Layout Extinct

Burlington, KY 
Boone Woods Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 stay away

1    10/2/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tima820
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: absolutely no one around
Cons: signs are all torn. no way of knowing which tees and holes are for which holes as some are totally not marked. 1/3 of the holes are torn out b/c of construction
Other Thoughts: stay away not worth it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Boone

1    6/4/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The seemingly random trees and bushes can punish arrant drives and do provide some challenge on a few holes.
Average to low elevation changes.
Decent tees on most holes.
Nicely mowed and clean when I played.
You will not lose a disc on this course with even average control off of the tee. This enables the course to be very beginner friendly and a good teaching course when not busy.
Hole 7 is nicely wooded.
Hole 11 is 422'.
Hole 9 is 348' and 10 is 315'.
Cons: All holes besides the ones described above are less than 300'.
There are lots of foot traffic of players who are very recreational and walk across fairways.
The signage for this course is abysmal with many broken signs and few holes that even have a sign.
Very hard to determine which basket is your target.
The baskets are rusty and old.
Other Thoughts: There is an annual ace race here that is enjoyable. Maybe the course would be fun as a 1 disc challenge etc.

This is located close to other courses so if you are a confident player you can avoid it all together when on a roadtrip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 will never go again

2-4    6/6/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: twentiesmrclean24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: if you have kids they can play there...if you like crowds of people walking around where your throwing and want to look at broken signs this is your course
Cons: broken signs , crowds of people weaving in and out of fairways, not very hard course overall...no offense

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

1    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits in a park that is mostly open with rolling hills throughout. Nearly all the holes have some kind of elevation change, and the hills were used well for the most part. The entire course is grassy, and was well taken care of and mowed when I played. There was almost no chance of losing a disc or having issues with poison ivy.

The tee pads were all concrete, and were in decent shape for the most part. There were bridges in the few places where it was necessary to cross a small creek. Both holes 1 and 10 tee off right next to the parking lot, so you can play either 9 from there. There is also a bathroom right by the parking lot, along with several drinking fountains.
Cons: There are almost no trees in play throughout the entire course. There were only two holes that played through even a moderate amount of trees, and the majority of the holes were completely wide open.

The tee signs seemed like they were nice when new, but were in pretty sorry shape. Most were broken and unreadable, making it difficult sometimes to decide which of several visible baskets to shoot at. The navigation of the course was not always easy, as there was nothing to indicate which tee to go to next, or which basket to shoot at, both of which are important when holes are all in a large open area.

Some of the tees were sloped or cracked, which made for less than perfect footing on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is very close to Idlewild, so if you are passing through the area, I would recommend playing there instead. That said, the course does have a few interesting holes, and is worth playing if you've already played the area courses and are looking to play something different.

This course would be great for beginners if it had better signage. The design is very beginner friendly, and would offer some different challenges to less experienced players. It is difficult to navigate the first time, though we met some friendly locals who led us around the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bit Better Than Average

1    7/25/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Boone

2-4    1/27/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park with good elevation changes put into play. Space is adequate for a very solid intermediate level course with most holes being open but a few nice wooded shots do exist. Bring your top short game because the basket/wind combo at this park can take it's toll on you.
Cons: 1 - Old and sometimes beat up baskets. Hard to be consistent with your putting without consistent targets.
2 - Confusing, When standing on the tee you will sometimes see two basket which look like potential targets and no clear signage to help you distinguish the true target.
3 - Tee pads could be a little better but at least it has pads.
Other Thoughts: This could be a nice course with some good signage, newer baskets and a slight redesign to help with some of confusion. I like the park layout and the few trees and nice elevation changes create the makings for a solid course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 welcome to the wide open

7/8/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: atthecrackofdawn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: wide open but still good variety, nice rolling hills, interestingly placed baskets
Cons: terribly confusing on account of the signs are all mangled and hard to navigate from basket to next tee
Other Thoughts: if they fixed the signs this would be a nice practice course, litteraly right down the road from idlewild

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NEW BOONE WOODS

1    6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2009
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Large teepads and new baskets were installed on october 20 any review before that should be disgarded. The new layout brings you in and out of woods and up and down a few hills. The holes offer wide variety of shots.
Cons: Some holes seem right on top of each other. The creek restore is not complete but will be soon so for now there is some mud tire tracks.(this is not the whole course just a few holes)
Other Thoughts: A true beginers course that exp players might find boring, I enjoy duece or die formats as a change of place. Boone County Parks did the right thing and put in a true beginers course for people who cant handle the course down the road the WILD.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Practice

3/26/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've heard more than a few call this a beginner course...and they are wrong. With an average distance close to 275 it is beyond what is normally considered a Beginner Course. Winton Woods is a beginner course with 15 holes less than 210 feet. Boone has a 422 foot hole, a 348 downhill shot that is protected by trees that even an intermediate would gladly take a three on, and a few shots that require accuracy off the tee or you end up with high probability of a bogey. A beginner course will still offer pars to errant tee shots. The course is better described as a great practice course. Once you advance to where your drives are 300'+ you can then play this course with a midrange and work on that aspect of your game. It offers backhand, forehand, roller, hyzer, anhyzer, tommy and every other shot opportunity with just a few trees strategically placed on the course.
Cons: Short teepads. Old baskets make for frustrating putting..but if used as a practice course it will make your putting better for courses with more modern baskets. Signage needs replacing on every hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that will let you grow into the game. It is still difficult for most intermediates to shoot below 54 on a regular basis. It is a great course to practice for tournaments with a lot of wind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 203  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: wide open course, long/shorter holes, great beginner course excellent pair with its big brother idlewild just off to the west

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.