down area which looks like it is either the new tee or an alternate tee. I wasn't sure what to do there, so I played from the box that looked like the rest.

The teeboxes are a bit of a mess. Not only are most of them on a previous hole's green as noted above, but they are also quite short. They are made of what looked to be packed sand which has really worn badly and they are terribly uneven. Luckily a runup really isn't necessary here on most holes due to the short length

The hole signs are amongst the weirdest I have seen. They are located on every other hole and contain 2 holes each. Take a look at the pictures in the media section. The format is Hole#, Par# so it shows up as H#P#. I'm not sure why they went with the alternating hole format on the tee signs, and I have never seen that before. I suppose they are better than no tee signs at all, but it just seemed weird.

Finally, the hole pars here are way too generous. Every hole is easily a par 3. It is unfortunate when courses heavily inflate the par on holes that are not navigable due to poor hole design (i.e. hole 3).
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely set at a beginner level. From the very short hole lengths and unreasonably high hole pars, it clearly is aimed at drawing beginners into the sport. The course overall, however, is not at all beginner friendly with the layout issues noted above. I have to wonder if the course designers were actually disc golfers because of some of the questionable design elements. There are too many opportunities for a beginner's wayward throw to cause problems for other golfers.

There was so much available space around this course that I wonder why this loop ended up so short, compact, and dangerously close. I think a much better course could be made here with some tweaks. As it stands, I can see this course being difficult to play if multiple groups are out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

For those who prefer an Anny over Andy (or Aunt Bee)

1    4/26/2015   4/26/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westwood Park is a nice pitch-and-putt nine holer. Located in the hills of Mount Airy, it's good for beginners or a quick round.
- This is essentially your typical, small-town, beginner-friendly nine-hole introductory course. It's a simple, easy course offering some enjoyable holes along with a couple duds.
- The course takes advantage of the hills and woods. This creates some fun layouts. #1 is a short, downhill shot. It's the type of shot where your throw could sail 75 feet past the basket if you throw too hard.
- There is one, truly good hole - #5. It's a down and up shot, starting out in the woods, throwing over a field, to a dogleg right basket back in the woods. It's a solid layout, nice scenery and good challenge. This is the only hole on the course that would be a very challenging 2. It's also the course's only hole that you might possibly see on a more advanced level course. Very well done.
- Course is easy to navigate. Turning into the park, there was a sign for the disc golf course, which led right to the first tee, and #9's basket. From there the holes are all closely bunched together - too much so at times - that there's very little walking from hole to hole. The only slight navigational issue is that the basket for #4 is the one you see on #2's tee.
- Course is great for beginners and casual players. This level of player will enjoy some of the unique hole layouts, such as the triangle-shaped hole design of #3. Without much length and almost no chance of lost discs, even first timers should see chances at birdies here. I brought two discs with me when I played. One was never used, except when I threw a second putt.
- This is a very nice park with plenty of amenities - ball field, picnic areas, walking trails, etc. The course itself doesn't have amenities - meaning benches - but none are needed. It took me 15 minutes to play nine-holes, so there wasn't any need to rest.
Cons: The biggest problem with the course is that it's too cramped into too small of a space. Because of that, holes overlap each other. Were this course ever crowded, that would be a major issue. When you're the only person on the course - as I was - it's just a nuisance.
- All or parts of holes #2 - 5 interfere with each other. As stated above, the basket for #4 comes into play on hole #2; tee pads for #3 - 5 all play too close to, or as part of, the prior hole's fairway. This park seems to have enough space. Why not spread the course out a little more? With a course aimed at beginners, there will be errant throws. A course like this doesn't need the hassle of people getting hit by discs when it could have been prevented beforehand.
- Tee signs are odd. As others have mentioned, tee signs are listed on every other hole, showing the layout for the current hole and the next hole - #1 shows layout for 1 & 2; #3 shows for 3 & 4, etc. That's a bit different, as in I've never seen it anywhere else. But, what makes the signs almost useless is that they're so vague, they don't provide much help. After the third or fourth hole, I gave up on them because they seemed to be creating more confusion than actually helping.
- I'm a stickler for details, so it's a bit annoying there are no hole distances listed. That would something useful to have on the tee signs, more so than ambiguous pictures of hole layouts.
Other Thoughts: Westwood course is good for what it offers. It's not meant to appeal to people like me or better players. Who it will appeal to is families, first-time players and casual players. For them, this course is a success.
- That said, I viewed my round here as mostly a series of approach shots. It's a good thing I didn't need to do any run-ups on my tee shots because the pads are dirt and very uneven. This course gave me a chance to throw big hyzer and anhyzer shots more often than I typically do, so that was a positive.
- There were enough adequate holes that this course kept my interest. You can tell the course wasn't designed by disc golfers. That said, holes #1, 5, 7 & 9 were all good enough that it made me overlook the lesser quality layouts.
- Whether at Westwood Park or somewhere else in this region; but, this region is prime location for great disc golf courses. There are plenty of rolling hills in a park like this, and throughout the area. Whether building a course throughout this park, or finding another park in the area, there is untapped potential in the Mount Airy area. As for the course in its current state, it's nothing special. If you're in the area, spend 15 - 20 minutes like I did for a quick round. If not, it's not worth a drive to play here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring a bag of putters!

1    9/26/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 125  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with many other amenities including a challenging bike trail (from what I'm told).

Nearly every hole is a putter hole, exception being maybe 5 and 9, depending on your arm strength. If you're looking to rip drives, forget about that here.

With the land that they used, they certainly didn't make these short holes too easy. They still require a certain level of precision in order to be rewarded.

You'll have plenty of chances to hit an ace. If you were to throw this course a few times or even a few discs per hole, I wouldn't be surprised if you hit one nearly every time you go out.

For what is essentially a mini-golf course, this was still pretty fun and something I'd come back to if I were in the area, but not necessarily if I had to drive out of the way.
Cons: Way too short! There seems like there is a bunch of land out there to be used and this course is crammed into a tiny section of the park. I think someone could really make a decent 9 hole course out here with some more challenging shots that, dare I say, might require a driver.

The tee boxes suffice for this course, but only this course.(maybe Elon park in Charlotte, also) They are entirely too small for dg standards, but since you'll likely be standing still and chucking a putter, they're fine out here.

The signs are among the strangest I've ever seen in disc golf. I don't think I've ever seen each hole sign have the next hole layout on it as well. Just didn't make a lot of sense and I just ignored them.

Even with the course being so small, it is still fairly wooded and hilly and there is a distinct chance you could still lose a disc. Unlikely, maybe, but the hill behind hole 1 has probably claimed a few since it was overgrown when I went. Please be careful and look at the basket on hole 1 before throwing!
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to teach someone about the game. Know what you're getting into when you drive out here. Grab a bunch of kids and a bag full of putters, plan a picnic at the pavilion and throw ace runs all day!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No "airing it out" in Mt. Airy

1    10/27/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1319  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 27.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice informative kiosk

Beautiful area, Beautiful park. plenty of parking. big shelter adjacent to the Disc Golf course.

Cons: 2 tee signs at one hole. the one t-sign shows the layout of the hole your playing and the other one is for the next hole, huh? I've never seen that before. and was very perplexed why they did that here. Because it just adds to the confusion. and with no explanation of the wording or abbreviations that the designer uses on the tee sign might have someone thinking, I'm confused, where is the next hole? As the tee sign states H3P4 and then the tee sign below it says H4P4. What the____ does that mean. I mean I know what it meant, but will everyone?;mode=media

very small tee boxes. I'll say one step throw with my stance.

The very first hole has a basket at the edge of a very steep hill (which to me is cool), but to the novice player that probably plays this course on a regular basis......

Not enough trash cans located on the holes. I didn't see much trash, but considering the type of player who playing this course. I'm thinking that's one reason why there isn't much trash strewn around.
Other Thoughts: To small of a course with so much more park to utilize. I mean this park is really has potential and someone needs to address this and make this course more than a course for 14 year olds and younger or for a course bagger (like myself), because this is a really beautiful area with a really beautiful park for a good, if not better Disc Golf course to be played on. unlike the current set up. Just as the other course that is nearby (Armfield Civic Center). If you redesign this course into good or really good DG course in the park that is available you'll see bigger benefits from having more challenging Disc Golf courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: AlexD243
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Works on forearm shots, teaches you to drive with putters and mid-ranges, and great for beginners or experienced players that want to birdie and eagle every hole.
Cons: Small, tee boxes to small, need signs at every hole, and only 9 holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Barney Fife's Course

2-4    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 342  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
- Beautiful Park. Mount Airy is gorgeous in general and Westwood Park is no different. Huge trees, a reservoir, green green grass, elevation, fresh mountain air, etc... It's a perfect place for a disc golf course.
- Punishment for Bad Shots. Even though the course was relatively short, there was plenty of punishment for shots that didn't find the fairway.
- Great FAIRways. The fairways were pretty fair (20' wide swaths through the trees with intended flight paths)... and good looking too.
- Clustered. They crammed these 9 Holes onto a postage stamp. There's no need for next tee signs here... since the next tee is literally 10' from the previous pin. Lots of paralleling fairways. In two places on the course there 2 baskets and 2 tee pads within a 70' circle... would be slightly dangerous if more than three groups were on the course at the same time.
- Tee-Pads... Did the "Stand-Still-Bomber" James Nichols design these tee-pads? They might have been 3'x4'. Although most of the holes were short enough that it wasn't a problem... and starting off the back is an option.
- Signage. They had signage (which is a pro), however, the signage was extremely primitive. The biggest problem was that there was one sign for 2 holes, so every other hole had a sign that covered that hole as well as the next hole (weird). No distances were given... and extremely generous "Rec" pars were given (Par 5 250'ers).
Other Thoughts:
- Room for More. There is definitely room to make this course shine. The Park is HUGE, has tons of elevation, water, woods, grass, etc... So much more could have been done.
- My Score: -6 on 9 Holes (using Pro Par)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 putter time

1    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, beautiful park, good signage, a place to play if you are in a hurry and need to get your DG fix and you only have a putter. It gives you a chance to try many different types of shots or throws and will improve you game in the long run a good practice course.
Cons: Very short, you do not get to give the disc a good toss anywhere. Tee boxes are very small so it is a good thing the holes are short. Somewhat of a Disc Golf version of goofy golf with all the short drives and hard turns even a J hole. Baskets were close enough that from the tee you would see multiple baskets and had to figure out which one to throw to
Other Thoughts: They tried to cram a lot into a small area, may have done better to use less baskets and multiple tees so some longer throws would be possible

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

2-4    7/10/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of land and elevation. Good variety of shots and mix of open and wooded land. Most holes are very short but extremely fun to play. The holes are fair and there are a few great risk/reward scenarios for such a short course. The designer did an excellent job with what they were working with.
Cons: Tee boxes are way too small. Only a 9 hole course (otherwise would have rated it a 3.5). Holes are short, but to be expected in a small town with few players.
Other Thoughts: All holes are par 3s to tournament level players. Two of them are very difficult to 2, but possible for pros and some ams. Not worth alot of travel to play, but fun if your in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High Potential

1    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's DISC GOLF.
Nice surrounding area within local park. Numerous activities nearby...softball, walking trails, biking trails, fitness course, etc.
Although most are very short holes, the winding fairways through the dense woods will challenge new and intermediate players. Elevation changes on every hole as expected in foothill/mountain course.
First, fifth, and ninth hole share common "field" without any danger of crossfire.
Cons: Two baskets had recently been stolen and one basket damaged. Friendly local players assured this was a rare occurence that would be resolved as soon as new baskets are LOCKED onto poles.
SHORT course yet technical. Played the entire 9-hole course for the first time within 15 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see the course extended into surrounding land when possible to allow players from nearby cities reason to visit more frequently.
Current setup could be enhanced with multiple teeboxes for "back" nine play or more challenging tee placements.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.