Lexington, KY 
Dixie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: amryan11   (Taken 6/2011)



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Safari Putt Putt practice

2-4    11/21/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's nice that this neighborhood has some baskets to practice on. This elementary school has five baskets which can be used ideally to introduce kids to the sport. There are maybe a couple of concrete tee pads, but if there's a course 'design' here, it's not clear. I am adding a layout map, so you can decide if you want to make something interesting enough out of it to want to stop by.

There are opportunities here to just make some safari golf shots, and to practice approaches and putting. The basket closest to the school building has a large tree, a fence line, and the building to work off of. The one farthest from the building actually has some trees nearby to 'complicate' the green a little. The other three are wide open.
Cons: Definitely not worth going more than five minutes out of your way to play. I just stopped in because I play 'em all!
Other Thoughts: Normally, I'll visit a course multiple times before writing a review, out of respect to those who design and install courses. Since this doesn't seem to have a 'design', I hope nobody minds if I don't stop in again… ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not really a "course", but OK for practice

1    6/13/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good for practicing shorter drives or putts
lawn is kept mowed
baskets are intact
open and generally deserted
Cons: only one tee I saw
only 4 baskets
no signs/no actual course layout
Other Thoughts: It's pretty much been made clear, this isn't actually a course. It's fine if you want to practice drives (like I did today) or putting or something, and there's nothing wrong with the baskets, but I'm not sure what the purpose of putting it in really was. It's not worth going to unless you just want somewhere convenient/open to practice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Only for Practice

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Toxik
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for practice and strength and that is all. Great for your long drives.
Cons: You gotta make your own course up and its way too open.
Other Thoughts: I liked it because of the openness of the holes to practice my drives.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets missing

1    6/7/2005   11/21/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a few baskets which could be used for putting practice - nothing else.
Cons: Baskets missing.
Baskets damaged.
Course not defined - Couldn't find all the baskets.
Don't bother looking for this one.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this was a viable 9 hole course at one point but not when I found it. I saw it listed near me and went to play it - boy was that a waste of gas & time. These baskets would be better served being pulled out of the ground and used as part of an actual course somewhere else.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 281  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 38.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short. great for elementary students.
Cons: missing tees and baskets. no signage at all.
Other Thoughts: great opportunity for local club or scouts to step up and fix the course

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.