Mt. Airy, NC 
Westwood Park Share
Uploaded By: DSCJNKY Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring a bag of putters!

1    9/26/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 69  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with many other amenities including a challenging bike trail (from what I'm told).

Nearly every hole is a putter hole, exception being maybe 5 and 9, depending on your arm strength. If you're looking to rip drives, forget about that here.

With the land that they used, they certainly didn't make these short holes too easy. They still require a certain level of precision in order to be rewarded.

You'll have plenty of chances to hit an ace. If you were to throw this course a few times or even a few discs per hole, I wouldn't be surprised if you hit one nearly every time you go out.

For what is essentially a mini-golf course, this was still pretty fun and something I'd come back to if I were in the area, but not necessarily if I had to drive out of the way.
Cons: Way too short! There seems like there is a bunch of land out there to be used and this course is crammed into a tiny section of the park. I think someone could really make a decent 9 hole course out here with some more challenging shots that, dare I say, might require a driver.

The tee boxes suffice for this course, but only this course.(maybe Elon park in Charlotte, also) They are entirely too small for dg standards, but since you'll likely be standing still and chucking a putter, they're fine out here.

The signs are among the strangest I've ever seen in disc golf. I don't think I've ever seen each hole sign have the next hole layout on it as well. Just didn't make a lot of sense and I just ignored them.

Even with the course being so small, it is still fairly wooded and hilly and there is a distinct chance you could still lose a disc. Unlikely, maybe, but the hill behind hole 1 has probably claimed a few since it was overgrown when I went. Please be careful and look at the basket on hole 1 before throwing!
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to teach someone about the game. Know what you're getting into when you drive out here. Grab a bunch of kids and a bag full of putters, plan a picnic at the pavilion and throw ace runs all day!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

No "airing it out" in Mt. Airy

1    10/27/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice informative kiosk

Beautiful area, Beautiful park. plenty of parking. big shelter adjacent to the Disc Golf course.

Cons: 2 tee signs at one hole. the one t-sign shows the layout of the hole your playing and the other one is for the next hole, huh? I've never seen that before. and was very perplexed why they did that here. Because it just adds to the confusion. and with no explanation of the wording or abbreviations that the designer uses on the tee sign might have someone thinking, I'm confused, where is the next hole? As the tee sign states H3P4 and then the tee sign below it says H4P4. What the____ does that mean. I mean I know what it meant, but will everyone? http://www.dgcoursereview.com...mp;mode=media

very small tee boxes. I'll say one step throw with my stance.

The very first hole has a basket at the edge of a very steep hill (which to me is cool), but to the novice player that probably plays this course on a regular basis......

Not enough trash cans located on the holes. I didn't see much trash, but considering the type of player who playing this course. I'm thinking that's one reason why there isn't much trash strewn around.
Other Thoughts: To small of a course with so much more park to utilize. I mean this park is really has potential and someone needs to address this and make this course more than a course for 14 year olds and younger or for a course bagger (like myself), because this is a really beautiful area with a really beautiful park for a good, if not better Disc Golf course to be played on. unlike the current set up. Just as the other course that is nearby (Armfield Civic Center). If you redesign this course into good or really good DG course in the park that is available you'll see bigger benefits from having more challenging Disc Golf courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: AlexD243
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Works on forearm shots, teaches you to drive with putters and mid-ranges, and great for beginners or experienced players that want to birdie and eagle every hole.
Cons: Small, tee boxes to small, need signs at every hole, and only 9 holes.

 Barney Fife's Course

2-4    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful Park. Mount Airy is gorgeous in general and Westwood Park is no different. Huge trees, a reservoir, green green grass, elevation, fresh mountain air, etc… It's a perfect place for a disc golf course.
- Punishment for Bad Shots. Even though the course was relatively short, there was plenty of punishment for shots that didn't find the fairway.
- Great FAIRways. The fairways were pretty fair (20' wide swaths through the trees with intended flight paths)… and good looking too.
Cons:
- Clustered. They crammed these 9 Holes onto a postage stamp. There's no need for next tee signs here… since the next tee is literally 10' from the previous pin. Lots of paralleling fairways. In two places on the course there 2 baskets and 2 tee pads within a 70' circle… would be slightly dangerous if more than three groups were on the course at the same time.
- Tee-Pads… Did the "Stand-Still-Bomber" James Nichols design these tee-pads? They might have been 3'x4'. Although most of the holes were short enough that it wasn't a problem… and starting off the back is an option.
- Signage. They had signage (which is a pro), however, the signage was extremely primitive. The biggest problem was that there was one sign for 2 holes, so every other hole had a sign that covered that hole as well as the next hole (weird). No distances were given… and extremely generous "Rec" pars were given (Par 5 250'ers).
Other Thoughts:
- Room for More. There is definitely room to make this course shine. The Park is HUGE, has tons of elevation, water, woods, grass, etc… So much more could have been done.
- My Score: -6 on 9 Holes (using Pro Par)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 putter time

1    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, beautiful park, good signage, a place to play if you are in a hurry and need to get your DG fix and you only have a putter. It gives you a chance to try many different types of shots or throws and will improve you game in the long run a good practice course.
Cons: Very short, you do not get to give the disc a good toss anywhere. Tee boxes are very small so it is a good thing the holes are short. Somewhat of a Disc Golf version of goofy golf with all the short drives and hard turns even a J hole. Baskets were close enough that from the tee you would see multiple baskets and had to figure out which one to throw to
Other Thoughts: They tried to cram a lot into a small area, may have done better to use less baskets and multiple tees so some longer throws would be possible

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/10/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of land and elevation. Good variety of shots and mix of open and wooded land. Most holes are very short but extremely fun to play. The holes are fair and there are a few great risk/reward scenarios for such a short course. The designer did an excellent job with what they were working with.
Cons: Tee boxes are way too small. Only a 9 hole course (otherwise would have rated it a 3.5). Holes are short, but to be expected in a small town with few players.
Other Thoughts: All holes are par 3s to tournament level players. Two of them are very difficult to 2, but possible for pros and some ams. Not worth alot of travel to play, but fun if your in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 High Potential

1    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's DISC GOLF.
Nice surrounding area within local park. Numerous activities nearby...softball, walking trails, biking trails, fitness course, etc.
Although most are very short holes, the winding fairways through the dense woods will challenge new and intermediate players. Elevation changes on every hole as expected in foothill/mountain course.
First, fifth, and ninth hole share common "field" without any danger of crossfire.
Cons: Two baskets had recently been stolen and one basket damaged. Friendly local players assured this was a rare occurence that would be resolved as soon as new baskets are LOCKED onto poles.
SHORT course yet technical. Played the entire 9-hole course for the first time within 15 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see the course extended into surrounding land when possible to allow players from nearby cities reason to visit more frequently.
Current setup could be enhanced with multiple teeboxes for "back" nine play or more challenging tee placements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center