Augusta, MI 
Fort Custer Rec. Area DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 330ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Lots of Potential

1    6/15/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open fairways. Hand Painted maps on some holes are a nice touch. Hopefully maps for all holes coming soon. Creatively mowed fairways on the open holes. Good "on the green" style landing areas for many holes.
Cons: Course still under construction. Tee pads were a little short for my drive run up. Some holes play close enough to the beach that a shanked drive may hit swimmers or sunbathers. Scorecard map lacks detail, sometimes makes it difficult to locate next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is going to be a nice course when they get it finished. I hope they concentrate on finishing the first 18 before going on to the proposed 27 holes. Be aware that many baskets have been moved, so the number on the basket isn't always the number of the hole you are playing. (as of June '09)
WATER HAZARDS! This course plays along the shore of Eagle Lake for much of its distance, and while water hazards aren't super close to the fairway, depending on the lakeside winds and tree kicks you could put one in the drink easily enough.
Also, SNAKES! I lost a Discraft Elite Z XS on Hole 2 while i was out there and in the course of looking for it I almost stepped on a 3 foot long water snake near the lake shore.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Custer

2-4    9/20/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a great course last year, before some jerkoffs stole the 10 of the 18 baskets. I have yet to throow it in 2009 and do not really plan on it. It is now only 9 holes and it is right by the guard shack, for those that didn't get to play it last year, you really missed out.
Cons: Changes made this year wrecked the course, do not waste your time. Several of my fellow disc golfers have thrown there this year only to be disappointed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Layout Update!!

5+    9/26/2010   10/31/2008
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 18 hole Beach Course is now open October thru May. Much easier, shorter, easier to follow than the summer layout.
A good mix of shots with water in play on 5 holes. Some wooded shots and some wide open holes. Not terribly hard.
Cons: Slippery pads and mosquitos by the lake.
Still needs some trimming near basket #12 and #18. 6 tees are new as of Septmeber 25th so they are not level yet.
Other Thoughts: The Beach Course will be open October thru May. 24 Top Secret Course will re-open in June and be playable thru the end of September. Although we had to reroute this course many times over the past 2 years I'm 99% certain we have a layout that will be inline with DNR zoning and (hopefully) will not be altered for several years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beach Course Update

5+    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: Ken Long
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fort Custer is under reconstruction. Two courses will be available sometime next year of '09. The Beach course (playable now w/12 holes) and the Championship course to be completed as time goes by with some very challenging breath taking holes we think you will like. Thank you.
Cons: Fort Custer utilizes rubber fly pads and natural (tee pads) instead of cement. These can become slippery due to sand or dirt. Be careful.
Since Fort Custer is a state recreation area...the usable land is in a multi-use mode. Meaning sharing with other outdoor groups. So...please use appropriate courtesies. Also a $5.00 daily fee is collected upon entering.
Thank you.

Other Thoughts: For the most part The Beach Course is completed with 12 baskets. The Beach Course is permanent and playable year round. The Beach course still needs signage and some mowing on a few holes. The tee pads will be natural with toeboards.
The back nine baskets will be pulled during hunting season during the following dates:
October 1st. - December 31st. & April 1st. - May 31st.
The "championship design" has been layed out, but no cutting has taken place. The old Worlds '08 course is still playable after the hunting seasons .Please bare with us.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic & Challenging

1    9/6/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best variety I've run across in a while. Lots of different length holes, and mixed up throughout the round. Lefty, righty and straight shots required, some elevation, some water comes into play on the front 9. Trees and rough come into play on the back 9. Some spectacular scenery, especially around the lake on the front 9, and you get a great view from the 18th basket of Eagle Lake.
Cons: The rubber tee pads aren't so nice. Very slippery when they get a little bit of sand on them (and there's a lot of sand here). Some of the rough can be a bit unforgiving. You might want to use a spotter on a few of the holes on the back 9. Signage for finding the first hole could be a bit better, but once you get going on the course, it flows pretty well, and there are little signs throughout pointing you in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Met with the designers when I played this course, and they were in the process of putting in some 'rec tees'. With a little more work, this could be a destination course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.