Disc Golf Store
Evans, CO 
Pioneer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #7
3 / 285ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#7



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wet Aces

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 328  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Many aces, every hole is possible.
-Tees are marked by a stone in the ground.
-I liked hole 4. You can see the basket directly between two bushy trees but you don't really want to go for it because the gap is small and the trees would eat your disc. This makes you think about your options a little bit.
-It is easy to find your way around this course. Most tees are close to last basket.
-Other stuff to do here: playground for kids, shelter, soccer field (aka 3's fairway).
Cons: -Hole 2's basket is directly in front of 3's tee. I almost freaked myself out because people were watching me as I played through them (they were practicing near 3's basket) because I thought I was going to black ace the other basket. 5's tee is also in the line for an rhbh hyzer of 4's hole. 7's tee is in danger with an overthrow on 6. You get the picture. Most tees are pretty close to the last basket.
-Super short
-Most holes didn't have any real obstacles.
-The last half of the course plays over and through a retention pond. Don't play if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: -This was the last course that I played on my 6 course assault on the Greeley area. It certainly wasn't the best. I wouldn't recommend this course unless you lived in the large residential neighborhood next to the course, are a course bagger, or are a beginner or have kids. If you are looking for a challenge, it isn't here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Will do in a pinch, but go to better courses in town if possible

2-4    8/16/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of level change, and good distance change as well. It is in a park, so it is beautiful. Parking is super close, and convenient.
Cons: Mosquito population was insane here last time I went, but that was following a flood. Signage isn't great, as you have to walk around looking for hole markers... which rarely have tee pads. Center of the course is super marshy.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Evans, you are super close to any of the surrounding cities that have great courses. Outback, Epple, Oxbow, and Edora are only a hop, skip, and jump from here... go there instead. But this course will do in a pinch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Course

1    5/17/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: Baserunner360
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short: don't really need your disc bag for this course. This would be a good course to test out a new mid range driver since it is really short. I started out using the driver but realized very quickly I didn't need it. This course has some obstacles which made it fun. It was also a quick course as well. It took me about 20 mins to play the whole course.
Cons: The tees are hard to find. They are a small cement squares in the ground telling you the hole number. I couldn't find a couple of them so I had to guess according to the map that was hand drawn posted on the site.
Other Thoughts: Beginner course only; This is a course you would take a friend to to get them hooked on the sport. Very quick course if you just wanted to improve your form or maybe test a new disc.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Nine Hole Course With Wet Ending!

1    7/18/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 657  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pioneer Park is a small begineer course set in a nice little neighborhood park. The course has Innova baskets. The pads are marked with these small (10" x 3') concrete slabs set even with the grass. They're a pain to find and I never did find # 4. The holes are short, several are easy ACE runs of around 150'.
Cons: Holes 7 & 8 play through a retention pond which obviously holds water during and after any rain. It would most likely be unplayable at certain times. I normally don't mind these little ACE run type courses but this one was on the boring side.
Other Thoughts: I guess this would be an OK place to bring the family or a beginner. Come here if you live close and chase a few ACES. No-one is going to drive any distance to frequent Pioneer DGC, especially following any rains.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2009   5/18/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Can play round in 15 minutes. . Nice quick rounds. Good Work Break Round if you live close.
Cons: The Whole course it extremly short. The Difficulty is Minimal at Best.
Other Thoughts: If you are a Beginner this is your course. If not, well, then, not so much! Longest hole is #3 which is probably 290 at most. If you live in the area it is not a bad option, but otherwise the University of Northern Colorado Course is a much better option. This course is not worth a trip on it's own but if you're touring Greeley, CO this could be a nice ending round to the other 2 Greeley Courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ho-hum

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Innova Discatchers for baskets
-Most of the holes are ace runs
-Decent use of the few obstacles available (trees on a few holes and a little bit of elevation change but not much)
-Good course for beginners to learn on
Cons: -No long holes at all, every thing seemed extremely short
-No actual teepads just small concrete blocks that say the hole number on them. Without help it feels like you are looking for a needle in a haystack on some of the holes just to find the tee
-Absolutely poor course design. (The basket for hole 2 is about 10-15 feet straight in front of tee number 3, hole number four throws really close to the tee for hole 5, the tee on hole 7 is right on the edge of a small hill so you have to stand on a downhill slope for your drive off of hole 7)
-Many of the "tee areas" get muddy
-Several holes play pretty close to the playground
-Course is hard to navigate as each tee has about 2 or 3 baskets that could be the hole.
Other Thoughts: This course feels like a perfectly good waste of some good baskets. These baskets need to get in the basket protection program and find a new course that actually cares about them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Look Mommy, A Disc Golf Course Built For Me!

1    7/1/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical community park course that caters more to kids, families, and beginners. With nothing over 300', most beginners will enjoy this quick and easy stroll in and around the drainage ditch. Each tee box is marked with a concrete box set into the ground to not interfere with the mowers that have the number pressed into the concrete. The baskets are DISCatchers and are easy to spot in the open field with numbers clearly indicated on the yellow bars.

Since this is a community park that gets a lot of family use, there is playground equipment, walking trail, and manicured lawn that you can push a stroller on. This is a good place to drop off the family and get in a casual round and little more. A few holes have 10' to 15' minor elevation changes playing from the top of the retention pond to the bottom.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: The pro that is the con - it's a boring course meant for beginners and families. Anyone who is above the recreational level will be bored immediately, since there is absolutely no challenge or variety. Holes that do incorporate some trees like #2 are only about 150', so there simply not much that this course can offer decent players besides a possible ace run. Also, note that you'll need your insect repellent because Greeley is usually thick with mosquitoes in the summer.

The tee boxes are slightly rutted into the grass, which is more of a pro because the stupid tee markers are near impossible to find in the grass. I found myself looking for worn areas more than I was for concrete and still had a hard time finding #3, and never did stick it out long enough to locate #1. I understand the modern graveyard look is a convenience for the mowers, but it can be very aggravating to first timers to the course.

WORST HOLE/S: #9
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is that Pioneer Park will probably never be a destination location and is clearly ranked at the bottom of the three Greeley courses. If I have time, I would always rather play Epple Park or the University of N. Colorado Campus course over this place. However, my wife would like this course, because it plays right to her level, so if you have a rating below 750-800, you could actually enjoy the success you'll feel here. At least you won't have to fight to crowds like you might at the other courses. If you feel adding another course to your list, or need a quick fix and are in the area, Pioneer Park will do in a pinch.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Family and Kid Friendly

5+    5/31/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginning players and kids. I took my wife, brother-in-law, and nephew out to play here. My brother-in-law plays quite a bit, but my wife and nephew not so much. The two of them loved this course because there weren't alot of "good players" out there, and they were able to relax and just enjoy it. It is a nice course to play if you're having some trouble with your game and would like to try and tweak a few things without making the people behind you wait.
Cons: If you're not a beginner prepared to be bored with your below par score. Not a lot of challenging shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you have only 20 minutes or so and want to get through a course in a hurry. Get to put your brain on auto pilot unless you use alternate tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and boring

1    4/11/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Average small 9 hole course to practice if you live nearby. Holes are very short and pretty wide open, requiring only a putter and medium range driver. A few trees and slight elevation changes provide some challenge on a few holes. Good course for beginners.
Cons: This course is pretty boring overall. There is hardly any challenge involved. Unfortunately this really isn't a great area to have a course. Careful for kids from the nearby neighborhood. Watch out for the detention pond on the last few holes. The mud can get nasty, especially after rain. The pond can be hard to play when rainy and muddy. Swampy areas can harvest mosquitoes in the summer and early fall, so bring repellent.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the play unless you are just dying to throw and are close enough to the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fundamentals playground

5+    2/8/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 79  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is wide open as it is located in a new park with immature trees. A great place to get out and work on any shot you desire while not tearing up discs. Traffic is low so there's never a wait, except for the occasional pedestrian. This can be a very fun place for Ript rounds and Ace runs due to the short layout. Local club members and I have developed a set of long tees to utilize more of the bag. Safari course options are plentiful. Over the past year and a half, I've seen the foliage develop and can see the promise for added difficulty in the future. I have had some great times playing this course with friends and other league members.
Cons: Soccer practices on weeknights during the summer months(Tue and Thurs, I think.) Bring mosquito repellent!! Very short. Which could be viewed as a plus for beginners. Avoid the swampy cattail filled marsh area on holes 6,7,8. Holes 7,8,9 are located in a detention pond and are sometimes under water when it rains heavy enough.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for children playing in the playground near the 9th basket. Good course to play along with others in the area while on a day trip. Do your best to avoid the neighboring houses which are very close. Short holes next to the homes make this task easier.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.